Diesel price Penong

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 14:24
ThreadID: 110195 Views:3798 Replies:14 FollowUps:17
Just filled up with Diesel 234 Litres @ 1.459 at Penong on the Eyre Hwy. Its where all the truckies seem to go.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

Reply By: Member - Silverchrome - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 16:00

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 16:00
Fuel prices seem to be coming down....filled up with diesel on the north side of Brisbane last Friday @ $1.357 /litre.
AnswerID: 541912

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 16:36

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 16:36
$1.51 here in Mandurah today.

Ripped off....

AnswerID: 541913

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 18:58

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 18:58
You can say that again.

Recently filled at the Shell at Singleton at $1.589 and then the next day at Newdegate BP at $1.583.

For those that don't know Newdegate is on the way to Esperance 400+k from Perth. Even Esperance was less that 1 cent dearer than Singleton.

FollowupID: 828137

Follow Up By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 19:01

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 19:01
Hey Kazza,
That's a bloody BIG drive in ONE day :-) lol
Insanity doesnt run in my family.... it gallops!

FollowupID: 828138

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 20:28

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 20:28
WA is a BIG state mate
FollowupID: 828148

Reply By: The Explorer - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 16:37

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 16:37
You guys are getting it cheap...$1.53 per litre in Bunbury (WA)

AnswerID: 541914

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 17:10

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 17:10
Mmm $1:44.9 at Sanctuary Point NSW.......60 Km up the road at Albion Park $1:36 Work that out, 8cents 60 klicks
FollowupID: 828132

Follow Up By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 17:30

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 17:30
$1.52 in Kalamunda this morning and not 5 k's away in Lesmurdie it was $1.469...
Still getting ripped in WA
FollowupID: 828133

Follow Up By: Fossil Phill - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 01:17

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 01:17
$1.48 at the Dardanup garage Greg, and has been for a while.
There is a cartel operating in the greater Bunbury area and no-one seems to care.
Spread the word and support the little guy doing the right thing in Dardy. as it is only a short enjoyable drive from Bunbury CBD on the new road.
FollowupID: 828164

Follow Up By: MARIC - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 09:40

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 09:40
Albany $1.447
Mt Barker $1.47
For diesel, even Woolies and Coles not as cheap
It is only when you see mosquito land on your testicles that you find another way to solve problems without violence

FollowupID: 828175

Follow Up By: lizard - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 10:16

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 10:16
$1.45 in Wongan Hills
FollowupID: 828182

Reply By: Honky - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 17:54

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 17:54
$1.48.9 in Dubbo NSW
Honky
AnswerID: 541924

Reply By: Member - G.T. - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 18:14

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 18:14
I paid $146.9 at Shell Ceduna this morning, got my 4c per litre off this with the shopper docket. Regards G.T.
AnswerID: 541928

Reply By: Member - wicket - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 18:53

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 18:53
you lot really are paying too much.........$1.25 for diesel on Churchill Rd Kilburn SA yesterday
AnswerID: 541932

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 09:47

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 09:47
Hehe.....I'm guessing that's the new Costco that just opened up?
FollowupID: 828177

Follow Up By: Member - wicket - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 09:58

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 09:58
yep costco.............but before you fill up you might want to read this
costco fuel pricing
FollowupID: 828180

Follow Up By: Member - Silverchrome - Saturday, Nov 22, 2014 at 13:00

Saturday, Nov 22, 2014 at 13:00
Thats not how it works at the one at North Lakes. You specify the total amount you want to buy first (true) but if you take less than that amount you are only charged on credit card for amount used .... not the higher amount you specified. No refund needed. Works well paying at pump as you don't need to leave your vehicle unattended to go to pay. A great system that works IMHO and no drive offs without paying.

FollowupID: 828239

Reply By: Sandman - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 22:11

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 22:11
$1.69.9 p/l in Alice Springs....and you folks are unhappy ? ;-)

Pete in Alice
AnswerID: 541941

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 22:34

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 22:34
Penong used to be 3 - 4 cents cheaper than Ceduna, but hasn't been for the past year.

AnswerID: 541943

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 09:55

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 09:55
Hi MH,
I remember that too but maybe not for 10 years. I think it was because Ceduna was dearer than everywhere else but I think the Ceduna BP and Shell truckstops have lifted their game.
At Caltex Penong I usually find the previous diesel sale was $500+. They turn over a lot of diesel.
FollowupID: 828179

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 22:41

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 22:41
$2.45 in mt Dare , September last

AnswerID: 541944

Follow Up By: Ron N - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 23:10

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 23:10
MUZBRY - Is that Opal they are selling at Mt. Dare?
FollowupID: 828159

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 06:46

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 06:46
Dont know Ron as i purchased diesel

FollowupID: 828166

Follow Up By: bruce b2 - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 14:35

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 14:35
$2.09.7....innamincka a couple of months ago. funny part, i knew that i was breathing vapours, but when my alleged 80 litre sub and 90 litre main were both filled with a total of 177 litres, i got a bit worried. ($372.53)
bb
FollowupID: 828197

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 18:55

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 18:55
Bruce - Yeah, it doesn't pay to cut it too fine. I was travelling down the GCR and calculated I had enough to reach Laverton with at least 15 litres to spare.
However, I stopped to help one of the indigenes who was broken down with a flat and no wheelbrace.
I couldn't help him him with a wheelbrace, but he just had to put the bite on me - first, for water, then for fuel! (Opal).
I thought I gave him about 5 litres, but it must have been closer to 10 litres.
Then when I started off from Tjukayirla, I reckoned just under 2/3rds of a tank would see me into Laverton, with what was left in one jerrycan after giving the quantity to the black fella.
However, I ran into a sudden stormy change of weather that resulted in a change of wind from Easterly to strong Westerly. I didn't realise how strong the headwind was until I stopped for a leak.
This wind change affected my fuel consumption and calculations, and I ran out, 130kms from Laverton!
I only had the remainder of the jerrycan, that I had partly emptied into the black fellas container - and I was shocked to see it was only half full!
I certainly engaged in some "fuel saving driving techniques" when I did the final leg into Laverton!
I reckon I was running on fumes the last 5 or 10 kms!
I filled up in Laverton - and the tank is only supposed to hold 65 litres, and it took 69 litres!
I suppose I could have always put the bite on some passing black fellas for some fuel, if I didn't make it into Laverton! LOL

FollowupID: 828220

Reply By: Ron N - Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 23:02

Thursday, Nov 20, 2014 at 23:02
$1.271 at several places in Perth today, and 4c less with a shopper docket.

I still think there's a heap of petrol retailers creaming it in with the current oil price.
The last time the oil price was this low, petrol was $1.00 a litre.

By far the greatest current rort is in the PULP and 98RON prices.
You can't tell me a few extra octane warrants a 12c to 17c difference in pricing.

Fuelwatch W.A.
AnswerID: 541945

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 10:19

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 10:19
Agree on the mark up for 95 & 98 RON fuels, Ron.

Been 176.9c/L here at Winton most of this year. Just filled my xr6t a few minutes ago, 178.9c/L. 27.34L for 350kms.....almost cheap motoring? No choice here, 98 only. :-(

At Winton, ULP is 161.9, diesel dropped to 152.9 for a while, and has been 153.9 for a few weeks. With only Caltex, BP & an independent in town, fuel prices are consistent between the 3.

Diesel at IOR Cloncurry is 152.5 at the mo,

FollowupID: 828183

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 03:52

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 03:52
$152.9 Warnbro today. It's not only coffee or beer that is a rip off in WA. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 541946

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 10:02

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 10:02
Yes I've almost always filled at Caltex at Penong when heading west.
High turnover = clean diesel
In Adelaide, I've been buying BP Ultimate diesel at Flinders Park for $1.38 .....or I can go to the local Woolworths and pay 10c more and get a 4c discount!
Bit of a no-brainer - I don't like supermarket fuel!
AnswerID: 541959

Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 11:30

Friday, Nov 21, 2014 at 11:30
$1.469 at Shell in Camden, NSW this morning.

AnswerID: 541964

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2014 at 16:37

Sunday, Nov 23, 2014 at 16:37
$3.20 at well 33 this year.
AnswerID: 542099