4WD owners who also own (road) motorbikes

Submitted: Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 12:50
ThreadID: 11032 Views:2293 Replies:21 FollowUps:8
Hello - I've been surprised by how many on this forum also own sportsbikes. No offence, but I've always thought this site was populated by old buggers (even though I'm 35 myself...I feel 20) who were too old/sensible to engage in such malarky. I'd be curious to know how many of us are on here and who owns what...

Voxsy...you said you owned an R1 so I presume you're not an old bugger (not that there's anything wrong with being one of them/us...). Where abouts in Adelaide are you? I've been in Canberra for last decade but my family are still in Eden Hills - might catch you for a motorbike or 4WD blat next time I'm in town...

Cheers, TFIF and have a good weekend!

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 13:18

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 13:18
I just sold my Yellow & Blue Honda CBR250RR. Kinda Spewn but with another rugrat on the way it was the best thing to do. Good fun though, nothing like pulling 20,000rpms on a 4stroke 4 cylinder 250! Man that sound is like nothing else on the road!
AnswerID: 49256

Follow Up By: Rod W - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:32

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:32
Good Photographer... eh
FollowupID: 311129

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:35

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:35
Rod, Your photo of Michael has been very popular amonst the reli's! ;-)
FollowupID: 311130

Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 13:38

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 13:38
Pathfinder, you are an old bugger. I am only 30. Been riding since I was 8 on a Honda 3 wheeler ATV and progressed to dirt bikes (TS185) much to mum's dislike (she's a nurse and sees the worst of our accidents). Had a Husky TE610 (blew it up) and then a KLR650 (blew up the gearbox). Had a ZX-9R for a year or so, then wrote it off (not my fault). Lucky to be alive, I bought a Triumph 955i that I rode for a few years and sold it while I was travelling overseas (rego, tyres, insurace, etc all due at once and new model was coming out. Got a good offer, so sadly the bike departed). Bought and sold a CBR250 just to make a bit of cash as a girl I know was selling it cheap. Don't have a bike now, but would love to get one again. Getting married, so cashflow might restrict me to a secondhand VTR1000.
A few pics at:

http://www.geocities.com/cruiserpics/bikes

Yep, TFIF
AnswerID: 49257

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 13:48

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 13:48
Hiya Pathy... Maybe even a game of golf...... I live in Enfield and many a weekend i blast up to Lobethal for brekky on the bike...
AnswerID: 49261

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 13:48

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 13:48
Oh.. 37yrs old...
FollowupID: 311125

Reply By: Synergist - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 14:20

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 14:20
Howdy Pathfinder,

The only reason i ride my GSXR 750 is to keep me sain, I drive a fj55 so i need the bike to remember how it feels to move over 110km/h.

Cheers!
AnswerID: 49264

Reply By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:02

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:02
Gees, I DID have the same feeling about not being old on here.....I'm 40 although my 13 yr old daughter says she's more mature than i am, and I just sold my CBR 900 Fireblade last friday...argh!....made a deal with the wife, told her if i got a 4wd i'd get rid of the bike, managed to stall for a few years, but have now ordered a trak Shak, and was time to bite the bullet, i might just wear the helmet and gear when driving the patrol now and then, not quite the same tho.

Glenn - stay safe and upright
AnswerID: 49269

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:04

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:04
Rode bikes for 20 years, owned 33 bikes in that time, competed for ~10yrs in everything from Policeboys Trials, to Aust championships in proddie and supers roadracing..

did till I was wiped out...

truckster.offroad.au.com/injuries.htm
AnswerID: 49270

Follow Up By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 16:49

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 16:49
Truckster can you send me that link, I'd like to have a look, I used to marshall at bike races back in the days when they just gave you a flag and left you on a corner and pretty well figure it out for yourself, i also used to race myself, but only the speedway sidecars, I hung on the side....funny how now I am finding out i wasn't as indesrtuctable as i thought back then
FollowupID: 311134

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 23:23

Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 23:23
"Welcome vultures.. Heres a few photos of the injuries caused by a bleep wit in a car..
Amazing how stupid non english speaking Knuts are in real life.."
so now your just won of them hay
been there done everything
the world according to Truckster (VIC)
God help us

FollowupID: 311221

Follow Up By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 23:31

Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 23:31
If thats not an add for cumpulsory helmet laws then nothing is
FollowupID: 311224

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 22:31

Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 22:31
Is it just me or are the trolls getting worse around here? Sorry dicky, but I speak english.. not even a nice try...
FollowupID: 311389

Reply By: MartyB - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:31

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 15:31
Now I am starting to feel old.
20 years ago I bought an 1100 Katana, and I still have it. Always said I will sell it when I am sick of riding it.
Also have had various trail bikes, trikes etc all my life. I have bought a trailbike & motorised gokart for the kids. But they prefer to ride the ride on mower.

from Marty.
AnswerID: 49275

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 16:46

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 16:46
Hi Pathfinder,
Interesting question you asked. I myself have also been riding since i was 8 years old. I am 46 now (old bugger too i guess), nice to know we are many !
I remember one day comming home from school (primary) and my dad got me a brand spanking new Yamaha Mini Enduro 60 cc. Man that was the ants pants. Well i kept it for around 15 years and had heaps of fun on it, especially the cop chases around the easturn suburbs in sydney.
But then i bought myself a Yamaha IT175H 1981 model enduro bike which i still have today. It still runs the original tyres and nothing has been replaced on it as yet. Even starts first kick to this day. I take the bike with me when i go 4wd'ing, it usually comes in handy for times when the 4b cant go any further. I just unload the bike and head off looking for some hidden campsites along rivers. Its amazing what 11 ltrs of fuel can do, safely ride for 6 hours with a full tank. Alwasy comforting to know if the 4b breaks down, I still have a chance to find help.
Regards Angelo
AnswerID: 49288

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 18:01

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 18:01
Path finder,
I recently joined a club that has nothing to do with motoring in any way and I was very suprised that a lot of the older members had $10000.00 plus bikes.
A few even two/three. And I am only talking about the members that I see on a regular basis being about 20. This works out to be about 40% of those 20 persons. But I note its the older guys who are the majority.

And thats in addition to their 4wd (and or late model cars) and other toys.

But they aint for me
AnswerID: 49295

Reply By: Big Dog - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 19:20

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 19:20
And here is my other prides and joy. 1986SEI Goldwing Aspencade with Classic Trailer. Mrs BD rpreparing lunch.

Parked on the off ramp at Deception Bay turn off I think last year. Inported from Japan. Genuine 7000km on clock when I bought it with original tyres still on. Bit hard, but still with tread.

Big Dog
AnswerID: 49306

Follow Up By: Big Dog - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 19:31

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 19:31
Theres a better shot at

[ View Image]
FollowupID: 311142

Reply By: navaraman - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 20:46

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 20:46
A former bike rider too. Gave up when I met the g/f as she hates bikes and now I have kids I don't have the time or inclination to get back on two wheels. Too many d!ckheads on the road who have trouble seeing bikes for some reason. Last bike was a GSX750 and I loved it. Riding bikes makes better motorists out of us, better awareness , road positioning, vision etc.
AnswerID: 49317

Reply By: ThePublican - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 23:06

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 23:06
46 bikes since 1969 suzuki hustler {new}, all have been road bikes,, still have bike no3 Norton 750 commando roadster ,bike no6 from factory ,cost $1682 registered on road ,, ahhhhh memories,,
AnswerID: 49329

Reply By: Member - Peter (on the move) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 23:10

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 23:10
Sadly the FXSTS custom went back in 96, had a spell for a while, back onto a 900 Monster, had a spill, sold it twisted.

Had to laugh though. The brother in law spent 5K on his Dyna Wideglide to keep up to the cousin (900 speed triple) and I and guess what, should have saved his money poor bugger.

The monster went 3 years ago, and i am 38 now. Would love to get another plaything, maybe a hyubasa, dont think so tim!!!!

AnswerID: 49332

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 23:14

Friday, Mar 05, 2004 at 23:14
Pathfinder
Me = 42 years
1992 FXR Harley Davidson Superglide (been gunna sell it for years but just can't bring myself to do it).
AnswerID: 49333

Reply By: Zapper - Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 01:55

Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 01:55
I'm another one

me = 32

Got a ZX-9R 1999, candy lightning blue, pretty cool bike
AnswerID: 49349

Reply By: sean - Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 17:49

Saturday, Mar 06, 2004 at 17:49
Me

I am 44 and ridden bikes since a lad. Love dirt bikes and was member of Dandenong for a while. Rode Vic enduros for a few years.

Current bike is R1150GS Adventure and soon to get ktm250exc along with sons new xr80.

I actually drive my car more than my fourby and and still like the treadly too.

Sean
AnswerID: 49388

Reply By: Member - Paul - Sunday, Mar 07, 2004 at 00:02

Sunday, Mar 07, 2004 at 00:02
Gday pathfinder, also a bike rider (only a few years). Have been riding a ZZR250 goes like the clappers but the boss says it's time to get rid of one toy for the other toys benefit (4by).
Anybody know of anyone looking for a good bike (2001 model with 6200km's) never dropped and in WA i am willing to go halves in transport costs from NW.

Cheers and cold beers
Clarky
AnswerID: 49419

Reply By: rolux1983 - Sunday, Mar 07, 2004 at 01:10

Sunday, Mar 07, 2004 at 01:10
me = 44
bike =suzuki gs 1100g had to sell 6 months ago cause my lad started to ride it. it's a bugger when ya kids start using ya toys

Gary
AnswerID: 49421

Reply By: Sandie - Sunday, Mar 07, 2004 at 15:39

Sunday, Mar 07, 2004 at 15:39
I'm 38 and am currently trying to sell my ZZR250 before we head off on a 3-month trip in the Patrol! If we have any money left when we come back, I'll buy another ... probably a GPX Ninja 600.

Having only recently got into the 4WD-ing lark, I guess it's only the older ones amongst us that can afford it: everything soooo expensive!

My husband and I have made the choice of keeping the bikes (he's got a Fireblade) and the Patrol and not having kids! The only way to go, I reckon!

AnswerID: 49442

Reply By: Barry F - Sunday, Mar 07, 2004 at 16:35

Sunday, Mar 07, 2004 at 16:35
48 just retired from racing, still ride can't get it out of my blood currant steed, KTM 400 , " JUST A BLAST"
AnswerID: 49446

Reply By: pathfinder - Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 09:14

Monday, Mar 08, 2004 at 09:14
my suspicions were confirmed - that's quite a response...although I guess it's not surprising that 4WD "revheads" (and I'm talking low revs here if you drive a TD like myself) are into other revhead activities...and it is good to have access to performance every now and again after driving a slow 4WD around.

I should have mentioned that I own a Yamaha TRX850 and a Katana 750 (pop-up headlight model)...
AnswerID: 49494