Customer Service. where did it ever go??

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 19:55
ThreadID: 11436 Views:2252 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Went to Rays in Dande and Frankston to look at GPS'. Gee they are highly trained quality professionals at them stores...

**Dandenong**

Me: Can you show me some GPS pls.

Rays Quality Staff Member Yes sir, which ones

Me: Platinum and Colour Meridians..

RQSM: ... Heres the Platinum, oh the batteries are flat, but thats what it looks like...

Me: I would like to see it work, Im not paying $1000 to hope it looks like I want it to

RQSM: with attitude I supposed I'll have to put batteries in it then (they were no more than 20 feet away)

Me: Yes you will, thanks

After going away, then fumbling for 10 mins she manages to put 2 batteries in....

RQSM: oh it still doesnt work (with new Duracell's in it...) thats not good

Me: thats a good advertisement for a $1000 toy, your demonstrator is dead?

RQSM: It appears that way..

Me: Can you show me the Marine then so I can see how bright the
screen is pls? Are they similar?

RQSM: They are identical, no differences

Me Biting my tounge like never before...: Then why are there 2 models?? do you really know anything about these?

THEN THE ALL TIME CLASSIC LINE OF A SALESPERSON

RQSM: Yes sir, I have one of these (holding up the Marine) at home myself!

I burst out laughing to the point where the wife hit me. Thats my favorite line of them all!

Me: Im not sure how to work this thing, can you show me how to get to a map screen that shows the roads, and a pointer to where we are please?

You could see the panic in her eyes....
RQSM: I'm not sure... Its in the manual there if you like....

Me: Can you show me a colour then please?

RQSM: They are not out yet, we are waiting for the next generation Colour to come out soon... (code for either I have no idea, or we dont have them in stock)...

Me: its been out for 6-12 months

RQSM: No it isnt, or we would have it in stock.

Me ... If you dont have it, please just say so, I hate to be bolloxed around... you couldnt really be that dumb could you? and walked out.

**Frankston**
If anyone knows where the store is its a new shoppin center(autobarn, Rays, supercheap, JB hifi, and some lighting store and a Goodguys), with about 5 parkin spots per shop, which should have 20-40 per store... SO its a PITA ANYTIME to go there... Greed again, more shops less customer service by having no parking.

Me Stood there for 10 mins asked 4 different staff members can they show me GPS, asked one of them twice, nobody there Could be phukt..

Me Walked out.

So looked at Platinum and Marine so far, the Colour doesnt exist on the planet... its a dream we are all having, those Ebay sellers are all scammers...

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:11

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:11
Hi Truckie....lol...you're more patient than Mr. Al would have been....

we got a Magellan Meridian Gold...we got it from Time Plus Communications in Sydney Road, Brunswick [which I realise is a trip for you] but..it's a small store...the guy that runs it - John, was fantastic...he showed us the Gold, the Platinum, the Colour [oh my gosh - yes there is colour] and the Marine...he took us out into the carpark behind the store for us to "play" with it...he couldn't be more helpful...and he knocked some dosh off the price....

Lyn

PS...his one worked and he had extra batteries handy

www.timeplus.com.au/shop
AnswerID: 51290

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 06:21

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 06:21
Spent 3/4 hour in there a couple of weeks ago talking to his wife about UHF's, best service and advice I have got in a long while, price close to what prestige in Perth charge without the delivery costs, etc.
Rolande
FollowupID: 313050

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 07:13

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 07:13
Hi rolande,

I agree, we got our ICOM UHF through them as well, and were in that store about an hour talking about stuff, looking at software the works...absolute terriffic service...and yes the price was very close if not a fraction better than Prestige, no delivery costs...and...if there's a hassel they're just in Brunswick....also...we got a desk top charger for the ICOM they didn't have one there, but his wife ordered us one while we were there...we had it the next day....

FollowupID: 313053

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 07:21

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 07:21
Just out of interest, I gather you compared the ICOM with GME 4400 etc. Why did you go for the ICOM? Interested as I'm looking at the two at the moment for the Patrol
Rolande
FollowupID: 313054

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 07:42

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 07:42
Hi rolande

we got the ICOM IC-40S, which is a hand held unit that we can connect up to an external antenna....Al wanted this kind so he could swap it between vehicles....the main reason for choosing ICOM over GME a mate of ours had the ICOM IC-40S..hooked into the external antenna and travelled around OZ last year...had no hassels and highly recommended it to us...it has 40 channels and we got an extra 20 police ones for a small xtra charge...
FollowupID: 313056

Reply By: BurnieM - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:21

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:21
Go to a specialist GPS reseller; you will get MUCH better advise and the price will be cheaper.

Johny Appleseed in Brisbane
GPSoz in Sydney
C H Smith (marnie chandler) in Melbourne
AnswerID: 51324

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 19:18

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 19:18
Also Johnny Appleseed in Melbourne, Nepean Highway just south of St Kilda junction, the guy is very helpful and knows heaps about the things. If you're in town take a look in there T-Man

Hahahaha great story too, RQSM hahahaha wonder what she really did have at home

FollowupID: 313346

Reply By: Moneypit - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 01:49

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 01:49
Truckster,

Lets be serious. In all my reviews of the prior posts on GPS stuff your were most noticeable because "I'll just have me paper maps thanks. Thats all you needs.GPS is an unecessary cost etc etc etc."

Now tell us the truth. Is Truckster going to get a boys toy.

Me, I luv em. Oziexplorer, Oziephototools and the GPS and I'm in boy toy heaven.

Gotta convince wife of the need for a laptop. She's getting more awake to me now I think.

I'd make sure that you have a look at the equivalent price range in the Garmins as well. I reckon there easier to use but thats probably just a familiarity thing.

And yes, I still like to have a paper version available just in case. Been a while since I actuially used it but.............!

Dave B
AnswerID: 51343

Reply By: Moneypit - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 01:59

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 01:59
Besides, yours [if you get one] will speak with an American accent anyway [if it had a voice] wouldn't it?

Dave B
AnswerID: 51344