Customer Service. where did it ever go??

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 19:55
ThreadID: 11437 Views:2412 Replies:14 FollowUps:25
Went to Rays in Dande and Frankston to look at GPS'. Gee they are highly trained quality professionals at them stores...

**Dandenong**

Me: Can you show me some GPS pls.

Rays Quality Staff Member Yes sir, which ones

Me: Platinum and Colour Meridians..

RQSM: ... Heres the Platinum, oh the batteries are flat, but thats what it looks like...

Me: I would like to see it work, Im not paying $1000 to hope it looks like I want it to

RQSM: with attitude I supposed I'll have to put batteries in it then (they were no more than 20 feet away)

Me: Yes you will, thanks

After going away, then fumbling for 10 mins she manages to put 2 batteries in....

RQSM: oh it still doesnt work (with new Duracell's in it...) thats not good

Me: thats a good advertisement for a $1000 toy, your demonstrator is dead?

RQSM: It appears that way..

Me: Can you show me the Marine then so I can see how bright the
screen is pls? Are they similar?

RQSM: They are identical, no differences

Me Biting my tounge like never before...: Then why are there 2 models?? do you really know anything about these?

THEN THE ALL TIME CLASSIC LINE OF A SALESPERSON

RQSM: Yes sir, I have one of these (holding up the Marine) at home myself!

I burst out laughing to the point where the wife hit me. Thats my favorite line of them all!

Me: Im not sure how to work this thing, can you show me how to get to a map screen that shows the roads, and a pointer to where we are please?

You could see the panic in her eyes....
RQSM: I'm not sure... Its in the manual there if you like....

Me: Can you show me a colour then please?

RQSM: They are not out yet, we are waiting for the next generation Colour to come out soon... (code for either I have no idea, or we dont have them in stock)...

Me: its been out for 6-12 months

RQSM: No it isnt, or we would have it in stock.

Me ... If you dont have it, please just say so, I hate to be bolloxed around... you couldnt really be that dumb could you? and walked out.

**Frankston**
If anyone knows where the store is its a new shoppin center(autobarn, Rays, supercheap, JB hifi, and some lighting store and a Goodguys), with about 5 parkin spots per shop, which should have 20-40 per store... SO its a PITA ANYTIME to go there... Greed again, more shops less customer service by having no parking.

Me Stood there for 10 mins asked 4 different staff members can they show me GPS, asked one of them twice, nobody there Could be phukt..

Me Walked out.

So looked at Platinum and Marine so far, the Colour doesnt exist on the planet... its a dream we are all having, those Ebay sellers are all scammers...

Reply By: Member - Bob - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:10

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:10
The margins at those discount stores a so low they can't afford lots of staff, let alone experienced ones. I reckon if you want service then you have to be prepared to pay for it - there is no free lunch. If you know what you want then go to Rays and say "I'll have that one thanks". If you want Rolls Royce treatment then go to a specialist outlet and pay a bit more.
AnswerID: 51289

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:15

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:15
It went to same place as manner's, buggered if i know, maybe the bank's know (he say's falling on the floor). Seem's to be the way now day's lot's of salesman that know how to sell, but know nothing about the product they are selling.

AnswerID: 51292

Follow Up By: Roachie - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:35

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:35
G'day Baz,
I hear what you're saying about Banks and would just like to put in a little plug for myself and the older blokes like me who DO still think service is 5 of the most important 5 things we can provide. I've worked for the same Bank for 33+ years. I'm currently a Business Banking Manager and if my clients prefer to see me after hours, I gladly oblige (we don't make any charges for that......YET). Funny/ironic thing happened the other night........I went and called on a doctor to sign-up some loan contracts etc. When was the last time you heard of a doctor making a house call for a routine matter??
On the subject of service in general, I guess I'm one of the lucky ones who live in the bush where the bloke you buy something from during the day is probably one of the blokes you're going camping/fishing/golfing (or whatever) with on the weekend. He's the sort of bloke who knows when you walk in to his shop, what you want before you even ask for it. I went into my local parts place late last week to get a couple of oil filters for the 4.2 GU (takes 2 different filters). Bloke says to me, "must be just about time for your oil change, here's your filters, can I get you anything else?" That's the sort of service you just come to expect when you live in a small community. Even the local Nissan dealer (service manager) OFFERED to do a 5th gear replacement for me without the thing actually having gone "physssst" at the time....he said it was on the way out and I'd better let them change it under warranty before it let go.
FollowupID: 313023

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:54

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:54
Roachie,

I work for a national corporation at middle management level in a city office. I love the job and can't see myself leaving for a few years yet.

If I could just get them to relocate my job to a regional or rural centre it would be perfect! A city salary in a rural community. If only.....

At least I can get out of the city on the weekends.

Steven
FollowupID: 313027

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 08:40

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 08:40
Roachie,
you asked
"When was the last time you heard of a doctor making a house call for a routine matter?? "
As a GP who has recently tossed it in for more sustainable work I can probably tell you. There is an undersupply of GPS so we are flat out doing 'routine matters' at the office. At least there it is possible to see four patients an hour. If you drive to some one's house to see them it takes an hour out of your day. Firstly, what do I tell the people waiting at the office, and secondly, how much would you be prepared to pay for that.
The answer to second question is 'not much'. The Medicare rebate for up to 20 minutes with a GP at their office is $26, less than a bank charges for bouncing a cheque, and half the rebate for 15 minutes with an optometrist. The Medicare rebate for a house call (paid on the basis of how long you are with the patient and not for travel time) is about $50. People winge like crazy about paying to see the GP and most house calls are bulk billed to Medicare.
So why would spend an hour seeing some at home for a routine matter for $50 when I have staff to pay, rent, indemnity insurance, and a bank to support? In short, my overheads run at $120 per hour, so thats why I only did house calls for emergencies and the elderly.
The community, through Medicare, has said to GPs " f... you" which is why at age 50 and the peak of my professional life I have taken the message on board and left.
FollowupID: 313063

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 10:00

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 10:00
G'day Bob & StevenL,

Bob; I'm sorry if I offended you in any way. My comments were rather more general in nature. I have a number of clients who are doctors and are very well aware that they work bloody hard every day. I was just reminising I guess. When I was a kid, the doc would call around home (small country town, Narrandera, NSW) to see you even if you only had a head cold. That was considered "normal service". These days, with our aging population and our seemingly endless reliance upon drugs and potions for every conceivable ailment, the doctor is flat out all the time.

Steven,

I sympathise with your dilema about having to work in a large city to make the sort of money you need to do the things you want to be able to do in your spare time. Funny thing is, I know country people who work like navvies all year, just so they can save up for a holiday in the big smoke................YUK

FollowupID: 313072

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 15:03

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 15:03
Hey Roachie,
(sorry if this is a bit off-topic)
How much did ya pay for the Nissan oil filters??
Specifically the "front" one (with the larger thread)....
Do you have the part # handy??
(Just trying to find out if my Nissan dealer was trying to have a lend of me recently, or if they've made a "blue" somewhere)...
Thanks!

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 313121

Follow Up By: Roachie - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 15:09

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 15:09
G'day EdC
I haven't bought genuine Nissan filters for a long time, but my records show they cost just under $60- for the 2 of them when I did.....not sure how much each one was though, sorry.
The part numbers are Z503 and Z502, although one them can also be Z416 (not sure which one). Now I buy whatever's on the shelf and they're about $25- for the 2 of them.
FollowupID: 313125

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 15:50

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 15:50
G'day Roachie,
Thanks for the quick response....
Reason for my Q.. Couple of weeks ago I was at the (Nissan) parts dept. getting some "other stuff", & thought I may as well pick up a coupla gen-u-ine oil filters while I'm at it (been using Rycos)... Anyway, bloke comes back w/- 2 filters, I says "how much?"... Forget exact amt, but it was, like, $120-something +tax!!! ($20-odd for the 3/4 thread one, & $100+ for the other).... After picking myself up off the floor, I asks "are you sure that's correct?? maybe you'd better check that".... Checks 'puter, & says "Yep, that's the price, Trade Price too!!"......
Needless to say, they still have their filters, & I'm still using Rycos.... Z416 & Z502 are interchangeable, also Z115 can be used in place of Z503 as these (Z115) are what Ryco recommends for earlier 4.2's....

Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 313133

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 16:45

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 16:45
Sorry Roachie was not directed at you personally, i'm a country boy myself, just tring to make a point. Please accept my humble apoligy.

FollowupID: 313143

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 20:54

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 20:54
Roachie,
no offence taken- just couldn't help getting on the soap box :-)
FollowupID: 313186

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:22

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:22
Truckster,

I haven't had a laugh so good since Cameron McConville took out 3 other cars in the Clipsal 500 this afternoon. That was fantastic.

Where are you going next?? KMart gives better customer service than that!!!!!

Steven
AnswerID: 51294

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:34

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:34
Taxi racing is dull...
Ban anythin' ford and holden cant beat... How exciting..

And dont say the Monaro the other racing, its a 1 off that nobody can buy.. so rules to suit a specially made car that can beat everything else..

Kmart?? only for carwash!
bleep I give up offically on buying a GPS EVER.
FollowupID: 313022

Reply By: macca - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:54

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 20:54
Went to Rays at Dandy on friday and the missus asked "STAFF" where the Annex matting was. Reply, haven't any and cant get it for 6 months as the supplier is having problems.. So went to Carac and Clark rubber and haggled over prices with them whilst I looked at the massive rolls of the stuff. Rays must be on the outer with the supplier guaging by the quantity the other stores had.
AnswerID: 51308

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:10

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:10
what sort of matting did you get, and how much was it? Which store did you go to (since your in the area, I work Mercmarine in Dande)?

Lookin for some myself for inside the annex on the tent..

thanks
me
FollowupID: 313085

Follow Up By: macca - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 18:39

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 18:39
Hi Truckster,
Finished up buying at Clarkes in Greens RD. They had it for 52.95 mtr. said they would match Caracs at 41 95 so reckon that was fair enough. It had better be good at that price. Docket says its""Mat Annexe Costa 2500mm I used to use straight shade cloth but the Navigator wanted something that didnt need pegging down and was better when it was wet underfoot..It works
Macca
FollowupID: 313165

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:32

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:32
Will check it out, how much did you get in the end?

I have a southen cross extreme trekker, sounds like it could be expensive..

>:-(
FollowupID: 313202

Follow Up By: macca - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:36

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:36
3 metres is all I could afford LOL
FollowupID: 313206

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:44

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 21:44
LMAO was just showing the wife!!!

Thinking the same, is it enough ?? got ya old hessian still?? wanna sell LOL
FollowupID: 313212

Follow Up By: macca - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 22:31

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 22:31
Nah The old dog inherited the hessian yonks ago. gunna use it on the front garden strip to impress the neighbours with my "nice Lawn"
FollowupID: 313230

Reply By: Michael_FNQ - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 21:15

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 21:15
I agree that you should get better customer service more and more these days you are going to have to pay for it.
You only need to read the post on this forum to realise that alot of Aussie's will crawl 20km over broken glass to save $2.00. Know a guy who sell GPS's, yes he is dearer than all the discount stores but is the only one in town who can show people how to use the GPS properly. He also provides free maps off the local area when you buy from him. The amazing thing is that people will buy their GPS elsewhere and go to him looking for advice on how to use it!
AnswerID: 51314

Reply By: Dave from Fraser Coast 4WD Club - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:14

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:14
Truckster,

try going to a small chandlery for GPS equipment, they usually know their gear.
AnswerID: 51322

Reply By: BurnieM - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:19

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:19
Yep, the colour Meridian I was demonstrating at the Sydney 4WD show does not exist :)

Go to a specialist GPS reseller; you will get MUCH better advise and the price will be cheaper.

Johhny Appleseed in Brisbane
GPSoz in Sydney
C H Smith (marine chandler) in Melbourne

AnswerID: 51323

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:16

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:16
thanks for the thought.

JA and GPSoz are no good I want to HOLD one to see myself.

anyway since you were demoing one, what do you think of the screen thing... some are saying its poo without the backlighting, but then with backlighting batteries only last 1 hour.. Do you need the backlighting?

I will be running it in the car with ciggy lighter power cable anyway, just interested...

Thoughts?
FollowupID: 313089

Follow Up By: BurnieM - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 13:28

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 13:28
We demo them with the backlight on as it does look sharper but generally we are demoing them inside.

Magellan claim 14 hour battery life so I would expect half this with the backlight on (I have not checked it myself).

Not really an issue in the car as you have the cig lighter power cable.

Have a look at the Garmin GPSmap60C.
Yes, I know fixed internal 56MB memory
(this is enough to fit all of Australia from Metroguide in - 49MB).
This GPS has the best bright sunlight readable screen I have seen.
It is a bit dark inside so you do need the backlight for this unit as well.
Battery life 30 hours (with backlight 10-14 hours)
FollowupID: 313100

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 19:22

Tuesday, Mar 23, 2004 at 19:22
JA's in Melb now T-man, on Nepean Hwy sth of St Kilda Junction and the guy knows heaps and is very helpful

FollowupID: 313347

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:24

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:24
The only reason I was in Rays was I was next door for the wife in dande, and Goodguys in Frankston

Im buyin from USA, I just wanted to see one in person before buying.
AnswerID: 51325

Reply By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:39

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 22:39
Truckster been there, done that, and it drives me nuts, Bunnings is about the same, but a couple of places that I have found usefull are http://www.telstat.com.au/ in Seaford, they carry both Magellan and Garmin GPS, plus uhf's hf's epirbs etc, and they usualy have good advice and service, and theres also http://www.mymarine.com.au/Default.htm in Dromana...might be a bit out of your way, and they only stock Garmin, which is where I've purchased my last 2 from, the girl I dealt with didn't know all that much about them, but by then I'd done all the research and was looking for the best price, and theyve usualy been pretty good in that dept
AnswerID: 51326

Reply By: Member - Anne - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 23:37

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 23:37
Truckster,

You get what you pay for!!

Anne
AnswerID: 51335

Follow Up By: Member - Anne - Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 23:39

Sunday, Mar 21, 2004 at 23:39
Incidentally why did you post this twice?
Anne
FollowupID: 313048

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:08

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:08
"Truckster,
You get what you pay for!!
Anne"

And??

Site froze and wouldnt send, then sent again and it was up 2ice..
FollowupID: 313081

Reply By: Mick - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 08:59

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 08:59
Truckster, Don't ever expect specialised product knowledge in a store that sells thousands of lines!! Ray's are a discount store selling everything from socks to sleeping bags .... barbeques to boats ...... tents to torches. Common sense should tell you that you won't get experts in all the lines they sell. When buying, I always research fully, if Ray's stock it I wait for a 22.5% off day.
Beware of buying from America and not getting the relevant data bases in the GPS. Good luck with your shopping and be a bit more selective about where you ask for information - always start with specialists. When I bought my first GPS I went to a marine supplier where I spoke to a person who could give me all the details. I progressed to a Communications store (Time Plus) - also experts, and bought there. I also researched on the internet .... that seemed like common sense to me. I bought a gas stove and hike tent at Ray's the other day (22.5% off) after researching on the Internet. Only person I needed to speak to at Ray's was the check-out person to say thanks for the good price!!
AnswerID: 51356

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 09:09

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 09:09
Rays dont have 22% of GPS' ever. We have a club deal with Rays anyway to get a discount.. ;)

Base maps in a GPS being USA doesnt worry me, I'll use the SD card with maps anyway...

GPS from USA are 50% cheaper. Nobody could turn that down.

As I said I was only passing Rays, wasnt expecting Mr GPS there, but the person I spoke to was 'the store expert'...
FollowupID: 313068

Follow Up By: Mick - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 09:20

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 09:20
Sorry Truckster but I didn't even suggest that you would get 22.5%off at Ray's on GPS. Check an expert source as i already mentioned like Time Plus. Oh Boy!!
FollowupID: 313069

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:07

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:07
Krikey! You started something off there didn't you? I used to do customer service training, and we used to explain that for every disgruntled customer there were 6 more that you didn't hear from. All 7 told another 7 about the crook service. 7 X 7 X 7 = 324 customers who won't shop there again. AND THEN there's the upset bloke who tells the world on the web. WOW! Look after your customers. :]

Hey Bruce... Finally copped a puncture in one of those tyres. Wearing a bit now. Time for at least two more. Finished with your new ones? :]

Cheers Royce
AnswerID: 51377

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:11

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:11
Now that you mention it, could be up for a change in hoops soon... ;)
FollowupID: 313086

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:12

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 12:12
Now that you mention it, could be up for a change in hoops soon... ;)

do you remember when you got the BFG's off me, what mth it was and when?
FollowupID: 313087

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 13:10

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 13:10
18/5/2003 how's that for specific!!!!!
AnswerID: 51392

Reply By: Member - Royce- Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 13:11

Monday, Mar 22, 2004 at 13:11
18/5/2003 how's that for specific!!!!! Hmmmm well that's when I have written it down.... but seeing as though that was my 50th birthday..... I can't really remember doing the tyre thing on my birthday..... maybe.... at this age you forget.
AnswerID: 51393