Lorella Springs GREENDOG is heading there in July ,you beauty

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 17:57
ThreadID: 117009 Views:3080 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
G'day all we are heading to Lorella Springs in July ,will be meeting the BIL there from Townsville ,looking forward in any info from you's all that have been there ,E.g what to expect ,best camp sights ,swimming spots and of cause Fishing spots ,any thing you can think of that might help our stay there please let me know ,will be towing our new Eagle Camper Trailer,cheers GREENDOG

Reply By: colinvic1 - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 18:22

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 18:22
We were there last year , great place the road in is slow going if they havn't graded it yet , really rough , we were driving a 2010 troup carrier towing a Conqueror camper .

Once you get there they give you the low down on where to camp and what to see , really friendly people , heaps of good camp sites , lots of swimming holes billabongs and 4x4 tracks that stretch over 100 kms within the Station , one track goes over to the coast for good fishing .

You need to tell them where you are going and sign out and in on return .
Facilities are really basic , Corrigated iron showers and toilets , light a fire in the hot water service first for hot water shower .
the bar is a tin shed with meals , seats are jerry cans on legs I think you might be getting the feel by now .
fantastic hot springs just near the bar .
We loved it , we were there for about 4 nights , you could spend a full week or two there if you were mad keen on fishing 4x4 driving , we will go back .

Colin

AnswerID: 549723

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 19:48

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 19:48
Thanks Colin ,we are staying there for around 6 days but I think the BIL is staying longer ,so by the sounds of it the camp area plus shower are pretty basic,thanks for the reply cheers GREENDOG
FollowupID: 835154

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 11:12

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 11:12
"Facilities are really basic , Corrigated iron showers and toilets , light a fire in the hot water service first for hot water shower .
the bar is a tin shed with meals , seats are jerry cans on legs I think you might be getting the feel by now ."

We did the best we could :)

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 835181

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 12:09

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 12:09
Thanks for the pics
FollowupID: 835182

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 18:58

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 18:58
Fantastic place; we were there last year too - went in for a night and stayed for 6, and even then very reluctant to leave. Great relaxed atmosphere and all sorts of tracks to enjoy.
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 549728

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 19:49

Tuesday, Mar 10, 2015 at 19:49
Thanks Mildmax
FollowupID: 835155

Reply By: wholehog - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 09:29

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 09:29
We were there last August, while it was quite dry, it was a great place to be at, we stayed 4 nights. We will be back, next time I'll do it earlier in the winter season.
AnswerID: 549756

Reply By: Been-Everywhereman - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 11:11

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 11:11
Hi Greendog,

We stumbled upon Lorella Springs in 2004/2005 by accident on our way to Darwin via Limmen River fishing camp. Wow, what a place we thought. A caretaker (Wayne) comes to the front area to welcome us and asks all the normal questions, "have you got any guns, what is the AFL update etc etc". We proceeded to camp in what is still the main campground and did not see another soul for the 4 days we were there. We drove to Rosie Creek fishing camp and the trip out there was awesome and quite challenging may I add. Anyway my point is that we returned last year and apart from a bar area, a bitumen road from Bing Bong to Roper Bar which crosses through Lorella (weirdest sight ever) and more camping space we enjoyed it pretty much the same as the first time we went. We would go again too.

AnswerID: 549762

Follow Up By: Member - Cuppa - Friday, Mar 13, 2015 at 08:30

Friday, Mar 13, 2015 at 08:30
Could you expand on what made the fishing ‘quite challenging’? I’m imagining huge fish difficult to handle.
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 6th year.

FollowupID: 835268

Follow Up By: Been-Everywhereman - Friday, Mar 13, 2015 at 08:54

Friday, Mar 13, 2015 at 08:54
Heya Cuppa. I was referring to the drive out there. The fishing was crap. I was hoping for Barra and all we got were Queenies. Good for sport but I just wanted food. haha.
FollowupID: 835269

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Friday, Mar 13, 2015 at 09:30

Friday, Mar 13, 2015 at 09:30
Lots of Barra like this in the billabongs. You will have Queenies jumping into your boat at the fishing camp ramp

FollowupID: 835272

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 16:10

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 16:10
Hi Greendog,

If you are looking for remote camp spot I would say snapping handbag billabong is the best. You can fish for barra from camp site and you are only a short drive to teardrop falls, hidden pools and Gateway gorge, and only 11ks for the main campground.
Good fishing at the Rosie fishing camp, no need for a boat. They are new tracks to the coast and are now graded.

When you get their Rhett will give you a mud map with heaps of info on it.

You will need at least 2 weeks to see it all.

Cheers Andy
Lorella wet season caretaker

AnswerID: 549771

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 17:15

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 17:15
Thanks Andy ,great pics mate ,is there still a fair bit of water laying around in July ,and swimming spot are full ,Snapping Hand Bag Billibong looks like a great spot for a swim ,any more pics you have that might help send them through ,Thanks Mate cheers GREENOG
FollowupID: 835496

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 17:44

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 17:44
Do we need to book a spot at this Camp sight
FollowupID: 835497

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 18:58

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 18:58
Wouldn't swim there, Greendog! Where do you think they got the name from. :-))

FollowupID: 835502

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 20:11

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 20:11
What's the use of Camping there then
FollowupID: 835506

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 20:38

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 20:38
The main campground has the hot springs and is the headwater of the Rosie Creek. It runs through the camp ground and you can camp beside it and swin in the creek at the camp ground. There are a few waterholes that are croc free and Rhett will tell you which are the best to see for that time of year.

All billabongs have Barra in them, which is croc food, so treat every waterhole in the Top End as though it has croc's in it.

You do not have to book as most people camp at the homestead. But a phone call before you get their just to let Rhett know.

These are some of the pools for swimming. Taken in April so will be a little less water in Emerald Pool by July but still ok. Top pool of Teardrop Falls is hard to get to but runs most of the year and the view is worth it.

Yes Bob your right. The first time we saw the billabong pushing a track in their, there was a big sow sitting at the edge of where that photos was taken and the croc just down a bit. Made the name easy.

FollowupID: 835508

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 20:59

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 20:59
At the homestead....

OKA196 Motorhome

FollowupID: 835511

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 21:30

Monday, Mar 16, 2015 at 21:30
Enticing photos, Andy & Peter!

Might have to start packing the ute.............

FollowupID: 835514

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 14:50

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2015 at 14:50
Thanks Andy for the info and pics mate ,can't wait to get there
FollowupID: 836546

Reply By: Member - Will 76 Series - Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 21:51

Wednesday, Mar 11, 2015 at 21:51
Hey Greendog, great post and very interesting. I don't mean to highjack it but I am curious about Andy's post in regards to:
snapping handbag billabong
Can you give more details about this location?

AnswerID: 549797

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Thursday, Mar 12, 2015 at 08:31

Thursday, Mar 12, 2015 at 08:31
Snapping handbag billabong is a part of Lorella Springs and is a short drive from the homestead/ main camp ground. There are 5 private camp spots that are mowed along the billabong. The track is on the way to Teardrop Falls and Hidden pools, all part of Lorella.

FollowupID: 835214

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Mar 13, 2015 at 05:42

Friday, Mar 13, 2015 at 05:42
Crikey, I'm tempted to roll "The Landy" down the driveway and head-off now.

We've often talked about visiting, this might be the year!

Look forward to hearing a report of your trip...

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 549859