Oziexplorer

Submitted: Friday, Apr 17, 2015 at 00:03
ThreadID: 117517 Views:2539 Replies:1 FollowUps:16
This Thread has been Archived
I have ozi explorer on PDA but haven't used it for a long time. Have most of it on android tablet now and might use it soon up through the Kimberley via the Kidson Track. Is this still a good aid or is there better now. I mostly used it for the "snail trail" as we tend not to stay on tracks etc. and were able to retrace if needed.
thanks
Quentin
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Apr 17, 2015 at 08:20

Friday, Apr 17, 2015 at 08:20
Hi Quentin,

In my opinion, OziExplorer is the best, most flexible off-road navigation software around. There is none better, but some folk prefer an alternative like TrackRanger. It's a personal thing.

I have been using OziExplorer for many years, running it on a Dell PDA, then a Laptop (too intrusive in the car) and now on my second Hema Navigator. I also have a version on a Samsung Galaxy 10.1 Tablet but still found this a little big in the cab.
One day I might be tempted to upgrade to the Hema 7" Navigator, but for the time being my 6" model fits my requirement nicely.

Coupled with a Laptop version to enable easier pre-planning of trips, OziExplorer will provide all you need for great moving map display, recording tracks as you travel and waypoint data of points of interest you may wish to record for future reference.

I have no personal experience with TrackRanger or another alternative, as OziExplorer has always provided me with everything I need when traveling the great Outback.
It is as Australian as Football, Meat Pies and Holden cars and other brands can only strive to emulate or surpass the Ozi product.

I have used Natmap maps for the first few years, but the Hema map series and now the EOTopo product David has developed to replace the now non-supported Geoscience NatMap series of maps, give superb coverage of the whole of Australia.