Mileage (km) on your car.

Submitted: Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 15:31
ThreadID: 117818 Views:3657 Replies:22 FollowUps:13
Hi, was just wondering how many km do you have on your car? One sees so many new cars on the road these days and then also some really old ones. I don't have the money to pay off a new car and I am driving a 2001 manual diesel prado 3l with 330k on the clock. However, it purrs beautifully and never had a problem. Changing the oil and filter every 7500km. I love my car and will probably keep it till the engine falls out. Was just wondering if most people change their cars when it reaches high mileage and would you travel long distance with an oldie with lots of km on the clock?

Lindie

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 16:27

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 16:27
1994 - 500,000km - no chance of selling while I can still drive and I'm good for another decade, or 2.
Engines are cheaper than bodies.

OKA196 Motorhome.
AnswerID: 553639

Follow Up By: Lindie G - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 17:37

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 17:37
Nice nice. I will also just replace the engine if I ever have to. Well, it seems my 330k is still in its embryo stage then ;)
FollowupID: 839535

Follow Up By: Steve in Kakadu - Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 16:52

Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 16:52
Peter I have a full rebuild kit for your engine + gaskets a head and a turbo, in fact I have the whole engine, it blew up at 573,000 3000 after the Ahole I bought it off told me he rebuilt it.

If you ever come past you can have it.

my 2009 200 has 161000 and the 2011 has 140500, so they are still new, I will probably trade them at the end of the year for two newer ones.
FollowupID: 839635

Reply By: scruffy - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 16:29

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 16:29
2008 colorado...........271000k
AnswerID: 553640

Reply By: Member - mechpete - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 16:38

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 16:38
1993 GQ 165000ks
mechpete
AnswerID: 553641

Follow Up By: Lindie G - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 17:34

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 17:34
Mechpete, how on earth do you get only 165k on a 1993? That is almost new ;)
Is that the original engine or a recon? Perhaps in another 20 yrs it will have the same as my car now 330k hehehe ;)
FollowupID: 839533

Follow Up By: Life Member TourBoy, Bundaberg - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 19:15

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 19:15
I only have 123600 original km on my 82 troopy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 839541

Reply By: laurie b1 - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 17:06

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 17:06
My 1987 2.4 litre petrol Nissan Urvan 980,000km and it dropped a big end bearing, but it let me drive it home 30 km quietly including up a very steep hill. I bought it for $10,000 quite some time before and the wreckers gave me $1000 for it as it was after all that use. The only major repairs in the time I had it, was a gearbox overhaul and a new water pump. Motor still did not burn oil and was never overhauled. I do big mileage in all my vehicles Not sure how long to hang on to these newer ones though.
AnswerID: 553642

Follow Up By: Lindie G - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 17:39

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 17:39
I'm definately thinking along your lines for the future ....keeping it forever...
They say that the cheapest car is the one that is paid off ;)
FollowupID: 839536

Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 18:06

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 18:06
On average, most people would spend more in annual routine servicing on a new vehicle than they would in mechanical repairs and services over a couple of years.

So on purely financial grounds, why would you ever upgrade your vehicle.

FollowupID: 839537

Follow Up By: Member - Heather L - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 18:42

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 18:42
My 2001 Prado has done 330,000 as well.
I am towing an 18ft caravan round Australia for 3 years on my own.
Very careful to have the services done, just had 4 new tyres & a new battery & that should get me home to WA for Christmas 2016.
We traded in the Disco at 500,000 for this - and I still miss the oh so comfortable seats!
FollowupID: 839538

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor_H - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 19:34

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 19:34
365,000km 2007 Prado 3.0 litre.
Just finished 1 lap, looking forward to another couple in the same vehicle. This time with a 16ft caravan instead of the camper trailer.
FollowupID: 839542

Follow Up By: laurie b1 - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 20:01

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 20:01
The newer cars are certainly nicer to drive and I have always serviced my own vehicles. most of them have done between 350,000km to 650,000km when I move them on, but I feel these newer ones which I have now are just too many things I don't know about, so I might have to change sooner.I dont really want to go back to older cars, these are much nicer all round.
FollowupID: 839547

Follow Up By: Lindie G - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 23:28

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 23:28
Hi Heather L. I also recently got new tyres and a new battery hehehe. We only tow a small off road wind up camper trailer...for now
FollowupID: 839557

Reply By: Member - Jim B8 - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 19:38

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 19:38
I will watch this one closely
Seems the rebuild theme is not limited to the few?
27000, sorry
AnswerID: 553648

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 20:25

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 20:25
2006 TD 100 series cruiser, 424,000 and still drives like new.
My last 4 petrol patrols I traded at between 240,000 & 270,000, all still going strong, but just can't seem to let this one go.
Rob M

AnswerID: 553650

Reply By: Member - Patto (SA) - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 20:42

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 20:42
2005 GU 82000k
AnswerID: 553651

Reply By: Member - mechpete - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 20:56

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 20:56
Lindie G .
I bought it off a mates brother , genuine truck always been shedded with the roller door down ,he had a company car an only used it
when he couldn,t use the company car or motorbike on his holidays . when I put the turbo an 3in exhaust on it .the guy at turbo engineering couldn,t believe it , I bought it 18mths ago it had 150,020 ks on it .
love it ,
mechpete
AnswerID: 553653

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 21:23

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 21:23
'02 HDJ79, 279K, Lindie.

Was a company ute, that I drove for 3 years and bought it when lease ran out. Being on a station, it did a lot of hours at low speeds, running fences, chasing cattle & being towed behind a grader. Reckon it'll see me out. :-)

AnswerID: 553659

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 21:28

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 at 21:28
My 83 60 series (2H 4.0l diesel) now has 472200 k's - I bought it for $500 and spent about $2000 getting it ready to go over the pits (brakes, paint, tyres etc). The week after it was licensed I towed my boat to Exmouth with it (about a 2600km round trip). I have done the same trip twice now in it as well as using it as my daily driver.

I also have a 2001 TD 100 series with 410000k's on it - still runs like new (and is for sale for only $21500 - mainly because the k's scare people off)...

My previous 96 80 series 1HZ had 450000k's when I sold it - again still driving like new....

Drew
AnswerID: 553662

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 07:57

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 07:57
98. 4.2T GU Patrol, just turned over 405,000k. Still not ready to get rid of it as its one of the best around with solid front end and a great LSD.
AnswerID: 553674

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 09:34

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 09:34
I still have my 93 GQ petrol patrol with 500000+ km .

AnswerID: 553681

Reply By: Flighty ( WA ) - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 10:03

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 10:03
Lindie
95 HDJ 79 R cruiser............154,000 km

AnswerID: 553683

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 10:16

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 10:16
Just a tad under 270,000 Km on ours. Purchased the 2005 GXL in 2010 and it had 110000Km.

A son in Sydney has less than 100,000 Km on a 2005 100 series 4.2TD. Bought it at 21,000 Km in 2010. It's legit! It had been on block as the owner took crook and never got out of bed after their 1st trip. Speedo checked and no tampering was evident. Not a scratch on it. Damned nice car.
AnswerID: 553684

Reply By: Member Kerry W (WA) - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 11:30

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 11:30
GQ Patrol Wagon 1991 (25 years old) with the 3lit. RB30 Petrol - 336,000km running the best its ever run. Just replaced front wheel bearings and swivel hub seals, on its 2nd clutch, original starter motor on 2nd rebuild, alternator still on 1st rebuild , 3rd radiator. Most reliable, capable and field servicable vehicle around. Will keep it forever. A few mods which make it perform like the RB30 was originally designed to do - this engine was so misunderstood by most who owned one saying they were gutless and useless in a 4X4 only needed to do the unthinkable and use the engineered powerband between 3000 and 5000rpm (apparently they will do this without a problem for up to 500,000klm) or simply use the next gear down while towing (and probably use less fuel)... or do as I have add the appropriate mods to boost the torque and HP well over original (remembering that the smaller RB26 Petrol twin turbo won Bathurst in both 1991 and 1992 and promptly got banned for showing up the V8s)

A good model to restore but definately one for the mechanically minded to get it right in the first place but has never let me down.
Has slowly evolved from 7 seater wagon to 5 seater to now being a raised 2 seater outback tourer with double bed, workshop and kitchen in back.

also my Daughters have

GU Patrol Trayback 2002 with TD 4.2 - 370,000km smooth and gearbox still tight.

GU Patrol Wagon 2002 with 4.8lit Petrol 280,000km smooth as ever.

(Obviously impressed with the GQ they bounced around in as kids - not my fault!)
Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen Keller

AnswerID: 553688

Reply By: Louwai - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 13:33

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 13:33
Ours is a 'youngin'.... 2011, 78 Series Troopie... 88,000klm But have no intention of ever getting rid of it.....

I've still got at least 30yrs of driving before they take my licence away... And I expect to be still driving this one.....

Cheers, Bryan
AnswerID: 553693

Reply By: john m85 - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 16:58

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 16:58
hj60 497000 had it since new have not touched the motor looking to get a million out of it before I do,

AnswerID: 553704

Reply By: Trev6 - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 18:05

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 18:05
1993 80 series with 520 something thousand on it, it had 395000 on it when I bought it.
AnswerID: 553709

Reply By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 18:34

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 18:34
1991 HDJ75 Cruiser, now with a 1HD-FT engine. Fitted at 250,00 in place of the 1HZ. The old non turbo still going great but needed more neddies to tow the van.

I wonder if Doug T is looking in and laughing at all the youngsters going on about their barely run in modes of transport......lol.

AnswerID: 553710

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 18:35

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 18:35
OOPS. Sorry, now 298,000 k's
FollowupID: 839602

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 19:05

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 19:05
Last time Doug T mentioned his Troopy it was well above the 700000k mark and still going strong.
Cheers Doug (wherever you are now)

Disco.
FollowupID: 839604

Follow Up By: Kirks - Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 14:44

Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 14:44
Kirks posted
2000 model Ford AU ute just ticked over 80000 kms today

Kirks
FollowupID: 839633

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 16:33

Thursday, May 14, 2015 at 16:33
Lindie

A bit of a thought provoking question.

Given the considerable cost I’ve invested (using the term invested very lightly) into the whole vehicle, I would be inclined to replacing the engine rather than the vehicle. Perhaps other might be in the same boat...

But here’s hoping that is a long way off…

2013 VDJ79 Series – 46,000klm

Enjoy your travels,

Baz – The Landy
AnswerID: 553730

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 11:09

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 11:09
1999 LX470 380,000 (a few desert trips, suburban family car, and highway trips) No major issues. Still feels tight.
2003 Disco TD5 217,000 (mostly desert trips) Torque converter gone.
2003 Disco TD5 244,000 (just acquired) No major issues
2010 X5 35d 170,000 (mostly bitumen highway) No major issues (just eats tyres)

AnswerID: 553951

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 12:07

Tuesday, May 19, 2015 at 12:07
Son is in the process of buying his 1st car , 2005 Toyota Hilux single cab ,3lt diesel , steel tray , 2x spares , bulbar-side rails-steps , genuine 1 owner fully log booked serviced ,140k km , private sale…….
AnswerID: 553954