Trucking the car & Trailer to Perth

Submitted: Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 21:46
ThreadID: 11847 Views:3669 Replies:7 FollowUps:1
We are investigating the option of trucking the Patrol & Camper accross to Perth (from Melbourne), to spend time in the Pilbra. (we are limited on time with kids at school etc). Has any body any done something similar, if so what are your comments or contacts. I have spoken to people who have used the TRAIN and this is NOTan option. apart from stripping the car of roof racks etc, I donot trust their security
Cameron

Reply By: Rick Blaine - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 21:50

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 21:50
Strewth... here am I planning to put the Jack & Van on the train at Port Augusta for the trip to Perth. I havent heard any bad reports re the train. Maybe you can shed some light...
AnswerID: 53313

Follow Up By: blacky - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 22:00

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 22:00
Some friends trained their Hilux from Perth to Port Augusta about May, and had it broken into. Lost some light stuff, camera sleeping bag etc, and suffered about 500+ in damages. Several other vehicles wre also broken into. They are still battling with Police and insurance, because they can not say what state it happened in (I think they said the train stopped twice, once at Kalgoolie and once at Cook).
I would not consider it, but maybe there are some other comments out there ???
FollowupID: 315024

Reply By: Member - Bill (WA) - Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 23:54

Monday, Apr 05, 2004 at 23:54
These trains go past my work on their way to Perth, We are 3 hours east of Perth. I see the car carriers and what they have on the back of them on a daily bases, Most seem to be ok and there is a lot of new cars sent from the east. However I see a few horror stories go past as well where stones have been thrown at Vehicles.

I personally would not send by rail.
Trucking? Not sure, maybe I would send via truck.

AnswerID: 53329

Reply By: Rosscoe - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 08:49

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 08:49
We investigated this two years ago. We live in Sydney. The outcome was, as I remember, Perth to Adelaide was the limit for my NM Pajero. Tunnel height was the limiting factor, I think!!!
Sure glad we drove the Nullabore. Marvelous part of the world in early spring.
AnswerID: 53348

Reply By: dw - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 13:15

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 13:15
We trucked two cars (an HJ47 and a mazda 121) from Cairns to Perth a few years ago using Finemores, with no problems but for a lot of scratches on the windscreen surround of the Mazda (the 'protective' cover they put on looked as though it had flapped itself to bits on the surround).

We later sent the Troopie from Perth up to Broome on the back of a truck, I think we used Finemores again. We sent the car home using Northampton Transport, for no other reason than backloading with a freight company was a lot cheaper than specialist car carriers. I thought Northhampton Transport were better actually - the car was in an enclosed freight trailer, so only the truckie knows it's in there. Both companys work out of Kewdale in Perth.

Dave.
AnswerID: 53381

Reply By: duncs - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 15:42

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 15:42
Hey Cameron,

I understand the kids in school thing. Without knowing the age of your kids can I suggest that you talk to the teachers and see what they think. All my kids teachers fully supported taking the kids out of school for up to a full term. This happened on more than one occasion. The teachers said that the kids would learn more on the trip.

This does change as the kids get older. My wife who is a secondary teacher is reluctant to take the oldest out of school now as she is in Yr 10 but she did miss a bit last year.

As has already been stated the Nullarbor is a great trip. I have a mate who spent 3 & 1/2 weeks between Ceduna and Norseman. Now that might be a bit extreme but there is plenty to see between Melbourne and the Pilbra.

Getting there is more than half the fun.
AnswerID: 53414

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 16:41

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 16:41
give Autotrans a call. Havn't got the number but others here have used them. do a forum search it might come up.
AnswerID: 53426

Reply By: blacky - Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 18:34

Tuesday, Apr 06, 2004 at 18:34
Thanks for the comments, I'll dig out a few numbers and get some prices. I reckon it is always better to go with a recommendation rather than a cold call from the yellow pages, Ta. Re the kids, the eldest two will be Year 11 & Year 9, and they need an attendance rate > 90% for VCE Subjects.
The nullabor is a trip in itself, and is on the drawing board!!!!
Ta
AnswerID: 53443