oodnadatta track track.

Thinking of travelling home from the gathering at Ross river via the Oodnadatta track, having never done this track I would like to ask about fuel availability from Marla through to Broken hill, I'm travelling in a petrol land cruiser with gas, I don't expect gas on the track so I will have a range of 400ks, also will I need permits, thanks Billy.

Reply By: Member - tazbaz - Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 16:32

Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 16:32
G'day Sweet will
No permits needed. Fuel at Oodnadata, William Creek, Marree, Lyndhurst, Hawker. A lovely easy drive (if its dry),and excellant camping. Lots of views of the old Ghan railway too.
May see ya at the gathering
AnswerID: 555998

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 16:58

Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 16:58
Tazbaz.
Thanks for the quick reply, Hope to see you at the gathering, cheers Billy.
FollowupID: 842084

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 20:12

Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 20:12
Also Copley and Leigh Creek have fuel.
Quite a lot of supply down the track and after.
FollowupID: 842109

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 17:59

Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 17:59
Not so sure that there is petrol available at Lyndhurst since the BP servo closed.
I think the pub filling station is only diesel.

AnswerID: 556001

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 19:45

Monday, Jun 15, 2015 at 19:45
I read that the BP is open again but that was from someone that knows someone who drove past.

Will be going up there in a few weeks so will try to remember to post back as fact.

FollowupID: 842108

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 04:36

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 04:36
The Lyndhurst roadhouse is open contrary to rumours.

And fuel is much cheaper there than at Marree. Was there about 4 weeks ago.

Beltana roadhouse is closed however
FollowupID: 842117

Reply By: Member - VickiW - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 04:03

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 04:03
If you travel east from Copley / Leigh Creek to Arkaroola & down the Yunta Rd, we have fuel at Arkaroola, then next at Yunta 300kms away.
Enjoy your trip!
AnswerID: 556024

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 06:54

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 06:54
Thank you for all the help, I will take a couple of jerry's just in case,Looking forward to the gathering I will be leaving in two weeks, cheers Billy.
FollowupID: 842118

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 08:03

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 08:03
Yep. Exxy at Arkaroola though. Diesel was in the 180s when I was there a month ago cp 150s for Copley and Lyndhurst.
FollowupID: 842119

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 09:27

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 09:27
With places like Oodnadatta having diesel at $1.89 (a month ago), station prices around $1.80 aren't outrageous.
(They are taking advantage of being the next stop away form Mt Dare, I'm sure.)
Even Birdsville was still around $1.70, Mt Dare the usual $2.20, they don't seem to fluctuate too much at station type outlets.

For sure, if you have tank capacity or some jerries, then you can plan to get past remote fuel needs, and to lower priced fuel on more major routes.

Most costs are reasonable considering the amounts they purchase (much less holding capacity than town servo tanks) and the cost to get it out there.
So I like to give them a bit of biz, if not fuel, then maybe a meal(s) or camping, but a stubby holder (can't have too many of them !!), etc.
FollowupID: 842121

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 09:47

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 09:47
Yeah, I'm happy to shop locally and support roadhouses cos they really earn their dough and we need them to stay in biz. (Wearing a Pink Roadhouse T-shirt around town gets me some funny looks though).

Arkaroola village is a bit different.
FollowupID: 842123

Follow Up By: Member - VickiW - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 10:01

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 10:01
Arkaroola IS a bit different and be careful if you are about to make an uninformed comment. It is privately owned and still run by the family that set it up, receives no govt funding and also does a lot of work for research and education for secondary and tertiary students. It is at the end of a long dirt road & not on the way to anywhere. That makes transport difficult & expensive.
FollowupID: 842126

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 10:09

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 10:09
For sure Sigmund, I have a couple of Pink Roadhouse stubby holders too, the missus needs one too for her Southern Comfort cans :D

Vicki, love the place, Doug has picked us up in his plane after 2 big walks up there (Mt Hopeless strip and Cameron Corner), and we have stayed, we were in the shearers qtrs during year of the outback, oh was that nearly 15 years ago, May 2001 ??
What a party that was :)

Yeah got to expect a bit higher costs at stations and such, Hamilton had diesel on the way down Ood Tk too.
We stayed overnight, but didn't need any fuel in our group, but they said it was $1.45, as they had to buy it from Mt Dare during the wet in April '15 when no one could get fuel in.
FollowupID: 842127

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 10:14

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2015 at 10:14
I've been there three times now and enjoy the scenery and the walks.

A hundred k of good dirt road from the bitumen at Copley makes it far from unique.

Poorly maintained, tired and grubby facilities and industrial litter are a bit surprising in a sanctuary.
FollowupID: 842128

Follow Up By: Member - VickiW - Wednesday, Jun 17, 2015 at 17:47

Wednesday, Jun 17, 2015 at 17:47
Sigmund I hope you did speak to someone about your concerns - only way to make a difference or get some understanding.
FollowupID: 842202