Small News

Submitted: Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:03
ThreadID: 12410 Views:2283 Replies:55 FollowUps:1
Michelle & I are pleased to inform you all of the birth of our new team member.

ExplorOz Team - Chardae, born on Saturday morning, no complications, all doing fine.

As you may expect Michelle will be away from the computer for a while (at least for the first day home - lol). We will publish some information on her revised schedules in our next newsletter.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:08

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:08
Congratulations, what a lovely name, how long before her first post, lol. Just makes you feal so proud does'nt it.

AnswerID: 56097

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:11

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:11
Congrats to you both, you DO know that Fisher Price have a very reasonably priced notebook PC for ages 3 months to 5 years that Chardae could use to help out with the site. The Michelle wouldnt have to get back to work so soon David.

AnswerID: 56098

Reply By: brian - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:18

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:18
Absolutely magic congratulations to you both, the birth of my two sons was the best event of my life,im sure it is the same for you congratulations again .ps sounds like you are camping in too many spots with no tv reception....lol ...just joking enjoy every minute its unrepeatable
AnswerID: 56099

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:25

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:25
Congratulations David and Michelle enjoy every minute of it as they grow up so quickly, after 3 of our own we have a grandson and another on the way and love every minute of it.
This should fix the getting in and out of the 80 series problem Michelle was complaining about the other day LOL.
AnswerID: 56101

Reply By: John - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:30

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:30
Nice one guys.
All the best.

AnswerID: 56102

Reply By: Borgy - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:30

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:30
Congratulations Michelle and Dave well done!!......Cheers Dave and Barb
AnswerID: 56103

Reply By: Member - Fay D Away (Vic) - Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:36

Monday, Apr 26, 2004 at 23:36
Gongratulation Michelle and David on the safe arrival of Baby Chardae.
What will her handle be?
Have you got "Safe & Sound" Sponsorship?

ps thought you were quite laterly
AnswerID: 56104

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 00:02

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 00:02
Many congrats and all the best

Steven
AnswerID: 56107

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 00:27

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 00:27
'onya guys, best wishes.
AnswerID: 56108

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 01:21

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 01:21
congrats from our family to yours
nothing so precious as family
love the name (personal choice or a meaning?)

be good to hear your travelling with kids stories
AnswerID: 56111

Reply By: Member - Sparky - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 05:37

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 05:37
CONGRATULATIONS! PLeased to hear both mum and daughter are doing well!

Sparky
AnswerID: 56114

Reply By: Member - Woodsy - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 06:26

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 06:26
Congratulations Michelle and David.

Enjoy! Enjoy!! Enjoy!!
Happy 4 wheeling

Woodsy

AnswerID: 56115

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 06:47

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 06:47
Congratulations David & Michelle, I guess you will be doing some late night posting while attending to those late night feedings etc.!!
All the best.
AnswerID: 56116

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:30

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:30
Congratulations David, Michelle and big sister Leah on the safe arrival of Chardae

"May you always have walls for the winds
A roof for the rains,
Tea beside the fire,
Laughter to cheer to you
Those who love you near you
And all your heart may desire"

Lyn
AnswerID: 56118

Reply By: REXY - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:47

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 07:47
Congrats guys wish you all the best with the new team member, how long till she does her first cape trip David ???? lol

Rexy
AnswerID: 56121

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:00

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:00
Congratulations Michelle and David. All the best for a Happy, Healthy and Loving life for Chardae.

AnswerID: 56124

Reply By: Bros - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:09

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:09
Congratulations to you both and the very best to all four of you.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 56126

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:16

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:16
Wonderful that all is well - look forward to seeing her soon - and Leah who, no doubt, will want to show her off.
AnswerID: 56128

Reply By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:18

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:18
Congratulations Michele and David. Great news!
Gee this could be a good way to raise the membership statistics.
AnswerID: 56129

Reply By: Member - Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:27

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:27
Congratulations, on your new arrival Chardae, I hope you are all doing well.
"Always working, not enough travelling"...ahem...well not ALWAYS working
AnswerID: 56131

Reply By: Member - Anne - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:35

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 08:35
David, Michelle, Leah and Chardae,
Congratulations to you all. Wishing Chardae a long, happy and prosperous life.
We shall look forward to her first trek notes!
Anne
AnswerID: 56132

Reply By: Member - Jeffrey - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:08

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:08
Hi David,Michelle,
Congratulations for the birth of your Daugther,may Chardae live long and prosper,thats the easy part done now the fun begins.
All The Best In Health And Wealth
Jeffrey (AKA JD)
AnswerID: 56136

Reply By: Aston - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:11

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:11
I wish for Chardae a happy and heathly life.

cheers Aston
AnswerID: 56139

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:13

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:13
Congratulations to both Michelle and yourself David. Glad to hear mum and bub are doing well. All the best!

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 56141

Reply By: The Banjo - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:21

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:21
Great news Michelle and David....congrats all round ! Hope you have made some grandparents even happier too ......I'm one.....the two little'ns in our lives are wonderful (and they even have a great-grandma's knee to sit on).
AnswerID: 56145

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:25

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:25
Congratulations to both of you. Best wishes for the future. Cheers.
AnswerID: 56146

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:25

Well done there Michelle and David, guess you will take up Bonz suggestion but will have an EO sticker firmly plastered on the lid ready to go. Am pleased that Mum and Chardae are both well.

You folks do such a great job in bringing people together for good
AnswerID: 56147

Reply By: Member - Penguin (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:25

Congratulations to Michelle and David. They certainly keep you on your toes but they're worth it!

Well done.
AnswerID: 56148

Reply By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:31

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:31
Congratulations to you and Michelle on the birth of Baby Chardae.

I think that you should be revising your schedule too to spend more time with the new baby over the next few months. It is a fathers duty!

Andrew and Jen
AnswerID: 56151

Reply By: Member - Peter (York) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:57

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 09:57
best wishes and congrates from us inland
AnswerID: 56158

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 10:33

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 10:33
congratulations
AnswerID: 56161

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 11:00

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 11:00
Congrats guys! Our's is due in November! Looks like you'll have the sleepless night about 6 months earlier than us! ;-)
AnswerID: 56164

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 11:05

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 11:05
Congratulations guys, glad all are doing well. So when are you posting a pic !!!

AnswerID: 56167

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 11:20

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 11:20
Michelle and David,

If we could only capture in a bottle the emotion of that first minute or two of life we'd go back to sup from the cup over and over.

A real live doll for Leah to play with. Chardae is both a pretty and yet unusual name - are you going to let us all in on its origin? . . . . AND . . . .when do we get to see photos?

Congratulations from the Wombats.
AnswerID: 56170

Reply By: Julie from Gibb River Road Bus Services - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 11:23

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 11:23
Congratulations Michelle & David on the birth of Chardae.
Love her name
Best Wishes
Julie
AnswerID: 56172

Reply By: Member - Don (QLD) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 12:19

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 12:19
Congratulations David & Michelle
All the best and well done
Don
AnswerID: 56178

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 13:03

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 13:03

Re: Michelle being away...haven't you heard of laptops and wireless networks? We will happily endure the occasional misspelt word due to baby dribble shorting out the keyboard ;-)

All the best.....
AnswerID: 56185

Reply By: GaryW - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 13:14

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 13:14
Congratulations! - Great News

Gaz
AnswerID: 56186

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 14:51

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 14:51
Hi David, Michelle and Chardae
Thats one way to increase member base....Congrats.....now how many seats are still vacant in that GXL????
Andrew Wollongong
AnswerID: 56205

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 15:48

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 15:48
Michelle, David and Leah, Congratulations and Best Wishes on Chardae's safe arrival. Hope your not overdoing the celebrations. LOL
AnswerID: 56220

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 15:58

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 15:58
Congratulations to you both
AnswerID: 56222

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 16:04

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 16:04
Congrats to you all. Will Chardae's first trip be the variety bash?
AnswerID: 56223

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 17:04

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 17:04
congratulaions to your family
steve & denny
AnswerID: 56233

Reply By: TheUndertaker - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 17:51

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 17:51
Congrats and best wishes to you and the littlen ,,will drink a toast of j/walker gold in honour ,
TheUndertaker and family / formaly ThePublican.
AnswerID: 56240

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 17:52

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 17:52
Dear Michelle & David,

Congratulations on the healthy arrival of Chardae. I trust it won't be long before an introduction to the Exploring Oz takes place......where's the first trip to? Probably out to see aunty Ruth.
AnswerID: 56242

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 17:57

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 17:57
Great news, congratulations to you all. Pleased that Michelle and Chardae are both well.

Best wishes,
Bob & Linda

AnswerID: 56243

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 19:50

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 19:50
Congrats from the war office and myself and all up here in York .
AnswerID: 56262

Reply By: uppy - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 20:13

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 20:13
Well done David and Michelle.All the best to you both and Chardae
kind regards The uppys
...the school bus,still gets us there

AnswerID: 56264

Reply By: Mrs Diamond - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 20:58

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 20:58
david and michelle,
congratulations to you both and all the best with raising youre beautiful little girl, ps...thats is a lovely unusual name i love it..mrs d..
AnswerID: 56273

Reply By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 22:59

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 22:59
Well done Michelle, just in time for mothers day, oh and congratulations to you to David, I think you might have had something to do with this........LOL
Karen & Geoff
So what does that take the member numbers up to now?????????
AnswerID: 56310

Reply By: Member - Rick - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 23:40

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 23:40
congrats michelle and david,,,,nothing like the sound of a new born to liven up the place,,,,enjoy the years ahead with the little-un.

rick.
AnswerID: 56320

Reply By: Member - Les & Clare (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 23:53

Tuesday, Apr 27, 2004 at 23:53
Congratulations Michelle & David.

All the very best for the future.

Les & Clare
AnswerID: 56323

Reply By: Member - The MALS (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 28, 2004 at 16:37

Wednesday, Apr 28, 2004 at 16:37
Wonderful news Michelle and David. Leah must be stoked.
Looking forward to a photo soon.
Best wishes to you all
The MALS
AnswerID: 56415

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 17:44

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 17:44
Hi Everyone!
Wow - I just got home from the hospital a few hours ago today and unfortunately, I have had to do a bit of WORK as our regular fortnightly user newsletter is due today and an advertiser was promised a feature in it. I've just done it and you'll all receive the newsletter tonight when David sends it for me just to prove it! LOL

David also alerted me to this post and all your wonderful kind wishes. Thanks everyone, I was actually quite taken aback and suprised by how many responses we have here - this means a lot to me, thank you.

Many of you have asked about the unusual name we chose for Chardae - and I'm only too happy to explain. Firstly, I need to clarify that I took the full 9mths to decide on the name and had to purchase a book called "50,000 Baby Name From around the World" to get it, after all the internet searching etc didn't come up with anything I liked... Chardae is derived from the Punjabi language and means "Charitable"... rather fitting since this year we are doing the Variety Club charity thingy and I just wanted to find an original name for her so that there weren't 3 girls with the same name when she gets to school. However, I now realise that like "Leah", who we named after the publican's daughter of the Birdsville Hotel who we befriended in 1999, "Chardae" is also the name of one of Theo's daughters (the manager of the Birdsville Auto)... so Birdsville still has that special connection with our lives that I think will never leave us (read Journal section on Birdsville 1999 for more on that period of our lives if you haven't already).

By the way, after entering the VC event we found out that neither Leah nor Chardae can come as they are under 18. So, I can't go either. That's why David is taking my father on the trip. "Popo and Gran" are from Sydney and so the boys will go and leave the girls behind in Perth. I'll have to run the online event with the satellite tracking to keep a check on them!!

So thanks everyone for your kind wishes. Photos will come later, I hope not to have to do any more work for another fortnight til the next newsletter is due however and after today's tiring stint will avoid the office - and YES we already have the wireless network setup up for me LOL :-)
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 56592

Follow Up By: Big Dog - Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 17:48

Thursday, Apr 29, 2004 at 17:48
Congrats Michelle and David

That David must be a taskmaster, hope you have your feet up now

Bigdog
FollowupID: 318343

Reply By: Member - PatC - Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 12:57

Friday, Apr 30, 2004 at 12:57
Congratulations to both of you on the arrivale of Chardae.

Pat & Dee
AnswerID: 56705