retirement plans.

Submitted: Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 13:29
ThreadID: 12695 Views:1691 Replies:16 FollowUps:22
this is probly a few questions bye a sticky beak i guess.
how many people have retired and bought a van/4wd to tour.
how many people plan to retire and bye a van/4wd and tour.
how many people never had a 4wd before they retired and bought one.

thanks mr sticky b eak

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 13:32

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 13:32
I bought a 4WD and a camper trailer .....

Now I'm so bloody poor I can't afford to retire.
AnswerID: 57733

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:31

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:31
you might just have to woork a wee bit longer.
Fidei defensor does it mean poor for longer lol
FollowupID: 319484

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 08:19

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 08:19
Rosco,
Spare a thought for us blokes who have a 4wd, a camper trailer And a wife and kids..
FollowupID: 319681

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:10

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:10
hullo diamonds
we are currently buying both instead of putting more into a super fund so that they are paid for before or as we retire we have bought and sold 2 vans and are awaiting delivery of a new van trying to make sure the 1 we select suits before we retire .we had a jayco hawk great but couldnt just pull up on the side of road as you had to put it up then a jayco freedom offroad a few problems and to much b/s from jayco (service dept was great and problems fixed before customer relations even replied)now awaiting paramount full van with shower and toilet this has to be right as swmbo says she wants to retire not keep nproviding me with toys "women just cant understand them "!!!!!!!!!!!!lol

AnswerID: 57734

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:33

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:33
when will they understand .
the way to a mans heart is not through his stomach.
its the amount of toys they have lol
FollowupID: 319485

Follow Up By: Member - Allan Mac (VIC) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:10

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:10
Steve, we had better talk soon
hahahahah seems like your heading down the same track we went down . but its all fun
macca
FollowupID: 319532

Reply By: GLD - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:29

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:29
We have had a 4wd for the past ten years - we have always tent camped and still love it - but have pensioned off the air bed (never to use one again - they were fine when we were younger) - we tow a box trailer or the 4m runnabout with our camping gear, but next year we are going to get a 7'x4.6' box trailer with a workmans top and set it up with camping gear to eliminate packing and unpacking every trip, and to be more organised.

My husband has 12 years til he plans to retire, and a couple of years before retirement we hope to buy an off road caravan and set it up for bush camping.
AnswerID: 57736

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:34

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 14:34
12 years he better hurry up and get organised it will be here before you know it. lol
FollowupID: 319486

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:01

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:01
G'day Jim,

We bought our first 4x4 in 1977....you were but a young fella then :-)

Much later we bought a van and went on a working holiday around Australia for 5 years. Then we flogged the van and retired.

Still got the 4x4 though ( our 20th one )
AnswerID: 57737

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:07

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:07
gday willy.
great to see you made it back safe and had a good trip.
your right there i was but a wee young fella 9.
so 20 so far when will it stop or wont it
FollowupID: 319491

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:19

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:19
This vehicle thing will only stop when I drop off the perch....hahahahaha
FollowupID: 319496

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:24

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:24
so might own as many cars as slim had albums lol
remember only the good(and not grumpy) die young hahaha
FollowupID: 319498

Reply By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:07

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:07
We haven't decided whether to stay with current setup or change to trayback & slide on or OKA type setup van. 10 yrs to go so still time to sus it out. but we are definatly off bush in something comfy
AnswerID: 57738

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:09

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:09
great plan
of bush on weekends or long time hollidays.
FollowupID: 319492

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:54

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 15:54
We decided three years ago to retire in 2006-7 and purchased a new jackaroo and Campomatic CT. The reason we did so then was so that I could depreciate the Jack out of the Business and the Trailer was because we found a good bargin at the time. So far all is going to plan, but we found if you say you are going to retire when you have so much $ then you never will. It has to be a time frame. We have had 4WD all our lives but we thought if we plan to travel we may as well have a new truck to do so( couldn't be happier with it at the moment) . Also the Campomatic is great for our needs and we use it regularly.
AnswerID: 57739

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:41

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:41
so you only got 2-3 yrs of planing i cant wait i/we have a little bit longer than that. lol
FollowupID: 319510

Reply By: mijochka - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 16:24

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 16:24
We've approached this from a slightly different angle. Aged in late 50's and not financially capable of total retirement, we've opted to sell our home to a family member,having earlier bought a smaller home to eventually occupy, and take off for a year or so. Never owned a 4WD before purchasing our HJ61 and 24' van as a package. Done a couple of shakedown voyages and looking forward to heading off later this year. If the opportunity presents itself, may pick up some work en route.
Am fortunate to be in a field of work which will allow me to resume employment
on my return.
Mick.
AnswerID: 57740

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:42

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:42
sounds a little like our plan.
pay of the house sell to one of the kids maybe.
buy a bush block
travel heaps ans either to our old house and visit kids or bush block when we back in town
FollowupID: 319511

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 12:41

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 12:41
Jeez Jim, I had to read your reply a second time. First time I read ". . .sell one of the kids maybe" and I started to wonder which one you might have been planning to sell!
FollowupID: 319721

Reply By: Snatchem - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 18:07

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 18:07
We (wife and I) had a 4wd a few years ago but sold it for reasons at the time, now thinking of semi retirement later this year. I plan to get a 4WD and full height caravan, but the wife is trying to talk me into doing the trip with a car instead of the 4WD because of the initial cost of another vehicle, (we would need a bigger car) and fuel costs. I'm sought of winning the agument at the moment because of the better view of the road and scenery by sitting higher, not to mention if the sign says 4WD only we can at least go there and have a look.

Snatchem
AnswerID: 57746

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:51

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:51
just hire or borrow a 4wd for a weekend take the wife to a few beautifull places where you need 4wd and that might help when retirement comes haha
FollowupID: 319514

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 18:23

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 18:23
The Prado will be my first 4WD although I have wanted one for years and there are a few in the family already.

I have about 25 years to minimum retirement age so I am thinking that this will not be that last one!!!

Steven
AnswerID: 57747

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:53

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:53
seems like for ever you been waiting to get it.
lets hope you dont get crook sunday and arnt able to go pick it up monday lol just kidding
FollowupID: 319515

Follow Up By: Member - Allan Mac (VIC) - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 17:55

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 17:55
Steve,
Struth, Isn't that tantalizing,being able to see it and not getting at it!.No doubt there will be a big post on here when the deed is done!
FollowupID: 319606

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 18:46

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 18:46
Mrs Diamond,

I will show you mine if you will show me yours. Retirement plan that is. Be a few years before I slow down and get a bus or a caravan. The Nissan seldom exceeds 120 on cruise control.

Then Dear Navigator knows - I don't want to retire.......... being self employed I probably don't have a lot of choice in the matter.
AnswerID: 57751

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:54

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:54
you probly woouldnt want to to see mine.
oh retirement plan lol.
FollowupID: 319516

Reply By: Member - Raymond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:37

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:37
Hi Mrs Diamond
Just celebrating one year of retirement.
Only mistakes was selling the business to favourite and only daughter. Her idea of payment is a hug a week and letting the old man work for her 6 weeks a year.
Retirement is great, heading up fpr the Outback Challenge the home for 3 days then off around the world.
Highly recommend retirement in your 50's ignore Littrle Johnny, our kids need the work experience
Ray
AnswerID: 57756

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:56

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 19:56
a great big hug is probly priceless.
but cash is still better hahaha.
i think ill only go to 50 to much to see and not a lot of time
FollowupID: 319517

Reply By: Member - Allan Mac (VIC) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:26

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:26
Mrs D,
We're retired and have never looked back since (even though it was forced on us).But just as an aside. I have had mates who were going to retire and do this and that ,and are no longer with us or things have happened where they are no longer able to get out and see this wonderful country. So the point is, DO It as you see fit now, whilst you have your youth, rather than procrastinate about it and never do it.
AnswerID: 57780

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 09:41

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 09:41
thats one thing i dont want to happen to us when the time comes we really want to do it.
FollowupID: 319565

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 11:29

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 11:29
I know what you meen Allan, my dad worked till 65 to get enough money for him & mum to travel oz. He dropped dead a week later, ever since we have travelled when ever we can while still young & fit enough( although not so young or fit now ) to enjoy it & not wait till retirement just incase.
FollowupID: 319577

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 17:38

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 17:38
Bob,

That's exactly what happened to my old Dad at the age of 63. Died of a heart attack, one week before he was due to pick up the money and do it. I made myself a promise in his memory - THAT is not for me. I'm 57 now and by December this year, that's me done. Maybe I'll have enough money and maybe I won't and I won't know until I do it.

Stuff Costello and Howard. They and the likes of them have done nothing to make the accumulation of my retirement funds easier and they won't stop me now I've finally got there. I'm lucky enough to have been in higher paid jobs all my life and any government that's been in at the time has taxed me to the hilt. Plus, any government "giveaway' schemes that were going, I always missed out by a month or a dollar. Family allowance - never had it. First home buyers grant - too late. Unemployment pay - always had a job. University for my sons? I paid for it........I'm outta here, Johnny - catch me if ya can!

Hmmmmm..............I reckon I'm retiring early just to give Peter, John (and Mark) the S**TS :)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 319605

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 00:19

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 00:19
planning on retiring soon?
you win lotto?
getting the terra and a kimberly?

lol
AnswerID: 57794

Follow Up By: Mrs Diamond - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 09:43

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 09:43
pretty soon its only about 22 years 10 months and 17 days to go.
FollowupID: 319566

Follow Up By: Member - Nobby - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 11:09

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 11:09
But who's counting???
FollowupID: 319576

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 11:18

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 11:18
Mrs D.. as stated up further we plan to retire in 2006/7, but what I plan to do is sell 1/2 my business on a time share plan. I work it for 6 months and then travel for 6 months. When I come back my "Partner" does the same. What I make in my 6 months is mine, what he makes is his. Under this arrangement I can see me "working" for quiet some time, which suits me fine. We all have to have an income and I can get by on 6 month's worth nicely. This of course is all theory.
AnswerID: 57820

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Monday, May 10, 2004 at 11:14

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 11:14
No prizes for guesing what tyres you will be fitting to your retirement machine eh??

You still up in Bendigo at the same dealer ??

BTW FYI the rodeo tyres did 37000 k's before they were fubar.. The fronts were totally gone, the back ones i gave a little help :-))))

I have changed roles at work and am now going to be in charge of our dealings for oils with r&j , so i shall have to pop in for a 'buisness visit' he he ..

Hope all is well, catch you later Jemima..
AnswerID: 57954

Reply By: Member - Alan- Monday, May 10, 2004 at 14:56

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 14:56
General consensus seems to be "retire as soon as you can"! I couldn't agree more as I've just had another health scare and when the figures show us all supposedly living longer, I just wonder sometimes if they haven't been fiddling figures again.
Bugger Costello and Howard, them and the other 2 levels of government have been ripping us off and wasting every last cent for years ....... get as much back as we can, retire asap!
The cook wants to retire now but I reckon 2 years will do it and then off we'll go around the paddock.
I can hardly wait.
AnswerID: 57990