Birdsville Anzac Weekend Trip Report

Submitted: Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:25
ThreadID: 12710 Views:1440 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
Sorry to the dial up users (like me) for the size of the pix.

Its on my website: Trip Report

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:38

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:38
Excellent report Andrew as you know did the trip the week before.
Cheers Steve YP4WD
AnswerID: 57784

Follow Up By: Andrew - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:40

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 22:40
you must be a speed reader Steve. LOL

catchya in October
FollowupID: 319539

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 23:14

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 23:14
Trying to fine tune our GPS skills for Oct., will you have a class for Dopey beginners like Roachie and me. LOL
FollowupID: 319545

Follow Up By: Andrew - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 23:47

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 23:47
Funny you should mention that Steve.
I have the 3 page flyer in front of me. Its getting posted to all clubs on Monday.
One of the items listed is a "how to use a GPS" session on the saturday afternoon before the night nav. its listed to run for about 30 minutes.
FollowupID: 319551

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 21:58

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 21:58
Pesty. If you bring that load of firewood with you in June, you'll save me a lot of trouble.
FollowupID: 319656

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 22:10

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 22:10
Yeh I know the TOYOTA would pull it easily despite what roachie says but with 3 wood fires to support in the family we will have made a mess of it by then. Probably more wood up there than here plus the exercise will be good for your bod. LOL
PS could organise a smaller load, if wood is a problem ?
FollowupID: 319657

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 22:14

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 22:14
No shouldn't be a problem. Just being slack. Will have to talk to the local tree trimmer about some.
FollowupID: 319659

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 22:43

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 22:43
OK message received, how was your night with willem and the peterbro area weekend, no mishaps!
FollowupID: 319662

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:40

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:40
G'day Pesty, the night went well and had a good weekend
Drive from Yunta through Lilydale, Dangaali and home was interesting. Next time might have to leave Yunta before 2.00 pm though so we can have a decent look around, bit hairy looking out for roos on the Wentworth Rd in the dark.
FollowupID: 319818

Reply By: Member - Athol (NSW) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 23:00

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 23:00
Exxxxxellent report , great photos .I want to go now ! , I think I might have to review my Plans do I cut out the top half of our trip or the bottom half or do the whole thing only quicker (refer post 12708).
Hey Pesty that must of been some campfire looking at that load of wood.
AnswerID: 57788

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 23:11

Saturday, May 08, 2004 at 23:11
Do the whole thing Athol and leave a few sites for an excuse to go back.
Firewood to keep my ageing bones warm at night.
FollowupID: 319543

Reply By: Andrew - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 00:34

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 00:34
Just added a second web page of photos captured from my video.

Quality is ordinary but shows the climb up Big Red (for Willem!) and driving upstream in Eyre Creek

photos
AnswerID: 57795

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 07:59

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 07:59
Andrew,
A great trip report mate!
AnswerID: 57801

Reply By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 09:19

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 09:19
Great reading Andrew,

I am extremely envious that you can get to Birdsville and back in such a short time. Mind you that is the only problem I have with living in Melbourne.

AnswerID: 57809

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 16:30

Sunday, May 09, 2004 at 16:30
I've been as far as Innaminka can't wait to go up to Birdsville, were going to Eildon in july not my choice SWMBO choice Birdsville was mine, ah well soon, i'm looking forward to VIC might be a bit cold though. I thought your report was great and pics too, quality was pretty good i thought.

Baz. ps, i signed your guest book, great site.
AnswerID: 57852

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:49

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 21:49
Hey Baz, seeing you are coming that far you may as well come the rest of the way down to the GOR (Great Ocean Road), the frosts of Eildon may send you further south, you may as well go west too.

Reckon Andrews pics are enough to get us there in June.
FollowupID: 319824

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 10:28

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 10:28
Thanks John, i cant see why not i think the girls would enjoy the drive if only to warm up lol, it's a lovely part of Oz.

FollowupID: 319866

Reply By: Andrew - Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:19

Monday, May 10, 2004 at 22:19
Thanks everyone for your comments and thanks to those people who wrote in my guestbook.
I will let you know when I get the pix up from the lower Birdsville Track.

AnswerID: 58084

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 16:12

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 16:12
Andrew, this is so good - just loved the pictures. Well done.
FollowupID: 319899

Follow Up By: Andrew - Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 22:16

Tuesday, May 11, 2004 at 22:16
I bet you liked the pix of your backyard! LOL

FollowupID: 319955

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 06:46

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 06:46
I did - can you come back after the grader has been down in a few weeks and cleaned up from the flood - then it really would look nice.
FollowupID: 319969