Astronomy Software

Submitted: Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 17:38
ThreadID: 12818 Views:2835 Replies:7 FollowUps:33
I went to a terrific night at my son's school recently with an Astronomy thingy called Starlab. It was a fantastic presentation about the Universe that we can see and all about the stars and their rotation. On our trip to Birdsville and Winton etc, out in the bush the stars were so bright but we knew so little about them that we felt ignorant.

I have seen some software that you can run on your Laptop that will show you the stars from where you are and I was wondering if anyone has experience with these programs and if they know of any that are free (or nearly free). It would be great to be able to sit out in the desert at night and actually know some of the names of the things that we were looking at.

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 18:38

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 18:38
Hello Son,

I have the Starry Night program which is the latter one you are referring to. Great program and very ingenious. Want to know more? Send me an email.

AnswerID: 58354

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 22:12

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 22:12
http://www.rmp-o.com/literature/index.htm <--

Check this out Willem, G60 Heaven
FollowupID: 320094

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 22:58

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 22:58
FollowupID: 320108

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 11:14

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 11:14
Thanks for that Truckster.......I was able to save all the pics to a special folder.

FollowupID: 320147

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:49

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:49
Hey Willem
You were the one that got me on to this idea when you were showing us at Little Desert and now with the help of Mad Dog and Truckster and the www I have it too. It is fantastic so thanks for the encouragement.

FollowupID: 320219

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 22:10

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 22:10
Andrew.....Just goes to show you that some elephants do forget.....:-)

FollowupID: 320226

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 19:28

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 19:28
Starry Night is on Kazaa, downloading it as we speak, sounds kewl.
AnswerID: 58366

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 19:40

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 19:40
Or download from the website for a free 15 day http://www.starrynight.com/
FollowupID: 320055

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 19:46

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 19:46
And the Keygenerator off KAzaa :) its only 31kb...

the version IM downloading is 57meg!
FollowupID: 320057

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 20:01

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 20:01
Struth, 57 megs, not much for cable though. Gotta be some good stuff in there. Looking at the website site they say 300meg required on the hd. Might have a look at it tomorrow as it sounds like a good time waster during slow evenings in the bush with a laptop.
FollowupID: 320064

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 20:15

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 20:15
So you can download it for free on Kazaa and get a key generator and then make it functional - is that how it works....I can't find it on Kazaa though!!
FollowupID: 320068

Follow Up By: Member - Allan Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:17

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:17
Just a word of warning to those that dont know Kazaa. It can put some pretty dangerous crap on the ol computer if your not careful
FollowupID: 320080

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:17

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:17
Starry Night Backyard.exe is the program
Starry Night Backyard 312 Keygen.exe is the crack.

search for Starry Night

It came up for me.
.but requires Quicktime to be installed :( Usually when you install Craptime, it installs tons of other garbo you dont need..
FollowupID: 320081

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:22

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:22
Kazza lite is the way to go. Normal Kazza with the spyware rubbish purged. It used to be free but looking a few nights ago they want some $ for it now
FollowupID: 320083

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:23

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:23
Yes www.kazaa-lite.com is the go.

If you have installed KAZAA, then go and download ADAWARE immediately, and update it and run it.. Rids your machine of spyware....

Also look for

TheAssumingSong.mp3 <--- VERY VERY VERY VERY FUNNY....
FollowupID: 320084

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 23:31

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 23:31
They want you to join up and empty ya wallet there Trucky. The original
Kazza lite k+++ project was shut down last December. I don't know who these new bods are Nevermind the old versions can be downloaded here. Hear no evil, see no evil, trust nobody.

http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=kazaalite

FollowupID: 320115

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 23:36

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 23:36
I have several old versions here on my HD ;)

always burn progs u dload off the net...
FollowupID: 320116

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 09:26

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 09:26
Truckster
Have downloaded the program but the crack says that I am remotely queued so I guess I just wait for it to happen!
FollowupID: 320133

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 11:12

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 11:12
Got it..came down real quick. Fantastic program and so easy to use.
FollowupID: 320146

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 13:56

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 13:56
Andrew, yea just wait.

while your there, search for Photoshop 8, and anyother top notch software you can think of.. they are all there FREE... :)~

search for your fav MP3's too, millions of em
FollowupID: 320152

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 15:04

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 15:04
Got it going (thanks Ray) and it's awesome really. This Kazaa stuff is amazing - all this stuff free to a good home. Might need to upgrade my ADSL connection.
FollowupID: 320155

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 17:45

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 17:45
Hope you've got good protection Andrew, virus, firewall and use common sense. Even had some mongrel try to take over my PC using VPN early this morn, firewall stopped him.
FollowupID: 320172

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 18:27

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 18:27
Theres a new security patch from Micro$oft today..

windows update finds it.
FollowupID: 320179

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 19:30

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 19:30
For those who dont have Kazaa and are after a Peer to Peer file sharing application, Emule is worth checking out http://www.emule-project.net/
FollowupID: 320194

Reply By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 19:50

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 19:50
Look out!

Andrew has got stars in his eyes!
AnswerID: 58368

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 16:19

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 16:19
Are the stars out tonight
I don’t know if it’s cloudy or bright
‘Cause I only have eyes for you, dear

The moon may be high
But I don’t see a thing in the sky
‘Cause I only have eyes for you

I don’t know if we’re in a garden
Or on a crowded avenue

You are here, so am I
Maybe millions of people go by
But, they all disappear from view
And I only have eyes for you

--------------------------------
Now don't get the wrong idea - it's not that I fancy you - well not too much but with your trip and stuff I thought that this program would be fantastic for you to have on your computer with all those starry nights..

FollowupID: 320160

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew R (VIC) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 19:53

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 19:53
gee ta mate!

Lovely little poem. I feel really special now.

hooroo
FollowupID: 320199

Reply By: ACH - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 20:16

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 20:16
Look for "SkyGlobe". I've been using it for several years, and as an amateur astronomer, have found it to be very good indeed!!
AnswerID: 58372

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:48

Wednesday, May 12, 2004 at 21:48
Good one ACH. I found it for free. Not as flashy as starry night but only a small download.

*KlassM no longer exist and there is no one to send money to for a registered version of SkyGlobe which would includ KlassM's Screen Saver, Circum, and Crystal programs. Most all other download sites only offer the shareware version so I am making avalable all of these files for free.

http://www.sidewalkastronomy.com/skyglobe.html

FollowupID: 320089

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 17:52

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 17:52
Mad Dog did you get to download the windows version as I kept getting the not found window.
FollowupID: 320174

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:44

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:44
Yes I downloaded it here at work last night. I've had a brief look at it though.
FollowupID: 320217

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:51

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:51
I just checked it again Bob, it comes down ok. Click on this link about 1/2 way down the page. However I think starry night is easier for the casual user but it's a 15 meg download.

Skyglobe40 for Windows
skyglobe 40 Exe File from Astro4.ast.vill.edu

FollowupID: 320220

Reply By: Member- Rox - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 00:59

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 00:59
Got a Cd here called "Redshift3" but its been updated now haven't used it much.
AnswerID: 58412

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 01:15

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 01:15
You could try
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/redshift3/
FollowupID: 320121

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 07:52

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 07:52
Truckster, i've been trying kazza-lite and it keeps throwing me to ebay, i tried a couple of ways but the same thing happens, what am i doing wrong ?

FollowupID: 320128

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 13:54

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 13:54
Baz..
Ive uploaded to my server.

try this url
http://members.optusnet.com.au/~biggus2/pics/nscale/

file is KazaaLite 2.43.exe

;-)
FollowupID: 320151

Reply By: Pluto - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 10:29

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 10:29
Andrew,

I've been meaning to get some sort of planetarium software for a while (haven't got a round-tuit yet). I still use a star atlas, alminac and a small torch. There are heaps of packages out there. This link will direct you to one or two.

Pluto
AnswerID: 58425

Reply By: Boobook - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 20:32

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 20:32
There is another program called "the sky".
if you have the right telescope (eg Celestron or Meade), you can even link the PC to the Telescope and have real click and point.

You can click on a star, planet, galaxy etc on the program and the telescope will point to it. Set up takes about 20 minutes but after that it is one of the most wonderful experiences and best applications for a PC. It takes into account he location and rotation of the earth etc.

great fun for everyone.

AnswerID: 58504

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:54

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:54
Sounds real good. Oh Mate! this is getting outta hand, I've gotta get a flippin telescope now :)
FollowupID: 320221

Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:59

Thursday, May 13, 2004 at 21:59
Would be awesome sitting out in the desert with gear like that looking into the heavens. It is hard to imagine the size of the universe - we we camping near Winton and sat out around a fire watching the stars and "falling stars" and stuff. Makes me feel small and insignificant really. And then you think that our sun is just one of those stars and around all those stars there are planets too - and you just have to believe that there would be some life out there - maybe only algae or worms or something.............. Shutup Andrew
FollowupID: 320223