Manual or Auto?
AnswerID: 588982

Reply By: Member - George T - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 19:13

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 19:13
6speed manual
AnswerID: 588983

Reply By: TomH - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 19:18

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 19:18
Some idea of the problem may get a decent answer. A bit hard to answer such a vague post.What you are towing may help as well
AnswerID: 588984

Follow Up By: Member - George T - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 20:28

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 20:28
Sorry I'm new to this, we're towing a 18ft island star pop top , about 2.5t loaded
FollowupID: 856805

Follow Up By: garrycol - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 20:36

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 20:36
I was about to say it probably tows an empty 6x4 trailer with no issues.
FollowupID: 856806

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 21:00

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 21:00
George, we can't read your mind, mate.

Are you having problems? If so, what are they?

Or are you considering buying a D40 and want to know if anyone else has had problems towing with that vehicle.

A bit of background, a bit of info, will help people give you a meaningful response.

AnswerID: 588989

Follow Up By: TomH - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 21:45

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 21:45
Its a bit like pulling teeth Slow and painful LOL
FollowupID: 856809

Follow Up By: Member - George T - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 13:49

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 13:49
Had no troubles so far mainly doing off-road stuff not much towing but plan to soon. I was only checking to see if there was something I should check or change before setting off
FollowupID: 856821

Reply By: Notso - Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 23:03

Friday, Aug 07, 2015 at 23:03
I have two friends who owned this model manual and both had clutch problems. One was replaced twice within 40,000 ks. If you are thinking about buying second hand I'd have it thoroughly checked out.
AnswerID: 588990

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 01:12

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 01:12
Most of the twin cab utes have short clutch life when towing large caravans. You are much better off towing with an auto.

FollowupID: 856810

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 08:40

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 08:40
I do believe it is the Dual element clutch they are using now. My 3.2 litre Triton with a normal clutch had no problems towing a medium sized van most of it's life. Did 170,000 with no issues. The later 2.5 litre model with the dual element clutch have had some issues. One of the reasons why I didn't buy another Triton.

I'm hoping that the BT50 auto I have now will do as well as the manual Triton I had previously.
FollowupID: 856812

Reply By: panuara - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 06:20

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 06:20
I will comment as I have one rather than express an option from one who hasn't!
I have a d40 manual, tow a 2.5t van, and have no issues. Heaps of power, pulls up cunninghams gap at speed limit in3rd gear. Great fuel economy ie tamworth Glenn Innes, Grafton, Brisbane , scarborough, Warwick Bach to tamworth averaged 13.2 lph! Very happy with its ability to tow. Re the clutch advice for all dual mass ones you should keep revs above 2k when towing and not lug along at low revs. Different technologies to the old patrols and tojos. All makes affected just people are being threatened with legal action if they post negative statements about their not Nissan nor Mazda Japanese four wheel drives.
I upgraded my suspension after 12 months.
AnswerID: 588993

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 09:28

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 09:28
13.2l/100km (Presume that is what you meant when you said lph) towing a 2.5T van on that trip isn't great, it's outstanding!

FollowupID: 856814

Follow Up By: panuara - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 12:42

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 12:42
Depends on how it " learns" from your driving style, take it easy at first better than hammering it for first few hundred kms. Some with poor fuel figures have done an Ecu reset and improved their mileage remarkably. navara Asia forum really good for advice.
FollowupID: 856819

Follow Up By: Member - George T - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 13:53

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 13:53
Thanks for that, I'm very impressed with the fuel economy so far, haven't done much towing though
FollowupID: 856822

Reply By: Tim F3 - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 14:59

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 14:59
Suggest you google "navara chassis failures" for some enlightening reading..
AnswerID: 589003

Follow Up By: Member - George T - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 15:06

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 15:06
Thank you , the recalls are between 2005/2010 mine is a 2013 model and is apparently not affected( I hope)
FollowupID: 856823

Follow Up By: panuara - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 20:50

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 20:50
Applies to other brands too. Nissan recalled navaras and added extra attachment point to tow are so load was spread . Some interesting pix of Tojo Luxes with similar faults.
FollowupID: 856828

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 19:17

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 19:17
It will be fine mate.....avoid taking off on any sort of hill to save the clutch ( same as all manuals )...don't be afraid to give it a rev, the newer diesels are more like a petrol than the old clunkers....and do yourself a favor and get a scangauge ( or ultragauge ) to keep an eye on temps...especially going up steep hills...
AnswerID: 589020

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie - Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 21:15

Saturday, Aug 08, 2015 at 21:15
Hi George T
We have a 2013 D40 V6 Auto Diesel and tow a 21ft Golden Eagle no problems, we
get around 14L to 100km towing, no chassis problems we have put airbags on
love the vehicle

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 589026

Follow Up By: duck - Monday, Aug 10, 2015 at 16:57

Monday, Aug 10, 2015 at 16:57
It a shame there dropping or have dropped the V6 diesel the new np300 goes well but not like the V6 when there's a hill in the way
FollowupID: 856910