Home from the Madigan Line

Talk about Rock and Roll. All approach and departure tracks to the dunes are heavily cut up with holes up to 500mm deep, placed nicely alternately on them. You can't get any momentum up, so you drop it back to a low 4WD gear and just gently and carefully move up the dune. Even with the larger ones this worked in all but three dunes. When the going gets hard we just gently stopped, rolled back down and had another go. Each time you just "rolled" back down you would tend to smooth out the lumps and fill the holes. PS Tyres all the way at 16 (front) - 19 (rear) PSI. Remember we weigh 3.5T so not a good idea to go lower.

Saw one car on the whole Madigan - a farmer back past camp 1. Weather was great in the daytime but bloody freezing at night - sub zero.

Plenty of traffic on the QAA.

Had to have a chuckle. As we approached Big Red there was heaps of radio chatter between a group of cars "trying Big Red" as they called it. We didn't see them until we looked south towards Little Red. Yep - they got the wrong place. Many were saying how surprisingly easy it was to get to the top "even when towing"!!! I stopped next to them, after the obligatory "must do" visit to the top of the real Big Red, and suggested they are at the wrong place and someone should go and have a look. A change of tune when they moved to the REAL Big Red. "Bloody hell that is BIG!" was heard over the radio. Chuckle!!!

Also met a group of "novices" on the QAA line. Couldn't get up a dune. Idiots had 25 lbs in their tyres. After asking me my pressures they were elated to be able to just "drive over" the dune. I wish I could say the same as they had already left gaping chasms in the dune approach. But "shut up Phil" moved onwards to wards the best shower in two weeks at an ensuited cabin booked for us at the Birdsville van park.Well it was the first since a most enjoyable stop at Hamilton Station. You have to try them.

Damaged a shockie and got a cut in a tyre that is still good but sent to the spares folder at the back of the car.

Happy to be home even though it has been SNOWING here for the last few hours. What a welcome home.

Rough approach to a dune.

A bit of cross country when a forumites track "disappeared".

Anyone know the name of this flower from the Simpson apart from "Yellow Grevillia"?
Back Expand Un-Read 2 Moderator

Reply By: dean ( SA ) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 15:03

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 15:03
What about that Macdonalds sign, were you lucky enough to see that.
AnswerID: 589145

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:02

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:02
What??? .
FollowupID: 856980

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:09

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:09
That's got to be a joke. Nope. But we only did the Madigan, Hay and QAA tracks.
FollowupID: 856983

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:54

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:54
Dean,

See thread 119540. The ABC article said it was on the most popular road across the Simpson, which I'm guessing is the French Line.

I hope it's been removed.

FollowupID: 856984

Follow Up By: Member - backtracks - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 21:08

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 21:08
Yer, the macas sign was on the French line. I must admit I was sucked in thinking it was maybe genuine ! Seems stupid now ! Going to do a bigger report on madigan ? Interested for the future. Just back from geo centre myself and yet to do a decent report . Cheers.
FollowupID: 856994

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 23:06

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 23:06
Not into big reports myself. maybe long toothed a bit myself, but not good at essays etc.

I enjoyed the cross country and it was heaps easier than I expected.

Now to get the car back to 100% and plan the next trip.

FollowupID: 857000

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 15:12

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 15:12
Top job, Phil! Good to see you are "unlost" and back home safely.

That is a Pretty Yellow Grevillea............

AnswerID: 589146

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:05

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:05
Not hard to navigate with geo references to follow. We were actually enjoying it. Something different.

We got some seeds but I think the cold weather here may kill any plants that grow.

Apparently it may be a honeysuckle grevillea. MH or John and Val usually know also.

FollowupID: 856981

Reply By: gke - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 15:33

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 15:33
Hi Phil,
Looks like Honeysuckle Grevillea - Gravillea juncifolia

Cheers,Graham
AnswerID: 589147

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:05

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 16:05
Thanks Graham. I will pass it on to my wife.
FollowupID: 856982

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 19:40

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 19:40
Looks like I was gazumped - but the EO page at http://www.exploroz.com/Wildflowers/844+Honeysuckle_Oak_or_Spider_Flower__Desert_Grevillea.aspx looks right to me!

Thanks Mr Google!
FollowupID: 857162

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:13

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:13
Thanks John
FollowupID: 857164

Reply By: Member - fawkesp - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 17:19

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 17:19
Good review Phil, enjoyed the videos also. We did the Simpson last year, including Big Red, and tyre pressures are 'everything'!

One question, what in-car camera were you using?

Peter.

AnswerID: 589149

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 19:21

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 19:21
Just a cheapie from China that we got several years back. You could do a lot better nowdays.

I should also bend it down a bit but the mounting mechanism is limited with slots and not a ball type adjustment.
FollowupID: 856989

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 19:25

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 19:25
Good to see you home and a relatively incident free trip Phil.

So, how'd you go with fuel use, any idea yet ?

(The maccas sign is (was?) about halfway between Erabena and Colson, but you wouldn't have gone over via French Line ?)
AnswerID: 589152

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 22:59

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 22:59
You wouldn't believe it. We still had 25 litres left at Birdsville. Could have gone around again. But I didn't want to leave that hot bloody shower. Around 23 Lt/100K. Don't forget that we weigh 3.56T so that's okay by us.

I think that we will fit a set of OME Nitroshock sport shock absorbers next.

But a good time was had by all. At least we got all the stitches out of my cheek and it's healing nicely.

And I thought it was a prank. I bet no one has the guts to own up and go and fetch it. Okay for a joke but it just adds weight to get the place being locked up.

FollowupID: 856998

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 23:48

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 23:48
23/100 good for your setup on desert crossing.

Turns out the maccas sign was put up by Melbourne 'artist' and mates, on way to Finke races.
Think when it hit mainstream media like it did, Nat parks were looking to remove it, but would be a few people needed to do this, and a good day.
FollowupID: 857001

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 08:12

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 08:12
That figure was "calculated" while at the bowser in Birdsville.

I just now got the receipt out and it shows 146.76 litres. Now add the 20 litres from the jerry can.

I believe according to the map I got before the trip the distance from Old Andadow to Birdsville is 613.5 Kms. Add another 88 from Mt Dare to Old Andado. That gives me a consumption of 166.76/((613.5+88)/100) or 23.77 lt per 100 kms. Still less than we planned for.

I am happy with that.

Now for a new set of Nitro shocks and some work on the steering column or rack. We developed another rattle. It never ends. I may even wash it.

FollowupID: 857007

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:16

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:16
G'day PHIL,
Glad that you had a good trip & made it back in one peice, I was planning on crossing the Madigan line next month, but if it has been chopped up that much then I may leave it until early next season.

Btw, it's 88ks from Mt Dare to Andado homestead & 105ks to Old Andado... ;)
FollowupID: 857019

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:46

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:46
I forgot the little bit to Old Andando. That means the formula is 166.76/((613.5+105)/100) and we got 23.21 lt per 100 kms. Better still.

The sand was very soft and noticeably a difference between the mornings and afternoons.

How are those shockies of yours going? We broke one. They all need replacing and I am after a good set. I believe you said that you were using OME Nitro Sports. BTW I also prefer your customer service.

FollowupID: 857022

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 15:49

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 15:49
Good to know your fuel consumption Phil, I generally work on around 25l/100km for trip planning.

Still using OME suspension, I haven't broken any yet... But I will be carrying a spare set of shocks for trips like the Canning/Madigan line etc... I also carry spare Ubolts for the leaves on the back of my dual cab.

I was hoping to get up to Mt Dare this season for a visit, but it may have to wait for next year, see how things are here next month.

FollowupID: 857024

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 16:47

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 16:47
the jury is still out but I have a feeling we will get the same OME ones as you. Knowing all the trips and Kms that you must have done for just the recoveries tells me a lot. But we shall see.

Catchya (got a mob visiting to sample some Birdsville Bakery pies. Handy having a freezer in the car).

FollowupID: 857028

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 17:15

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 17:15
I've got a bit of a pet theory on "touring" suspension set ups, basically most of the suspension failours that I've seen were when the supplier was trying to have a "comfortable" set up by having soft springs & then trying to stop the bounce by fitting stiffer shocks.

I tend to go for the heaviest springs that I can reasonably fit then going for a "matched" set of slightly softer shocks.

The only failed suspension components that I've had in the last ten or so years is when the remote canisters on a set of LTR shocks fell off due to rubbish canister mounts, (that's not counting failed air bags on the last Disco that I had, but that's another story...)
FollowupID: 857034

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 21:43

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 21:43
Please to hear your are safely home after a successful trip Phil :).

Others have it - Grevillea juncifolia (Desert Grevillea).

AnswerID: 589164

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 23:02

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2015 at 23:02
Hi MH.

I knew you would know it. That is a really beautiful plant. Only a few in flower but more breaking out. Not a bad photo Sue took either.

FollowupID: 856999

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 09:05

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 09:05
Maybe this should be in a thread of it's own. What do you lot think?

Slow climbing Big Red. pedal and etc etc.

Most of us who have been to the Simpson have climbed Big Red with plenty of momentum and yes quite a few have also done it with too much momentum.

Being curious, I tried the easy track as slow as I could and without a running start and starting about 50 feet up it and not on the flat. I believe we didn't get of 10 KPH. Just a tad slippage at the very top.

I wonder how those who race up it would do. Any videos???

AnswerID: 589178

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:22

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:22
Glad you had a geat trip Phil ,its a lot of fun out there and we will be off again in a couple of weeks.

As for the slow climb that could definately be another thread and I will say it doesn't work , but neither does spining you wheels and losing traction.

What works best is going as fast as you can without wheelspin and I have plenty of those type videos in which I make it.

The thread I put up last year showing a range rover trying the lot unsucessfully was a classic.

FollowupID: 857020

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:38

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:38
What do you mean by "it doesn't work". We did it. Didn't you watch the video.

Naturally if all you have the skills for is a mad dash, then I may agree. Your poor old foot only knows one pressure - all the way down to the floor.

We did it at about 1.2K revs and in low range, 2nd gear. Never over the 10K mark.

Or were you referring to something else?

FollowupID: 857021

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:54

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 14:54
See it would make a good thread Phil.

I mean that if the goal is getting further then going slow can never get you as far as when you have momentum as well.

Many then fail with a mad dash because they don't know that they have lost traction thru wheelspin. So as a practical matter sometimes the mad dash doesn't work as well but not because the theory is wrong.
Indeed you just have to consider a step down which will cause a slow car to hit its chassis on the edge as it drops and going faster will carry the car past the edge before gravity takes over.

FollowupID: 857023

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 16:42

Thursday, Aug 13, 2015 at 16:42
I picked up the slower way mainly from the Canning. It seems that just about every dune had a sharp turn that didn't allow you to get any real momentum.

I also noticed that if you don't feel like the car will make it, then stop slowly and then slowly go back down the dune. This allows some filling of the holes and then you can use more momentum instead of being thrown all over the place. I will post a video soon showing how we stopped on one dune. No way to get momentum as a rear shockie was broken and hitting the top support. We were bouncing too hard to continue. The wife was very vocal wjust as we stopped. But a slow reverse and we got over easily at the slower pace. Those damned holes had to be placed at exactly the "right" distance apart.

Visitors due soon for a Birdsville bakery pie sampling evening. And a few drinks as well. We brought home a bundle of mixed frozen pies. This should be fun.

catchya

FollowupID: 857027

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Aug 15, 2015 at 21:23

Saturday, Aug 15, 2015 at 21:23
I'm a slow and steady type too Phil. Some years back was with a group playing on Big Red and one of the guys let the tyres right down (about 10-12psi from memory) in his normally aspirated diesel 80series and went up in reverse. Everyone else was playing run ups and getting some air on the bump at the bottom.
And a few years back spent 2 weeks with a group doing work around Googs Track. The vehicles who drove past were having all sorts of issues with a few of the dunes - same thing, very low pressures and slow and steady wins.

Great report by the way. Been out there a few times but last time was 2006 so missing the North Simpson at the moment.
FollowupID: 857106

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 15:05

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 15:05
Just for fun .

We were playing round at my place recently and I gotta say that no-one who went slow and steady up the ramp made it.

FollowupID: 857149

Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 19:48

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 19:48
Seems there's a time and place for each approach. Robin's approach works well on a made surface when the intent is clearing the cars parked under the lip. Otherwise, I suspect the slow and steady approach is a better bet. ;)
FollowupID: 857163

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:31

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:31
With Robin's approach, you could probably cross it in 500 dunes instead of 1000 :-)
FollowupID: 857170

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:58

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:58
There is an advertisement on TV showing an unshaven twit in a car with a rocket engine strapped to the roof and he takes off down a big ramp and etc etc . . .

Is that you Robin????

OOps OT
FollowupID: 857181

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Aug 17, 2015 at 08:14

Monday, Aug 17, 2015 at 08:14
Can't have been me Phil - I shave every day !

FollowupID: 857193

Reply By: maurice b - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 19:47

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 19:47
After watching the first video" Rough approach on the dunes" i was surprised on how well and defined the track on the Madigan is and not saying it may all be like this . Im thinking of the Madigan in winter 2016 but i think i would prefer a more Trackless trip from Mt Dare to Geosurveys Hill continue east to Poeppels via the geo centre . I was out there in May 2015 on a east west simmo crossing ,Mirraponda lakes to Mt Dare but we only made it about 6km east of Geosurverys Hill due to amount of fuel we used and would like to return and tackle it from the west to east . I dont post much on this site but believe this is where i would find others that would share the same interest. On a trip like this you need like minded companions , so if anyone( 4 vehicles) is interested ,well equipted have a well maintained vehicle able to carry 300L Diesel ,food and water for at least 10 days please PM me and we can start a new thread
AnswerID: 589335

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:19

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:19
I was thinking the same thing, although have only been out to the Simmo once 10 years ago.
Gee only five years ago I guess it would have been a trackless 4WD challenge. Now it seems like its just another track. Hardly the big challenge people make it out to be.

FollowupID: 857167

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:20

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:20
I feel the same Maurice. While it was handy to have the guidance of others who went befor us (who said that) we did enjoy the short detour cross country. Luckily we were prepared with the larger than normal character display on Ozi and found it quite easy going as well. Talking to Idler Chris tonight we were also lucky in the fcat that we did not use any "extra" fuel on our cross country bit. I purposely chose the west to east direction by heading a little east of north to get the "easier" sides of the dunes.

Bit it was nice to "un-lose" ourselves, as I said in the video, when we located a defined track to follow. And we also accepted the fact that we weren't the "first" and won't be the last either.

May I say that you should plan on a 10 KPH average speed and be prepared to emulate Elvis with the rocking and rolling.

And the lack of anyone else for five days was a welcome relief from the rush and bustle of civilisation.

Catchya
FollowupID: 857168

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:29

Sunday, Aug 16, 2015 at 20:29
I think you summed it up nicely there Phil .... no-one else for 5 days.

But I have no idea where this place is that they call "the Simmo" .... got a vague recollection of some tossers from a 4wd Magazine going there and drinking beer :-)
FollowupID: 857169