Best 4WD to sell after three months?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 07, 2015 at 17:11
ThreadID: 130217 Views:3054 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
This Thread has been Archived
Hey guys,

I’m a newbie here.

I’ve unexpectedly got 2.5-3 months of free time to tour Australia before going overseas. I’ve seen a fair bit already (especially on the East Coast and in Tassie), but this time I want to go to some of the more remote / harder to get to places (Cape York is high on the list), camp on beaches and do some outback touring as well. I don’t plan on doing any crazy stuff though.

So I’ve decided that I want to purchase a 4WD! Renting is out of the question, unfortunately – very expensive and too restrictive in terms of where you can actually go.

The question is which one to get. I don’t really have a budget for the actual 4WD. I just want to be sure that I can sell it easily at the end of the trip without losing too much money.

With that in mind, what would you look at? What’s best for a quick sale once I’m done? What's the 4WD everyone wants?

Which brand and model?
Late model vs. older?
Stock vs. already equipped?
High km vs. low km?

I’ve got a bit of money to throw at this, so am definitely not looking to get a banged up backpacker’s car. I don’t want to spend my holidays worrying about or fixing mechanical issues. Again, easy resale without too much depreciation is what I’m looking for.

Let me know what you think!

Cheers,

Dex
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Sep 07, 2015 at 17:48

Monday, Sep 07, 2015 at 17:48
Dex,

Tough one. The one which will be easy to sell in 3 months will be the one everyone wants to buy , and they'll want it now for the same reasons which will increase your buy price. So the buy price minus the sell price remains a guess.