What to do with 80 rolls of toilet paper ?

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 13:00
ThreadID: 130381 Views:4081 Replies:17 FollowUps:15
Just back from nearly 3 weeks in the lower outback during which we managed 15 nights of camping without a single drop of rain whilst Victoria/SA to our south suffered wintery conditions and to our north even Birdsville track was closed
as we drove thru Marree.

On this trip we decided to do things a bit differently and see several outback stations and new places with lots of 4wd opportunities.
But before we took off we loaded up with 160 lt of petrol at just over a dollar and before we paid the $181 bill the attendant said have I got a deal for you, take these 40 rolls of toilet paper and you get extra 10c /discount.
I.E. instead of $181 your total is now only $180 ?

Ok well, could really resist getting something for nothing so off we went.

Some comments about a few places.

Mt Ive station
Great value 4wding if you like rocky peaks and bush camping, $70 for 3 days - you can even get to Lake Gardiner but you not supposed to drive on it.
By camping 3km from homestead facilities its ok to drag in a tree and have a great campfire.

Davenport inlet near Ceduna
My favourite place for beach and serious sandhill driving is little known , where else can you drive down a cliff onto a 1 acre rock that gets covered in seawater at wrong time of day , and whole experience cost nothing and there isn't even a single ban "XYZ" sign.

Googs Track - $10/night camp fee if you camp , and we did on edge of Googs Lake and near Mt Finke , great trip but I'm sure the sandhills are rougher than when I did it in 1999.
My wife is wearing a Fitbit running type wrist brace and was losing her work related fitness competition but by the time we did this track it reported that she had climbed 377 flights of stairs and she shot to the top of the competition.

Arckaringa Station
Not a lot there but painted desert is worth a days photography.
I was kept amused for 40 minutes watching someone putting up there Tvan.

Muloorina Station
You camp near a small lake full of bird life , very pleasant for a day or 2 , you can drive to Lake Eyre south.
Our research said it was rough drive but it is seriously not.

Coopley
They were out of everything when we went thru , although I was laughing to much to notice as after a week of driving with 3 long range diesel cars , I had to ferry one driver, in my petrol 4800 patrol, to get fuel after his BT50 ran out 5km from town after only 1000km outback.
Still the most ridge type driving experience of the trip was the unmarked drive up and past the nearby Mt Scott repeater station.
Don't go there unless you like a rocky climb on the edge with some serious drop offs and wind shear.

SkyTrek.
Probably the most overated and expensive drive , $60 for the 80km 5hour track but it is interesting and the only place a trip member copped a dented sidestep (by not paying attention). We had to tick this one off.

Wathe Reserve
Almost unkown and last sandy free camp before home.

Well we arrived back home in Melbourne about a 1000km from last fill up at Port Pirie and went back to the same fuel station as at our trip start.

The guy behind the counter said I will wok some magic for you again and again fuel cost was $181 but only $180 if you take these 40 toilet rolls with you.

P.S. Do they still make those Oil filers you put a toilet roll into ?

Back Expand Un-Read 5 Moderator

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 13:14

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 13:14
Informative AND hilarious! Thank you, that made my day :)
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 590642

Reply By: Bigfish - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 13:29

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 13:29
You should have the cleanest bum in the country. hahahaha...getting paid to take dunny rolls!!

You learn something every day...
AnswerID: 590643

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 19:55

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 19:55
Its a strange strange world we live in Master Bigfish

FollowupID: 858668

Reply By: Member - Barry H (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 13:49

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 13:49
Hi Robin,

Great read on your travels.

I have a curry recipe that will fix your toilet rolls problem.

Barry H
AnswerID: 590644

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 19:56

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 19:56
Does it work for vegetarians Barry !

FollowupID: 858669

Reply By: K&FT - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 14:41

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 14:41
I enjoyed the article thanks for posting. I really don't think you should worry about the toilet rolls you know you WILL use them eventually that's a part of life isn't it??

frank
AnswerID: 590645

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 19:58

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 19:58
Your right Frank but I'm filling up all my wife's cupboard space !

FollowupID: 858670

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 14:57

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 14:57
One of my fundamental rules of camping and outback driving - you cannot have too much toilet paper.
AnswerID: 590647

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 17:47

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 17:47
But 80 bluddy rolls?
That's just a bit of overkill isn't it?

You could use it as paper towel for checking the oil, cleaning the windows, wiping hands and, of course, the use for which it was designed

You might be able to swap some for something else.

Disco.
FollowupID: 858664

Reply By: landseka - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 16:45

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 16:45
According to my maths if you only got $1 off the fuel price you were ripped.

160litres with extra 10c/L discount should have given you $16 off giving you your $181 worth for $165 plus the loo rolls.

Good trip though.

Cheers Neil
AnswerID: 590650

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 17:30

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 17:30
I didn't explain fully Neil , they charge you $20 for toilet paper and give you 14c discount in conjunction with a fuel docket but only for 150lt hence they reduce price by $21 so you walk out with paper and $1 off your bill.

Sounds good , but imagine if that was applied to gas which I saw for an unbeliveable $39c yesterday

FollowupID: 858663

Reply By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 16:48

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 16:48
What a sh#%t story!!!

;)))

AnswerID: 590651

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 19:59
It was a "short" story Grizzle - the long version would be a lot messier.

FollowupID: 858671

Reply By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 18:01

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 18:01
Thanks for the report and pictures. Old Skytrek was better and the road to Lake Eyre had pretty decent corrugations when I did i a few years ago.
I reckon the toilet paper was getting pushed because it was past its use by date. Maybe it's toilet papyrus? Usually recycled into instant scratchies.....if you know what I mean?
AnswerID: 590653

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 20:02

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 20:02
I think they made both smoother for the tourists Michael - still we did find some worthwhile bits here and there.

FollowupID: 858673

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 21:37

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 21:37
hey Robin, the solution: you paid $1 for 40 rolls? = Absolute bargain mate. Find the nearest Sunday market and sell em for $4 per roll (outback inflation rate) You'll probably need one of those gazebo things to set up a stall and keep the sun off your back, which will probably set you back around $159.99, all paid for by the bog roll. Served it's purpose, so sell on gumtree or here, "used only once" ( the gazebo, not the bog paper) $80. Fill up again and buy another 40 rolls and sell at $2 per roll (Vic rates) =$80 profit. You're all square. You might need to ask the bloke for a lend of the gazebo you sold him........oh, forgot, you're in Vic. so a brolly will do.

;))
AnswerID: 590661

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:06

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:06
I like your thinking Steve !

FollowupID: 858696

Reply By: Bob R4 - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 21:50

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 21:50
Lucky you got some thing useful. Last week they had waterproof tea bags. Want a loan of some?
AnswerID: 590662

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 09:52

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 09:52
They'd be really useful as I hate the taste of tea !

FollowupID: 858705

Reply By: Ross M - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 22:00

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 22:00
Taped to the front and rear of your vehicle the packs of rolls will make excellent parking buffers in supermarket carparks.

You can also use them in pairs with the centre plastic punched out as binoculars. The tubes shield the eyes from the sun.

Leaving some rolls in outback dunnies would also be appreciated by those caught short.

With a ply sheet the packs can be used as a step for shorter folk to access 4Wd cabins, ie, entry and exit. Suitable for heavy people loads as weight is distributed over a large area.
AnswerID: 590663

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:08

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:08
Didn't I see you on the "new inventors" Ross

FollowupID: 858697

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 22:14

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 22:14
Hi Robin
Sounds like another good trip had. Re toilet paper maybe hold a raffle at the Pyreneese make a profit so your fuel bill could be cheaper or just share them with your friends.

See you soon Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 590664

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:18

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:18
Yes near perfect again Murray - see you soon and will reserve one for you !

FollowupID: 858698

Reply By: Ron N - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 22:17

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2015 at 22:17
Robin - They sure do still make the toilet roll oil filters. I have a couple of Frantz toilet roll oil filters, from the 1970's, and they are still made today. Other brands are Jackmaster, Kleenoil, 4M and Filter Technology.
However, these filters don't just take any dunny paper, it has to be the 2 ply coarse paper (like all the cheap rolls), not the super-smooth Kleenex Cottonelle that turns into a sludgey mess when you try to use them in the oil filters.
There are specific sizes of roll required for each brand of filter as well - and toilet rolls vary substantially in size, both width as well as diameter, and the number of sheets per roll.

Those fuel discount "deals" are O.K. if you get something you can use pretty readily. However, becoming overloaded with a "deal" product that takes you 2 years to consume doesn't seem like a hell of a good idea to me.

I regularly buy 3 x 2L milk when I go to Woolies servos for fuel. Coupled with the 4c litre discount for shopping with Woolies, the $6 milk purchase gives me another 4c litre discount on the fuel, making it 8c discount. We easily go through 6L of milk in less than a week.
I've been following the discount days and hitting the Woolies servo when the price is rock bottom, and I'm paying an actual figure of around $1.03 to $1.05 for petrol at present in Perth, with the 8c discount.
Diesel is around $1.25 - $1.28 and that comes back to $1.17 - $1.20 with the shopper discount.

AnswerID: 590665

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:28

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:28
OK Ron , I haven't noticed them for a while but these cute extra soft 3 ply ones I got would probably stuff the filter for sure.

I think you got the trick , and like you we have a few things that we know will be useful else its a waste of time.

Currently we are having a 25c-30c fuel cycle over 3 weeks here and picking the low point and having the capacity to fill then is worth more than 4c

FollowupID: 858699

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 01:14

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 01:14
Should have sold them to some of those outback places that "run out of everything"

Never mind, dunny paper is always useful.

AnswerID: 590672

Reply By: muzbry - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:45

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 07:45
Gday Robin
Looks like a good trip. Something for nothing thrown in as well. Well not nothing as those rolls are quite useful.You can supply the dunny rolls on the next trip.
See you soon
AnswerID: 590675

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 18:28

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 18:28
Yeah , got a lot of friends at the moment Muz and the dunny paper is disappearing fast

FollowupID: 858727

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 08:00

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 08:00
Sounds like a cover story for a kleptomaniac who went to a lot of Caravan parks, rather than the off-road destinations quoted.

AnswerID: 590676

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 18:31

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 18:31
I reckon that after our recent visits to many bush camps sites I should be spreading some used packets around.

I mean how can anybody seriously supply the super thin 1 layer stuff that isn't strong enough to be pulled out of the holder - actually that was Knox City Westfields site come to think of it.

FollowupID: 858728

Reply By: Batt's - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 11:40

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 11:40
Keep them for dressing up as a mummy for halloween
AnswerID: 590696

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 18:33

Thursday, Sep 24, 2015 at 18:33
Geez I'll be a white soggy mess by then if this cold weather keeps up Batts.

FollowupID: 858729