My local petrol station changed from BP to Puma fuel
Does anyone know what diesel fuel quality Puma offers
Did anyone have problems with Puma fuel
Thank you for your opinion and input
Rob

Reply By: K&FT - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 11:43

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 11:43
We have used Puma diesel in quite a few places whilst touring QLD and had no issues. Their website indicates they supply mining companies and they have import terminals in 3 QLD cities with a Perth terminal under construction.

The website also indicates they bought out Matilda and Nuemann fuels.

hope that helps

frank
AnswerID: 592214

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 12:26

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 12:26
Puma's website says they provide 20% biodiesel but doesn't say if this is at all outlets or a select few. Click on this link then expand the Diesel section.

PUMA Diesel

I drive a Toyota 200 Series. Toyota won't honour their warranty if more than 5% bio is used. I won't go near a diesel outlet where there is doubt over the bio component.

I use BP or Caltex.

AnswerID: 592216

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 13:28

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 13:28
We wont use BP and, as Puma claim 20%, we won't use them either. Provided there is an alternative.

FollowupID: 860335

Follow Up By: Slow one - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 15:22

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 15:22
Phil,
Lindsay transport just did a 6 month test using BP ultimate diesel in two of their Kenworths. They had a full history of the trucks and after the 6 month test they went back to truck diesel for another 6 months. There finding was that the trucks returned 3% better fuel consumption with the ultimate diesel and when the heads were stripped the combustion chambers and valves were in good nick with little carbon. One thing is, the ultimate diesel is dearer than standard diesel.
FollowupID: 860338

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:08

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:08
On my work travels BP is consistently 2c cheaper without fuel discounts than Shell/Caltex. Throw in the 4c disc and it's 2c dearer. So approx. 1.5% dearer for 3% better economy and a better fuel as well.
FollowupID: 860353

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:46

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:46
When travelling fuel prices are the last thing on the brain. You could easily waste the discount travelling around to find the cheaper place. At home it's always one of two very close Woolies stations, and using the shopping discount.

FollowupID: 860354

Follow Up By: K&FT - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:53

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:53
I have often gotten on the UHF and asked the locals where the best place to get fuel is.

Works for me as they have the local knowledge

Frank
FollowupID: 860356

Reply By: 12HT75 - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 12:28

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 12:28
I've been using Puma fuel ever since Gingers in Perth changed, with no issues. This is in an old mechanically injected engine though.
AnswerID: 592217

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 13:40

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 13:40
BP when I can get it but as our only option is Shell in Sydney that isn't often
AnswerID: 592220

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 13:54

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 13:54
oh, and Caltex, of course
FollowupID: 860337

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 16:51

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 16:51
Why "only option"? What do you mean? An account etc . . .

FollowupID: 860346

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 17:51

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 17:51
As I understand it, Phil, and I'm more than happy to be put right here, as neither BP or Mobil have an outlet in Sydney, their servos are generally kept going by the local Shell and Caltex delivery trucks, otherwise they'd have to come down from Brissie or Melb.I don't even think there is a refinery any more and these two have their own terminals for import. I also understand that there's a fair bit of mutual cooperation as such and they help one another out. They all apparently use different additives, colourings and ant-foaming agents but I'm not altogether clear how it works.
FollowupID: 860351

Reply By: Slow one - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 15:13

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 15:13
Puma has installed a new large terminal where I live and all their gear is in good condition, they have also bought up many survive stations in the area and refurbed them.

Don't worry about the 20% bio diesel as this will be marked on the pump and standard diesel should be available.

From what I was told, they are an American show and are moving into Australia. They brought the burnt down BP truckstop at Marlborough and rebuilt it but I stopped pulling up there when they jacked up there food prices.
AnswerID: 592222

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 16:05

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 16:05
Exactly - by law normal diesel can contain a max of 5% biodiesel so unless they intend to break the law then normal Puma diesel will have no real difference with other brands diesel. If they want to sell diesel with 20% biodiesel it will have to be clearly marked.
FollowupID: 860342

Follow Up By: Member - Blue M - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2015 at 00:30

Tuesday, Nov 03, 2015 at 00:30
As far as Puma fuel goes, I haven't found it to be any different to the any of the others.

I will always remember being in a little town called Banana, Qld. I had just filled up at the Mobile garage and was having a snack outside, as I sat there I was watching a Caltex tanker filling the tanks across the road at the Shell garage. It would not have ten minutes later and he was at the Mobile servo filling their tanks as well.

After seeing that, I thought to myself, why be pedantic about what fuel I use, because do you really know where the last tanker filled up from.

When I need fuel, I fill up.

Slow One, I agree with you about the new servo at Marlborough, but what a difference.

I travelled that road twice a week, for a couple of years and stopped eating there because the Hotbox food was rubbish when it was run by BP.

Now I pull up there and get a snack, don't really care if it is a wee bit more expensive, at least it's much more better.

FollowupID: 860421

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 16:14

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 16:14
I used to use BP Ultimate Diesel exclusively because I thought it was the best. I still do, but BP's customer service at my local has put me off them.

I realize this is off topic, however:

My wife and I went into our local BP back in May on my motorbike to fill up (petrol). My wife took her helmet off, went into the shop with cash waiting to pay. I stayed at the pump and started to fill up, with my helmet ON.

A screaming banshee came over the PA system and told me to take my helmet off and immediately shut down the pump.

I went inside and asked her to justify her actions. I pointed out that my wife was already inside, helmet off, cash in hand; I wasn't likely to do a runner.

She said it's the rules. I said BS, the sign at the pump says motorcyclists should not sit on the bike while filling. Nothing about helmets, except don't wear them inside the shop, and my wife wasn't.

I put this complaint on BP's website twice since May with no response whatsoever.

My local Caltex doesn't have a problem with helmets, especially on riders who are obviously old farts trying to deny the aging process.

BP won't see my money again, good diesel or not.

AnswerID: 592224

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:49

Sunday, Nov 01, 2015 at 18:49
The customer service by a lesee was excellent. Now that BP stopped leasing the place out it's crap. Dn't even let regulars check the tyre pressures without buying something. The previous bloke would even check the tyres for you if you were a regular or local.

BP can get nicked.

Phil.
FollowupID: 860355