What a boring day!

Submitted: Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:14
ThreadID: 13120 Views:1996 Replies:7 FollowUps:24
I thought I was having a boring day . . . .until . . . a very good friend sent me an email telling me about their day

"I got caught up in a man's suicide attempt today....

he set fire to his camper bus...on the road from Wallan to Romsey...I stopped..and another woman [a dr] and we spent 40 mins listening to the ramblings of a mad man....and thankfully the fireys and the ambos came and finally the police.."

Now I can comfirm - comparitively, my ay has been boring!

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:26

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:26
I wish mine had been :))

[Diesel sure does burn hot doesn't it...and an LPG fridge really goes BANG when it goes up...."make it do it again mummy !"]

I need a lie down

Lyn
AnswerID: 59914

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:40

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:40
. . . and a Glayva?
FollowupID: 321520

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:42

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:42
several...

is it 5 o'clock yet?
FollowupID: 321521

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:59

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:59
It's always 5 O'clock some where. Did you by any chance slip Elaine a Glayva at Easter time? She has found a supply next door and seems to be able to get a taste whenever she wants. I was just trying to figure it out who introduced her to it.
FollowupID: 321526

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:15

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:15
I didnt....ahahhahahaahah....I can understand her fondness of it though...:)
FollowupID: 321531

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:27

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:27
Look after yourself Lyn, if it wasn't for a good samaritan today the guy would have topped himself xx

FollowupID: 321551

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:45

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:45
Should have thrown in a 5 ltr tin of Avgas to help him on his way, then driven off. 40mins wasted? bollox to that. Cops would only have shot him anyway!
AnswerID: 59919

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:47

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:47
Trucky I love that you can be so jaded....hahahha
FollowupID: 321522

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:53

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:53
My old man used to say it's 5 o'clock somewhere in the world., oh the Glayva is excellent thanks Lyn vewy muchly.

FollowupID: 321524

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:56

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 16:56
thanks baz....I think I might have a few tonight :0)
FollowupID: 321525

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 21:29

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 21:29
What a waste of Avgas!
FollowupID: 321585

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 21:53

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 21:53
I could have at least said.."I love the smell of Avgas in the arvo"
FollowupID: 321593

Follow Up By: John - Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 02:30

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 02:30
Shiat Truckster you always come up with the perfect answer to everything. I LMAO on this reply.

But I still feel sorry for the poor bugger, It's not a perfect world is it.

FollowupID: 321613

Reply By: Member - Allan Mac (VIC) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:04

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:04
Damned if you ..damned if you dont..not a happy event whatever the outcome.
AnswerID: 59927

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:24

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:24
Hi Alan...yep I guess that's so...when I arrived..I didn't know what had happened..I just saw fire and a blackened person
FollowupID: 321533

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:30

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:30
Can I just add

that having 2 small kids in the car, obviously is very worrying and you're not sure what effect this may have had on them...the police, fireys and ambos were terrific talking with them, esp Tegan who had her window open...
AnswerID: 59932

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:49

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:49
Hope you have now recovered Lynda............ Not a nice experience.
FollowupID: 321540

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:59

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 17:59
thanks John, I'm sure a few quiet ones will help settle things...

interesting rig pic...by the way... :)
FollowupID: 321542

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:03

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:03
Go take a cold shower...drinking wont help you....it'll just bring you downmarket to our level...hahahahaha
FollowupID: 321543

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:16

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:16
Willie...I was thinking of a hot bath actually...and I don't mind being downmarket for a while...
FollowupID: 321547

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:20

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:20
Good grief a cold shower down there you'll turn into a popcycle, must be below freezing there by now, LOL.
FollowupID: 321549

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:29

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:29
Hot bath's the go Lyn, great opportunity to...........relax

FollowupID: 321552

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:42

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 18:42
Thats not what i was thinken
FollowupID: 321556

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 10:34

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 10:34
Well done Lyn, which brigade (s) rolled up ?? Where was it along the road ?? Make sure you keep an eye on the kids, as trauma reactions can spring up at a later date, as they can for you. Make sure you talk to someone if you need it, did the cops / fire captains offer suport ??
FollowupID: 321638

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 11:36

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 11:36
hi Bradley

it was along the Wallan/Romsey Road...I guess the Wallan side of Darraweit Guim....it's quite bushy there..I think there is a section where there is a forrest..you can drive in there...that's where it was...

the DG brigade turned up...the Captain was from there...the Wallan boys as well...the Dr. with me was from DG too....the fireys were very nice...spoke to the kids...we didn't really do much except watch the guy and offer him first aid which he didn't want...and just stayed with him...and chatted...and watched as his bus with all his stuff in it burnt down...poor man....

Callum is a bit sooky today..clingy to me and to his blankie..so I'll be keeping an eye on him....

Lyn
FollowupID: 321643

Reply By: Member Eric - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 21:29

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 21:29
i am still waitng to open by bottle of Glayva, next eo trip were The Als are pressent
AnswerID: 59983

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, May 24, 2004 at 21:48

Monday, May 24, 2004 at 21:48
could have done with some this afternoon....lol !
FollowupID: 321591

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 09:51

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 09:51
So fellow forumites - HAVE YOU SAVED SOMEONES LIFE TODAY? . . . or even this year . . . or ever? My friend Lynda has!

WELL DONE LURCH!
AnswerID: 60034

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 10:19

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 10:19
Wombat, i had a mate die in arms one day after being hit by a 14tonne truck while riding his motorbike, talking to someone about anything is good therapy, does'nt have to be about what happened. If i'm in trouble one day and need help i only hope someone like Lyn will be there to help.

FollowupID: 321635

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 11:40

Tuesday, May 25, 2004 at 11:40
Hi Wombie...

I think you're too kind..I didn't save his life...I just was there...offerred support...listened to him...and said a quiet "thank Christ my life isn't buggered like his"...poor guy...I've never seen someone look so empty before...I would probably do it again too...I suppose that's what compassion is all about...

and thanks Baz for your vote of confidence....
FollowupID: 321645

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 00:39

Wednesday, May 26, 2004 at 00:39
As an Intensive Care Nurse, I see the effects of these sort of events from time to time, and by far the deepest effects are felt by those people that find/assist in the "recovery" of the individuals, and by the friends and family of the individual.

Lyn, contact your local hospital Social Work department for some follow-up counselling for you and especially your kids.
AnswerID: 60185