MONDAY MATINEE - Desert Drone (Outback areal footage)

Submitted: Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 20:04
ThreadID: 131329 Views:3855 Replies:16 FollowUps:9
No I'm not talking about that persistent whine from somewhere in the vehicle, I'm talking about some highlights of the Australian outback shot with the latest DJI Phantom Drone. While you may recognise some familiar EO faces and vehicles, I must confess that this amazing footage was shot by Peter Blakeman, a past forumite and Sydney based photographer. This was Pete's first outing with his new drone so as you can imagine, there were a half dozen amateur and eager producers hanging around him offering recommendations lol. Editing is my only claim on this one and I do apologise for the resolution quality. I cannot get Movie Maker to render it in High Def!
It just goes to show what an amazing opportunity this technology opens up in adding to your holiday snaps and videos. Enjoy.
Mick

Back Expand Un-Read 12 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 21:20

Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 21:20
Well done Mick, it was great.

AnswerID: 594747

Reply By: My Aussie Travel Guide - Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 21:27

Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 21:27
Great work, Mick! Petey has weaved some fabulous magic. Ours is all ready for the next adventure ;-) Been busy working on articles for the mag, it's funny as I was only writing about Mt Worsnop today. Perfect timing! Linda
AnswerID: 594748

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 22:06

Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 22:06
We'll look forward to the article then Linda. Hopefully see the both of you soon.

Mick

FollowupID: 863316

Follow Up By: Baz - The Landy - Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 23:23

Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 23:23
Great work Mick, I'm ready to go again! And look forward to the article Linda...

And oddly, Janet and I were looking at a photo of Mt Worsnop yesterday...

Cheers, Baz

FollowupID: 863323

Reply By: Bob R4 - Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 21:47

Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 21:47
Thanks Mick. A greater appreciation of space than terrestrial view. Our country is amazing!
BTW. How many camels did you manage to round up? and did it pay for the trip?

Cheers, Bob
AnswerID: 594751

Follow Up By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 22:07

Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 22:07
There's far too many of the out there Bob. Would I that we could trade them for a few litres of diesel lol.

FollowupID: 863317

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 22:41

Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 22:41
Great footage of some very familiar sights :)
Loved Chambers Pillar, a very different view.
Algebuckina too, was really beaut to see like that.
AnswerID: 594754

Reply By: Idler Chris - Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 23:29

Monday, Jan 11, 2016 at 23:29
Thanks Mick, great work and I agree those drones certainly add a new dimension to videos.
No guessing what my dreams will be about tonight.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 594756

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 00:19

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 00:19
Nice bit of work by both Peter and yourself.
Drones are changing our whole perspective and creating new enjoyment of places visited and only seen from the ground.

AnswerID: 594757

Reply By: Rob K (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 08:43

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 08:43
Well done Mick and Pete. Just love the different perspective the drone gives to places we've been to before at ground level (Dalhousie, Chambers Pillar etc.). Only wets the appetite to load the truck up again for another trip - but where to this time? Keep the videos coming, just love watching them. Hope we can catch up at a city coffee club meeting again?

Cheers Rob K
AnswerID: 594763

Reply By: Member - Dalb (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 09:39

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 09:39
Great stuff guys.
The future of drone photography is exciting, however I can envisage some campers becoming not happy about noise and invasion of privacy.

For interest, I found this little gem recently:
http://www.australiangeographic.com.au/travel/destinations/2015/12/drone-footage-of-the-red-centre?adbsc=social_20160102_56571766&adbid=10153317874163339&adbpl=fb&adbpr=100614418338

I cant get the address to print in a continuous line - so just join it up.

With due acknowledgement to Australian Geographic.........
Cheers, Dalb

AnswerID: 594765

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 14:13

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 14:13
Link worked okay for me, Dalb, the way it is.

FollowupID: 863338

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Jan 13, 2016 at 03:34

Wednesday, Jan 13, 2016 at 03:34
I was camping a few weeks ago at Bendethera and there were that many drones buzzing me I think that they will have to start registering their flight paths. :-)
FollowupID: 863361

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Thursday, Jan 14, 2016 at 15:10

Thursday, Jan 14, 2016 at 15:10
Dalb
I think you have raised a very valid issue re noise and privacy that needs to be more widely discussed.
I go bush for the tranquility, the sounds of nature and at times, the to and fro of a quiet conversation.
Not long ago Mick O posted about the joys off sitting in the quiet around the campfire at beer o'clock and his problem with others disturbing the peace by playing loud music.
I think that the inconsiderate use of drones will pose an even greater problem, maybe far greater than generators and I can imagine some pretty harsh words or more resulting from their use. For me, the hum of a Honda E10i in the background would be far preferable to a drone buzzing around, although I prefer neither.
Then there is the issue of privacy. I wouldn't even start to contemplate going around a campsite taking pictures of complete strangers without their permission. And yet some people clearly think nothing of it - and I am not talking about this movie where clearly they were in a party traveling together.
As to this particular movie, there is some excellent footage and good editing, as usual, by Mick O.. What I am raising is the question "at what price?"

FollowupID: 863468

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Jan 15, 2016 at 13:20

Friday, Jan 15, 2016 at 13:20
Andrew, I feel pretty confident that where I travel, it won't be much of an issue but you do raise a valid point. I'm yet to experience them anywhere else but can well imagine that they would be an issue at popular campsites (along with generators, music, kids, dogs and hoons). This close to Xmas, I reckon there'd be particular issues as they appear to be the flavour of the month. The DJI drone used to take these videos costs over $2K but there are many that are cheap enough to make them affordable Xmas presents for the kids or dad and certainly they appear to have topped this years gift lists. Generally these don't contain cameras but that wouldn't make them any less annoying.

While it will be interesting to see what develops in coming years, I'd imagine that regulation will come sooner rather than later. How effective that is out in the bush will be another matter entirely.

Mick

FollowupID: 863559

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 10:40

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 10:40
G'day Mick
I don't get a link to view anything on this post.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 594769

Follow Up By: Mick O - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 12:42

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 12:42
Time to update your browser Stan. Try using Google Chrome or firefox.

Video is here;VIMEO

and here;Youtube

Mick

FollowupID: 863333

Reply By: Member - Journey into Unknown - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 10:40

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 10:40
Absolutely stunning - inspirational
Falling down is a part of life, staying down is a choice!

AnswerID: 594770

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 11:21

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 11:21
Excellent stuff Mick and your editing is getting better and better, nice choice of music as well. What sort of camera did Peter have mounted on the drone?
And is a drone on the wish list for your next birthday?
Guess that was the footage of heading out for the Track Care trip last year?

AnswerID: 594775

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 13:07

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 13:07
Hi Mick
Great stuff Mick and thorughly enjoyed the drone flight.
My firefox browser is up to date 43.0.4.
Lost in space ?
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 594782

Reply By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 15:21

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 15:21
Lovely clips and great editing Peter and Mick. Having never been really interested in video editing or really shooting too many clips, I am just now coming to terms with how to do it. My iMac has some software of course, but may have to shell out to get an upgraded package. Having acquired a drone for Christmas, just want to travel with it. Quite envious of the skills developed by both of you
AnswerID: 594787

Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 16:17

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 16:17
Very well done to the both of you. I'd thought I'd thought of all the things a drone could do and imagined all the errors it could create but I never thought of this.
Great views.A flight over the Olgas & the Shcwerrin Mural Crescent,! Oh, what beauty would you see?., just to name two! out of so many beautiful spots in Australia which are hard to get to.
I thought you were going to prang into Chambers Pillar! A credit to your skill Peter.

I'm glad we updated to a toilet & shower tent when we bought the van! no more loos with a view & no more skinny dipping.
I wonder what a Wedgetailed Eagle would do with it?
Thank you for putting it on. We really enjoyed it.
Take care, safe travels. Ma.
AnswerID: 594789

Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 18:58

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 18:58
Wedgetails? Like this one? Always a potential issue. I am finding livestock don't like mine too much. They stir up when it is 80m away
FollowupID: 863351

Reply By: wholehog - Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 23:37

Tuesday, Jan 12, 2016 at 23:37
Awesome mate. Gotta get me one of those. All our desert trips and just ground shots.
AnswerID: 594805

Reply By: Member - Odog - Wednesday, Jan 13, 2016 at 19:06

Wednesday, Jan 13, 2016 at 19:06
Thanks Mick, great video, and the music goes well with the footage, we will be out that way August/September.. Can't wait.. Took about 10 hours of GoPro footage over last 8 week trip, but have only edited first 3 days worth.. Think we need a bigger computer! Sues been trying to do it on a lap top... Just hard to get comfy, for long periods.. The drone market must be booming! They do a great job.. Thanks again for sharing... Cheers Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 594853