June / July road trip ideas to western Qld or NSW

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 at 20:29
ThreadID: 131985 Views:2430 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
We are wanting to do a 2 week outback trip late June, we have a cruiser and Jayco expanda outback with a 6 & 8year old in tow...
The van is cabpable of doing short free camps.
I would like to give the kids the experience of the outback but also things to keep them somewhat entertained.
If any one has any destinations or a route they can recommend it would be appreciated, we live in Bundaberg so would be heading west from here.
Maybe taking in some gorges, a bit of gem hunting, finishing & canoeing, star gazing etc.
Thank you in advance

Reply By: Jonty - Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 at 21:05

Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 at 21:05
Bundaberg to Rocky, then inland to Longreach, From there to Winton and the start of the Dinosaur Trail. Winton, Hughenden Richmond(Marine fossil) then up to Lawn Hill. Book in advance as it is Tourist season.
That should cover it.
Jonty
AnswerID: 598034

Follow Up By: Expanda 1756 - Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 at 21:14

Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 at 21:14
Thx Jonty,
Was just checking that out...
The kids would enjoy the dinosaurs for sure.

FollowupID: 867154

Follow Up By: Kevin S - Life Member (QLD) - Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 18:31

Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 18:31
Jonty has given you a good suggestion although including Lawn Hill is probably a bit much unless your kids are good travelers and don't mind spending time in the car. But if you got to Lawn Hill you would probably want to spend the better part of a week just in that area.

You would be probably better to use Winton at your furthest point west and spend a bit more time around there. Larks Quarry dinosaur stampede is worth the effort and Bladensberg National Park could meet your need for some remote low cost camping.

One of the best dinosaur displays in the country is at Richmond. Then you can go on to take in the history of Charters Towers. There is a great free camp beside the Burdekin River at Macrossan Park just east of Charters Tower as well.

Cheers, Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 867197

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 at 21:37

Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 at 21:37
G'day Expanda 1756,

I reckon Longreach for sure. Plenty to check out and it's a really nice City.
Then Winton and do the dinosaur stuff.
From Winton head down to Middleton and stop at the pub. It's about the only thing there but it's a classic. They've got a Cobb and Co coach sitting out the front and great corned beef sandwiches.
Head out to Boulia to fuel up and check out the Min Min Centre.
Then drive on to Bedourie to soak in the artesian spa pool.
Go to Birdsville, Innamincka and Cameron Corner for a real outback experience.
On to Tibooburra, up to Noccundra, through to Quilpie for a pie, Charleville, Mithchell, Roma and work your way home from there.
There's a heap of artesian spas on that trip. Give the kids a soak in one of those at night and they'll sleep like babies.

We're off in 4 weeks for at least 7 months. Getting pretty excited.

Have fun
AnswerID: 598037

Reply By: Malcom M - Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 06:42

Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 06:42
Never thought of towing the kids, must try that.
AnswerID: 598050

Follow Up By: Expanda 1756 - Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 17:52

Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 17:52
Heaps quieter that way ??
FollowupID: 867196

Reply By: Geepeem - Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 12:35

Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 12:35
If you like star gazing you would enjoy the Cosmos Centre at Charleville. There is a relatively new caravan park a a few ks out of town called The Red Lizard which is reasonably priced and have a home made Pizza on some nights.
AnswerID: 598065

Reply By: Meridith D - Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 18:38

Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 18:38
We did a trip down the Dowling Track from Quilpie to Bourke - such a good trip. We did a station stay at Kilcowra Station, went through Thargomindah and Hungerford. Loved it all!
AnswerID: 598085

Reply By: Robyn R4 - Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 21:10

Friday, Apr 01, 2016 at 21:10
I second what everyone else has said...western Qld is a great place to wander! We've done most of those places mentioned by others over a series of 4 trips and western Qld will entertain the kids much more than western NSW.
Yes, Charleville's Cosmos Centre (you've never truly seen the moon til you look at it through a $48,000 telescope!!) and the bilbies...the dinosaur trail...
They'll love it. It certainly brought out the "kid" in hubby and me!!
We did fossicking around Emerald/Rubyvale years ago and it was such fun, but that's closer to home for you. Do that as a separate trip.
AnswerID: 598094

Reply By: Member - John and Lynne - Sunday, Apr 03, 2016 at 08:26

Sunday, Apr 03, 2016 at 08:26
Western Qld is wonderful and will certainly provide you and kids with great experience and memories. You won't see everything in two weeks and travelling with kids means that less is usually more. Pick a few likely places from all the excellent suggestions given and spend a bit longer at them so everyone can really relax and have a good look at things. The aim is to have such a good time that you all want to go again - not have whinging kids whose main memory is hours in the car! Don't forget to stop at Ilfracombe on the way to see the amazing (free) display of machinery along the road. Ilfracombe also has a great caravan park complete with campfire dinner, bush poets etc. Better value than Longreach CPs. Lynne
AnswerID: 598129

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2016 at 19:20

Sunday, Apr 03, 2016 at 19:20
In addition to places/ things said above, also consider Carnarvon Gorge, the kids should love scrambling through some of the gorges like Micky's gorge, even if you don't go into the official gorge. If you haven't already done some of the sandstone gorges closer to Bundy, definitely allow two full days @ Carnarvon Gorge.
You could then go gem hunting at Anakie on your way over to Longreach & Winton.

Just make sure you take plenty of warm clothes for the kids to sleep in ( two layers of clothes at night & thick socks, sleep with a beanie on their heads) and gloves. Kids will feel the cold more so than adults do. As soon as the sun sets, it gets really cold quickly with those clear starry nights.
AnswerID: 598147