A Recent 'Experience'

Submitted: Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 13:52
ThreadID: 13273 Views:2210 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
G'day all.

3 weeks ago I and the 'commissioner for war' were heading West to East over the Simpson on the French Line.

Met a dune with a 6 foot vertical west face that 'Lucy' (the troopy) hung herself on by sitting neatly on the bashplate with now here to go.

Anyway, I get out to inspect 'things' and observe fluid fairly 'persisting' down over the right front Koni Shock. Shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit! alarm bells start going off like a sub marine in a crash dive.

Back it off the dune ( and don't mention anything to the 'commissioner') and just say I better have a look at things.

Guess what, prior to leaving Melbourne, I had a Twine type shower put in (not a Twine), and the fitter hadn't tightened one of the heater hose fittings enough.

Just took a few 'turbo charged horses' to cause it to leak.

All I can say is thank .... Lucy hung herself on that dune and I had to get out and have a look.

Only lost the overflow/expansion tank fluid plus a bit out of the heater line.

Refilled and tackled the rest head on ( after gardening the top of that dune off)

Moral of this story/experience - who knows - take from it what you will.

Ken Robinson

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 16:24

Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 16:24
Theres ya problem, your car is a woman, you know they leak every month...
AnswerID: 60765

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 18:08

Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 18:08
Oh Bruce don't go there

FollowupID: 322351

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 23:10

Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 23:10
Truckster

You are truly something else.

For once I am totally bereft of a relevant reply.

Ken Robinson
FollowupID: 322414

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 23:26

Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 23:26
was the first thing I thought of LMAO

:-s
FollowupID: 322419

Reply By: duncs - Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 17:13

Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 17:13
Ken

Back in 1999 I had the car checked out by a reputable 4WD workshop prior to my eagerly anticipated trip to Cape York. People in the know advised me that it was the sensible thing to do.

The workshop found a couple of minor problems so I got them to fix them up before I set out on teh great trip confident that the old girl was in top condition for the trip.

Despite my preperations I had a number of problems, nothing that stopped me but I did get slowed down a bit. you guessd it the things that broke or played up were the very things that said "reputable" 4WD workshop had fixed.

The moral of this story, for me at least. Prove the mechanic for yourself before you accept his word and even if they do check it you check it too. You are the one who will get stuck.

AnswerID: 60774

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 22:30

Saturday, May 29, 2004 at 22:30
Duncs,

You never said a truer word. I'm an old EX- mechanic that these days hates even looking at engines and the standard of some mechanics or fitters leaves a lot to be desired. If they're "Toyota Mechanics" they only seem to read Toyota manuals, same with Ford, Nissan etc. "Comon Mechanical Sense" isn't in those manuals. I've lost count of the number of times I've taken vehicles in for a service and had to take 'em back (sometimes more than once!) or fix it myself 'cos it was easier than arguing! It's hard to find a good one.

Just today I repaired a short circuit on my LC TD 100 Cruiser that was causing the remote locking to become inoperative. I tracked it down to some wiring that had been crushed when the lenses were fitted to the back plates of recently fitted additional rear lights (needed due to the fitting of a Kaymar wheel carrier). It was a disgrace what they'd left in there - a real mess!

Check it yourself - like you said "It's you that'll get stuck"

Bilbo
AnswerID: 60821

Reply By: Member - Roachie- Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 19:57

Sunday, May 30, 2004 at 19:57
Ken,
This is one of the reasons I do most of those sorts of jobs myself. The mechanics are probably much better at what they do than I ever will be and quicker too. However, as it's not their own ass on the line out there, they don't have the same vested interest in getting the job done properly. If you're like me, when you do a job on the truck you double or even triple check every bolt etc before slamming down the bonnet.
I just replaced a busted air con belt on Saturday. It was a mongrel of a job, cos I had to remove the fan and the other 2 belts to be able to do the air con. I also replaced the other 2 belts with new ones while I was at it. The whole job took me about 3 hours but at least I now know how to do it again if I ever have to on the side of the road.
I like to think I know about most things on my rig except for the motor itself.
AnswerID: 60917

Reply By: Shawn - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 07:31

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 07:31
Ken
My wife picked the wagon up from the Nissan dealer in Campbelltown (Sydney) after its last major service, when she drove it up the driveway, I thought it was making a strange noise. Looking under the bonnet the intake hose to the intercooler was off. Don't know if it was off when she picked it up or it had come off somewhere between there and home. Rung the dealer straight away incase any damage done and to get them to kick the "apprentice" in the Rs. They were all apologetic but I suspect that is as far as it went. Still running fine though no damage done.
Shawn
AnswerID: 60962

Reply By: KO2004 - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 09:27

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 09:27

We just picked up our vehicle after having 6k worth of work done on it - it was also a reputable dealer. We told him we are about to embark for cape york. We were told "she'll be right and get you there and back no worries at all". Well we got the car home and it didn't even make it out of the garage... The alternator died... we lifted up the bonnet and there was rubbish in the engine bay, and a screwdriver as well. Oh not to mention the clips that were broken off from the grill. We asked them during the service to look at why the headlight keeps blowing as well. 2 days later Blown headlight. ...We were really annoyed. We only chose this mechanic after the last workshop put the wrong oil in our GQ Ti Auto gearbox (yes that was a 6 k job as well). Trust levels now are at an all time low...
AnswerID: 60969