Nead help finding Golden Grove Inn or another name Shadow of Death inn

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 07, 2016 at 22:27
ThreadID: 132942 Views:4108 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
Hello all.
I am still trying to find the exact location of an old wayside inn on the Yalgoo to Paynes find road.
The inn had several names but the real ones are Golden Grove Inn or Shadow of Death inn.
It was run and owned by Jane Oliver nee- Herbert. 1898
My wife and I were hoping to find the graves and site on our trip up that way because she is the great great granddaughter of Jane Oliver.
She found it when she was a child but dad Oliver cant remember the exact spot... Getting old.
Its somewhere near Messengers patch about 8 miles south?
Help.
Tony

Reply By: Harry C - Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 08:38

Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 08:38
A little bit about the subject http://caravanersforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=59053 Cheers Harry
The windscreen is a travelling picture show

AnswerID: 602199

Follow Up By: The Goat - Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 23:30

Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 23:30
Thanks mate.
Seen that, it was a good read.
FollowupID: 871833

Reply By: noggins - Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 12:54

Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 12:54
If you get in contact with Thundelara Homestead ( Morrisey - spelling ? Family ) they might know it's location.
From memory it was almost opposite the old turn off to the EZ and Associated Drilling camp sites .
From Yalgoo it would be on the left ,
Just googled it and maybe the Thundelara Pastoral company could help as the homestead doesn't seem to be listed any longer except as a possible Farmstay

Google Earth shows a clearing slightly further on , on the left , that could be the site your looking for
Sorry I can't be more helpful, but it was a long time ago, and the memory ain't what it used to be
Ron

P.s The Oliver family under Heritage listing might be more specific , I tried to look but it times out for me
AnswerID: 602206

Follow Up By: The Goat - Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 23:32

Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 23:32
Yep will do.
Good idea ta.
FollowupID: 871834

Follow Up By: new boy - Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 11:18

Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 11:18
Tom Morrisey left Thunderlarra July 2015 brought a property down Harvey way the station is run by Dept of Parks ex CALM from Geralton who would have his contact details .
FollowupID: 871843

Reply By: TomH - Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 15:08

Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 15:08
Article about it herehttp://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/66253819
AnswerID: 602214

Follow Up By: The Goat - Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 23:33

Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 23:33
Yeah been really thrashing trove for info.
Its real handy
FollowupID: 871835

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 08:52

Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 08:52
Thanks for this bit of history, it'd be good for a future SHP. I have downloaded the article as a PDF file from Trove.

FollowupID: 871859

Reply By: Member - Rowdy6032 (WA) - Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 22:30

Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 22:30

A lot of guess work on my part but opposite the Golden Grove Minesite there is an old well that is shown on Tengraph as Shadow Well UTM 50J 501469 6818483.

I reckon it would have to be around there somewhere. If you give the minesite a ring they may be able to help.

AnswerID: 602234

Follow Up By: The Goat - Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 23:35

Friday, Jul 08, 2016 at 23:35
Yeah saw that.
Might be my best bet because i read somewhere they used to draw water from the well.
FollowupID: 871836

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 14:45

Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 14:45
Hi Tony,

I found an old map of the area.

or link here: HERE

At the south west corner of the map.

AnswerID: 602251

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 18:50

Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 18:50
Hello Alan

Map appears to be a fraction too far east. Can see Messenger Patch Well but that seems to be south east of the area of interest (~Golden Grove) and certainly not at the area know as Messenger Patch (which is a bit strange) ....unless I am blind which could be the case.

When you say "At the south west corner of the map" what exactly are you referring to?

If you can find the map adjoining to the west that may be handy.
Greg.

FollowupID: 871849

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 19:27

Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 19:27
Hi Greg,

I was just pointing out the general area.
Here is the map to the west : HERE

FollowupID: 871850

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 20:03

Saturday, Jul 09, 2016 at 20:03
Thanks - very interesting.

Any idea when these maps were drawn - cant see any dates.

Area of interest is between Waljumarung and Minja but no indication of any roads/buildings so maybe pre-dates their construction?.

FollowupID: 871851

Follow Up By: The Goat - Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 17:24

Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 17:24
Equinox.
You are a bloody legend.
Thank you so much.
I will be pawing over these tonight because i believe the second map shows Jane Olivers property at the very bottom of Gnows Nest Range.
Can i ask where you acquired these maps there great.
Thanks again for the help.
Tony
FollowupID: 871866

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 18:18

Sunday, Jul 10, 2016 at 18:18
No worries Tony, glad to be of some help.

The maps are available from Maps Online

FollowupID: 871867

Reply By: Steve S27 - Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 at 14:39

Saturday, Jul 16, 2016 at 14:39
Hi Tony
I know exactly where the grave is. I used to work at the mine site and visited the grave when showing people around. If you enter the track that is directly opposite the minesite airport runway, keep following the track and always take the right hand forks on the track you will come to the grave which is only about 500m off the main bitumen road. You will drive past a raised section of earth with a signposted "Oliver's Patch". As mentioned earlier in the posts there is a fenced off well to the left of the track when you enter just off the main road, it's good for a sighter just keep going past it. Hope this helps.

Regards Steve
AnswerID: 602478

Follow Up By: The Goat - Sunday, Jul 17, 2016 at 21:27

Sunday, Jul 17, 2016 at 21:27
Thanks Mate
Just a follow up the directions you gave me were spot on.
Had no trouble finding it.
Thanks again
FollowupID: 872120