Rancho 9000x shocks any good?

Submitted: Monday, May 31, 2004 at 14:30
ThreadID: 13328 Views:3514 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Hey guys,

Rancho 9000x adjustable shocks any good? Any one had experience, i would be fitting them on a fj60.

Cheers!

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:01

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:01
Nope..
I've had mine replaced 2 times already, and then these ones are fubar.

Go with OME longtravel, or Koni's.
AnswerID: 61017

Follow Up By: Synergist - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:37

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:37
Hey Truckster,

Were yours the 9000x adjustable or RS5000, what sort of terrain do you think killed them? Any problems with getting them replaced by Rancho?

FollowupID: 322610

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:53

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:53
started with 9000's replaced them with 9x since the 9000s werent available anymore. now have rooted 9x's..

Ranchos have good wank value thats all they are about with their adjustment, which I do admit is awesome. But now others have the same thing, Tuff Dog, TJM also both have externally adjustables.. The Tuffdog ones will work with the Rancho incab kit which is also shiat quality.

What killed them? first set lasted 3 mnths. Nothing killed them, just crap quality.. Second set, high country, toolangi, gembrook, wombat, trip across to robe, plenty of work..

Wouldnt wee on them.

Do yourself a favor, look elsewhere. Apparently they are better on small lighter trucks, lux's etc, but large trucks, 80s GQ, 60's etc, they suffer more.

YMMV
FollowupID: 322615

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:57

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 15:57
I had no probs with warranty except being without car until Rancho decided they were fubar, plus having to pay the extra from 9000 to 9x's whichbleepme off since it wasnt my fault they sold me ones they couldnt warrant anymore.

Mate was told by the place in Sydney that distributes rancho Send us yours by courier, then we will work out if they are no good.. We wont give you any as temp replacement, but your welcome to buy some others in the mean time!!!

They said it could take upto 3 weeks!
FollowupID: 322616

Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 21:05

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 21:05
9000x with incab adjuster on my GU.

30K since installed.

I chose these for ease of adjusting, the GU is a work car during the week and carries greatly varying loads during the day. The range of adjustment makes a great difference.

Only problem has been I snagged an airline once. #hit happens. I should have been more careful running the lines.
AnswerID: 61083

Reply By: SupaMav - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 21:12

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 21:12
I've got 4 9000xs. Have had no trouble in my petrol GQ shortie. The guy I bought them off got them as a spare set for a cape trip he made in a petrol GQ coil-cab from Brissie and didn't have one fail.

AnswerID: 61087

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, May 31, 2004 at 21:20

Monday, May 31, 2004 at 21:20
I bought a set of 9000's for my GQ last year and now they are stuffed.... They are a great shock if you dont punish them.... They are good for long travel applications and also good for their ability to change the dampening but put them on a trip with corrugations and they are crap.... I would prefer a normal set of wiley shocks over rancho's for the type of driving i do....I will keep mine on till next years trip comes along and i will replace them with some sort of Big Bad Foam Cell Shocks....
AnswerID: 61091