Treatment for march/marsh fly stings

Submitted: Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 11:54
ThreadID: 134275 Views:6641 Replies:17 FollowUps:14
G'day all
We are being attacked by hordes of March Flys and the sting they give has not responded to any of the treatments I've tried.
Cortisone cream from chemist, vinegar, white Tiger Balm, mu Oil, Eucalyptus Oil, Apple Cider Vinegar & water etc
Does anyone have a remedy for them
The initial sting is bad , but several hours later the ongoing sting/itchy thing is keeping me awake. I can't even have an afternoon Nana nap.
Regards and safe travels to all
PeteM Qld

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 11:57

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 11:57
What no bushmans on board ?
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 608422

Reply By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:03

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:03
yes we have bushmans they land on the sprayed area and seem to drink the stuff and still bite.
bushmans here on the atherton tablelands is very expensive and is stocked by very few outlets
PeteM Qld
AnswerID: 608423

Reply By: steved58 - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:33

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:33
I use stingoes from the chemist works to a degree if applied soon after the bite
Cheers steve
AnswerID: 608425

Reply By: Jackolux - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:33

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:33
Have you tried taking a antihistamine something like Telfast ?
AnswerID: 608426

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 15:12

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 15:12
We have just finished our marsh fly season here in the hills east of Perth. Thankfully!!!!
For the odd one or two bites I have found the back of a heated spoon, as mentioned in a few posts below, applied to the bite usually relieves the itch.
As hot as you can stand without inflicting permanent damage of course.

If the little bar stewards have really attacked in squadron strength I usually take an anti histamine as well.

FollowupID: 878175

Reply By: NavaraNick - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:42

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:42
I read somewhere (might have been on another ozexplorer forum thread) that haemorrhoid cream works, as it numbs the area while reducing any swelling.
Not sure if you have any access to a chemist where you are?
AnswerID: 608427

Reply By: Mikee5 - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:52

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 12:52
Try a dab of Dettol, dip a cotton bud into the bottle and use that.
Works for us, and on sandflies.
AnswerID: 608428

Reply By: Member - Jim B8 - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 13:02

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 13:02
Bi carb soda always worth a try. Mix a slurry of water and powder till its thick, and dab on. Works on most bites, but messy and very visable
AnswerID: 608430

Reply By: Zippo - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 13:11

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 13:11
I've been told that the only effective treatment is alcohol.

Topical application of meths, and systemic dosing with your choice of ethyl. If the former seems ineffective, you need more of the latter.
AnswerID: 608431

Follow Up By: TomH - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 13:38

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 13:38
Do you apply it externally or take it internally Possible different outcomes here

One would numb the bite area the other the whole body eventually ROFL
FollowupID: 878172

Follow Up By: Zippo - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 15:40

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 15:40
Tom, "Topical" = applied to the site. "Systemic" = introduced into the system (digestive tract) for distribution throughout.
FollowupID: 878177

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 14:12

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 14:12
This thing Bite away works like magic. it looks like one of those trick products but it works like a treat. I have trouble getting it back on trips.

It heats the area around the bits which apparently kills the poison. Sometimes you have to do it a few times a couple of minutes apart but it sure does work.

It has temporary relief for my wife ( 10 - 15 mins) but she just uses it frequently till the itch does down. It uses 2 AA batteries that seem to last a while.

AnswerID: 608433

Follow Up By: Bob R4 - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 14:34

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 14:34
The back of a spoon which has been heated with hot water to a temp you can just cope with, pressed on the bite/sting site, as soon as possible after the bite, apparently breaks down the proteins in the bite fluid, and gives relief.
Works for wasps, bees as well.

FollowupID: 878174

Reply By: Member - Odog - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 14:38

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 14:38
G'day Peter
With mozzie bites, I find something hot, I'm a smoker (yes I know, I'm a bad person) but I use a lit cigarette and hold it just off the skin above the bite, only enough to feel the bearable heat, not blister it.. works every time, only do it for a couple of seconds.. even use a lighter, the little metal guard gets quite hot.. no flame though, or an ember from the fire, guess no fires in this heat at the moment.
We were up at Tom Groggin couple of weeks ago, stripped off, went for a swim, as soon as you seem to get wet, the March flies, came in thick and fast, thousands of them, could hardly get dressed.. none around before you got in the water.. I've had them bite through the mesh on shoes even.. High country is bad for them.. cheers Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 608437

Follow Up By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 17:29

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 17:29
Odog, we call then Monaro bombers in the Snowy high country, they'll bite thru a denim work shirt no problem.They drive sweaty stock horses crazy.
Keith.
FollowupID: 878185

Reply By: Baz - The Landy - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 15:11

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 15:11

"Use a Hot Spoon to Instantly Relieve Itchy Bug Bites - Lifehacker

Itchy Bug Bites"

When mosquitoes bite you, they inject proteins under your skin to keep your blood from clotting. It's this protein that causes you to itch, but it can't survive at the moderately high temperatures a hot spoon can create.

The bump might linger for a few days, but the uncomfortable itching should be gone for good!

I recall reading about this previously and I have absolutely no idea whether it works or not...so here are my caveats...

Sceptics - call Lifehacker

Burn victims - well you were the one who tried it...

That should cover me in terms of disclaimers...and good weekend to all,

Cheers, Baz - The landy
AnswerID: 608439

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 16:01

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 16:01
Heat changes the structural properties of protein but doesn't change the chemical structure. Proteins survive but are what is called denatured.
I didn't know this heat caper so thanks odog & Baz.
FollowupID: 878178

Follow Up By: Member - Odog - Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 08:55

Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 08:55
Baz & Mark
Well, makes you think the heat thing works well on mozzies, what ever source of heat is applied. Be interested to see if it works on March flies, although, I've never been left with an irritating itch from March flies, only the bite can be quite bad.. Cheers guys... Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

FollowupID: 878203

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 17:20

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 17:20
March flies / Midgies / Mozzies / Horse flies etc all have an aversion to the human blood stream that has plenty of vitamin B flowing in the system , yes it is no cure after the bite BUT a mega vitamine B capsule taken regularly every morning at least 14 days prior to exploring infestational areas and continuing to do so stops one getting bitten in the first place , 'an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure'..
AnswerID: 608443

Follow Up By: Member - Odog - Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 09:10

Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 09:10
Alloy
Does Vegemite on toast count as a vitamin B supplement, had it for breakie every day, still got eaten by the mozzies.. ha..
Wouldn't they have to "taste you first"... or get bitten once, so he can pass the word around, "that ones off".. just kidding..
Have read somewhere, if you use nice smelling stuff, as after shave lotion, or perfume, can attract the little suckers.
Camped at Tuross Falls, Missus was running through the scrub screaming, with one of those massive horse flies in hot pursuit.. was the size of a small bird, and sounded like a B52... still have a laugh about it... cheers Odog

FollowupID: 878205

Follow Up By: Michaeljp - Thursday, Feb 16, 2017 at 15:48

Thursday, Feb 16, 2017 at 15:48
I read an article/experiment conducted by the Northern Territory government regarding Vit B and sand flies. It debunked that myth. Vit B didnt work.

This is another article that states no scientific proof,
http://digitallibrary.health.nt.gov.au/prodjspui/bitstream/10137/205/1/Biting%20midges%20or%20sandflies%20in%20the%20NT%202003%20CDC%20ver.pdf
FollowupID: 878369

Reply By: Dean K3 - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 18:55

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 18:55
You suffer like i do i get a welt (similar to mossie bite) soon after they have lunch on me.

I've tried most repellents and honestly reckon most of them ineffective to marchies

In past for bad sandfly bites I have used hemorrhoid cream (soove it) has a local anesthetic and anti inflammation agent and works fairly well - how good this is for marchies no idea as i haven't tried it as yet.

Rather slap dance or be covered up head to foot

Thankfully the buggers have let the hills area for few weeks now east of Perth
AnswerID: 608447

Reply By: Chris B26 - Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 23:14

Friday, Feb 10, 2017 at 23:14
I have been using a slurry of bicarbonate, lavender oil and fine clay.
The theory is the bicarbonate neutralises the chemical, the lavender is an anti inflammatory and the clay is adrawing agent.
My grand daughter used to be badly affected by mossie bites, if we rub this on early, ie when it is first noted, it removes itch within minutes. No idea if it will work on flies.
AnswerID: 608456

Reply By: gbc - Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 04:04

Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 04:04
Chemists own antiseptic plus cream. Antiseptic, anaesthetic and anti inflammatory all in one. Use it on all bites, burns and scratches.
AnswerID: 608459

Reply By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 08:03

Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 08:03
Thank you all
I will increase the amount of red wine I drink to get the Anti Hystimines (joking)
The Haemaroid Cream seems to work
I have saved all of the replies so I can find out what works for me
I have been taking Vit B1 tablets every dau for years, my understanding is the B1 reduces the infections etc after you have scratched the crap out of yourself.
Once again thank you
Regards and safe travels to all
PeteM Qld
AnswerID: 608463

Follow Up By: Dean K3 - Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 17:35

Saturday, Feb 11, 2017 at 17:35
Keep us posted of the findings as your currently the lab rat for waters untested by myself.

I got this method whilst in Pt hedland after round 2 of being eaten alive at Port smith by sandflies.

Not so much the day time activities that were annoying its when trying to sleep with swag/sleeping bag materiel touching legs I had issues with

since tried the itch n burn aid cream (generic amcal) after being eaten by mossies but found it totally ineffective, i requested the soov it but dispenser said this is cheaper and does same -yeah right sure it does -NOT
FollowupID: 878219

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 15, 2017 at 10:55

Wednesday, Feb 15, 2017 at 10:55
Hey Pete!

Got some bad news for you mate.
I'm a red wine drinker too but rest assured the beverage increases the histamine count, not reduces it.

FollowupID: 878343

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 16, 2017 at 07:49

Thursday, Feb 16, 2017 at 07:49
Thank you all
Going to town today to buy some detol
But Haemaroid cream is working
Regards to all
PeteM Qld
FollowupID: 878364

Reply By: Batt's - Friday, Feb 17, 2017 at 20:07

Friday, Feb 17, 2017 at 20:07
I've always used Berocca for sand flies and mozzie bites it helps stop the itching so I wonder if it would work for march flies'
AnswerID: 608656

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 18, 2017 at 07:45

Saturday, Feb 18, 2017 at 07:45
Thank you
I take 150mg of Vitamin B1 every day and I know that it helps with midgies & sand flys. That is my reaction to the bit isn't as severe as it was before I started on B1 about 6 years ago.
Doesn't seem to help with Marsh/March flys
PeteM (Qld)
FollowupID: 878391

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 22:42

Monday, Feb 20, 2017 at 22:42
No worries so march flies must have something else in their system if vitamin B doesn't help.
FollowupID: 878476