cooper max tyres

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 18, 2017 at 21:12
ThreadID: 134486 Views:4446 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
hello all, have a patrol fitted with cooper A.T max tyres done about 40,000ks measures half worn. 5 tyres bought at same store probably same batch. A wheel check shows a split about match head width about 10mm from rim on inside of tyre. this split is about a quarter of the way around the tyre. on inspection a second tyre is developing the same splitting though not as bad. vic roads say the first tyre is unroadworthy. I left the tyre for the rep to check but have been away for a month and dont know the results yet. but recieved a bill for $405 today for the replacement they gave me to go away with. they give a written warranty for 70,000k if used in city. who would buy that type of tyre for the city. If they dont come to some agreement ill go to consumer affairs. has anyone had this problem with these tyres?. is my claim against the retailer or cooper tyres.? apparently they may claim a pro rarta basis but this would cost me $1000 and im on a aged pension.. any advice would be appreciated thanks bill

Reply By: gbc - Saturday, Mar 18, 2017 at 21:34

Saturday, Mar 18, 2017 at 21:34
https://www.google.com.au/search?q=cooper+tyre+radial+cracks&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-au&client=safari

Not a new issue unfortunately mate. Nor is their warranty. Imho coopers are a marketing triumph. I hope you get somewhere with them.
AnswerID: 609498

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Mar 18, 2017 at 21:34

Saturday, Mar 18, 2017 at 21:34
Welcome to the murky world of the Cooper Tires warranty, a world of promises, broken promises, lies & deception!

You will find that all tyre warranties are on a pro-rata basis.
According to Victorian Consumer law, "if you have a valid claim for a refund, repair or replacement, the store must handle your claim"

AnswerID: 609499

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Mar 18, 2017 at 23:04

Saturday, Mar 18, 2017 at 23:04
Unfortunately Bill you're in a bit of a no win situation. Cooper have a history of refusing warranty for various reasons, offroad use, wrong pressures, not rotated/balanced per recommendations etc then if you do complain long & hard they may give a pro-rata warrenty but replace them with exactly the same brand that just failed to meet your needs the 1st time. Do you really want to fit the same tyres again that split particularly when it's been a common fault?
Advice: Consider cutting your loss's & moving on.
AnswerID: 609504

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 09:40

Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 09:40
Because I threatened to challenge their warranty & ethics, I got a credit at the tyre retailer & bought a different brand.
Remember to keep a record of everything that they say.

FollowupID: 879358

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 11:42

Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 11:42
That would definately be the best outcome Shaker although that's very uncommon being able to get a credit for a different brand.
FollowupID: 879364

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 08:08

Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 08:08
Why do folk buy this brand of tyres?
We continually here about problems with both the tyre brand and the poor warranty on claims.

Now, I happen to have two Cooper Discoverer AT3's on my tug. Why?
They were the only brand available at Birdsville when I had to replace a pair of Bridgies destroyed while traveling the Birdsville Track. (It happens when you run them flat!) My fault. My bad. I didn't practice what I preach to others on airing down. (But that is another story)
The Coopers appear to be wearing OK but not my first choice in tyres. I prefer the Bridgestone Dueler 697 AT LT as my first choice, for cost, reliability and performance reasons.

AnswerID: 609511

Reply By: Keith B2 - Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 09:01

Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 09:01
Same thing happened to me. Have a look at this thread.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=43678.0
Keith
AnswerID: 609514

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 09:42

Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 09:42
Let me guess, they either told you that they hadn't seen that problem before, or blamed you ..... or both!

FollowupID: 879359

Follow Up By: Keith B2 - Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 10:48

Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 10:48
The Coopers rep was fine and was happy to replace the tyres until we realised that they had not come from Coopers Australia. Although he did get a bit shy when I suggested that, since all of the tyres were from the same batch, they should all be replaced.

The selling dealer had dropped Coopers saying that he he had had too many complaints. I leaned on him pretty hard to get him to buy back the tyres.

I think the early batches had a fault where the black and white rubber are vulcanised together. But plenty of people since then seem happy with them.

I really liked the performance of the tyres, but they got very noisy at about 8,000 km.
FollowupID: 879363

Follow Up By: mountainman - Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 17:50

Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 17:50
This is the funniest thing aye.
I have never ever ever ever ever seen a tyre manufacturer flog the crap out of their ads on tv like COOPER TYRES
biggest marketing spin rip off.

only now BFG are running ads now
But its in actual 4wd show time
not ....its cooper tyres time...all the time !!
Ha ha

sorry for anyone rhats purchased coopers but damn
get the street cred before buying a set. !!
FollowupID: 879372

Follow Up By: Keith B2 - Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 19:11

Sunday, Mar 19, 2017 at 19:11
At least I made sure to put the white lettering on the outside to look like a proper wanker.
Keith
FollowupID: 879376

Follow Up By: RMD - Monday, Mar 20, 2017 at 11:58

Monday, Mar 20, 2017 at 11:58
Cooper can't even spell TYRES, and always mention tires. I had one set and will never again buy anymore of their tyres or tires.
FollowupID: 879390

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 18:23

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 18:23
RMD ,Coopers have no need to spell their product as Tyres seeing they are an American based company and the American spelling is Tires , its an alternate fact, [acording to Donald]
FollowupID: 879437

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Monday, Mar 20, 2017 at 22:34

Monday, Mar 20, 2017 at 22:34
Is this thread sponsored by B.F.Goodrich or Mickey Thompson??
I'm over 160,000 km in my Hilux and on the second set of Coopers. They've been very good performers on all surfaces, and the next tyres/tires I buy will be the same brand.
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 609559

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 18:27

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 18:27
Mickeys are actually manufactured by Coopers….
FollowupID: 879439

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 18:43

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 18:43
Methinks some times people do not know how to actually "look" after their tires , I put a set of Coopers ST Maxx in 285/70/17 on the FJ Cruiser at 40,000 on the odo , odo now at just over 110,000 ,so 70,000km , the ST Maxx start with a 14mm tread depth , and even now after 70,000km still have 6mm BEFORE the wear indicator , 5 wheel rotation every 10,000 and 34psi front / 36 rear , of the 70,000 km 60,000 has been on dirt / gravel [ would say mud but hard to come by with the drought in the centre of Qld ]
FollowupID: 879440

Reply By: Tracka D8 - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 09:25

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 09:25
A mate works for a company doing power line contract work throughout QLD.
The work utes are all fully loaded/heavy (some towing plant trailers as well) and not many choices on the condition of roads/tracks or terrain, they just have to get in there.

In the early days they tried many brands, Cooper, Bridgestone, Toyo, Maxis...etc...
What they run now is the same for the last 5 years, Mickeys, ATZ , P3.

Maybe not relevant to all of us, different applications, and keep in mind that in that line of work they were prioritising the durability of their tyres over the buy price or the wear rates.
AnswerID: 609560

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 18:25

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 18:25
And you'l find that Mickeys are manufactured by ? oh no … Coopers….
FollowupID: 879438

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 06:42

Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 06:42
Not just manufactured by Coopers.

Mickey Thompson ARE Coopers. Just like Dick Cepek.

Cooper Tires bought them quite a few years ago.
FollowupID: 879482

Reply By: bill - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 19:04

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2017 at 19:04
follow up on cooper tyres.... went back to local tyre dealer,where i purchased the tyres, have been away for a month. the rep had a look at the split tyre and agreed to replace it, as they had a bad batch that was subject to splitting. as i pointed out to the dealer,that as all 5 tyres were bought at the same time they were more than likely to have the same problem. my offer to him was replace all 5 tyres and i would contribute $500 and not a penny more. he agrees that they should be replaced and said he would get back to me in a week. i also pointed out that i was prepared to go to vcat or small claims tribunal if no response. there warranty is misleading as no one could comply with the stipulations. also why were the tyres not withdrawn as they are a major safety issue.........will let you know the outcome.(also told dealer to tell rep i would make it a major social media issue) incidently the first tyre replacement was on a prorata basis at this stage i have paid nothing/ regards bill
AnswerID: 609585

Reply By: Batt's - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2017 at 22:06

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2017 at 22:06
As it seems I've been lucky not to have ever owned Coopers tyres I nearly purchased some around 6 yrs ago but even back then after doing some research I found they were one of the most complained about 4WD tyres on the market and were quite often resilient in backing up their warranty. But they still gained popularity over this time due to 4WD magazines promoting them and flooding the market with advertisement it all seemed to good to be true well that seems to have been the case for quite a few of their customers so I'm glad I went with my other choice of Kumho's.
AnswerID: 609611

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2017 at 22:26

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2017 at 22:26
I think back then Ron Moon contributed to a lot of people's misery of owning Cooper tyres.

FollowupID: 879475

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 06:14

Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 06:14
Your so full of shit Shaker

FollowupID: 879481

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 08:09

Thursday, Mar 23, 2017 at 08:09
Actually 'Shaker' is correct Ron Moon was sponsored by Cooper tires and still is used in their ads.
FollowupID: 879485

Follow Up By: Batt's - Friday, Mar 24, 2017 at 01:00

Friday, Mar 24, 2017 at 01:00
That's right shaker Cooper STT are the toughest tyres he has ever driven on bar none and he tested them on 4 yes that's right 4 different continents it's sad remembering a man with his cred for flogging products that were given to him but it was clearly just for test purposes lol. The list goes on with others who have done the same..
FollowupID: 879514

Reply By: bill - Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 20:29

Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 20:29
further to my recent text. after talking to our local dealer, and told to piss off, i decided to take the matter to vcat. whilst filling out the forms i decided to ring cooper, as i was told by the dealer they would do nothing unless the tyre failed. i was answered by a office boy who suddenly became concerned and said he would get someone to ring back. i said they had 24hours as i was about to lodge my vcat applic. within 29min i recieved a call from coopers state manager. he was very concerned about the issue, and has arranged 5 new tyres to be sent to another near agent. he assured me that we would come to a happy agreement. i told him that i had been in touch with consumer affairs, and they have told me, on three occasions that there is NO provision for pro rata in Victorian law. if a tyre or battery fails they caun't ask for part of the cost depending how many miles you have travelled. though this has to be reasonable. if a tyre fails after say 80,000k ,this would seem a reasonable milage. 20,000k should be claimable if manufacting fault
AnswerID: 610124

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 21:17

Monday, Apr 10, 2017 at 21:17
I hope that the State managers initials aren't RB, as he is a liar & a cheat!

FollowupID: 880038