Buying advice: Suzuki XL-7?

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 06, 2004 at 17:32
ThreadID: 13507 Views:11741 Replies:12 FollowUps:27
This Thread has been Archived
I have been exploring quite a bit of this beautiful country - from Maree to Innamincka and as far north as Cooketown (several trips, of course) - in my trusty Daihatsu Terios (don't laugh!). Not surprisingly perhaps, I intend to buy a more capable 4wd, more solidly built, with low gears, and more interior space. I can afford about $30-40,000 but would rather buy new for the reliability (I'm no bush mechanic) and because whatever I buy now will have to last many years. I can only manage about three or four major outback trips a year, with some shorter long weekends in places like outback NSW. I have no great interest in rock hopping or hardcore, but do like remote places and would like one day to travel to the red centre and maybe WA and the NT. As almost everything is a fair distance from Sydney where I live, good road manners are very important to me, and economy and manouervrability in the city (I'm not a great fan of Landcruisers in the Eastern suburbs...).
OK, after some research I have narrowed my choice down to the Suzuki XL-7 (Grand Vitara's too small for long trips, especially with European visitors who I like to show around the outback), the Kia Sorento, and the Hyundai Terracan. I currently favour the first, because it is smaller and more economical, yet has 7 potential seats and, with the third row down, plenty of luggage space, seems to be the best of the three on the blacktop and yet quite capable offroad (I'm more likely to encounter bulldust, corrugations, gibber and mud than rock ledges). Ground clearance seems to be slightly worse than the other two, but proven reliability and standard of finish better. I might carry out minor mods (a moderate lift, slightly taller tyres, UHF radio) but nothing major.