5 or 6, small or big, tube or not, mud or not

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 21:06
ThreadID: 135789 Views:3709 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
G'day mates,
so many questions for such a simple thing ;)

Our next trip to OZ starts in January in Perth and ends in Sydney 360 days later :)
We bought a Landcruiser HZJ79 Bushcamper with 5 old tyres.

Now we have to decide what kind of tyre we'll buy for about 25.000km on several roads. (40% bitumen, 30% gravel and 30% sand or simlar).

Budget for the tyres: max $1300,--
To all the pro's: what would you buy?

Many thx. for answer's
Heiner

Reply By: Member - RUK42 (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 21:26

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 21:26
How long is a piece of string?

Bridgestone D697 LT
Suitcase
Prado SX and a little van

AnswerID: 614563

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 09:21

Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 09:21
Twice as long as half its length
FollowupID: 885237

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 21:34

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 21:34
Hi Heiner

Go for the Toyo AT2 Open Country LT.

Great tyre, as quiet as the Bridgestone 697, but two big differences.....nearly $100 per tyre cheaper and better wearing than the Bridgestone.

How do I know, I have had 4 sets of the 697 before.

AnswerID: 614564

Reply By: 76lifted - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 21:37

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 21:37
not a pro but have run toyos for abt 20,000 in the MT pattern they are quiet and perform well off and one road and love em in the sand and great wet weather performance even better than my KO2s

my 2 cents worth but definitely go muddies

Cheers jet
AnswerID: 614565

Follow Up By: IvanTheTerrible - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 22:08

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 22:08
Muddies dont handle sand as good as an all terrain..
I run Maxxis 980 about $240 a tyre.
FollowupID: 885202

Follow Up By: Dean K3 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 18:35

Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 18:35
I'd concur I'm bit surprised other bag them on sand as its a M/T - intially I would as well.

However knowing guys who used these tyres for survey & course car for the now defunct Australasian safari rally they liked them on sand.

seems they floated but also gripped abit but never dug in like a M/T would be expected to behave

Personally A/T is my preferred tread however if i was out goldfields around Kalgoorlie or up north in Pilbara or Kimberly where rocks like to wedge in between tread blocks and cause carcass cutting I'd be on M/T all the time

Certainly 2 spares are mandatory
FollowupID: 885244

Reply By: Baz - The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 22:09

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 22:09
For the distance you are driving, combined with the mix of terrain and driving surfaces and noting your budget...

I’d look to buy a mid-range priced All-Terrain Tyre. I’ll leave it for others to debate the brands and whilst I have a preferred brand I’m yet to find a puncture proof tyre - buy with your budget in mind.

And above all else, enjoy your trip...!

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 614567

Reply By: Batt's - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 23:26

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 23:26
A few months ago I replaced my Kumho KL78 which they have apparently stopped making and were a very good tyre with Kumho Road Venture AT51 at just over $1400 for 6 tyres 285/75/16 running on a GQ. So far they are fine only thing is they seem to hold a few small stones in the tread as the gap is a bit smaller than the previous tyres.

I would recommend 6 tyres on rims so if you have to change a flat you still have a spare for peace of mind. Nothing worse than being on a gravel road etc without a second spare and having to do a repair on a hot day. I will be rotating all my tyres from front to rear and crossing them over to the other side when put back on the front as the patrol LSD tends to put a bit more wear on the left tyre.
AnswerID: 614569

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 23:47

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2017 at 23:47
I wanted a set of the Toyo Open Country ATs for a June Geos trip Batts, but only a couple in stock, so tried the Khumo Road Venture AT51's.
All I can say is they stake so freaking easy, and 2 front ones were staked small and inside wall, required removal and plastic lined hole filled with water to find em and plug em.
Now have 2 new tyres outside that are really unusable with only 5 to 6k km on them :/
FollowupID: 885208

Follow Up By: Batt's - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 00:10

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 00:10
I'll have to keep an eye out when travelling off road if I happen to have trouble with them I'll have to look at replacing them. Hopefully they go ok thanks.
FollowupID: 885211

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 07:42

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 07:42
No worries mate, I'm just really disappointed in them.
For normal outback roads / tracks *you will be ok*, this happened on Simpson Geo Centre and Geosurveys Hill trip to North Simpson in the NT and it's very untamed, stakes are everywhere.

So far have had OEM Dunlop Grandrek AT22's, Maxxis AT770, Goodyear Wrangler Duratrak, Federal Couragia AT. and now the Khumo Road Venture AT51 . . . most of those have done Simpson, from easy SA crossings to roughest offroad NT driving (old shot lines, virtually nothing on the ground and crawling country).
By far the easiest to stake has been these Khumos.

With a pair still on the front, and 2 spares with Dunlops on the rear, and a couple of Feds for 2 spares I will now need to buy another full set of good tyres for WA trip next year, will be ordering the Toyo Open Country well before that one for sure.
From all feedack here and other sources, everyone says they are really good all round, tough, and value . . . guess we'll see.

Trouble with 4WDn, you do end up with a virtual hotpot of 80% tyres laying around (these Khumois are like 95% and buggered), suppose they will all end up used for potato growing towers !! :D
FollowupID: 885216

Reply By: Theo D - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 01:53

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 01:53
I just purchased a 105 series Landcruiser a month and a bit ago that had 4 x brand new Falken Wildpeak AT3W on it. They look to be a great tyre, the photos on the net don't do them justice... they are super aggressive for an A/T, almost a mixture of all terrain and mud.

My size is 265/75/16 and according to Bob Jane are worth around $238 a corner. Im sure you could barter that dont a.bit more too.

For your trip Id take 6 tyres. Maybe buy 5 newies and gumtree a 6th
AnswerID: 614572

Reply By: Malcom M - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 06:29

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 06:29
You don't say where you are going on your trip but another consideration is does anyone stock your tires outside of the cities should you destroy one?

I run 6 Coopers, they seem to be quite available in the outback.
AnswerID: 614573

Reply By: Hewy54 - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 07:06

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2017 at 07:06
My daughter owns a tyre company and my best mate owns a large Khumo dealership.
I had a good run out of 2 sets of BFG A/T, but was not happy the way the second set chipped.
On the reccomendation of both contacts in the industry I have gone for Mickey Thompson STZ on the 80 series, and Mickey Thompson Deegan 38's on the camper van.
AnswerID: 614574

Reply By: Old 55 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 17:26

Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 17:26
His budget won't stretch to the Micky Thompsons, I would go the Bridgestone 697s
AnswerID: 614603

Reply By: Member - cruza25 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 21:04

Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 21:04
Hi Heiner

In your photo on your blog page I see your new vehicle has split rims.

These are a 2 piece rim and need tubes in the tyres.

Generally fitted with 750...16 tyres.

https://www.tyresales.com.au/buy/tyre/dunlop/road_gripper_f/7.5-0r16/105435?&utm_source=googleproductfeed&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=AutoplussignParts&utm_term=DUNLOP_ROAD_GRIPPER_F&gclid=CjwKCAjwj8bPBRBiEiwASlFLFSWyRDmQ1Pk6PHG4hp9w7ZK3waHtWPYIZQl1OB0CzteNDwxoEGXXThoCQLAQAvD_BwE

If you intend to stick with the same rims choice is fairly limited I think.

AnswerID: 614607

Follow Up By: Member - Heiner B (INT) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 22:31

Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 22:31
Hi cruza25,
thanks for the hint with the split rims...

so i need also new rims ;(
that doesn't makes it easier for me ...
But I dont want tubes in the tyres so i have to renew the rim...

Budget changed to $2000, i hope thats enough ;(

BTW.: SORRY FOR MY ENGLISH... STILL LEARNING :)
FollowupID: 885247

Reply By: splits - Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 22:24

Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 22:24
If you already have split rims then the cheapest and most indestructible tyres would be MRF cross plies. You will see them in use on many of the Outback cattle station utes.

Rear through all the links on this pageCross Plies Mick and Connie have been using these tyres in highway tread pattern for many years both on and off tracks. They also work well on sealed roads providing you don't try and drive your Cruiser like a sports car.

They should have finished touring for this year by now so ring Mick at his home and discuss it with him. I did that a few years ago and we ended up talking for an hour.
AnswerID: 614609

Reply By: Member - cruza25 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 23:24

Thursday, Oct 26, 2017 at 23:24
Hi Heiner,

Split rims are not bad. If you are in a remote place and have flats you can easily replace a tube with a couple of tyre levers. Maybe watch a utube video to see how it’s done. Not easy but can be done in about 20 mins.

They are a strong rim, I had them on my landcruiser and are reliable if fitted with good tyres.

If you have 1 spare wheel/tyre then it is easy to carry spare tubes and a bare tyre for emergency without the weight of a 6th wheel.

How did you find the vehicle. Did you have it checked out before buying.
Get it serviced and all the oils changed if needed. As well as brake pads checked and drive shafts greased.

If you have a day in Adelaide get in contact with me and we can have a beer or two.

AnswerID: 614611

Follow Up By: Member - Heiner B (INT) - Friday, Oct 27, 2017 at 16:07

Friday, Oct 27, 2017 at 16:07
Hi Mike,
I looked @ some youtube videos and now i am afraid ;( ... not really :)
Seems not to be so easy to change a tube...
But, maybe this is though a good idea because of carrying only 1 spare...(where to put the second one on a Landcruiser Bushcamper... also on the read door ....nope.)
So i need a couple of tubes, some levers, fatty? anything else?

I found this vehicle like the most germans :) on my forum australien-forum.de, and it will be checked before transfering all my money to the seller :)
After arriving in Perth I'll do a big inspection , some changes @ the car (roof hatch, hidden safe, gearbox breather? and so on). And then the tyre thing.
Then i have to buy the spare parts and tools for the car, some beer, some more beer, ahhh, something to eat.....
After then the discovery trip can start :)

Adelaide is on my plan for Feb or Mar...so I'll contact you then :)
http://www.aussieblogger.de/?p=1814

I LOVE AUSTRALIA AND LOOK WHAT I ALSO HAVE DONE TO COLLECT MONEY :)
http://www.aussieblogger.de/?p=2006

Heiner

P.S.: Oh so bad English
FollowupID: 885263