Who's GU

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 19:10
ThreadID: 13667 Views:1758 Replies:4 FollowUps:13
Who's GU Patrol did I see at about 4:45pm this arvo at the Old Illawarra Rd/Alfords Point Rd/Menai Rd intersection proudly displaying their ExplorOz Wheel cover?

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 20:09

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 20:09
Was it raised and running mudies.
If it was it was ramp.

I am starting to see more and more stickers around the place.

AnswerID: 62682

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 20:12

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 20:12
Yep

was raised and wearing muddies, had a long handle shovel secured to the bullbar
FollowupID: 323993

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 20:18

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 20:18
I would say it was ramp if the driver was a big sort of fellow.
He usually has a big grin on his face.

Ps were abouts do you live just the general area.
FollowupID: 323996

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 20:23

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 20:23

didn't get a good look at the driver, traffic was a mess as usual (espcially due ot the fact everyone was checking out all the road works)

I'm over at Gymea area.

cheers,
Sam.
FollowupID: 323997

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:01

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:01
Hi Sam,
I saw one at Kirrawee a few weeks ago heading towards Sydney on the Princes Hwy
I won't name the Yellow NSW Number Plate here
but it started with a V * * - * * *

I tried to get his attention but the traffic was too much at that time of the day..

Maybe we should get a UHF channel sorted so we can hail each other :)

AnswerID: 62695

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:04

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:04
Forgot to mention it was a metallic paint GU and the guy looked pretty hefty....didn't see a grin though hehehehehe.......though maybe he was headed to work
FollowupID: 324004

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:05

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:05
Probly same one then mate as the rego on this GU also started with a V. UHF would be good (if i could hear it over the stereo :-P - damn that new head unit is nice)

cheers!
FollowupID: 324005

Follow Up By: Member - ramp - Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 13:52

Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 13:52
hi wayne, very good, was on the way to work and the plate is vox845 cheers rob
FollowupID: 324065

Follow Up By: Wisey (NSW) - Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 22:23

Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 22:23
Hi Sam, ramp and Waynepd,
I'm at Picnic Point and would like to catch up to share the 4by interest. I run on Ch40 and drop down a cupl' to chat. So get on the mic' and say gidday. 94 xcab, canopy, all white, "Too Wise". Last wk in Sept going for 15 day trip to Darwin via Bourke, Mt Isa and back via Alice, Oodnadatta and back across to Bourke. All Are Welcome to join in:)
FollowupID: 324154

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:16

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:16
So now you have a DOOF DOOF hilux do ya,
It'll go well around Bankstown LOL
AnswerID: 62701

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:22

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 21:22
BAH! No DOOF DOOF will ever be heard coming from the speakers of my truck (at least not as long as I own it). Even with the new head unit, there is no way I can compete with those Fully Sic bros in Bankstown. You should know, you were there the other day :-P
FollowupID: 324010

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 23:30

Thursday, Jun 10, 2004 at 23:30
Hey Wayne...
Whats wrong with Bankstown? HAve lived here for 20 years thank you very much ! Couldnt find a better suburb to live in if you like living in fear. The sun is very strong in this area though...dont know why, But lots of women around here wear head gear all the time...strange but true

Enjoy ur weekend mate
Angelo
FollowupID: 324032

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 11:53

Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 11:53
Hi Angelo,
Yes Bankstown is a wonderful place, named for the botanist Joey Banks, who accompanied Cpt Jimmy Cook on his world tour back in the late 1700's.

As a residential address it was geared towards the working class man, a good honest town back in my younger days. Pre-Bankstown Square or whatever its called these days, it was a nice place to visit, do some shopping or grab a bite.

These days it is a need-to-go only destination for me as I have trouble concentrating when the DOOF DOOF starts, and all those distractingly attractive girls with their headgear on. (It's not sun protection, its a way of stopping other men from seeing just how beautiful they are and stealing them away).

FollowupID: 324058

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 15:50

Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 15:50
Oh By the way Wayne,
I forgot to mention that Bankstown is the SAFEST suburb in Australia too, yes thats a fact mate, I mean.... there is no way in hell they would dare blow their own up now is there ?

And ya think Redfern is nice...HA !
FollowupID: 324073

Reply By: Member - ramp - Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 13:47

Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 13:47
hi sam, you spotted me, im a engadine boy. maybe we should get together for a drive and a beer with a few others in the area (as big as the area people wish to travel from). if you dont hear any reply its because as of the 20th june i have 6 weeks of the cape york and back.(but whos counting only 9 sleeps). cheers rob
AnswerID: 62787

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 14:16

Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 14:16
This is completely unfair! Everyone is taking off on trips and I have just had to cancel one out to Alice Springs/Uluru/Oodnadatta/Birdsville due to work and a slight lack of funding.

Will definately have to arrange a get together.

Enjoy the trip Rob and have a safe one!

cheers,
Sam.
FollowupID: 324066

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 16:51

Friday, Jun 11, 2004 at 16:51
SAM said >"Will definately have to arrange a get together."

Sounds like a plan to me.

Rob you lucky BLEEEP, have a great trip and come back safe mate.

I am a cupla suburbs south of you.

FollowupID: 324079