School Project - Offroad Survival Kit W/ Built-In EPIRB

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 02, 2019 at 14:32
ThreadID: 137883 Views:4448 Replies:14 FollowUps:21
This Thread has been Archived
Hi guys,

I'm currently a year 12 student undertaking my HSC Major Project for design and technology.

I am looking to design an offroad survival kit with a built in EPIRB suited specifically for Australian Environmental Conditions.

I have come up with 5 possible designs and a 5 question survey in the hopes of improving my designs.

Survey link: hhttps://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScwzoIPa_hQCxLKPEz_1ahvmtaqnua2ZVJw_SWeKTog6_GbYA/viewform?usp=sf_link

Any feedback or help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Adam
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Jon W (Toow - Saturday, Mar 02, 2019 at 15:17

Saturday, Mar 02, 2019 at 15:17
Adam, happy to provide feedback but your specs are very difficult to read even with 400% magnification.
Jon W
AnswerID: 624138

Follow Up By: Jon W (Toow - Saturday, Mar 02, 2019 at 15:41

Saturday, Mar 02, 2019 at 15:41
Adam, one immediate thought is "reachability" of the PLB. Our PLB is stored so that it is reachable by either driver or front seat passenger in the event of entrapment. Just some food for thought. JW
FollowupID: 897551

Follow Up By: UmAdam - Sunday, Mar 03, 2019 at 22:49

Sunday, Mar 03, 2019 at 22:49
Thanks Jon,

I uploaded some hopefully clearer sketches.

That's a good thought, I have considered that, I'm planning on making the design thin enough to fit underneath a seat, however, in the event of an accident that may present a challenge.

Cheers,
Adam
FollowupID: 897574

Reply By: Idler Chris - Saturday, Mar 02, 2019 at 15:25

Saturday, Mar 02, 2019 at 15:25
I agree to hard to read
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 624139

Follow Up By: UmAdam - Sunday, Mar 03, 2019 at 22:50