It's ffffffffffreezing here

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 08:17
ThreadID: 13909 Views:1459 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
It must be damn cold down south - only 11 degrees on the verandah here in Darwin this morning and the Met Bureau reckons it will get colder over the next few days.

A bit hard to handle for us topenders.

Jeff

Reply By: Savvas - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 08:37

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 08:37
Just dropped my daughter off at a drama class this morning. The car's thermometer says 12.9 outside. That's in Sydney.

Hard to imagine Darwin at 11. What next, snow?
AnswerID: 63869

Follow Up By: Oz Trekker - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:00

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:00
I was in Sydney in June 3 years ago and at the time I figured it was the most miserable and cold place I had ever visited.

The good thing about up here in the top end is that the mercury will hit the high 20's by mid morning.

Jeff
FollowupID: 325007

Follow Up By: floyd - Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 19:44

Monday, Jun 21, 2004 at 19:44
I live in NE Victoria and Saturdays top temp was 4 degrees reached at 10.00 in th emorning. Just went downhill from their. Got an inch of snow on Saturday night. The hills just above my place got half a metre. Brass monkey weather down here.
FollowupID: 325380

Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 08:44

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 08:44
In Melbourne it's what a mate of mine used to call "knacker weather", in that it was cold enough to freeze them off.

It's gonna be cold at the MCG tomorrow, might have to sneak in a little something to warm me up.

AnswerID: 63870

Reply By: Oz Trekker - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:06

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:06
I've only ever been to Melbourne once and that was in the middle of summer - I got there at around 10am and was gone by midday - not a nice place, but I wish I was going to the MCG tomorrow - GO THE BOMBERS!!

Jeff
AnswerID: 63875

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:55

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:55
Jeff,

Only two hours in the (officially) "World's Most Liveable City". You missed out on plenty, pity. Try it again some time and get someone who knows the place to give you some tips on where to go, I'd be happy to.

I'm assuming you must have been here on a HOT day. Not like that all the time in Summer. It's not unusual to run the air con one day and the heating the next.

I also lived in Townsville for eight years. Turn the airconditioner on in October and off again in May. But its beautiful at this time of year. Oh to be rich and retired and able to follow the weather around the country.

Bombers by ten goals in a return to true form, a re-run of the 2000 Grand Final, I was there, what a great day. I was also there in 2001 when we got beaten by the Salary-Cap Lions, not such a great day.

FollowupID: 325013

Follow Up By: Oz Trekker - Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 07:04

Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 07:04
G'day Jim,

It was a hot day, not that the heat worried me all that much - I just couldn't handle the crowds of people. I was a country boy and any more than 10 people in one gathering was a bit too much. I'll get back down that way sooner or later if only to watch a Bombers game.

I hope you are right with your tip of 10 goals over Melbourne - we are not getting the game televised up here so I will have to try and pick it up on a radio station.

Jeff
FollowupID: 325155

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:25

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:25
8 Deg in Mid Nth of SA at 8.45 am, hope that makes someone feel warm somewhere.
AnswerID: 63880

Follow Up By: Les Webb - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:41

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:41
...about 8 in Toowoomba with a lazy westerly. How are our Lions going to cope down at Geeelong.?
FollowupID: 325009

Follow Up By: Les Webb - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:42

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:42
...about 8 in Toowoomba with a lazy westerly. How are our Lions going to cope down at Geeelong.?
FollowupID: 325010

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:52

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:52
Not too well Les. I can tell you Geelong is bloodly cold, wet and windy but inside my house it's just nice and cosy.Hopefully we'll get some snow on the high hills and then it's pack up the kids and play time...love it.
FollowupID: 325012

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:59

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 09:59
I think the "Salary-Cap" Lions will do just fine. The Beatles sang "Money can't buy you love", but the SC Lions are living proorf it can buy you a good footy team. Just like Carlton late 70's early 80's.

FollowupID: 325014

Follow Up By: Les Webb - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 10:28

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 10:28
Yep Up the Lions..will be nice & cozy by the heater when glued to the tele this arvo!
FollowupID: 325018

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 19:19

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 19:19
Looks like the lions did not cope too well.............
FollowupID: 325075

Follow Up By: Les Webb - Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 09:56

Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 09:56
Clearly tooo cold for Lions....was part of the great southern plan I'm sure!
FollowupID: 325167

Reply By: Brian - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 11:24

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 11:24
It Was -2°c in Launceston on thursday morning up to a high of 8°c!

AnswerID: 63897

Follow Up By: Oz Trekker - Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 07:06

Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 07:06
Bugger that !!!
FollowupID: 325156

Follow Up By: Member - PatC - Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 10:29

Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 10:29
SWMBO is flying into Launceston from CQ tomorrow. We've hardly reached an 8oc minimum yet.
FollowupID: 325170

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 14:44

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 14:44
Cool 4 degrees here on Diamantina this morning. Glorious day now, sun shining, wind blowing, birds singing.....

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 63931

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 17:10

Saturday, Jun 19, 2004 at 17:10
Watching the snow fall on the Brindabella's fom here, they say it's 8 but the with the wind coming off the snow, it's freezing here.
AnswerID: 63954

Follow Up By: Oz Trekker - Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 07:31

Sunday, Jun 20, 2004 at 07:31
G'day Steve,

I worked in your part of the country about 40 years back out on Ororral Valley station for a bloke named Gordon Gregory. Gordon still has a place at Tharwa I think - called 'Freshford' from memory.

I can still vividly remember getting snowed in one year when I had to spend 5 days in what was known as 'Oldfield's Hut' - I lived on a tin of dark plum jam and a few parrots I managed to knock over with an old Lithgow single shot .22 rifle. That was a cold experience.

Jeff
FollowupID: 325159