Police Blitz

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 14:47
ThreadID: 139883 Views:12116 Replies:6 FollowUps:35
Was just talking to our local cop (nsw) & we were both amazed how many families are still trying to get accommodation in the area for Easter. Who said come the weekend they will be using number plate recognition to see cars rego numbers & to what address, So that they can pull over/stop & ask the reason why people are travelling out of there area ? & it will have to be a good legal reason & going to the holiday house is not one of them
Lets hope people do the right thing & not travel

Reply By: Member - mark D18 - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 15:01

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 15:01
Vince .
The only way to stop stupid , selfish and ignorant travellers is to hurt the hip pocket .

AnswerID: 630940

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 15:12

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 15:12
The current rules in NSW are pretty clear.

AnswerID: 630941

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 12:22

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 12:22
What is the source of that document? How old is it?

It does not have any branding upon it to indicate it came from an official source. A link to a site where we can download the up-to-date info is what we require.

FollowupID: 906778

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 12:56

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 12:56
Fair comment, Peter.

It was cut and paste from this NSW Govt web page. Scroll down a bit.

FollowupID: 906781

Follow Up By: Member - silkwood - Friday, Apr 10, 2020 at 11:27

Friday, Apr 10, 2020 at 11:27
And yet, here in SA, we can take our boat out fishing (just for exercise and food procurement, you understand, not for pleasure)...

Cheers, Mark
FollowupID: 906826

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 15:35

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 15:35
In WA they have established patrolled checkpoints that stop this. You cant leave your area at all without a permit.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 630943

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 14:39

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 14:39
The trouble is that these checkpoints are on the main roads. There are many possibilities to skirt around those points. Apparently there are heaps of caravanners who have done just that and have gone to Busselton and other locations around the south.

FollowupID: 906787

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 15:36

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 15:36
Nomadic Navara, are you sure about that? At the time of this announcement, they clearly stated and showed patrols out on the dirt tracks. They specifically said this was not just going to be main road blocks as they are well aware that people will attempt to bypass them but they are working ahead of that. They have plenty of resources because crime is down. Any caravanners that are attempting to flaunt the system is just spoiling it for the rest of us. I really hope they aren't doing this and posting about it on facebook or social media. Where did you hear of this?
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 906789

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 18:06

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 18:06
In CF - https://www.caravanersforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=151&t=85126&p=1291503&hilit=Busselton#p1291503

FollowupID: 906791

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 18:32

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 18:32
As I said you can't leave your area - that link talks about people going from Perth to Mandurah (allowed) or from within country SW to coastal SW (allowed) which means they aren't circumventing checkpoints.

But to go from Perth to Busselton would mean bypassing a checkpoint, which is not permitted and police have stated very clearly that they have setup other checkpoints on the feeder roads/side roads in an effort to stop people that are trying to bypass the checkpoints - they clearly state that you must not leave your area and furthermore this Easter they doing everything they can to insist people don't go camping, don't go away this Easter, stay home.

The info in your link is not factual and is just heresay anyway. "Apparently, people are ....."
It's all just fake news. The only fact is - stay home.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 906794

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 06:40

Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 06:40
Looks like Nat Fyffe cant follow rules..
FollowupID: 906859

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 08:27

Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 08:27
Is this the incident you are referring to? -Nat Fyffe - If you read down you will see a heading - Police confirm no offence committed

FollowupID: 906862

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 09:21

Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 09:21
Yes Nomadic. Last I read was police are investigating. Look likes he is all clear....unlike many others ..
FollowupID: 906868

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 16:06

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 16:06
There always are and always will be those who say ''but but but the rules don't apply to me " ..... I really wonder what their last words or the words of their loved ones will be as they lay in ICU on a ventilator ........
AnswerID: 630944

Follow Up By: 2517. - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 09:56

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 09:56
A example,The NRL.
FollowupID: 906740

Follow Up By: Gramps - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 10:33

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 10:33
"A example,The NRL."

Who won't do anything unless approved by Health authorities and the Federal/State governments.

A very poor example. You've obviously got an axe to grind.

FollowupID: 906742

Follow Up By: OBJ - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 11:30

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 11:30
Agree Gramps. Some people are only happy when they are miserable.
OBJ
FollowupID: 906744

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 13:10

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 13:10
NRL is completely non essential - it should be stopped until this is all over.

But no. they are planning to test players for covid - even though the general population cannot get tests unless they meet particular criteria - and then accommodate them on some island in QLD then play rest of the comp in Qld - absolute nonsense.

They get tests just because they are NRL players because they want to continue playing, not because they are eligible for tests - what a crook.
FollowupID: 906748

Follow Up By: Gramps - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 15:29

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 15:29
OzzieCruiser,

The NRL has been stopped for over two weeks.

Just the same as the AFL, Rugby Union, A-League and other businesses, they are trying to provide employment for their employees and associated businesses if they possibly can. This is all with the involvement of relevant Health and State/Federal governments.

Do you seriously expect any business to just sit and twiddle their thumbs waiting until this is all over ? For God's sake, hairdressers are now considered essential services in some States.

If they can get Covid Tests, good luck to them. If you can't, tough titties. That's life.

FollowupID: 906751

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 16:14

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 16:14
So Gramps , how is a footballer so special that they can get tested for Covid 19 when there is in FACT a severe shortage of not only the test kits but even the longer swabs required ? Our regional hospital has LESS than 80 test kits available , that encompasses 5 towns , the next regional hospital that services 3 towns but has an overall larger population has less than 50 test kits available ....What ? NRL footballers should all get tested so you can watch your 'footy' while others cannot even get tested including 'essential' medical staff ....
FollowupID: 906753

Follow Up By: Gramps - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 16:24

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 16:24
Alloy c/t etc,

Show me where NRL players are/have or will be tested? A few imaginations have run wild over this topic.

FollowupID: 906754

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 17:46

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 17:46
No Gramps - find out what the non essential NRL is planning to get their games going again - special rules for Covid testing for NRL players that no one else can get.
FollowupID: 906758

Follow Up By: Gramps - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 17:49

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 17:49
OzzieCruiser,

As per reply above:

"If they can get Covid Tests, good luck to them. If you can't, tough titties. That's life."

FollowupID: 906759

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 17:54

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 17:54
The point is that the little darlings can get tests that no one else can get - the NRL is non essential they should not be wasting our precious little test kits.
FollowupID: 906760

Follow Up By: Gramps - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 18:38

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 18:38
OzzieCruiser & Alloy c/t,

We've hijacked this thread long enough. My apologies to Vince M (NSW).

You've both banged on with this TOTALLY unsubstantiated allegation that the NRL is wasting our precious test kits. Where is your proof? Time to put up or shut up gentlemen. Your petty little biases are showing once again.

FollowupID: 906762

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 18:58

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 18:58
Gramps is right. Time to call a halt and move on.
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 906765

Follow Up By: OzzieCruiser - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 20:14

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 20:14
Yes Gramps is right to make the point about thread diversion - but then continues to bang on himself again.

I quote "We've hijacked this thread long enough. My apologies to Vince M (NSW).

You've both banged on with this TOTALLY unsubstantiated allegation that the NRL is wasting our precious test kits. Where is your proof? Time to put up or shut up gentlemen. Your petty little biases are showing once again."
FollowupID: 906768

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 07:12

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 07:12
Just like some of the group of “Aspen Skiers” that on their return to Melbourne, decided to go to their holiday houses on the Mornington Peninsula. Instead of self isolating, played golf, went shopping, ate out in restaurants, and brought the COVID-19 virus to the peninsula where previously there had not been a positive test. Now it has developed into a “hot spot”.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 906769

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 10:05

Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 10:05
Sorry Gramps but both NSW and Vic govts have publicly stated they have no heard anything from the NRL in relation to their proposals. The NRL is willing to try anything it can at this stage.. Like many others I dont think they understand just how dangerous this virus can become if we loosen our belts too early and think we are on top of it..
FollowupID: 906872

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, May 29, 2020 at 10:04

Friday, May 29, 2020 at 10:04
Gee I love it when a plan comes together LOL

FollowupID: 908178

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 16:17

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 16:17
Friend has a motel in Toowoomba, they are only taking people who have to go to the hospital.

AnswerID: 630945

Reply By: FatGaz - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 18:03

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 18:03
With around $140Billion in unbudgeted funds spent on COVID-19 related expenses. I expect the govt will do whatever they can to claw some of this money back.
Fines will be the first start.
Upped/New taxes next.
AnswerID: 630990

Follow Up By: Stevemac - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 22:26

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 22:26
Yes, they need to claw the money back. Doesn’t grow on trees.

Offenders shouldn’t be offended.

We need to do what needs to be done and get this behind us. Anyone who thinks they’re a special case deserve to cop it.
FollowupID: 906801

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 23:19

Thursday, Apr 09, 2020 at 23:19
Obviously taxes will have to be increased to pay back the $130+ billion. People can’t just expect to stand with their hands out all the time & not have to repay. Fortunately the countries finances were in a reasonable state prior to all the drama.
FollowupID: 906805

Follow Up By: smwhiskey - Friday, Apr 10, 2020 at 11:35

Friday, Apr 10, 2020 at 11:35
But unfortunately the ones that will end up paying the extra tax won't necessarily be the ones getting the benefits.
FollowupID: 906827

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Friday, Apr 10, 2020 at 14:22

Friday, Apr 10, 2020 at 14:22
It doesnt matter smwhiskey who pays or gets a benefit. We all pay at some times in our lives and by the looks of things Oz is a hell of a lot better off than 99% of the world. Only two things certain in life....death and taxes.
FollowupID: 906832

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor_H - Friday, Apr 10, 2020 at 20:38

Friday, Apr 10, 2020 at 20:38
The ones that pay back the debt are the ones that get to live. Sounds fair to me. Put the same question to New Yorkers.
FollowupID: 906846

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 06:44

Saturday, Apr 11, 2020 at 06:44
Officially around 18,000 deaths in America. Actual figure will be 10-20% higher as those who didnt die in a hospital are not counted...so 20,000 plus....thats just plain scary. Maybe some of the hill-billy preppers had the right idea after all..
FollowupID: 906860

Follow Up By: Candace S. - Monday, Apr 13, 2020 at 04:16

Monday, Apr 13, 2020 at 04:16
Better yet, maybe ask the Italians or Spanish!?! Far more deaths per capita in those countries.
FollowupID: 906944

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Apr 13, 2020 at 17:12

Monday, Apr 13, 2020 at 17:12
The COVID-19 global map is in the link below. We are doing very well, as compared to the rest of the world.

COVID-19 Global Map

With 25M population and only 61 deaths - half of which came from cruise ships - the Govt has done the right thing by going in fast and hard.

The alternative was the Swedish model where they didn't inhibit movement. With a population in Sweden of just over 10M, and 899 deaths currently, I know whose Govt has the better results.

A bit of short-term economic pain is O.K., to prevent a disaster that would've overwhelmed our health system.

As it is now, elective surgery is off the cards for a few months yet - that would've become years, if the COVID-19 virus went out of control.

Remember, this isn't any ordinary 'flu. It's a new strain of virus never before seen in humans, its behaviour is erratic, we have inadequate information on how it operates, and we have no vaccine against it.

What we do need is consistency in police approach towards "approved activities", and relaxation of virus regulations, as soon as possible, to prevent outright civil disobedience, once people see the chances of the virus spreading widely, reduced to a very low level.

FollowupID: 906966

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Tuesday, Apr 14, 2020 at 08:10

Tuesday, Apr 14, 2020 at 08:10
From my view point Australia, Australians, businesses, emergency workers and the police have done a first rate job in containing the virus. The media cause a lot of problems with their style of reporting, doom and gloom, conjecture and the art of blowing small incidents out of proportion. You see lots of press about the police and isolated cases of bad judgement by a few, but having had a lot of contact with them over the years. I have always found the vast majority really good.

I had a look at why the Spanish Flu was called that and it had nothing to do with Spain. Spain being a neutral country during WW1 had no blackout on their press, so they were the ones to blow the whistle on the 1919 flu and many returning solders came back with it.

It is a pity lessons learned from that outbreak weren't used by quite a few countries including the ones that are seen as the top of the world heap.
FollowupID: 906999