Physical distancing in the workplace for Tradies!

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 16:18
ThreadID: 139884 Views:7526 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Not That easy for some, My Landscaper mate is trying to keep on going and finds it quite difficult with his boys, when it comes to laying heavy sandstone, paving , etc, they have to stand beside each other at times when heavy lifting is required. Makes me wonder about Plant mechanics out in the field working on heavy gear ,also a area where that extra hand is required. There was a broken water main in our street the other day, the council dudes where like ants crawling around that, you have to do what ya gotta Do!!.

Back Expand Un-Read 2 Moderator

Reply By: Gbc.. - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 16:22

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 16:22
It isn’t easy. Our workplace put out a policy yesterday and social distancing is part of it. We are ‘essential’ so carrying on regardless.
AnswerID: 630946

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 17:10

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 17:10
The thing is your mate and his 'boys' are a unit , if they are not interacting with every other man and his dog its not really a big chance of getting the virus , ,,, Its a bit like 'stranger danger' that is instilled into kids ....the less interaction the less chance of the virus being passed on ..
AnswerID: 630949

Follow Up By: axle - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 17:28

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 17:28
I Agree Alloy,......But then some of these young blokes!...hmmmm.

Axle.
FollowupID: 906726

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 19:33

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 19:33
They are only a unit at work and after hours they are all part of a different unit and then you have tradies workings on several different jobs a day/ week.
FollowupID: 906729

Reply By: RMD - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 19:33

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 19:33
Axle,
Not a problem with my local council, usually one is working, one in the Ute, one standing back watching and the site foreman overseeing while checking the job plan at a safe distance. Simply built into the way of work.
AnswerID: 630951

Follow Up By: Ron N - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 21:03

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 21:03
RMD - You obviously fail to understand the need for the various support operators in Council operations ....

FollowupID: 906735

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 21:23

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 21:23
Ron

Looks like you photoshopped a couple shovel supporters and Inspectors out along with half a dozen OH&S officers and 14 traffic contollers !!
FollowupID: 906736

Reply By: Member - Warren H - Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 22:07

Tuesday, Apr 07, 2020 at 22:07
Spare a thought for some of the emergency workers, there were a crew of firies at the local cafe, now hole in the wall takeaway getting a coffee and food, no need for social distancing for them as they're all together in the cab.
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

AnswerID: 630955

Reply By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 13:09

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 13:09
Could we please request that everyone please try to keep Forum threads at least somewhat relevant to "travel and/or camping" with regards to COVID-19 issues discussed here.
Moderation is just rules

AnswerID: 630968

Reply By: swampy - Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 14:07

Wednesday, Apr 08, 2020 at 14:07
HI
Last time I checked installing cruiser g/boxes took 4 blokes . This virus is a good excuse not to do them try saying that to the boss = fired/ sacked hmmm .
AnswerID: 630971