4wd Driver Training

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 19:07
ThreadID: 14063 Views:2159 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
I have read with interest all the comments on aditional testing for 4wd drivers. Yes I am a trainer so yes I do have a vested interest in additional training. All of your comments have a common thread "we can drive, we don't need any further training" I have trained hundreds of people up here and am constantly surprised at what they don't know and have never been told or shown. Most are unaware of effective ways to stop a vehicle on a loose dirt surface using either cadence or threshold braking methods. Virtually none are aware of stall starts or key starts for ascents or descents. Guys I have been driving 4wds for over 30 years, every time I train someone, I learn something. Never stop learning, never let our egos get in the way of good old practical common sense. If someone had of told me when I first started training that over 70% of my trainees would be women I would not have believed them. Women are happy to admit they don't know or understand certain things particularly relating to vehicles. Most guys are reluctant to admit even to themselves that just maybe there knowledge and skills could be improved upon.
Sometimes we can't see the forest for the trees. Cheers Rob.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 19:18

Wednesday, Jun 23, 2004 at 19:18
What has a stall recovery got to do with my wife driving my 4wd to the shops to pickup the milk because I happened to park behind her in the driveway?