100 series LC cargo barrier bolt length

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 15:17
ThreadID: 142229 Views:5145 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
G'day Folks,

I have misplaced the 4 anchor bolts for my cargo barrier and have found a place to purchase new ones but I'm not certain of the length. My wagon is a 2004 Land Cruiser Kakadu.
They come in 20mm,30mm and 40mm.
Any advise appreciated
Dean

Reply By: Member - DOZER - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 20:10

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2021 at 20:10
Pure guess, but 30mm seems right. I have a few around the garage from my 200 that long. (10x1.5x30)
AnswerID: 637234

Reply By: Malcom M - Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 14:58

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 14:58
I also think 30mm but as they cost so little, why not buy a couple of 40s as well?
AnswerID: 637263

Reply By: MrBreeze - Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 15:12

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 15:12
I've had trouble finding any in Townsville. The best I can find is $8 each online from SA. I don't mind apying but would not ever use the wrong size ones. Tried Toyota, ARB and TJM plus local 4x4 wreckers with no luck. Thanks for the response, appreciated
AnswerID: 637264

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 15:31

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 15:31
Is there not a bolt shop up there? If you know the size and thread pitch which you would know from your online SA shopping, a local place should be able to help. Have you tried (from Google)

Boltmasters
Address: 715 Ingham Rd, Bohle QLD 4818
Hours:
Open · Closes 4:30PM
Phone: (07) 4774 3107

FollowupID: 915275

Follow Up By: Member - Dick L - Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 16:39

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 16:39
Try Boltmaster in Ingham Rd Bolhe or Global Fasteners Mackley St Garbutt
FollowupID: 915277

Follow Up By: bellony - Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 16:43

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 16:43
Bunnings have a pretty good range of bolts these days. Also auto shops like super cheap have a few common sizes in packets.
FollowupID: 915278

Reply By: MrBreeze - Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 17:06

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 17:06
Thanks Guys, I did try both of those places as well but they needed thread pitch and they didn't have any with plastic knob anyway. My wife needs to be able to get it out by hand if I'm not around
AnswerID: 637265

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 17:19

Thursday, Jul 22, 2021 at 17:19
Tried the cargo barrier manufacturer?

FollowupID: 915279

Reply By: MrBreeze - Friday, Jul 23, 2021 at 13:04

Friday, Jul 23, 2021 at 13:04
Yes mate, Toyota, couldn't find the bolts only the whole barrier with bolts
AnswerID: 637276

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2021 at 14:15

Friday, Jul 23, 2021 at 14:15
Sounds like you might be stuck with the $8 each from SA if they are the only suitable ones you can find.

FollowupID: 915284

Reply By: MrBreeze - Friday, Jul 23, 2021 at 14:48

Friday, Jul 23, 2021 at 14:48
Yes, I've ordered 4 from them. The postage was nearly as much as the bolts. I bet I find the old ones a week after I get the new ones. Murphy's law

Thanks everyone for the responses. I have ordered 30mm ones I will update if they are correct or not for others.
AnswerID: 637277

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2021 at 15:51

Friday, Jul 23, 2021 at 15:51
If they're to long you can cut them down with an angle grinder and tidy up with a file.

If they're to short ...... :-(

FollowupID: 915288