Newbie advice

Hi there, my VMS GPS just packed up on me, so after almost buying the HEMA GPS I heard heaps of bad reviews about. So, decided to give the exploroz a go. However I am not very tech savvy. From what I can see here, I will need to purchase some kind of ipad plus a gps receiver, which I believe will be USB connected to the ipad? I do a lot of off-roading and some is quite remote, so do I need Tracker, EOTOPO and Traveller? I also want it for everyday city use. Would appreciate any simple help. Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Friday, Aug 13, 2021 at 06:06

Friday, Aug 13, 2021 at 06:06
Hi Charlie
You can get an iPad. They can have GPS already built in, or you can buy them without. Very convenient with the GPS built in, because you just turn it on. Only need to plug it in to charge the battery.
Traveller and EOTOPO are excellent, and necessary, and Tracker is great if you want to keep records of travels.
The whole package is very good value in my humble opinion, and gives you fantastic quality maps for all of Australia.
You don't have to use Apple, as other systems are also supported eg Windows 10 and Android. Read the System Requirements for Traveller.
Michelle and David are very helpful if you want to ask the advice of the developers. Go to Help Desk.

Cheers
Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 637496

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Aug 13, 2021 at 10:03

Friday, Aug 13, 2021 at 10:03
Hey Jim,

"Traveller and EOTOPO are excellent, and necessary, and Tracker is great if you want to keep records of travels."

Traveller has the tracking function built in. If you have Traveller, you don't need the separate Tracker app as well.

Cheers
FrankP

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

FollowupID: 915610