How did I do it for all those years ?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 27, 2022 at 21:59
ThreadID: 144245 Views:7746 Replies:22 FollowUps:45
Greetings All

Sorry - bit of an Axle post lol

Love this great site but struggle sometimes when reading some peoples modern day problems with travelling this big brown land.

For example .....

Offline maps not working
Online maps not working
Difficulty logging in
Place Comments
How to navigate
My position not showing on maps
No trek logs
Where's straight line tracking
Place Comments
Traveller apps missing
System keeps dropping out
No turn by turn
Place Comments
How to use link button
How to create way points
etc etc etc

Doesn't anyone these days just get up and go and look for adventure and just take the good with the bad along the way ? I'm not knocking anybody and glad they are getting up and about but things seem so complicated these days to go on a journey compared to just fuelling up, take a jerry or two, throw the swag in the back and if you had a map take that too !

Look forward to the replies along with some probably warranted flak lol

Happy and safe travels

Gazz

Back Expand Un-Read 14 Moderator

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 27, 2022 at 22:29

Wednesday, Jul 27, 2022 at 22:29
Gazz, you are spot on.

A lot of the stuff we think we need we don't.

I've just come from an electric vehicle forum where people are complaining about all sorts of things arising from the complexity of these software driven vehicles. My question there was exactly the same as yours - do we really need it?

Have the "conveniences" modern technology has bestowed upon our everyday lives actually made ordinary life better? There's a good "no" case, IMO.

And this is coming from a bloke who has an electric car and responds a lot to posts about navigation apps!!!

I'm a techie by nature and have embroiled myself in all this stuff. I easily fall into the trap of "I know it can do this but it's not happening for some reason" and will spend hours trying to figure out why. I enjoy that. But I can tell you I have drawn a line in the sand. I will NEVER allow my fridge to tell me when to go shopping, despite Harvey Norman telling me this is essential in the 21st century, LOL.

I can happily report that when I throw my swag on the rack and go bush I feel I am in a much better space.

Good topic, Gazz. I hope you get lots of replies.

AnswerID: 641284

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:54

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:54
Howdy Frank

We do need to plan some trips obviously but most people I know take way more crap than they actually need to have a good safe enjoyable trip.

After 50 years of going bush with 10 of them running outback 4wd and motorcycle tours I tell people the best thing they can take is a happy go lucky care free nothing is a problem attitude and should something not go as well as expected make sure you laugh about ! That's always worked for me !!

Would like to post a bit more but need to work today so a bit later

Gazz

FollowupID: 920336

Reply By: qldcamper - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 06:23

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 06:23
Gazz,you are scaring people.
A lot of people these days cant make a cup of coffee without grands worth of equipment.
Camping to some is hooking up the 150 thousand dollar caravan full of all their home appliances not to forget the satelite TV dish and parking in a caravan park 20 miles away.
You will give them nightmares.

Two most usefull things in my 4WD is the compass and the windows so I can see the shadows, the GPS is a warped sadistic bitch that hates me being anywhere on time.
AnswerID: 641286

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:56

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:56
qldcamper

"Two most usefull things in my 4WD is the compass and the windows so I can see the shadows, the GPS is a warped sadistic bitch that hates me being anywhere on time."

That's gold - love it !

Gazz
FollowupID: 920337

Follow Up By: Briste - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 09:33

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 09:33
"A lot of people these days can't make a cup of coffee without grands worth of equipment."

Roughing it is one thing, but everyone has something that's non-negotiable. Serious coffee is mission critical, but with the right kit it only requires boiling water, not power.
FollowupID: 920342

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 17:09

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 17:09
Sorry Briste...according to many posters on various forums a decent cup of coffee cant be made unless the $350,000 rig has a 3000watt inverter powering up a coffee machine that makes a perfect cuppa to bring to the missus while she is using her hair dryer and watching tv. So many glampers out there that hopefully will get back to overseas trips in a hurry.
FollowupID: 920354

Reply By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:12

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:12
I thought you can't go bush unless you have the ARB catalogue bolted to your car? You certainly can't even find your way there without the latest electronic GPS . Roughing it means using last year's product range.
AnswerID: 641287

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:57

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:57
Michael

So True !!!

Gazz
FollowupID: 920338

Reply By: TrevorDavid - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:51

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 07:51
Great post Gaz

Only ever had a swag and up to a couple of years ago the old type that you just throw over your head, got a flash one now it’s got hoops in it.

The only cooking gear we have is a Bedourie, Biji , two Billy’s and cast iron jaffle jigger.

21 year old vehicle, but it does have electronic injection.

Instant coffee

But, there’s always a but.

Don’t go anywhere without …..ExplorOz Traveller

TrevorDavid
dontyajustluvit

AnswerID: 641288

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 08:00

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 08:00
TrevorDavid

That's the way mate - good work !

You're forgiven Re ExplorOzTraveller lol

Take care

Gazz
FollowupID: 920339

Follow Up By: Member - nickb boab - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 08:07

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 08:07
If you're not doing it basic you're not camping
I.E ...yippee glampers
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 920340

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 08:08

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 08:08
I think one of our modern problems is that there are many who want everything done for them, one way or another.
Buy a machine and it just should do what they want it to.
Buy a computer and it should just work for them.
Buy a program it it should just be easy and work the way they want it to.
Everything should be easy .

We don't have any extra canvas for our camper.
Don't have built in toilet and shower.
Don't have heating ......... or hot water.
Don't have a microwave or 240v appliances.
Our fridge is the original 3 way, which works fine for almost all of the time. Struggles over 35 degrees, but the freezer always stays frozen, and we never worry about flat batteries.
We do have a waterproof and dustproof camper with a comfortable bed and simple kitchen, all inside, which is rather nice when the weather is crap.
Our guiding motto is " Simple is best".
I know that everyone has to work out what's best for them, but keeping things as simple as possible is a good start.
Outside cold shower ( in togs if necessary), works almost all of the time. Hot water splash in the camper when below 0 degrees !!!

We use ExplorOz and its mapset , Google and Applemaps, and find there are very few places not shown.

Keeping it simple works for us.

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 641289

Reply By: Member - nickb boab - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 08:15

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 08:15
The forum these days is more like questions and answers for the traveller app .
although there is it own page for that .
I'm a big fan of doing it basic setup , much more like camping for us
No induction cooking coffee makers massive great flood lights coming off very expensive battery setups for us.
Happy travels for however you want to do it
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 641290

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 09:06

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 09:06
So the refrigerated beer keg and cappucino machine in the canopy, and the home theatre screen inside the roof tent that Pat Callinan had in his Amarok aren't for you? :-)
FollowupID: 920341

Follow Up By: Member - nickb boab - Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 20:15

Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 20:15
Yup Michael..kiss .. camping for us
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 920429

Follow Up By: Member - nickb boab - Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 20:53

Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 20:53
My next camping setup look like the final one LOL :)))
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 920431

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 10:13

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 10:13
Gaza, I agree absolutely.

Like Frank, I am a "techie". Such was my life's work...... technology, data acquisition, automation. I designed it, I installed it, and maintained it. And I loved it! But always I aimed to keep it as simple and uncluttered as possible. It was my hallmark.

And this is the way that I conducted our treks into the Outback. Paper maps and a compass were all for many years. The advent of digital maps with GPS and 'snail trail' provided some safety of not getting hopelessly lost on uncharted tracks. But I certainly did not want a display screen adorned with a preordained route determined at home to guide my every turn!! Where is the adventure in that?
Sure, if I need to be at some place by a particular time I would predetermine approximate waypoints but no more than that. Sure, there is a PLB and a satphone on board. However they sit quietly out of the way but available if things go badly wrong. Our Troopy rig was simple but eminently reliable and competent.

I do acknowledge that there are people, the 'Young-uns' probably, who are submerged in technology and not at ease unless staring at a digital device screen, be it a phone, computer or TV. That's fine, but I am dismayed that it has swamped my esteemed 4WD forum. Alas, they seem to confuse "ExplorOz Tracker" with the ExplorOz Forum and so we are inundated with endless requests for assistance in managing their mapping app. For my own part, I tried "Tracker" but found EOTopo or OziExplorer more to my liking.
I doubt that Michelle & David could make a living from the EO Forum alone hence the development of the Tracker product, and accordingly, the exposure of Tracker on the forum is not a disadvantage to them. So be it, but I am sorry to see the Forum muddled by requests for Tracker assistance.

Postings asking for advice on road conditions seem to be on the increase also. Not just obscure tracks but also established roads. It seems that we have a rise in drivers who will not take the slightest chance unless being reassured before leaving home. There are sites dedicated to this information but maybe it's just "easier to ask" on the EO forum.

For me, the distinction of this forum was its "campfire" manner. For the most part, we chatted to each other and frequently roamed 'off-topic'...... with benefit.

Ahh, It's not like "the Good Old Days" anymore.

Classifieds: FREE BOOKS

AnswerID: 641291

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 13:56

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 13:56
I can't believe most people doing blogs and videos these days seem to be using Wikicamps as their main navigation source. People will literally do a lap of Australia thinking that they are seeing all the sights.

They use the terminology too. It's not a camp by the side of the road anymore. It's called a "free camp", which I guess is not the default for some people.

We use to say on this forum as a joke that we would only get Wikicamps as a tool for knowing where not to go.

My two cents

AnswerID: 641294

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 18:57

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 18:57
We find camp kitchens better than tourist information centres.
Camp fires are good but by the time you get out of the camp kitchen, usually a couple of bottles of red later, amnesia is starting to set in.
FollowupID: 920357

Reply By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 14:23

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 14:23
Totally agree Gazz.

I think the forum should be renamed the Travellers App Q & A

The forum used to be a place for a chat and exchange ideas, now it seems every question is how do I …….

AnswerID: 641296

Reply By: Member - Warren H - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 14:34

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 14:34
The EO forum has a single board, perhaps it is time to have topic specific boards? I must admit I sometimes grit my teeth and think RTFM! Most of the issues raised were things that I grappled with when I started using the Traveller app, but I knew the answer was likely in the manual so persisted. Perhaps some find it difficult to read technical writing, but there are videos as well as the manual.

NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

AnswerID: 641297

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 15:42

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 15:42
Nah Warren, I like the "single board" as it generates a community and fraternal sense of communication. Many other forums are like filling out a Centrelink form..... Pick your subject, agonise if no boards suit your subject, hope someone reads the chosen board, next contributor follows you and your responders are pushed way below the pile. I much prefer the "Forum Index" style of the EO Forum.

But requests for help with EOTraveller issues should not be on the general forum. They should be directed to the publishers 'Traveller Support pages'.
We forumites just want to get on with our fireside chats and solve all the other World Problems. Soon there won't be any forum space left available for a good tyre or battery squabble!! lol

FollowupID: 920350

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 18:53

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 18:53
Did someone say battery?
FollowupID: 920356

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 21:28

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 21:28
Double or nothing. 12 volt battery.

FollowupID: 920360

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 23:57

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 23:57
I'll go all the way....... LITHIUM!!

Hey Guys, you do realise that David & Michelle are reading all this stuff. Probably good.

FollowupID: 920363

Reply By: Member - Gordon B5 - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 22:06

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 22:06
Thanks Gazz this is the best read I've had this century I recon. So many comments on the money. Can't believe how many ask about roads on various forums, get out there & find out. do the CSR & Gibb , the rest will be easy. I like ExpolOz Traveller to see what is in the area I'm in & have been to some great places I would other wise have missed.
He who hesitates is lost

AnswerID: 641304

Reply By: Richard M29 - Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 23:31

Thursday, Jul 28, 2022 at 23:31
I came here for the intelligence of the forumites. I am not going to tell you where I came from, but you could guess. I am a former 4wd owner, and would be again, if I could find a good 2001 Vitara, in reasonable nick. I do have a much later one, but it is only a 2 wd., but that was intentional. Sold the big 4wd and caravan, and went all the way back to a 1980 mod, Hardfloor camper, with nothing more then a tent, a base and a queen bed. The better half and I have not looked back. To run this set up is a quarter of the cost of the last. We have paper maps, and my old army compass, and no GPS. Have been offroad a bit with this car, like we did with a Sigma Galant in the remote outback of WA in the 80's. Ex-army T109 driver, so I can go anywhere with anything. We use a $20 Bunnings kettle BBQ, for our cooking most of the time, and the way we run today, is a full circle, on our early years and we are loving it.
AnswerID: 641305

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 07:57

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 07:57
See where your coming from Richard.
I have and probably never will have a caravan but camp in a soft floor.( home built ).
When we stop in camping areas it takes the wife (who if a woman who identifies as a woman) 15 minutes from opening the car door to enjoying a beer fully set up, unless someone wanders up and ruins our routine.
Amazes me how heated couples get trying to get their vans in the perfect spot.
FollowupID: 920366

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 06:21

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 06:21

2 fridges & a butane cooker……..and 12v oven for the midday pie, or two!

AnswerID: 641307

Follow Up By: batsy - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 08:09

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 08:09
Looks like you got thrown out of home again Bob.....

Batsy
Every day vertical above ground is a bonus.

FollowupID: 920367

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 10:25

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 10:25
That's the way Bob !

Apart from a different vehicle I would a dozen pics exactly the same

Keep up the good work

Gazz
FollowupID: 920371

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 14:16

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 14:16
Ha ha Batsy, too funny! After over 20 years living on the Diamantina, and one double crossing of the Simpson, she states she's seen enough sandhills. Gets me out of the washing up every night at home too!

Gazz,

Must admit to running some mapping gear, carrying a 20 year old Satphone & using a Spot Tracker to keep family & friends aware of my status & position. Does this render me banished from the Club? :-)

FollowupID: 920375

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 14:54

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 14:54
" Does this render me banished from the Club? :-) "

I think you're eligible for life membership Bob

I just bought a camper trailer so I can't talk LOL

Gazz
FollowupID: 920376

Follow Up By: ian.g - Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 10:45

Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 10:45
You're getting soft Bob, up off the ground, a proper sleeping bag, and I think I can see a pillow also. Too much. Cheers.
FollowupID: 920417

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 17:23

Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 17:23
Geez Ian, it’s a long way from the ground, to standing position, and when it’s -3°, the bladder’s full and the joints are creaking, one needs the operation to go as smoothly as possible! :-)

Must admit to sleeping much better on a stretcher. And any visitors will slide away, without disturbing me. Few lethal species of “hiss-hiss” in that country!

FollowupID: 920427

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 09:35

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 09:35
G'day All

Thanks for the replies - thought I might have copped some flak but good to see there are people who still understand what getting away from the hustle and bustle of modern day living is all about !

I understand everyone is different and what one person thinks is a fabulous camping trip / holiday someone else will say why on earth would you do that or go there ? Each to their own.

I put this post on here after someone asked me to plan a trip for them - recently retired friends who just purchased a hybrid camper / caravan and doing a two week maiden trial run. Ffs I said - just fill the fridge with beer and food - head north for warmer weather and south for the colder weather whatever you prefer and just drive and enjoy the journey !

I've been on this site for ten years and there are a couple things that I roll my eyes at - when people ask
" where's a good camp spot ? " .... well my idea of a good camp spot could be someone else's camp spot from hell and vice versa ! Just go I say and if the spot you find one night is not good then bad luck and if it's nice then that's good luck.

Then there is the common " what are the track conditions ? "….Well - if you are in a Hyundai I30 and never driven on dirt before then they are going to be atrocious - but if you have a million k's of outback driving experience up your sleeve and in a HJ75 with 35's and fitted with ten grand worth of Kings race tuned suspension then the track will be a walk in the park. Just go I say and you will work out in no time flat how fast you can safely travel !

Planning ! Yes you do need to have some sort of plan which will depend on what time frame you have, where you intend to travel and the reasons you are heading away but apart from the serious remote stuff I believe most people plan way too much. I learnt that many years ago when I was asked by another company to take an overseas family away for three weeks. The company had pre booked all the accommodation along the way for the entire trip.

Well what a nightmare - the bikes they supplied broke down daily along with some hospital visits due to some minor get offs. Then there were the guest comments about the location of where they were staying the night, which we thought they would enjoy but they hated it and asked if they could go elsewhere but I had to explain to them that we are booked in for two nights ! The next spot which we thought they would not like was booked in for one night - well guess what, they asked if they could stay there two nights as they absolutely loved it ! Not the best trip I have ever done but somehow they liked it and wanted to come back and see more of this vast land.

I had suggested they contact me next time and I will do it differently - no pre bookings, no fixed itinerary and new bikes. This is how I told them their next trip will go - camper trailer for their elderly parents and swags for the rest so if they can't get into a motel they can all have a bed somewhere. We made a rough itinerary prior to them landing in Australia and they understood that it was only a rough guide and once here we would look at the map and pick the places we all thought would be good over the next few days. We tried to keep out of civilisation as much as possible but usually after 3 to 4 days we would stay in a town where they could have a night in a motel to shower and rest up along with we could service the bikes and resupply with food etc as well as giving my support crew a night off from cooking. This way of travel worked perfectly for six weeks and ten thousand kilometres. This family who have travelled extensively around the world said “ this was the best holiday they have ever had ” and to this day I am still good friends with them and they keep telling me how much they enjoyed the trip.

The boys have been back since without their partners and have ridden across the Simpson with me and when we got to the Birdsville Hotel you should have seen their faces with the excitement of doing something they can’t do back home. For some strange reason their faces the following morning looked quite different from the previous days ten hour rapid spending spree in the front bar LOL.

Myself – I hate caravan parks with a passion and only use them when I have to. I understand that caravans need power etc and not all have showers but I doubt you will see me towing a three tonne wobble box and pulling into a park full of mobile mini houses ten feet apart filled with all the same things that one has at home – it’s just a mini suburb with mini houses. Might as well stay at home and talk to my neighbours over the fence LOL.

Some of my friends say I’m getting soft in my old age as I purchased an old rear fold Campomatic camper trailer last year but I just explained to them that I did that for the missus for her comfort and privacy – but don’t tell them I’ve been away in it four times and she has only come along once LOL. Funny thing is I just seem to be towing a queen size bed around as I have all the camping gear I need in my ute but I will admit it was a blessing to have it all set up with the awning etc when it rained for three days.

Look forward to more of your replies

Gazz
AnswerID: 641310

Follow Up By: Member - Warren H - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 12:21

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 12:21
Planning! We preferred to just head off and organise the next stop on the fly, unless we were going to a busy spot such as the West MacDonnell ranges. However it seems things have changed, anything remotely on the beaten track seems to require booking weeks to months in advance, even NP campgrounds can be busy and don't mention @#%@#$^% prebooking on the internet. I can't wait for others to go ocean cruising again. We had some suspension issues in 2021 and had to abandon a trip along the Hay River Track, trying to plan an alternative mixture of bush tent camping and motel/cabin stays was almost impossible and no fun. We had three weeks away in northern SA in May, bookings were a bit tight but still doable.
Accommodation; definitely getting soft in that regard, our first setup forty years ago at twenty something was a swb Series2A, a 3 man tent, a Coleman esky (that we still use) and a couple of folding stools and a gas light. The tailgate was the table and the 2 burner stove went on the top of the esky. If you drove too far, the rattling of the vehicle and home made rack gave you a headache. Nowadays a few days in a tent is ok but touring no way. For travel along roads and tracks, where width isn't an issue, the windup camper is our go to, it's pretty basic but has some living and storage space and keeps you out of the wind, one of the biggest banes of tenting or swagging I reckon. I also gives you somewhere to write, edit and catalogue photos and eliminates the continual unpacking and setup needed for camping.
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

FollowupID: 920372

Reply By: Michael H9 - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 09:53

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 09:53
This thread is reminiscent of a tale told to me by a gent from Yorkshire called Monty. Back in the day before rampant consumerism, the wife and I used to go camping pushing a wooden wheelbarrow I fashioned myself from discarded packing crates. Times were tough, but we were tougher. We couldn't afford shoes so we walked barefoot everywhere hauling our provisions in the barrow. The soft floor campers and billy's people talk of today seem like such an extravagence by comparison. Our provisions included a candle for heat and light, and a packet of Jatz biscuits. We did have the luxury of dessert made from the preserved sawdust left over after making the barrow, soaked in sugar water. We slept standing up with upside down garbage bags over our heads and pulled down to our knees in case of rain. (I invented holes for breathing). Now speaking of invention, we couldn't afford a lah-de-dah round wheel for the barrow, so I made a square one from the same wood. The square wheel is a much maligned invention, but it's damn cheap. There are those on here who profess a scientific bent and seem to have access to advanced scientific theories and postulations. I wonder if they can ruminate on whether my barrow with the ability to have four flats from a single wheel, is comparible with the normal occurrence of one flat from four wheels....mathematically speaking of course? Like I said, times were tough, but we were tougher.
AnswerID: 641311

Reply By: nickb - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 22:25

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 22:25
For a lot of people the idea of "getting out there" is more important than actually doing it. Each to their own.

Reminds me of a 12V page/forum/something I'm on where people are asking "what do you recommend for my 4x4 with fridge?" The pics of people's setups blow me away! "You have a smart alternator so you need a 200A Lithium, 50A DCDC charger, 40A solar controller, bluetooth this, battery sense that, 3000W inverter etc etc." All the electrical gear takes up 1/4 of the canopy, just blows my mind!!!! My Ranger has a smart alternator - thick wire and a voltage sensing relay has worked perfect for the last 4 years...
AnswerID: 641319

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 22:48

Friday, Jul 29, 2022 at 22:48
Similar on my BT50, Nick, though I do have a small DC-DC charger for my AGM (not Lithium, sacre bleu) second battery. And I carry a small inverter to charge my chainsaw battery.

A swag to sleep in (a nice one, ARB skydome - no stretcher yet, I can still get up off the ground :-) )
DIY fire bucket for cooking and comfort, made from a 9kg gas bottle.
Single burner butane clicky for cooking under the awning if it's wet.
Shiraz (lots) and beer (a little bit).

Oh, and Traveller (sorry, LOL)

The Karavan for when we are two-up is considerably less basic - the extra comforts are a nod to arthritic aches and pains and keep us both on the road.

FollowupID: 920398

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Saturday, Jul 30, 2022 at 08:32

Saturday, Jul 30, 2022 at 08:32
What ever works Frank, thats all you need.
Too many people fall into the trap of being convinced everything has to be perfect and usually on the advice of people with very little pactical experience.
Having said that, micro managing a system gives some people something to do and they are learning something along the way, just as I do with cooking whilst in the middle of nowhere. A simple loaf of white bread in the webber gives me a sence achievement, but to a baker this would be wasting time that they could be reconfiguring their bluetooth displays.
FollowupID: 920400

Reply By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 19:49

Sunday, Jul 31, 2022 at 19:49
G’day all,
GPS navigation has made me lazy at times,and I don’t rely on it too much, but it also has it’s good points.
This is my head for home ride on friday , just wanting to get home reasonably quick. But picked a couple of towns I wanted to go via, and clicked mininmise distance on my Garmin 680t , and it took me on a lot of dirt roads from Sedan To Burra. Much better on the bike than the tar!
AnswerID: 641333

Reply By: Banjo (WA) - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 09:22

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 09:22
I want to camp like in the Lotto advertisement where the couple arrive by helicopter, the butler( in a tuxedo) runs their spa bath and hangs the chandelier etc.

Beats my usual setup by a country mile.
AnswerID: 641335

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:01

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:01
Banjo, I can give you a link to a 12 volt chandelier on special at AliExpress if you want.

FollowupID: 920451

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:31

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:31
Dear Banjo

Just take my wife - that's her idea of roughing it !!!

Cheers Gazz
Ps - good luck with the lotto and even better luck should you take my wife :)
FollowupID: 920452

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:31

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:31
Allan,
You know as well as I do that would just start another 12v/battery/dc-dc/lithium/solar thread. LOL

FollowupID: 920453

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:38

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:38
Well that may be more entertaining than another "My EO Traveller won't work" thread!!!
I was just trying' to help Frank........ Roz says that I am "very trying". LOL

FollowupID: 920454

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:43

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:43
" Banjo, I can give you a link to a 12 volt chandelier on special at AliExpress if you want."

Sounds good in Theory Allan but in reality I would have an educated guess that 12 volt chandelier would just attract more expensive mozzies with a more insatiable thirst for blood.

Now a 12 volt chandelier that sprayed DEET every five minutes around the campsite could be a winner :)

Happy safe and Mozzie free travels

Gazz
FollowupID: 920455

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:48

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:48
Oh Gazz, AliExpress already has a number of electronic mozzie eradicators available. A couple of people have even claimed that they work too!

FollowupID: 920456

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:54

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 18:54
" A couple of people have even claimed that they work too! "

Would they be the same people that have ShuRoo's fitted to their vehicle ??

Asking for a friend !

Gazz

FollowupID: 920457

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 19:47

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 19:47
The science is complex, but according to Pascal's Pooping Paradox, the Aliexpress Electronic Mozzie Zapper effect gets negated if a Hiclone has been installed.
FollowupID: 920459

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 22:59

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 22:59
You guys are barking up the wrong tree.

You need Structured Water. I've been reading up on it - H3O2. Hexagonal water - water in its fourth state!!! Your cells need more of it and if you get enough, well curious as it may seem, Benjamin Button's case is not so curious!! It will make your stiff bits loose and your loose bits ... well, less loose, shall we say. Lol

It's simple to make as much as you need. An electric cyclonic jug, available post free from Qld, just like a Hyclone, is yours for a bargain $522.00. Or you could go to a babbling brook and collect it by the cupful from a whirlpool, but why the inconvenience of that when you can do it in your own home with the magic of square electrons pumping a crystalline vortex. (Sorry, I made up that bit about square electrons, but the rest is real science. The web site says so.)

Hurry, hurry, hurry, limited supplies!! Get one now to plug into your inverter (powered by nuclear fusion, of course) and be forever young.

Structured Water jug.

All you need to know.

FollowupID: 920462

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2022 at 06:07

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2022 at 06:07
Thanks Frank, I'm always looking to increase my scientific knowledge and decrease my wrinkles at the same time. I have to admit that I wasn't sold on the concept until I read this -
"For 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine gel (Lß) phase bilayers, each oscillation in the force profile indicates the force required to displace a single layer of water molecules from between the probe and bilayer. In contrast, 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine fluid (La) phase bilayers at 60°C and 1,2-dioleoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine fluid (La) phase bilayers at 24°C seriously disrupt the molecular ordering of the water and result predominantly in a monotonic force profile."

Clarity is gold in any advertisement.
FollowupID: 920463

Follow Up By: Banjo (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2022 at 09:07

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2022 at 09:07
Some great responses.

OK - an update. I have ordered one of the 12volt Chandeliers that incorporates a DEET dispenser. Will save on power usage I believe.

Brewing some H3O2 hexagonal water/gel to replace the battery acid, should enable the battery to pump out an unlimited 14 volts. I've modified the still by adding a Shoo Roo as I found the joeys love the taste of the super water. (They were jumping tall buildings in a single bound)
Sorry Michael, the Hyclone has proved to be huge asset in the production of the gel.

Ah, Gazz, as I have a missus that finds plenty of work for me to do I don't think I have the time for the added workload another wife would involve, but thanks for the offer.

Oh, I did win $59.35 in last nights Lotto but that won't be enough for the helicopter.
Maybe Oz Lotto will come to the rescue.
FollowupID: 920464

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Tuesday, Aug 02, 2022 at 10:15

Tuesday, Aug 02, 2022 at 10:15
Michael

"For 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine gel (Lß) phase bilayers, each oscillation in the force profile indicates the force required to displace a single layer of water molecules from between the probe and bilayer. In contrast, 1,2-dipalmitoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine fluid (La) phase bilayers at 60°C and 1,2-dioleoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine fluid (La) phase bilayers at 24°C seriously disrupt the molecular ordering of the water and result predominantly in a monotonic force profile."

Well after reading that in simple Layman's terms I decided to order two Structured Water Jugs but sadly they are out of stock !

Looks like normal water again for me

Gazz
FollowupID: 920465

Reply By: 1392 - Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 15:43

Monday, Aug 01, 2022 at 15:43
Luv it! You have really encouraged some great responses.

Just pointing out the bleeding obvious though, I expect all responders operate Exploroz Traveller (including me) with varying degrees of competency. If, like me, are not tech head gurus and need a hand, then asking for help is not an unreasonable thing to do.

Lamenting that the forum is being used in a manner that doesn't suit their 'perspective' (and on multiple occasions) is as annoying to me as apparently it is annoying to our tech heads when the lesser abled ask for assistance.

I am sure Harold Lasseter would be on the this forum if it existed in 1931 (Has anyone seen my camels?)!

And I still haven't thrown my maps away just yet.
AnswerID: 641341

Reply By: .... - Friday, Aug 12, 2022 at 22:58

Friday, Aug 12, 2022 at 22:58
Right, you can't get a good glass of Chateau du Chasseur, ey, Josiah?

Hey- Right there ya', Hobodeiah.

Who'd a' thought 40 years ago we' be sitting here drinking chateau du chasseur?

Aye.

Them's days you'd be glad to have the prize of a cup o'tea.

Aye. A cuppa' cold tea.

Not milk or sugar!

Or tea...

in a cracked cup and all.

We never had a cup. We used to drink out of a rolled up newspaper.

Best we could manage was to suck on a piece o'damp cloth.

But you now we were happy those days, but we were poor.

Because we were poor.

My old dad used to say to me: "Money doesn't buy you happiness, son."

He was right! I was happier then. We had nothing-- use to live in a tiny old, tumbled down house with great holes in' err roof.

A house? You were lucky to have a house! We used to sleep in one room, 26 of us. And half the floor was missing. We were all huddled in one corner, for fear of falling.

You were lucky to have a room. We used to live in corridors.

Oh...We used to dream 'a livin' in a corridor. Woulda' been a palace for us. We used to live in an old watertank on top of a rubbish tip. Got Woked up every mornin by havin the lot of the rotten fish dumped all over us.

House? Why woulda say house? It were only a hole in the ground, covered by a couple foot o torn canvas. But they were house to us!

We were evicted from our hole in the ground. We had to go livin in lake.

You were lucky to have a lake.There were 150 of us, livin in shoebox at middle o' motorway.

Cardboard box?

Nay.

You're lucky. We lived for three months in a rolled up newspaper in a septic tank. We used to hadta get up a'six in the morning, clean da newspaper, eat a crusta stale bread, go to work down the mill, for a 14 hour day, week in week out for 6 cents a month, and when we got home, our dad would thrash us to sleep with his belt.

Luxury. We used to hafta get 'out the lake, 3 am, clean the lake, eat a handful 'o hot gravel, work 20 hours a day at mill, for a penny a month, and dad would beat us about the head and neck with a broken bottle, if we were lucky.

Well o course we had it tough. We used to have to get up outta shoebox, in middle of night, and lick the road clean with our tongues. We had half a handful of freezing cold gravel, worked at mill for 24 hours for a penny a year, When we got home, our dad would slash it in two with bread-knife.

Right.. I used to get up in the morning at night at half-past-ten at night, half an hour before I went to bed, Eat a lump of freezing cold poison, work 28 hours a day at mill, and pay da mill owner to let us work there. And when I went home our dad used to murder us in cold blood, each night, and dance about on our graves, singing hallelujah.

Yah, you try an tell the young people of today that, and they won't believe you...
AnswerID: 641419

Reply By: MickO - Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 13:51

Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 13:51
Sorry I'm late to the party. Looking forward to a big year of adventure in 23 Gaz. Just retired, bought a new Jacksons Camper (analogue , not digital lol) and the CanAm side by side arrived this week. Yes I know...creature comforts. With that payload capacity, I should be able to stretch the expeditions to 2 weeks.....and still walk at the end of the day! See you out there next year. Mick.

AnswerID: 641469

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 14:15

Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 14:15
Great to see you back Mick. We, or at least I, was getting worried at not hearing from you for a time.

A "CanAm Side-by-Side" and a Jacksons Camper? You going' soft Mick? Will your forum by-line need revising?
Makes me feel a bit better going from the Troopy to a tricked up Sprinter!

You kept us up to date on the 79 build so how about filling us in on the latest?

FollowupID: 920616

Follow Up By: MickO - Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 15:10

Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 15:10
Cheers Allan. The last 3 years have been like no other in my memory. I can't believe it's been nearly four years since I was last out and about. The old girl has set under a tree for the best part of all that time just waiting for the opportunity to run free. Moved up to the country in the midst of covid with retirement in mind. Finally pull the pin after 40 plus years and finished up on June 30th this year. In anticipation of impending travels I've tarted the old girl up and replaced the paint that years of scrub bashing had worn off. Had the devil's own time sourcing tyres but she now has a brand new set of the Toyo RTS which I thought I'd try in place of the MT's. Just had the 'Marks Adapters' brake kit fitted which means she stops pretty well now. Other than that she's just as she ever was.

As for the Can-Am it's the defender HD 9 which I will be kitting out for remote area travel over the coming months. It's a departure from the diesel fueled ATV but I was impressed with the way that other Can-Am models have handled the rough terrain and spinifex on our 2018 expeditions. It can certainly carry a fair bit more and provides me with a degree of comfort that is appreciated at the end of the day believe me.

Looking forward to 2023 mate

FollowupID: 920617

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 15:47

Friday, Aug 19, 2022 at 15:47
Good stuff Mick.
I spent the past couple of years hiding from Covid whilst getting and outfitting the Sprinter. It is the "4WD" model but won't see the tough tracks so, we have been touring on blacktop and exploring the regional towns that we previously drove straight through. Roz is about to write a book titled "Coffee Shops of the Burnett". lol

I too have been having difficulty in sourcing acceptable AT tyres but think I have found them in Falken. Wearing-down the OEM's first.

FollowupID: 920618

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Aug 27, 2022 at 07:09

Saturday, Aug 27, 2022 at 07:09
Alan I would be interested to hear the details of how you have set up the Sprinter
Is is a “ caravan” style fit out or still a more basic “ Troopy” style one?
FollowupID: 920698

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2022 at 11:35

Saturday, Aug 27, 2022 at 11:35
Hi Alby, I don't want to hijack Gazza's thread so will be brief.
My email is in 'My Profile' if you would like to contact me for more detail. Or 'allanb(dot)qld(at)gmail(dot)com'

The Sprinter is a "caravan" style fit-out. It has a toilet/shower with HWS, vertical fridge, gas stove and sink.
Two single beds that double as seats and an articulated table. Lots of accessible storage.
480W of solar and 200 litre water tanks.
As you may expect, it has an innovative electrical system but no fancy stuff such as TV, sound system, aircon, or huge inverter.
The vehicle is capable for off-road being all-wheel drive hi/lo ratio, with an excellent traction control system, good clearance and entry/exit angles. High, but not top-heavy. Tons of power, 3 litre V6, 188hp, 3000kg payload. Great to drive, but lacks the 'adventure' of the Troopy, sniff!
Pic below with slider entry on right, shower door & fridge on left and bed/seats across rear and along side.

FollowupID: 920705

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Aug 27, 2022 at 16:59

Saturday, Aug 27, 2022 at 16:59
Thanks for that Allan, looks very nice but still a simple practical layout

Regards Alby
FollowupID: 920715

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2022 at 08:44

Sunday, Aug 28, 2022 at 08:44
Yes Alby, the Sprinter is a 'Medium Wheel Base' model, only 6 metres long overall, just 3m inside rear cabin. So no room for fancy stuff like double beds and lounges..... but it works.

FollowupID: 920720

Follow Up By: Member - William B - Sunday, Aug 28, 2022 at 15:42

Sunday, Aug 28, 2022 at 15:42
A wise move not having a tv Allan.
It means you will have to visit a pub when state of origin is on.
Lol.
William
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

FollowupID: 920730