Truckster has broken the news

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 16:12
ThreadID: 14452 Views:1795 Replies:17 FollowUps:22
G'day Folks,

Truckster has broken the news about Baz, I have some location details if there is some one near by in a position to help. Can give me a call on 0428 529 434. I am about 6 -7 hours away and the towtruck may be 4 just from Mansfield. Remember Baz is a good member here. A nice family visiting from Sydney

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 16:19

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 16:19
just wait and see...

no point driving up there if the towie is there b4 u get there...
AnswerID: 66810

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 11:35

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 11:35
This bes the question of whether we should have a single mobile no for SMS use in emergencies? For reference my globalstar sat phone no is 0410 416 113

VKS Mobile 1906

FollowupID: 327698

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 11:36

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 11:36
This begs the question of whether we should have a single mobile no for SMS use in emergencies? For reference my globalstar sat phone no is 0410 416 113

typing corrected, sorry
VKS Mobile 1906

FollowupID: 327699

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 16:48

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 16:48
Love to go and help him but just don't have the gear. Hope he gets sorted okay
AnswerID: 66822

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 16:57

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 16:57
could be a day trip up there yet in the morning...
FollowupID: 327573

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:08

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:08
Just got an sms back from Baz said he has a nice fire going waiting for a tow!!!
AnswerID: 66826

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:28

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:28
further sms's - he's taken photos and it waiting for guy to call him back about the tow with his fingers crossed.

Steve was ready to jump in the 4wd until I explained that he's in vic
FollowupID: 327579

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:01

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:01
Yippeee photos. I'm sure Baz wont be shy in posting them.
FollowupID: 327590

Reply By: marcus - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:14

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:14
You know the worst thoughts as you are paying the towies is gee this money could be going towards a good second hand winch which is the best insurance when being adventurous on your own.Hope they get him out o.k.
AnswerID: 66827

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:15

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:15
$99.00

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=30862&item=2483804424&rd=1

4WD

Safety

Recovery Kit

You are bidding on a 4WD safety recovery kit. This kit includes a reflective carry bag, snatchem strap, tree hugger, cable, three D shackles and leather gloves size (L). The kit is in very good condition with it's only use being to travel in a 4WD. It is approx 5 years old.

A must for all 4WD travellers.

Save $$$ on new kit !!!

AnswerID: 66828

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:13

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:13
An old sock will be just as much help as your recovery kit if you don't have anything to move the stricken vehicle. Leather gloves aren't bad for picking prickly pears though.
FollowupID: 327593

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:10

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:10
But a working turfor, and snatchblocks, shackles would help!
FollowupID: 327656

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:35

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:35
HOW GOOD ARE FORD EXPLODERS!!!
AnswerID: 66832

Reply By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:37

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:37
i would love to go help him im about 20mins away but i do recall a certain exploder owner hanging it on the nissans not so long ago so i dont think it wouold be right if i used one to pull him out.it would be against all his beliefs.
lol.
AnswerID: 66833

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:50

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:50
we gotta get photos
FollowupID: 327587

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:51

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:51
mr diamond I can give you all the details if you were to give me a call. he is just north of Bonnie Doon close to an "historic area" all marked on the Wangaratta map -Dry Creek, he would be on UHF 40 too. He may even want to buy a new Nissan. LOL
FollowupID: 327588

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:08

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:08
looks like hes outa trouble mate.
FollowupID: 327592

Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:48

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:48
Got a mate heading that way tomorrow arvo if that helps
AnswerID: 66839

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:49

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:49
HAVE CAMERA WILL TRAVEL....
FollowupID: 327586

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:52

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 17:52
Sorry to hear about Baz problems, hope all goes well, its freezing and sleety in Sydney so he is not missing anything here.

Carolyn
AnswerID: 66841

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:00

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:00
Just as well he should be warm down south in Victoria. ;-) Be tucked up under a doonah Friday, I expect.

They have a fire going and Baz nearly got burned in the setting up by his girls.

Just think, lovely outlook with historic area, Strathbogie Ranges, near to near empty Eildon dam. Could be a real estate spiel............
FollowupID: 327589

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:06

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:06
Have just spoken with the troubled travellers or Baz's daughter rather. Help is on its way and Nino(forum member) is also on his way to rescue. I believe it wasn't the fault of the Ford....don't quote me please.

Anyway they have a fire going and it isn't too cold there and they are very pleased with all the calls of support.
AnswerID: 66842

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:31

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:31
Willem, believe you are right in the way of vehicle. Slippery conditions, half worn BFG ATs, how many of us have been caught like that?

Nino I think, phoned in earlier and got details and contacts. Has all the maps and gear for whatever.

I am sure Baz will come in to say thanks for your concerns and support. Once again showing the huge value in this forum and contact across all members, but I have been on that soapbox before. If you are going to travel folks please join up and talk to others here as you don't know when they may be your life long friends.
FollowupID: 327597

Reply By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:10

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:10
when he gets back the next step should be this site to save it happening again.
www.nissan.com.au/patrol.
lol couldnt help myself sorry haha
AnswerID: 66844

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:15

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:15
ooooooooooo you have a wicked sense of humour mr diamond...hahaha
FollowupID: 327595

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:21

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:21
hahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 327596

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:39

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:39
yes ... or a Territory

FollowupID: 327598

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 10:47

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 10:47
"yes ... or a Territory"

he wouldnt have got as far as he did in one of them heaps!
FollowupID: 327697

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:39

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:39
Folks,

The towie has caught up with them and is taking all to Bonnie Doon to sleep the night so recovery can be in daylight. With the slope, the slippery conditions and a bend in the road, he needs visability and more gear.

Thanks to Nino who was heading there too. I understand they called you and have turned back. Many thanks.

Thanks folks for your concerns and interest again .....
AnswerID: 66846

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 19:15

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 19:15
so now there safe can we stir him now lol
FollowupID: 327600

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 21:06

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 21:06
Hmmm...

So far Baz and the family are safe but looks like the Exploder has to spend a lonely night out there stuck in the snow!
FollowupID: 327620

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:11

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:11
and with the weather forecast, they wont be doing much till lunchtime!
FollowupID: 327657

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:59

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 18:59

Glad to see I am not alone in going places where I maayyybe should not have! Hope he gets out OK without damage.

Muddy.

PS - the Prado goes in Sat morning for a wheel alignment after that deep clay recovery!
AnswerID: 66848

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 19:39

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 19:39
Baz, I'm sure you'll be reading all this one day.

Best wishes always, hoping all is good, or can be made to be good again....

AnswerID: 66856

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:19

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:19
I Know us crow eaters like to stir you mexicans every now and again but after reading through this post with all the efforts that you have made to help Bazz out, and the non -caring attitude that we seem to have for our fellow man, I find it quite remarkable that you all have a great sense of caring for one of our fellow members. Well done guys, I'm proud of you all.
AnswerID: 66886

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:25

Wednesday, Jul 07, 2004 at 23:25
At this rate the most important recovery gear I can carry will be a Sat phone and a laptop so that I can post:

"Help, I am stuck at xxx,xx,xxE xx,xx,xxxS, any ExploreOz members within range??"

Keep up the good work guys!

Muddy
FollowupID: 327660

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 08:20

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 08:20
sitting here in the sunny Pilbara I can't think of anything but what a great support team you guys have been. It warms me to know that there is still plenty of good in some people.
Well done to all EO participants and I hope that the recovery went/goes smoothly.
AnswerID: 66909

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 08:52

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 08:52
Folks,

Baz says thanks to you all for your support and will be online at some stage by Friday night. The Land Cruiser that went out to start with did not have sufficient cable for recovery and they are underway with an Isuzu 4x4 truck with extra cable now.

He nearly got out yesterday afternoon with lower tyre pressures but needed the run up to succeed and was taking out the grip he had when he did so. The positioning then required two winching 4bies. One to recover the other after getting Baz' vehicle up. A bit precarious actually.
AnswerID: 66912

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 09:23

Thursday, Jul 08, 2004 at 09:23
Pleased to hear they are safe and sound.
Hard to beat those Isuzu's rescue vehicles, not surprised the cruzier couldn't do the job.

FollowupID: 327685