Goodbye Troopy

Submitted: Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 11:43
ThreadID: 144979 Views:5704 Replies:2 FollowUps:6
I sold my old Troopy last year 23/3/21 , it was de registered from WA , the new owner has spent a of time and dollars to do it up for NSW Rego , it went away on tilt tray truck to a location South of Sydney , my Daughter then bought a new Isuzu MU-X and gave me her Triton

Back Expand Un-Read 9 Moderator

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 13:30

Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 13:30
Gday Doug
Don't be upset mate, you will be ok.

AnswerID: 641907

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 14:25

Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 14:25
No he won't. Time only dulls the pain. And mine wasn't shi--y brown, it was Sandy Taupe.
Dave.
Down graded to a 100 Series.
FollowupID: 921311

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 16:10

Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 16:10
My Troopy went last year too. Now it's a shiny silver 4WD Mercedes Sprinter.
But it's just not the same...... Sniff.

FollowupID: 921313

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 16:38

Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 16:38
It is a funny thing how the 70 series get under your skin. They are such a basic raw vehicle but they just bring a smile to your face
I have a new 79 and my son has my old one and I still look at the old girl when I see it with a tear in my eye
FollowupID: 921315

Follow Up By: Member - Warren H - Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 21:11

Monday, Oct 24, 2022 at 21:11
I think it's a bit like that for many old reliable and fixable vehicles. My old carby TB42s engine Maverick was simple and easy to maintain, after 23 years of ownership it was sad to see it go. Except that is when I'm towing using half the fuel and able to sail up hills in 4th gear when the Maverick wanted you to drop to second. Being able to use the passing lane to overtake horse float while going uphill was a revelation. If Pajero ever stops though I'll be totally at sea. One vehicle I wasn't sorry to see the back of was my first 4WD, a Series 2A Land Rover, easy to fix yes, it needed to be, because as they say "as much time under them as in them", but it did out of necessity hone my repair skills.
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

FollowupID: 921317

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Tuesday, Oct 25, 2022 at 20:40

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2022 at 20:40
Well, you've ALL gone and got SOFT! I'm not giving up my Troopy, EVER (well, not until I'm to rooted to climb in and out anyway).
I'm on my 3rd one. Bought my current one new as I planned to spend a small fortune on it...., which I did.
2004 FTE, 105K :-), No, that's not the cost, though it wasn't far off it. That's the current odometer reading!

Yep, serviced every 5K.

Pretty sure it will outlast me (so long as I can keep the "locals" away from it).

Do I remember correctly that Doug used to post photos of the odometer? With some outrageous figures :-)

Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 921328

Reply By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Friday, Oct 28, 2022 at 22:47

Friday, Oct 28, 2022 at 22:47
I did much the same thing in August last year.
Owned a 1997 GQ Patrol since 2006....was going to be a keeper and in really great condition...not ever going to sell it ...or so I thort !!!
Enter a buster off bike and in hospital...physio ..etc etc to left knee. Was OK for a while but knee just detoriated to the point where I was having trouble with clutch in Patrol.
So A 2021 NX Pajero automatic became our new tow vehicle...have never owned a new 4by ...so was a learning experience...but it has done just over 22,000 k since new in March last year.
Patrol went to a new owner who lives in Sydney and He is wrapt....and so he should be. I wonder if the Pajero will ever truly replace that Patrol in my heart??
Guess time will tell hey.

Cheers Keith
Nothin is ever the same once I own it ...........

AnswerID: 641937

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Oct 29, 2022 at 09:38

Saturday, Oct 29, 2022 at 09:38
You never forget a first love Keith.

FollowupID: 921352