tasmania camping and touring

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 11:35
ThreadID: 14756 Views:2261 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
hi there,
im planning a trip via ship from syd - tas with 4x4 and camper trailer in tow.
would love some info on, good bush camps national park camps or small camp grounds and light - med off road scenic drives, i'll be driving all over to see as much as posable in 7 days. only 1 vehicle with camper and winch - 3 adults.

any info would be great .

jaso

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 14:32

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 14:32
In 7 days you wont see 1/100th of the place.

We did it in 5 days on a bike in 94, a bit quicker than a 4wd and mobile roadblock, and was pretty disappointed that we couldnt see all we wanted.

Try contacting a few of the Tassie 4wd clubs. Thats what bloke that ran a trip to tassie from our club did. Worked out well, they even met up and showed him some places.

They did 4 weeks there and still missed heaps..

You will enjoy it..
AnswerID: 68260

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 15:42

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 15:42
Go west up to Smithton then to West Montague, Marrawah, Arthur River then the Western Explorer Rd to Corinna, the punt across the Pyeman to Zeehan, Strahan then make your way to Cradle Mtn, it's very scenic, as said above 7 days is not long enough but this should be doable you really need 3 weeks min. Do a search there has been other threads on Tassie and there is a 4WD guide to Tassie avalible too in the Shop on this site.

[ View Image]

AnswerID: 68270

Reply By: Michael - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 16:03

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 16:03
We spent 5 weeks on our honeymoon in Tasi, what a spot. We only saw about 80 % of what we wanted. Maybe you could from davenport head south to Hobart on the coast and then up through the Midlands, 7 days maybe would do it. You will miss out on the north west coast ,, absolutely fantastic but 7 days is nooo where long enough.. Good luck
AnswerID: 68273

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 18:02

Sunday, Jul 18, 2004 at 18:02
Gday tracer,when you headen down,Feb-March is about the best time(weather).As already said 7 days is way to short but I'd spend my time around the Nth/East,Bridport,Tomahawk,EddystonePoint and St Helens,theres some good camping spots all along the coast around these spots.
Then next trip I'd go_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
AnswerID: 68286

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 00:54

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 00:54
Hi Nick,
David and I (and the girls) are coming down to Tassie in late December for a 3 week trip around the island. I must get some local tips from you as whatever we find, I guess we'll have to publish!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 328951

Reply By: Salty - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 00:44

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 00:44
G`Day tracer,
I spent 7 weeks from Nov 03 to Jan 04 in Tassie, travelled approx 5`500 ks and still did not see all there was to see! IMHO, I reckon you need about 3 months to see all there is.
Regards Salty,
AnswerID: 68358

Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 11:05

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 11:05
Jason, from what I've read, you'd be better concentration on either the east or west coasts as you won't get to see both in 7 days.

I have a number of travel stories from several of the 4x4 magazines that I could drop down to you on the weekend, if you'd like.
AnswerID: 68409

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 19:17

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 19:17
We have been twice, I think May and September it snowed both times, I believe you should take clothes for snow any time of year. Its a beautiful place, I especially loved the Sentinals and Struan. But I hated the drive there and Queenstown, if anyone suffers motion sickness it will happen on this drive. Still have more to see there so we will be back.

Sea
AnswerID: 68479

Reply By: tracer trailers - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 16:01

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 16:01
THANKS FOR ALL THE INFO .
ITS GREAT TO GET SO MANY REPLYS.
I'LL PROBABLY MAKE A FEW MORE TRIPS SOUTH AFTER THIS TRIP TO SEE MORE. OF TAS.

JASO (TRACER)
AnswerID: 68659