Family day/o'night trips from western sydney

Submitted: Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 21:32
ThreadID: 14816 Views:2745 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
G'day explorerz,
Can anybody tell me a few good day/o'night camping trips from Western Sydney area. Myself & a few mates, all with wives & kids, are looking for some places to get away for a day or overnight. Looking for something with some sites, bit of interesting history and some medium level 4WDriving. Anybody interested in coming along is also welcome, just drop me a line.
Gibbo.

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 23:00

Monday, Jul 19, 2004 at 23:00
Mate,

Get yourself the Boiling Billy book 4WD Treks Close to Sydney

We've done quite a few of them, and they are a great intro

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

AnswerID: 68537

Follow Up By: gibsongang - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:27

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:27
Many thanks Ivan
Purchased the book online tonight ,with maps, through the link you gave us. Can't wait till it arrives !
Thanks again,
Gibbo.
FollowupID: 329235

Reply By: Squid - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 07:05

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 07:05
Gibbo,

As Ivan said grab that book as it has some nice treks in it. If you haven't been out to Sofala/Hill End area then that is definitely worth checking out. Plenty of history. Fairly easy 4wding.

Yerranderie (?) is supposed to be pretty good although others may be able to tell you more about it. I have not had the chance yet, but intend to do so soon.

Wollondilly River Station on the Wombeyan Caves Rd is a nice little camping spot on the Wollondilly River. Whilst there you can check out Wombeyan Caves and probably shoot up through Yerranderie and home.

Then there is Yalwal down south near Nowra - some good 4wding of all levels.

You could also check out Newnes in the Lithgow area. Have a look at the Glow Worm Tunnel, Lost City, Aboriginal Rock Paintings.

You will find all of these treks covered in the above book.

Have fun.
AnswerID: 68555

Follow Up By: gibsongang - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:33

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:33
G'day Squid,
Ordered the book. Been to Yalwal, but so many tracks so little time, will definately be goin there again. Will also look into the others you mentioned. Thanks for the reply.
Gibbo.
FollowupID: 329238

Reply By: Shawn - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 07:39

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 07:39
As above get the book its great.
The Glow Worm Tunnel at Newnes is well worth it, for a one or two day trip, camping areas are abundant at Newnes.
Yerranderie is a great trip, especially coming in from Jenolan Caves end onto Kanangra Walls, camp at Dingo Dell o'nite,onto Yerranderie in the morning, but you have to be an early bird to get it all in the weekend, but it is a very good trip. A standard Patrol or Cruiser can do the short cuts easily.

Shawn
AnswerID: 68557

Follow Up By: Shawn - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 07:43

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 07:43
Oh Yeah,

Hill End is another great trip. Very intersting area with lots to see, if you are interested in Australian history, you have to experience the Bridal Trail.
Shawn
FollowupID: 329124

Follow Up By: gibsongang - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:42

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:42
G'day Shawn
Thanks for the info & the reply. Been to Dingo Dell & The Kanangra walls tracks, was gooooood fun! Sounds like I really need to do the Bridal Trail though, I'm hearing a lot about it !
Gibbo.
FollowupID: 329243

Reply By: JimB - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 07:42

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 07:42
G'day Gibbo,

I agree with Squid. Other good places set of Blue Mountains include Glen Davis (even got hot showers there), Limeburners and Dingo Dell south of Kanangra Walls and the forestry area between Sunny Corner and Capertee north west of Lithgow. All of them we have towed our camper trailer into (and out of) - 100Series + Heaslip. None of them at this time of year but. It's freezing out there ay.

JimB
AnswerID: 68558

Follow Up By: gibsongang - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:50

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:50
G'day JimB,
I'll check em out. With all the places that have been suggested, I'de have to say the next 12 months of weekends are all booked out ! The good ole 80 series is gonna cop a floggin !
Thanks for the info & reply.
Gibbo.
FollowupID: 329248

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 08:05

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 08:05
Gibbo if you look at "my rig" the other photo is taken at Wollondilly River Station, they do have a webb site and advertise 4WD which we didnt explore. In the early morning a couple of horses came down for some toast the kids would probably like that.

Your a hop skip and a jump from Wombeyan Caves which also has a big camping area and lots of areas for kids to play and the caves of course. Wombeyan has a large "dinning room and communal kitch" we have gone down there with groups and lit up the fires (need to get your own wood) put on some music and had great nights.

We were going to Sofala and Hill end last school holidays but had a few hiccups and didnt get there but lots recommended it and the bridle trail in that area.

Carolyn
AnswerID: 68562

Follow Up By: gibsongang - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:58

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 21:58
G'day Carolyn,
Thanks for the info & the reply. I'll be doin my best to see'in all the great places that have been reccomended to me. Who knows, might even run into you out there ! Thanks again.
Have fun,
Gibbo.
FollowupID: 329250

Follow Up By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 06:53

Wednesday, Jul 21, 2004 at 06:53
Well Gibbo we are the white Troopy with the discret EO Sticker on the right hand bottom corner of the back window LOL. We are child free most of the time, but school holidays we will often have the grandkids and they enjoy the company other kids. Sparky Kev has decided we will do Sofala etc when the weather is a bit warmer.
FollowupID: 329264

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 20:00

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 20:00
Gibbo

All of the above are fun. Grab the book like the guys say.

Even closer to home are the Watagans and Yengo NP - definitely day or overnight or long weekend material. Drive up to Newcastle and play on the beach at Stockton - you'll need a snatch strap, compressor and buy a permit.

Have fun - beats painting the back room!

Max
AnswerID: 68709

Reply By: gibsongang - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 22:05

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 22:05
G'day Max,
The book , or the 4by ers bible as it seems, is on it's way ! Thanks for the info & the reply, much appreciated.
See ya out there some where,
Gibbo.
AnswerID: 68735

Follow Up By: gibsongang - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 22:10

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 22:10
Gibbo stuffed up !!! The above should have been a Follow Up & not a Reply. What can I say, its been a long day !
FollowupID: 329252

Follow Up By: gibsongang - Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 22:15

Tuesday, Jul 20, 2004 at 22:15
MANY THANKS TO ALL WHO REPLIED
YOUR HELP IS VERY MUCH APPRECIATED & ANY MORE IS WELCOMED.
THANKS HEAPS GUYS
GIBBO
FollowupID: 329255