I'll show you mine if you show me yours...

Submitted: Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 07:47
ThreadID: 14927 Views:2478 Replies:47 FollowUps:17
No, it's not short arms parade.......

Can we get a thread going by ALL, members & non members, explaing why they chose to choose their name for the forum.....

I'll start.....

Lone Wolf

I like to be on my own a lot of the time to be creative, I write stories and some prose. I don't fit into the stereotypical mould of a writer..... bald, fat, crass, welder / sheetmetal worker, drinker.....etc..... I like to see myself as a bit of a Maverick! Oh, and cause trouble on this forum!!! LOL!

That's all we need, just a one liner. There are a lot of handles I would like to know why they were chosen.

Nosey Wolf

Reply By: MrBitchi - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:10

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:10
MrBitchi.......Mitsubishi

A friends kid had trouble pronouncing it.... :-)

AnswerID: 69171

Reply By: Savvas - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:10

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:10
Because it's my name
AnswerID: 69172

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:21

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:21
Because I own and operate the BEST Pest Control business in South oz.
Self praise will get me everywhere LOL
AnswerID: 69173

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:53

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:53
Roachie will come on and say its his name but really its short for cockROACH as he is short and brown and is always running around on the ground under the trol fidling and fixing things. Has many legs so he can type faster crap on the forum. LOLOL
FollowupID: 329552

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 10:59

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 10:59
reminds of a time (a couple yrs back) when i was having a quiet ale in the shed....
very hot day and we have euro wasps floating around from time to time during the summer so was always careful to inspect stubbie for foreign objects prior to taking a sip.

Put it down for a few minutes and put it to my lips and took a few sips er okay glugs but had forgotten to check the contents geez I had just opened it should be ok. and should all be there!
Glug glug glug oops what was that,… its moving shiet! I have a wasp in my mouth! Sheit f%^$ hell spit spit spit…..ever tried spitting an wasp out of your mouth while trying not to waste the beer….too bad sacrilege I know but I must get this wasp out,… heart pounding geeeez when its going to sting me…shiet no one else home , my throat is going to swell up and I not be able to breathe…spit spit spit…..still haven’t been stung…stop moving around so I can spit you out…spit spit
Ah got rid of it and I feel okay…didn’t feel a sting (bee like) am I okay…mmm? must be… heart quietens down a little while a look on the floor reveals the foreign object to be a bloody big cockroach! YUK!
Stomp! Fixed that blighter!
When was Roachie reincarnated
FollowupID: 329573

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:32

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:32
Well I started with part of a nic I use on the net but decided in here I could be myself, so boring as it might be its my real name. Carolyn
AnswerID: 69176

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:04

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:04
Troopy Travellers is your real name?
FollowupID: 329556

Follow Up By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 15:11

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 15:11
I sign off my messages Carolyn and thats my name.

Troopy Travellers is the two of us and fairly self explanatory I think.

The other half is Sparkie Kev - and Kev is an Electrician.
FollowupID: 329605

Reply By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:37

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:37
Sparkie, because I like to pee on electric fences.....Nuh......I am a Electrician.

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
AnswerID: 69178

Follow Up By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:46

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:46
Ahhh Sparkie ... A Bright spark eh!
FollowupID: 329561

Reply By: Bros - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:39

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:39
Bros...short for brother....short for brotherhood of man.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 69180

Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:43

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:43
When i was a visitor i was paul2.8d, (Hilux) now i have sold it, im just Paul J, when i purchase my next rig, i might become Paul4.5 (Possibly GQ)????
AnswerID: 69181

Reply By: reisender - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:45

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:45
Reisender translates into Traveller - obvious why I have choosen that one :o)
AnswerID: 69182

Reply By: madcow - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:57

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:57
I would have thought mine was obvious. Seriously though it partly is my partners nickname due to her love of cows and partly mine which some would consider to be self explanatary .

Real name is Dave

AnswerID: 69185

Reply By: Member - Brian B (QLD) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:58

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 08:58
Lone Wolf,

Same for me in that it is my name. The additional B is the first letter of my surname.

It's a bit dull hey?

AnswerID: 69186

Reply By: Shawn - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:04

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:04
Same old story, 'cause its my name.
It was supposed to be spelt Sean, but my old man didn't know how to spell it when I got registered as a person 44 years ago.
Shawn
AnswerID: 69187

Reply By: Member - Spook (SA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:17

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:17
'Cause of my love of Suzuki's, Zook short for Suzuki turned into Spook, It may also be that my passengers are too afraid to get back in again...LOL

I also own a Hilux so my handle used to be TuffLux...

Brad
AnswerID: 69194

Reply By: Baldrick - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:23

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:23
Because it's my name.....
AnswerID: 69196

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:48

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:48
....and you have cunning plans
FollowupID: 329562

Follow Up By: Member - Michael- Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 10:44

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 10:44
your not related to Blackadder?
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

FollowupID: 329569

Reply By: Rod W - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:44

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:44
Again, cause its me name. Bit boring eh, but nothing to hide.
AnswerID: 69202

Reply By: waveslave - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:46

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:46
COZ I'M A SLAVE TO THE WAVE ......MAAANN......DUUUDE

"NO WAY BELLS IS BIGGER THAN WAIMEA BRO!"

"AND YA BALLS MAN, YA BALLS ARE THIS BIG..."
AnswerID: 69203

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:47

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:47
Coz I drive a 1964 Lada Niva with a 3 cyl Daihatsu Charade engine backed up with a Holden Powerglide auto towing a 45' tri-axle Fruehauf trailer. (looking at converting over to methane gas for economy and torque)

No...seriously, I like vegetable juice and Johnny Diesel records;)
AnswerID: 69204

Reply By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:49

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:49
Because I'm an Allan and also the son of ???????
AnswerID: 69205

Follow Up By: Member - Sparkie (QLD) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:58

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 09:58
....Ronald Mc Donald?????????
....A truck???????

Sparkie(IE not Y) ;-)
FollowupID: 329564

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 10:33

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 10:33
mmm!
which one do you want me to explain...this later, the last or the former?
geeeez ??? now i'm confused
AnswerID: 69218

Reply By: Member - NewMan (VIC) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 10:47

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 10:47
Becaues it's my name and She Who Must Be Considered (SWMBC) likes to be with A.NEWMAN every day (TIC).....

AnswerID: 69221

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 11:26

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 11:26
On a 4WD trip many moons ago, everyone started to call me Captain, based on a character called Captain Peacock from the old british comedy "Are you being served". Since my surname is Peacock, it has stuck ever since.

AnswerID: 69226

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 11:51

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 11:51
Well I used to be Alpaca and those who know me will know why. Then I became Al Symers because of long term, mid term and short term memory loss and know I'm Des Lexic b ecause i'm continually hitting the wronk key on yhe keyboard
AnswerID: 69232

Reply By: member-skippyking - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 12:17

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 12:17
skippyking...well, my initials are G.T so if theres any fisherfolk out there they may have guessed by now. For the non-fishing-inflicted a GT is short for a Giant Trevally which is the biggest of the Trevally family, hence the 'king'. And over here in WA we call the Silver Trevally a Skippy, a fish I really enjoy catching and eating.

I have also hit a large number of 'roos in various vehicles. :~((

SK
AnswerID: 69237

Reply By: andysgu - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 12:25

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 12:25
l chose Andy because thats what my girlfriends call me my wife hates it and the GU is what l hop into to go and see my girlfriends.

andysgu.
AnswerID: 69238

Reply By: Member - Penguin (NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 12:41

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 12:41
I chose Penguin because it's the model of our camper trailer.

AnswerID: 69242

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 14:32

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 14:32
Nic name for Barry, originally it was going to be Bazzar because of my sence of humour but baz is fine it's what i get called most, well except for bast#@#, f!@#&%^$ etc etc.

ps, Bazza, taken.
and Barry, taken.
AnswerID: 69249

Reply By: Chumpion - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 14:51

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 14:51
I am either a Champion, a Chump, or somewhere in between......
AnswerID: 69251

Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 17:23

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 17:23
Very interesting . Mine,s Errol , cos that,s my name , also , it,s old english meaning " travller " , which is what i like to do .
AnswerID: 69274

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 17:56

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 17:56
Well ..........i love a beer and a coffee when it gets made the morning after, and as much as would love to brag about the 69, it is just the year i was born.
AnswerID: 69291

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:28

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:28
We did wonder if the 69 jug was a trophie !! LOL
FollowupID: 329639

Reply By: navaraman - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:26

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:26
Because I drive a navara and I'm a man.
AnswerID: 69309

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:28

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:28
I'm Bwian and so's my wife!!!!!!

no... really, as much as loooooove the Python films..... my name is actually Brian, and I do live here on the Gold Coast, and I am a member!
AnswerID: 69311

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:42

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:42
Muddy 'doe was the result of an EO group think whilst in covoy through the Murray Sunset NP. The group decided that my former name of StevenL was a bit boring so we had a travelling confernce on UHF and that was the suggestion that I liked.

Muddy - I just loooove mud.
'doe - short for Playdoe, a corruption of Prado, latin for go anywhere!!!

I'll take it!

No relation to Muddy Girl, partner of John from Vic. Famous for the MGBHRK (Muddy Girl Bog Hole Recovery Kit) exploits. Where can I get one of those John????

Muddy
AnswerID: 69315

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:50

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 18:50
LW,

Because I'm a very witty, inteligent & highly imaginative person.................;-)

Cheers.............David Brown
AnswerID: 69318

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (VIC) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 19:19

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 19:19
ummmmmm just to be totally original ... 'cos it's my name...

AnswerID: 69326

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 20:42

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 20:42
see if i can answer this time without site collapsing
goodday wolfie
i see you have found another way to escape from beneath the house
anyway gob stems from days of working on building sites where they reckoned i was a GRUMPY OLD BAS?????there were other versions as well but i was paid to do a job and they normally got done
anyway my grandkids (all 8 ) love me and sometimes i think even swmbo does to

AnswerID: 69350

Reply By: Uppy - Member - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 21:15

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 21:15
Uppy,is short for Upston,and no body recalls my first name, so everyone just calls me uppy the school bus driver
...the school bus,still gets us there

AnswerID: 69355

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 22:13

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 22:13
The bloodly dog down the road drives me mad with it barking, day and night, bark, bark, bark, Mad Dog.
AnswerID: 69361

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:08

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:08
Bonz - Bonds - The Bonds of friendship are tight and immutable, and enshrined in the bonds of humanity - Bonz 2004

AnswerID: 69369

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:20

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:20
And I just thought you were just a bonza bloke. Wrong again!!!!LOL
FollowupID: 329688

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:26

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:26
hahahah If I told you the real story then you'd laugh that much your house would slip into the river mate!!

FollowupID: 329690

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:57

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:57
Probably something to do with that sniffing super-glue as a kid I'll bet.

Get it? Glue --> Bond --> Bonz ............ oh forget it! LOL

Muddy
FollowupID: 329693

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 10:57

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 10:57
I thought it was to do with a BBQ !!!!!
FollowupID: 329714

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 11:56

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 11:56
Baz, You know too much! Its time to start looking over your shoulder......

FollowupID: 329718

Follow Up By: Thehappysparkplug - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 12:26

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 12:26
Hehehehe, sorry.
FollowupID: 329719

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 12:28

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 12:28
Whooops !!
FollowupID: 329720

Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:37

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:37
Ichose glenno because i dont like my real name wolfgang
AnswerID: 69375

Reply By: A Digger - Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:54

Friday, Jul 23, 2004 at 23:54
Cos that's what I was in a past life.............
AnswerID: 69376

Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 01:16

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 01:16
Well, it started when I was about three. I had this Sand pit in our back yard and I just loved playing in it.
As I grew older I discovered a bigger Sand Pit (The Beach). That was pretty good to play in, or on, too.
(Did you know you can pee in it and then pick it up and throw it at your worst enemy)

And then, I became a MAN and wow ! Now I get to play in it with my 4by.

Also, my wife reacons I send her to sleep. Gee, am I that boring ???

Bill.

AnswerID: 69378

Reply By: Bitsumishin - Mike (WA) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 09:54

Saturday, Jul 24, 2004 at 09:54
Similar to Mr Bitchy near the top of this list, its a derivation of Mitsubishi & because I like to take places where things are likely to break off.
AnswerID: 69391

Reply By: Mungo Explorer - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 13:04

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 13:04
Because Mungo NP is my favourite place in NSW, and I can quite often be found there "exploring".
AnswerID: 69514

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 13:24

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 13:24
Wolfie,
Like the others here with no imagination my nick is my name
first name (what we used to be allowed to call our christian name) followed by middle and last initials.

i am a bit paranoid about surnames on the internet. i like my peace and privacy.
AnswerID: 69516

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 13:27

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 13:27
Geez it doesn't take much to generate traffic in here lately does it.

What is the most-number-of-replies record at present?
FollowupID: 329812

Reply By: Crocbit - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 13:33

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 13:33
Crocbit (@ Don) what you get if you aren't careful when fishing or exploring (in or near H2O) up here in the NT

cheers!!!
AnswerID: 69517

Reply By: motherhen - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 17:15

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 17:15
Coz it's my nature - and Wolfie, I'm a chook hen not a pigeon hen, promise -

"Scared of Wolf with feathers in mouth"
AnswerID: 69548

Reply By: Tripp'n Around - Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 19:28

Sunday, Jul 25, 2004 at 19:28
Hi Wolfie

Been cruising this site for a while, love the advice/help on here and the mateships so we decided to join in.

Our nic:- The kids are off our hands and we have the time to be Tripp'n Around.

Hope that satisfies your nosiness... :)

Cya
Tripp'n
AnswerID: 69574

Reply By: Moz - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:28

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:28
G'day Wolf,

Got my handle from my apprentice days at tech.
I used to drive a Morris Minor 1000 and the name stuck.

Moz
AnswerID: 69813