EO....SA.... Picnic

Submitted: Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 20:55
ThreadID: 15039 Views:2599 Replies:21 FollowUps:38
Hi all, have been thinking (No smart comments) and then I spoke to Roachie and he agreed, that we need an EO picnic to meet ALL the old and new S.A. EO members and visitors. I was thinking of location's that suit most people, and is an easy drive for a day picnic and a suitable spot for those who want to stay overnight and have a campfire chat. Most are in Adeaide area and others are Riverland, Mid north, and York Peninsular, that I know of. Places I was thinking of are Tiddy Widdy beach,
( Near Ardrossan) Maybe private property at Balaklava, Maybe private property in Barrosa Valley, or maybe on the river say somewhere between Mannum to Morgan. Date I was thinking of maybe the weekend of 4th and 5th of September.
Fell free to make suggestions if you have a suitable site or contacts.
Lets see Wolfie wriggle out of this one Des Lexic.
I guess we should put Brew69 in charge of drinks LOL
Should be enough Toyotas on site to handle rescues. HaHa

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:09

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:09
Sounds good Steve. I am all stocked up on West end Draught after the opening of Dan Murphy's new stores.(hope i got the apostrophe correct aandy) Date sounds good to as the following weekend we are off to Peake. As a newy i think location is up to others.
AnswerID: 69777

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:21

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:21
That sounds maybe like a definite maybe .
AnswerID: 69780

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:32

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:32
Don't care when, don't care where, just wanna come!

Count me in. Tracy has had the last of her operations now, and she is like the Bionic Woman! ( doesn't make that same noise though........ just dig-dig-dig-dig-dig-dig- ) LOL!

Overnighter would be wicked. Will Will be comin'?

Wolfie
AnswerID: 69782

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:42

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:42
will ya really be comin! with an overighter?????hehehe
Bionic woman?....you had her mouth sown up?
FollowupID: 330005

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:48

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:48
Leigh Majors sidekick? Jamie someone....she was sweet
FollowupID: 330009

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:49

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:49
Jamie Sommers played by Lindsay Wagner.

Okay......... I need to get a life!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 330010

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:49

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:49
Some nice spots about 20k upstream along the Yarra - beautiful bush, nice muddy water, can catch Carp and eels....
AnswerID: 69788

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:08

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:08
Who asked you!!

Bloody Vics.
FollowupID: 330015

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:20

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:20
I invited me self!! Jeez Muddy - thought you would have been staying on the bitumen after your excursions into the mud. Have you got a winch and Jack and shovel and chamois now??

Besides - if you come here, it will help Vic balance our budget. hahaha

FollowupID: 330023

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:54

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:54
I am advocating a venue on THIS side of the border!

I now have the shovel, snatch stap and chamois but I'm still saving up for the winch!!

This damn site has just frozen up for 15mins and it is so frustrating to someone on cable not to be able to post an instant reply!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Muddy
FollowupID: 330028

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:59

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:59
So you have cable now in S.A.

(Did drive me nuts having it frozen! David was probably doing his BAS and took his eye off the ball!)
FollowupID: 330031

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:06

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:06
You just have this horrible feeling that you are missing out on something when the page won't refresh. Performance has been pretty patchy the last week or so. Page refresh varies between 0.3 seconds and 0.3 hours!

All other sites are instant response. David had better have a heart to heart with his ISP!

Muddy
FollowupID: 330035

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:10

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:10
It was like when I went to my old mans place and was trying to show him how to edit photos on his old Windows 98 computer - you would alter the color and then wait for 30 seconds while the cogs were turning before you saw the result - and he has dial up internet. It was like driving a Nissan!
FollowupID: 330037

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:13

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:13
"It was like driving a Nissan!"

What is the net equiv of a high five???? LOLOL Well said.

Muddy
FollowupID: 330039

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:16

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:16
Andrew,
Out of respect for your lovely wife (g'day Jen) and gorgeous kids, I'm gunna pretend I didn't "hear" that comment........ I know you're actually a closet wannabe Nissan owner. hahahahaha :-)
Catchya later
FollowupID: 330041

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:18

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:18
Dear Muddy Doe,

Don't forget that EVERY single time you've ever been bogged, it's been a great Nissan that has pulled you out of the shyte!!!!!!! And I'm sure it'll happen again.....LOLOLOL :-)

Cya at the get-to-gether.....
FollowupID: 330043

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:37

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:37
OK Roachie, I'll have to give you that one. Can't argue with fact!

Early days yet. Hopefully will be a while before next recovery required. But then that would be no fun eh! We shall see..........

Muddy
FollowupID: 330047

Reply By: Russ - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:50

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:50
Castles Landing just out of Blanchetown would be a good spot. Private, small fee, no facilities. Key to get in.

I wouldnt be able to go, but happy to provide some contact details etc if you are interested. Will have just arrived home from Simpson Trip.

Russ
rvburr@picknowl.com.au
(Visitor)
AnswerID: 69789

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:06

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:06
Thanks Russ been to castles landing several times, hope you can squeeze a day trip in if not the w/end.
FollowupID: 330034

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:59

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 21:59
G'day Pesty,
Seems to be a bit of interest being shown in your brainwave......Annette's ears are still ringing from the noise of your brain cranking over.
Castle's landing could be okay; too bad it's not a long weekend though.....a bit rushed, but okay nevertheless.
Cya's later...
AnswerID: 69794

Reply By: Member - Gerk Yorke Pen (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:08

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:08
Should be ok Pesty but York Penninsula is a bit far for most about 3000ks as a guess cheers.
AnswerID: 69796

Follow Up By: Member - Gerk Yorke Pen (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:13

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:13
Sorry Peninsula, AAndy just corrected me.
FollowupID: 330019

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:12

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:12
Have Toyota will travel.

Put me in!

Muddy

PS. Will there be lots of mud??? huh? huh? huh? Oh boy!!!
AnswerID: 69799

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:33

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:33
Well naturally Muddy, I prefer SAND!!!

But I'll play with your mud anyway.

FollowupID: 330026

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:56

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:56
Sand is also good! I was at Pesty's place yesterday and he was showing me some video from a trip to Peake. Let me at those dunes!!!!

Muddy (with a hint of sand)
FollowupID: 330029

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:59

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 22:59
Sounds good to me too. Haven't been to Castles Landing but hear it is good.
Muddy can try driving across the river. Should only be 10 to 12 feet deep there.
AnswerID: 69803

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:01

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:01
Only 10 or 12 feet???

No worries!
FollowupID: 330032

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 18:33

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 18:33
Hey Muddy,

I'm not picking on you but you better escalate the priority for the snorkel on your wish list...... LOLOLOL :)

FollowupID: 330140

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:08

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:08
Pesty, I would not want to be accused of being a Victorian muddler in South Australian political affairs but it may be wise to note that the arbitor of good taste, sanity and reason in your state is currently away.

Being the said arbitor, he may not be able to bless you all with his presence being spread some where between Melbourne and the Flinders during your suggested period.

I do humbly ask your forgiveness in interrupting. Bull***t. hahhahahahh.. Take some practice in chook raffles Pesty? Toyotas to be rescued haha
AnswerID: 69806

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:18

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:18
Hi John thank you for the reminder, not sure if the CEO can fit it into his diary, so will have to wait till he appears again. Your not far into mexico, you could find an excuse to come to SA for a weekend, Hmmmm
FollowupID: 330042

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:19

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:19
John, had I mentioned a paddle on the Glenelg in November previously?
FollowupID: 330044

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:42

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:42
Pesty, being a little distance from the border are you making me an honorary South Aussie? That be very nice of you to waive the normal taints we Vics expect. I think the CEO is coming this way but not sure of timings in his diary. He spoke to me about it.

Des, you had indeed mentioned it. I hope we can organise a minor flood or something to keep the current moving. I like rapids to make a paddle interesting. Is a nice area there but I hope you can come further east too. Can get the visa stamped at the border ok.

Cheers guys
FollowupID: 330048

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:16

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:16
Locations suggested sound fine

BUT I just cemented a 6 day tour of the goldfields, gorges, ochre mines, etc in the northern Flinders with an old mate from Vic (yeah, he's bloody useless like the other Vic's, too). And that is that same weekend and the days following.

Is it OK for non 'Yota owners to say BUGGA?

Maybe that date won't suit others (a.k.a. grasping at straws)
AnswerID: 69807

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:17

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:17
Maybe we could head a little Easterly and our friends from over the border could join us. May be the sand hills at Peake. Not sure of the camping capabilities.
Don't forget that the Mexican Eric is running a "Do" in November at Robe which promises to be a good weekend as well.
AnswerID: 69809

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 10:13

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 10:13
Des,

There are toilets there at Peake and you need to bring in firewood. I suspect the main problem there is that it is on Private property and is pretty well booked year out for 4wd Club training.
FollowupID: 330068

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:20

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:20
Woo Hoo, the crow eater teddy bears are having a picnic. Sounds ripe for gate crashing.
AnswerID: 69810

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:26

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:26
G'day Mad Dog,

Sorry mate.....you and the englishmen won't be able to come....too short-a-notice to get your passports organised and visas approved. LOL

Oh, alright, you can come; just don't bring any of the other rif-raf over with you from mexico....we can only take you blokes in small doses.

hahahahaha :-)
FollowupID: 330045

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:29

Monday, Jul 26, 2004 at 23:29
I'll have to contact SAPOL and get them to set up a picket of cameras on all roads that cross the border. Set at 60kmph. Get some of that revenue back!

FollowupID: 330046

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 11:08

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 11:08
Ray, being born and bred in this state, I can be parochial however as we only live a few k's from the border, I can be more accomaditing than some of the others. You are most welcome to come over. Don't take any notice of Roachie or Muddy as they are still hung up from being bred in NSW. Must be the personality clash between Vic/NSW.
FollowupID: 330071

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 11:34

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 11:34
Ok Des, now I understand the problem you have with these guys I can be a bit forgiving but they certainly don't do much for SA do they :) I notice there are a few other ratbags as well, never mind it takes all kinds. Nah, just kiddin, couldn't give a stuff really. When and where it is will dictate if I can attend it not. I have a lot on my plate the next few months with the family heading overseas and tradesman invading the house and lots of loot being spend on the ute. Thanks for the invite we'll see what happens.
FollowupID: 330074

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 07:45

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 07:45
count me in...if fishing aint any good at yacka!
AnswerID: 69823

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 10:16

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 10:16
Keep us posted,

hopefully I can make it again
AnswerID: 69842

Follow Up By: Member - Steve M (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 13:25

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 13:25
Same here

Dates are good for me.
FollowupID: 330084

Reply By: pshowell - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 10:30

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 10:30
There are some lovely areas just above renmark there. Plenty of wood and good fishing, plus it should also just about start to be warming up by then.Lindsay island, neds corner, chowilla, rupus river these are just some suggestions
AnswerID: 69846

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 11:12

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 11:12
Your right there. Plenty of good spots .
Are you from The Jane fame.
FollowupID: 330072

Reply By: Dean - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 12:50

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 12:50
Deep Creek is always a good spot, only an hours drive from town and far enough away from all borders. Obviously this spot is no good for 4x4 driving, but is that what youre after.
The river can be a problem for folks like me with young children, you cant take your eyes off them for a minute.
Dean
AnswerID: 69865

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 16:27

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 16:27
Yair, well I can't come - it's the Races weekend. Anyhow, mr Pesty, I sent you a private message about such a thing later in the year. How come you never answered me - I don't put that much stuff on you, do I? I'm pouting, and sulking and over drinks tonight with another group of VERY NICE EO Members will talk about you. Mal T is here, Bob Y is coming up tonight, David Owen has just left, couple of others been here - we'll have Happy Hour tonight - very mild so will sit outside and have chardie & plonk, as we do out the front. And, we'll still talk about you. Mal's Toyota has a broken wishbone (on the Madigan) - this is the new toyota he bought after leaving the back door of the 60 series open and losing all the luggage - remember that report. The campground is full of vehicles is sad states of repair.
The disco did a gearbox, the Hilux (towing a hire trailer across the Simpson Desert) has snapped it's chassis - looks very sad - and the trailer is being repaired as well, the toyota with the wishbone, the Landrollover Defender with the fuel leak,
- possibly be able to take the gearbox out of the Disco which rolled a couple of weeks agao. (Notice there is no mention of any Nissans). For Roachie there are 3 Ultimates here.
AnswerID: 69899

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:07

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:07
G'day Ruth,
Now let me see.......and summarise the problems that some folks have there at present....
1). Mal's Toyota (sorry I should have emphasised...."TOYOTA") has a broken wishbone (NB: with a Nissan there's nothing to "wish" about; they just keep on keeping on)
2). Hilux with a snapped chassis (now I'm no expert on vehicle makes and models, but i looked up on a Google search and lo and behold a "Hilux" is made by the same japanese company...."TOYOTA")
3). Disco with a broken gearbox.
4). Disco rolled over.

I can only summise that all the Nissan's are in perfect working order and have continued on through your lovely town and are safely on their way taking their smart owners (who weren't fooled by all the BS spun by Lawsy into buying one of those inferior cars) to their intended destinations.

Actually, now that i think about it a bit more, I reckon Lawsy calls the Hilux "unbreakable" and says things like "can't kill it with a stick". If I was the poor buggar who owned it, I be suing Lawsy and the Yota company for false advertising!!!! LOL

Sorry if I seem insensitive to these poor fellow travellers, but hopefully their insurance will cover them or warranty etc. I feel confident that when they return to their respective homes, they might reassess their choice of horse-less carriage......I can put them in touch with a nearby nissan dealer.

Cheers for now......and regards to all up there, especially the ultimate owners....

Cya
FollowupID: 330161

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:20

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:20
As usual Roachie you have it all wrong, each of these people have had Nissans before and the tiny teathing problems they are having now are nothing to what they had go wrong when they were running Nissans.
Andrew summed up Nissans well last night I beleive, now theres a man who knows his rigs LOL
FollowupID: 330164

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:41
I believe the quote "(Notice there is no mention of any Nissans). " refers to the fact that no Nissans were present, vis a vis they did not actually MAKE IT to the Birdsville CP! Still out there on the other side of Big Red no doubt! Or parked alongside the Birdsville track perhaps........

Muddy
FollowupID: 330169

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:44

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:44
Pesty,
I hope the owners with the busted chassis and broken wishbone consider their troubles to be "teething problems" LOL
I don't know anybody who has had a Nissan and got rid of it to get a Yota; but i know a few who have had Yotas and now have Nissans (Gerk, and Zierschy to name just 2 in our club.....and i think Mousy from Maitland did too.....) hahahahaha :-))
Catchya....
FollowupID: 330170

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:52

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 20:52
Sorry Roachie but the hilux and cruiser are not made by the same company.

Cruiser is and always has been made by Araco. Toyota plant their name on it....so much for the google search

FollowupID: 330173

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 22:32

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 22:32
G'day Ray,
Sorry mate, please forgive my ignorance over the cruiser and hilux issue. I guess I must have been led astray by the seemingly same "TOYOTA" name on them and the same poofy oval shape thingamejig/emblem with curved lines drawn inside it........what IS that bloody thing sposed to be anyway??? hahaha
Hope you don't mind my warped sense of humour??? hahaha
Cya lata
FollowupID: 330199

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 22:44

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 22:44
When you boil it all down Roachie they are all mass produced disposable items made in Japan and destined for the crusher but don't let that stand in the way of a good stir eh!

Now Ford, well they're another item, each one made with love and care and given the kiss of life...arhh gotta love the Ford name.

Excuse me but gotta talk like that Bill Ford is my employer :)
FollowupID: 330200

Follow Up By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 23:05

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 23:05
Roachie,

Are Nissan owners so dense not to be able to recognise a stylised letter "T"? A bit of automotive culture that.

The Nissan logo obviously needs the company name to be spelled out in full so that Nssan owners can remember how to spell it! I think they call it rote learning.

Us Toyota owners can get by with just a subtle reminder of the superiority of the brand.

Hey Ray,
Is that a company car you are driving??? LOL

Muddy
FollowupID: 330203

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Jul 28, 2004 at 00:58

Wednesday, Jul 28, 2004 at 00:58
Haha Muddy company car, that is from Isuzu, the makers of real trucks.
What on earth did you think it was :)
FollowupID: 330210

Reply By: pshowell - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 19:11

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 19:11
Hey Des

If you are refering to the Jane Eliza the answer is yes.
AnswerID: 69933

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 21:00

Tuesday, Jul 27, 2004 at 21:00
Now as I recall, Andrew & Jen have wonderful photos of the three Nissans (new) which were seen being towed to the auto place across the road(by a Toyota - but not all at once).
Mal wants you to know that even though he broke the wishbone - he was still able to drive it unaided and definitely not towed the rest of the trip to here! So there.
After a couple of chardies he said he couldn't feel any pain anymore.
AnswerID: 69962

Reply By: Member - Mauri G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 28, 2004 at 11:43

Wednesday, Jul 28, 2004 at 11:43
Pesty

Not to bloody faraway I hope, the only off roader I have is me mountain bike

Seashells
AnswerID: 70031