Forums change over time.

When I first joined Exploroz I did so because of the forum, & being a member of a number of forums there was one attribute of this forum which appealed to me. An attribute I have not found in any other forum.
That attribute hasn't 'left the building' but it does seem to have dwindled, quite a lot. It does occasionally surface, rising up through the dross & the bickering, & occasional outbreaks of intolerance & racism, but I do have to admit that it's relative absence has resulted in my checking in for a look less often.

I wonder if there are others who recognise what that attribute I write of is?

As a member of online forums for at least 25 years I have seen many come & go. Those I have had the most time for are those which have successfully created an online community & a sense of belonging. I think I may have been too late coming to this forum to experience that here, but clearly it was something a small number of todays members have experienced in the past - that however is not the attribute to which I refer,

Any guesses?

Well for me, Exploroz forum was the 'go to' place online to find out about our country's more remote, off the beaten track routes& destinations. Here you were far more likely to read about Walkers Crossing than about what was the best caravan park in Broome. If you asked a question about the Talawana track you could be assured that there would be others who not only knew what you were talking about, but would also be likely to have the most up to date info available, or could point you in the right direction. I'm not saying that can't happen now, just that it is far less common. I used to love looking through the list of forum discussions & picking out those about interesting places I hadn't heard of & could dream about getting there one day myself. No other forum had (or has) this sort of stuff that I know of. Some facebook groups do, but being facebook groups catering primarily for the here & now, info comes & goes in little pieces. This forum was a gathering place for remote area travellers for remote area travellers.

Perhaps as we all get older, many are travelling less remotely, & younger adventurers having grown up with other forms of social media are satisfied with what they find elsewhere in byte sized chunks?

Anyway it seems to me that a forum which once had something to stand out from the rest no longer has that attribute unless specifically requested. It is no longer a regular part of 'recent posts' & thus has become 'just another forum'.

I do seem to get a relatively high number of folk who read my blog, coming from here, so it seems (to me) that there is still interest in remote travel, so I'm not sure why this interest is reflected less in posts than it used to be?
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 8th year.

Back Reply Expand Un-Read 11 Moderator

Reply By: Hoyks - Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 13:43

Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 13:43
Most of the forums I frequented have had the plug pulled on them as the critical mass of members have drifted away to other interests or niche FB groups. The ones that are still going are pretty much a small cadre still arguing about Nissan V Toyota, politics and conspiracy theories. So Exploreoz stands out for still being here and not a cesspit.

I agree FB algorythim is all about engagement, so posts quickly get hidden and no one seems to use the search function, they just start a new post and demand attention of the world to answer their question or validate their actions.

Posts here also slide own the page and get archived. It does stop old posts getting dug up and comments added, but doesn't stop them being a resource for those that want to search.
There are plenty of watchers too, some don't feel the need comment or have the desire to cop unwarranted analysis of their decisions, so they read a bit and carry on with their lives.

None of us are getting any younger either, probably more than a few of those regulars have not only just left the chat....

AnswerID: 648696

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 19:52

Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 19:52
Yes Cuppa, I agree wholeheartedly with what you have said. No doubt you read my expression in Thread 151854 where I instanced the actual number of Forum contributions at an earlier time. And you would perhaps have seen my earlier postings where I referred to this forum as being "somewhat like a group of mates chatting around a campfire".
As you say, this forum differs from all other 4WD forums in the way members communicate….. but it does seem to be changing. The exchanges are often more challenging and intolerable.

But it is not just here on the EO Forum that it is becoming more robust. The whole of society is getting more aggressive….. just look at how AFL has changed over the years to become more like a contest in a Roman arena, encouraged, even driven no doubt, by the game organisers for the benefit of commercial monetary profit.
If it is changing social behaviour that is responsible for our Forum decline then I believe we have no way of stopping it.

Something I observed whilst researching the Forum activity of earlier years was the regular appearance of recognisable names such as "Mick O" whom we never see these days. Have they simply become disenchanted with the Forum behaviour? We are the poorer for their absence.

Thank you Cuppa for this Thread but I am really sorry that this conversation has to take place.

AnswerID: 648697

Follow Up By: Member - Cuppa - Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 20:03

Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 20:03
I don’t disagree with the view you express Allan, but I have been thinking more about the lack of the remote area topics which in my mind was the thing that set this forum apart from any others, than I have about how folk interact with each other.
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 8th year.

FollowupID: 930180

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 22:08

Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 22:08
Ah yes I see Cuppa. But maybe our two aspects are integral. Perhaps some of those experienced remote area adventurers are disaffected by the preponderance of petty arguments and have simply lost interest. If so. then our loss of remote area topics.

To me, there also seems to be many Threads asking about "How long will it take to drive from Melbourne to Alice Springs?" or "What is the current condition of a particular track?" which, while some members may be eager to answer, may be of no interest to the seasoned traveller.
It is not appropriate to say, "Well just ignore those posts". They intrude and distract.

FollowupID: 930181

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 11:25

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 11:25
QUOTE " just look at how AFL has changed over the years to become more like a contest in a Roman arena, encouraged, even driven no doubt, by the game organisers for the benefit of commercial monetary profit. "

AFL has actually seen a huge decrease from the days of biff and bash. Huge difference. Nowadays I am expecting to see the players run out in tutu,s and the most violent action would be the captains handshake at the center bounce!! As a lifelong AFL fan I can only disagree with your analogy mate. Remember the days of Barassi, Ditterich, Mal Brown, Rhys-Jones and Ronnie Rotten Andrews? I think the last time I saw a violent hit was by Barry Hall in 2008 playing against West Coast. Nowadays a mere accidental bump can see you get 3 weeks holiday. Head high contact is almost eliminated and its gone that soft now that even name calling sees you get a holiday. Your right about one thing. The greedy mongrels at AFL are out to fleece the public for every cent they can get. Latest money grab is now a wildcard for teams that finish 9 or 10th...absolute bullshite.
FollowupID: 930194

Reply By: Glenn M8 - Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 20:27

Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 20:27
This reply is a simple, thank you as you have summed up the opinion of long term user/ visitors. This site is about travelling our great country not denigrating those who have questions or reply with their opinion.
AnswerID: 648698

Follow Up By: Wol2 - Monday, Nov 24, 2025 at 02:36

Monday, Nov 24, 2025 at 02:36
Possibly less people are travelling remotely, and there are less really remote places, and those there are may be increasingly off limits to the general public. Add to this that people now prefer trips with more creature comforts (See the rise of hybrids and decline of camper trailer sales).

If you add to that a shift to AI generated answers, desire for immediate information, and a focus on the individual, it seems natural that these forums will decline somewhat.

Truth is now quickly found on tik tok and facebook :)
FollowupID: 930184

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Monday, Nov 24, 2025 at 09:07

Monday, Nov 24, 2025 at 09:07
Great comments and perspectives, Cuppa, Hoyks, Allan B, Glenn M8 and Wo12.

My memories of EO go way back to when I first met David and Michelle, with their tiny baby daughter, in a parking bay at Merredin, WA. They said they were going to set up an online site to assist 4WD travellers—which they did, and it's this forum. For me, it's been the go-to place for information and to provide information. Well done to D & M.

The demise of what we traditionally had in sharing information, joining 4WD clubs and such has changed. In WA two 4WD clubs are closing down because they can’t get members and don’t have enough members to be viable. Some clubs don’t meet in person; they engage online in FB pages and such. It’s a changing world, people want instant information, won’t commit or if they do, it's only at the last moment. Then there is the rise of influencers who are capturing a large proportion of 4WD interest. And sadly, even common courtesies of please and thank you when asking or getting information are disappearing. It’s a changing world, at times not for the better.

I still check in most days, but not a lot is happening. I enjoy getting out there and checking out my favourite haunts, but rust in the joints and a few other ailments are curtailing my adventures these days.

ATB

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 648703

Reply By: Briste - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 08:56

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 08:56
I agree. While I have found a few useful tech tips and tips about ExplorOZ Traveller here, the key feature of this forum is information and advice about remote travel. There is less of it these days. A pity. Cuppa's blog is also a useful source, and we used his recent NT posts as a guide for part of our winter trip this year, and even beat him to one camp site.
AnswerID: 648710

Reply By: Garry L - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 13:38

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 13:38
People change over time as well !

Just saying

Gazz
AnswerID: 648711

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 19:36

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 19:36
May I just say that a quieter Forum doesn’t mean the ExplorOz brand is in decline – it has little impact on our business. Most sales of the ExplorOz Traveller app happen via word-of-mouth or travellers seeing it in use and going straight to the app store, often bypassing the Forum entirely. These days, when people first hear about ExplorOz, it’s usually in the context of what truly sets us apart—our Traveller app and offline maps.

The Forum, while still valuable, is no longer as unique as it once was for two reasons:

1. Social media platforms and Facebook groups have largely taken over as the go-to spaces for instant, topic-based discussion and entertainment. Its quieter activity is more a reflection of broader online behaviour trends than a decline in interest in ExplorOz or its products.

2. The website (of which the Forum is a part of ) was critical in the early years for our sales because in those days we didn't have the app, (we had a massive online book/map/gps shop) but we have since evolved from an online resource to a full offline mapping, navigation, tracking, and POI/campsite app.

Today, communication and community still happen under the ExplorOz brand – it’s just mostly inside the app rather than the Forum. People post photos and comments about Places they visit as reviews in Places in the app. The Forum remains part of our ecosystem for those who prefer it, and it still holds immense value, while our apps continue to deliver real value to travellers across Australia.

We are very grateful to all our long-term Forum supporters – your dedication and contributions over the years mean a great deal. We also warmly welcome new members to join the Forum and become part of the ongoing ExplorOz community.

Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 648715

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 19:51

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 19:51
Hi Michelle,
I don't think anyone is actually suggesting that the "ExplorOz brand is in decline". What is being discussed is that the EO Forum is missing the earlier respected posters and discussion of true 4WD'ing.
And maybe that is a sign of the societal times rather than any fault of the Forum.
As with any business it is essential to receive the market and react to it. And clearly that is what you and David have done….. very sucessfully with the Traveller App. I say congratulations to you both.
But some of us are yearning for the forum of old. And regretfully, there seems that there is not much that we, or you, can do about that.

FollowupID: 930197

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 20:46

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 20:46
Thanks Allan, good to know!
I genuinely understand the nostalgia for the “Forum of old” and the missing deep 4WD discussions.
When the Forum was at its peak, social media hadn’t taken hold and the world was a very different place. There is no denying it has changed everything about our lives and our Forum is a natural casualty because it no longer holds its uniqueness that it once had as a premium communication channel in a niche topic. The demographic that remains active here tends to know the difference between a Forum and social media but these days most people don't care and choose what's easy.

I also know some of the popular contributors have outgrown the Forum and forged different lifestyles. Many personally emailed us to give their story and thanks, some we are still in touch with off Forum too. Many have retired, travelled overseas, stopped travelling altogether, become unwell or sadly passed away. All genuine good reasons.

Others have moved to social media, where the allure of constant gratification, building a personal brand, and striving for large follower counts is strong. Today’s world encourages people to treat themselves as a brand, with the belief that a big social media account is a “pot of gold,” and they’ll devote huge amounts of time and energy curating that presence.

New Traveller app users do get welcome emails about everything we offer—YouTube, Facebook groups, and the Forum—but most don’t read them. I like the idea of themed posts, like “Tuesday Travels,” and promoting them could help spark discussion and bring some of the old spirit back.

FollowupID: 930199

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 22:30

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2025 at 22:30
Yes Michelle, it is a changing world. Somewhat like a couple of my favourite restaurants here at Buderim.
The first told me that "The people of Buderim just don't want fine dining anymore" and the second said that "I am doing twice the work for half the money". Soon after they both closed….. one of the premises became a pilates studio, the other is still vacant. Very sad as they both worked very hard at providing good services. And I don't eat pilates!!!!

Yet, the Sprinter forum (USA based) seems to be powering along. Admittedly most of the threads deal with either user-building of the empty vans into motorhomes or coping with the many complex problems that can occur to highly technical vehicles. Plus a goodly serve of off-topic talk. And I thought that our Australian social habits have their genesis in the good old US of A…. It would seem not always.

However, I do not give up easily, and I consider that there are a number of others like me so we will press on and see what comes. What say you chaps?

FollowupID: 930201

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Nov 28, 2025 at 15:58

Friday, Nov 28, 2025 at 15:58
Interestingly, when we bought our first Ultimate Camper Trailer we were encouraged to join their Forum and Owners Group on Facebook. I setup access to both but never once think of their Forum, as the “notifications” from Facebook drew me to that group more frequently. When I want input from other owners for suggestions, ideas, advice, I never think of their Forum but on the other hand some owners never use their Facebook group, preferring their Forum. Its much like ExplorOz then.

Thinking on this - Facebook is an app so notifications are more prominent than how most web-based (non-app) Forums are setup. Maybe we should look at making the Forum available as an app too so that it can include those notification features etc.

MM

FollowupID: 930214

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Nov 29, 2025 at 15:46

Saturday, Nov 29, 2025 at 15:46
Sounds like a good idea. The old conventional forums don't seem easy to access from Android and iDevices. I have not tried either my phone or tablet to access any of the forums, as in the early days people were having great difficulties, particularly with PHP forums. If David can rehash the forum to act as a social medium platform via an app it may sort out some problems. One problem it may sort out is those pests who start up a fresh reply when answering someone instead of using the "Follow-up" button.

FollowupID: 930215

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2025 at 16:31

Saturday, Nov 29, 2025 at 16:31
Hi Peter,
I must say that I like the EO Forum much in its present form. Although as you say, there are those that cannot figure the difference between 'Reply' and 'FollowUp'. Perhaps it would be better to just drop the 'FollowUp' and keep 'Reply' only. That style seems to work OK on the Sprinter forum but is needs, and has, a feature that simply allows 'quotes' from a post to appear at the beginning of your response if desired. See pic below. It does have the benefit of following a 'conversation, in real time.

Incidentally, the EO Forum presents on my iPhone just as on my iMac Safari browser.

FollowupID: 930216

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Saturday, Nov 29, 2025 at 19:38

Saturday, Nov 29, 2025 at 19:38
Unfortunately it is statements like:

"One problem it may sort out is those pests who start up a fresh reply when answering someone"

that make this forum seem like an unfriendly place to visit.

Personally it doesn't worry me how people respond its not hard to follow the conversation but yes a simpler post and reply seems the norm these days.
FollowupID: 930217

Follow Up By: Member - Ups and Downs - Sunday, Nov 30, 2025 at 08:47

Sunday, Nov 30, 2025 at 08:47
Well my point of view is that your comment Leigh W, is the type to make 'this forum seem like an unfriendly place to visit.'

The only part of the post to put the boot in, so to speak.
My apologies if it wasn't intended and was just a poor choice of words.
FollowupID: 930220

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2025 at 22:47

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2025 at 22:47
I totally see where you are coming from. I have been on this forum and paid-up member for so long I simply don't remember.

It remains my home page, and I always scroll and look before I head for whatever reason my internet access at login

In my opinion the lack of the type of post your referring to is more about some of the old/original members who have sadly passed away.

These old-timers were the real adventurers and trail blazers, and they posted a significant amount of firsthand knowledge of many remote areas. Long before the digital age became the norm, used paper maps and posted freely "lost locations", together with travel tips, bush mechanics waypoints etc

Add to that is social media (so sad), sat phones outperforming HF radio, and now Starlink!

Back in the late 80's and 90's we went remote with an esky, dried food and RFDS radio with a long wire arial chucked over bush on run along the ground using little lights on the unit to tune it. We didn't check in unless for an emergency or at times a weather report if where we were looked dicey and we needed to reevaluate our intentions.

The Canning was a remote adventure; you couldn't rely on a passing traveler coming by same day or use the internet / Starlink to post pictures in real time or drone pictures!

Rudall River NP was accessed by a roundabout route via Telfer to access and travel south or out through Nullagine and access to travel North.

There was no Rippon Hills Road to Carrawine Gorge. It was an expedition to get there. Only suitable for camper trailers or no tow. Now it's a brand-new sealed road with 2-wheel drive sedans and caravan access.

The list goes on; remote is not remote - is there any left by the original standards of remote?

So, in summary the forum posts have changed owing to technology, social media but most impact is the passing of the older characters

Some I recall, some are on the tip of my fingers, but I can't place them some of these are (but by no means exclusive to)

Doug T a well-known lifetime member regular knowledgeable poster.
Another name I cant recall is an expat South African (relocated to South Australia), experienced remote area helpful traveler - but he had a cranky streak that came out at times if he didn't like query ofrchallenge to post. :)

I believe these two members have sadly gone to the great outback in the sky or wherever that is

Another of names that are still around but quiet compared to previous activity

Mick O, Mike Willis.

Others will perhaps add to the above

Exploroz remains my homepage, Traveler is now my sole reliable off-road maps. Some of what would have been forum posts have migrated to the FB Traveler user group

David & Michelle offer unique un paralleled products on the market and improving regularly by being hand on themselves and interacting on reading form posts, FB traveler user group, available by phone etc.

Its evolved today from what it was at the beginning owing to all of the above. But its Gold 5 star

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 648719

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 08:35

Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 08:35
The South African/Sth Australian was Willem Kemp.
He was really good to read. Ironically after recent posts, it was moderation that saw him go.
AnswerID: 648720

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 09:51

Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 09:51
Spent a night camped at Willem's house.
In Peterborough I reckon? Must be 30 years ago?
The map of his Australian travel routes was extraordinary.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 930206

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 10:11

Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 10:11
We actually bumped into Doug T a few months ago — completely by chance — at a fuel stop out on the Hay Plain, NSW.

We’d pulled in for fuel, heading west, surrounded by a sea of big trucks. As we were sorting ourselves out, this bloke walked out from the store and headed straight toward our vehicle. We’d never met Doug in person, never seen a photo of him, so we had no idea who he was.

At the same moment, David was having a moment of self-doubt, wondering if he’d parked badly and blocked a truck. So when this guy approached with absolute confidence and growled “EXPLOROZ” after spotting our number plate, David’s guilty conscience kicked in — he thought, oh no, we’ve annoyed this truckie…

Then the mystery man looked into the vehicle, spotted us, and said our names. We were completely confused until he finally introduced himself — Doug T! Suddenly it all made sense.

He was in a rush, working as the pilot vehicle for some of the trucks parked there, so we only had time for a quick chat. We caught up again briefly over the UHF as we headed out.

He posted on the forum not long after that encounter.

Michelle

FollowupID: 930207

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 10:26

Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 10:26
I'm glad to hear Doug is still around. He was such a regular and dropped off the forum I mistakenly thought he had passed.
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 930208

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 12:02

Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 12:02
Hope you don't bump into Willem!!! LOL

FollowupID: 930209

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 19:38

Thursday, Nov 27, 2025 at 19:38
Lol indeed!

FollowupID: 930210

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Nov 28, 2025 at 14:30

Friday, Nov 28, 2025 at 14:30
Ups ‘n Downs,

Willem’s surname was actually Kempen. I think his website is still operating, some excellent reading if one has the time to peruse the many pages.

FollowupID: 930212

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Nov 28, 2025 at 14:46

Friday, Nov 28, 2025 at 14:46
RIP Willem
OKA196 motorhome