Missing posts?

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 16, 2025 at 22:18
ThreadID: 151854 Views:1505 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
Since receiving the "Quick Guide for Positive Contribution" post on 6 November, I have not had any subsequent posts show up on my computer and that I find that surprising. Assuming that there have been a number since, is anyone able to suggest how I might find them?
Many thanks,
Roger.
Back Reply Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - nick boab - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 05:32

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 05:32
Roger : There should be three posts since the 6 th Nov, dealing with the Traveller app plus yours, the positive contribution is pinned to the top. Don't know if this helps you, cheers
Cheers Nick

AnswerID: 648673

Reply By: Member - Ups and Downs - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 08:51

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 08:51
I too was wondering why the Forum suddenly seemed to go quiet.
AnswerID: 648674

Follow Up By: Member - 2208mate - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 09:00

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 09:00
Poor moderation has it's own rewards, as does the "crap" sticky JMHO
FollowupID: 930143

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 10:11

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 10:11
Roger, as Nick has said there are just three new Threads posted since the "Quick Guide……." sticky post of 6th November. The first of these is dated 9th Nov….. 3 days after the "Quick Guide…" post so yes the forum has gone quiet.
This quietude seems to occur for a time after an admonishment by the Moderator. The same calm occurred following the locking of "Cooper Creek ferry is open" thread on the 6th November.
But don't worry, someone will eventually open a post on an electrical subject and the fun will begin again. ( FDL )

AnswerID: 648675

Follow Up By: Member - 2208mate - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 12:31

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 12:31
The sun no longer shines when the over bearing deity presides.... YMMV
FollowupID: 930144

Reply By: Kazza055 - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 13:03

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 13:03
The sticky will always be at the top of the list, new post go under it even though it has a newer date.

That is why it is called a sticky.
AnswerID: 648676

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 16:53

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 16:53
I was wondering the same thing, so I note the preference given to the "sticky".
As a general observation, the forum seems to be much less used these days, compared to when I first joined - sign of the times I guess, with all the new media options floating around (for better or worse!!)
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 648677

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 17:15

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 17:15
So very true Wildmax.

I was going to do a new post about going out to the new Cooper Creek Barge and having a ride, and catching up the the late Tom Kruse - Birdsville Track fame son and daughter.

The response that I received in under 24 hours was mind blowing with over 30,000 views, just on the one story, something that will never happen here on ExplorOz and there are people here that think I am a nuisance and don't want me here for up to date facts.

Things need to change on here to keep the forum active.

David and Michelle have put such a lot into this site over the years and it is sad to see the way that it has gone.

FollowupID: 930145

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 11:13

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 11:13
Hi Stephen,
I note that you received 30,000 views on Facebook, but as much as I appreciate you, I was not one of those viewers.
I detest Facebook with a passion and will not go near it. Even when directed there by a source that I seek information from I abandon my search and go elsewhere.
I don't want to engage in argument about Facebook, suffice to say that like some others, I don't use it.

I like the EO forum and I agree with you that "things need to change"or rather 'things need to stop changing' however I have yet to find a forum that offered the attractive contributions that once existed here.

FollowupID: 930149

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 11:46

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 11:46
Yes the 30,00 views was in just 24 hours and one story only.

I know there are good and bad sites, but I am very proud of my factual site with dozens of great photos and there are never any arguments, as people want to hear honest facts and not as they say….Bull Shite

FollowupID: 930151

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 18:51

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 18:51
Here is some trivia for you regarding the Forum activity:

On this current page (Page 1) which spans 37 days of activity there have been 29,993 Views.
On Page 100 (July 2021) spanning 37 days there were 213,185 Views.
On Page 200 (January 2019) spanning 21 days there were 137,100 Views.

Perhaps not the most scientific sample but yes, it does reflect a drop-off in people viewing the Forum.
It also only reveals the "Viewers" and not the contributors which could be even worse.
And the view could be even worse if the "EO Traveller" threads were excluded from the sampling.
I feel water around my ankles!

AnswerID: 648678

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Saturday, Nov 22, 2025 at 09:49

Saturday, Nov 22, 2025 at 09:49
Maybe the current administration of the forum should be asking themsleves why are members leaving this forum and going elsewhere?
FollowupID: 930176

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 08:26

Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 08:26
LeighW,

I am not sure the admins and moderators are the issue. I believe that peoples values and attitudes have changed more in the last few years. People are becoming more aggressive and abusive than they used to be. Litigation is becoming more popular, and public entities/forums are more likely to face litigation than they used to. 20 or 30 years ago, if you disagreed with someone, you just disagreed with them. These days, people are more likely to become abusive, language is more likely to become profane, with threats of violence more likely. I believe that people’s moral values have changed for the worse.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 930177

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 09:00

Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 09:00
Sadly Macca, you are right on the ball.

FollowupID: 930178

Follow Up By: Member - LeighW - Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 10:37

Sunday, Nov 23, 2025 at 10:37
Mclaren3030,

I do agree with you, but reality is other forums a thriving yet this one is slowly dieing. I think the forum operators should really be looking at themselves what's changed in the last three years for example. Yes members maybe be an issue but to put it plainly when the administrators start behaving in the same manner as the members then administrators should be revisting the rules of conduct also.

To me it seems a few members and an administrator have taken over this forum as their own, if anyone disagrees with their view point they put them down then if the member fires back the little group gets together and derides them.

I have seen this in clubs where the members comittee get power hungry and end up driving the members away. Also on another forum where the self imposed power mongers tried to bring down a very large forum by opening their own forum in competiton, image their surprise when very few memebers of the old group followed them to the new.

Not to help things the owners of the forum don't seem interested in the forum anymore apart from using it as a platform to market their software, in a few years time their probably won't be anyone left on here for that aspect to be worthwhile anyway.
FollowupID: 930179

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Monday, Nov 24, 2025 at 08:32

Monday, Nov 24, 2025 at 08:32
Leigh,

I am not sure of which other forums you refer to that are thriving, I am not a member of very many, but I do look at quite a lot of different pages on Facebook.

If what you say regarding a particular moderator or admin. is true, and I have no way of knowing if it is, have you written directly to Michelle and David and outlined in detail who the person is, and exactly what was said? There seems to me to be little point in just expressing your feelings on here if you haven’t taken the matter up directly with Michelle and David.

The world and peoples attitudes changed dramatically in 2020. People resented having to be told what they could and couldn’t do. People became more aggressive and less tolerant as a result. We were unable to travel freely as we had been used to. A lot of people have not been able to afford to travel as often since then as prices of goods and services rose dramatically as a result. I believe this is one reason why there are less posts about remote travel and places. I also believe that people who would normally have been more tolerant of others, have also changed as a result of the aggressive attitude of others around them.

Whilst I have not been a member of this forum for as long as some others, what I have noticed is that since 2020, there are more aggressive replies on here than there were before 2020. In Melbourne and its surrounding outer areas, the crime rate since 2020 seems to have skyrocketed. Not just crime in general, but particularly violent crime against ordinary family people. Violent home invasions with weapons for no apparent reason other than to steal a car. Of course the stolen car then gets used to commit other crimes. Most of these home invasions are being carried out by very young offenders, but they are being orchestrated by older more hardened criminals. What has this got to do with this forum? Probably very little directly other than to demonstrate that people have become more aggressive towards each other than they were a few years ago.

As I stated earlier, if you haven’t taken this matter up directly with Michelle and David, or you are dissatisfied with their response, you have a choice. You can continue to voice your dissatisfaction, which seems pointless to me, or you can move on.

My apologies to Roger as we seem to have “hijacked” his thread.

Macca.

Macca.

FollowupID: 930185

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Nov 24, 2025 at 09:19

Monday, Nov 24, 2025 at 09:19
My sentiments exactly Macca,

FollowupID: 930186

Reply By: Member - Roger K (NSW) - Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 22:21

Monday, Nov 17, 2025 at 22:21
Thank you everyone for your replies - the fact that I could read them confirms my system is working as it should.
As has been noted over the last year, the popularity of the Forum has been in serious decline for some time, and no doubt the reasons are many and varied. One that has been painfully obvious to me is the extraordinary propensity of some responders to attack the poster rather than deal with the subject matter - it quickly gets very personal and I can readily understand why so many members simply "move on."
Allan's statistics suggest that the trajectory is probably "terminal" (I hope he will forgive that horrible pun!) and that is very sad, given that not so long ago, the Forum was a fabulous source of information about all sorts of things pertaining to outback travel and related matters.

Roger.
AnswerID: 648679

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan2H - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 05:59

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 05:59
Almost ALL forums are in decline thanks to the vast wasteland of Facebook Groups.. utterly cancerous, infested with scams, poorly run, and utterly beholden to Meta for their very existence, they can be shut down at a moments notice or their administration transferred for profit, many are run for one individual's own self aggrandisement, and many are left unmoderated to wither and die on the vine after the forums have long since died..

Its why I still make an effort with places like IH8Mud for Landcruiser stuff etc.

FollowupID: 930146

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 07:34

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 07:34
While I am a avid user of Facebook & other social media , I think this forum is a far better and reliable source of usable information for the subject that it covers and I enjoy participating with the conversation and the banter..lol .
I have opted out of most of the Facebook pages of this sort of subject because of the useless nonsensical rubbish that people right .

I know that David and Michelle like the forum to run itself without interference from them as much as possible but I do feel if some of the more personal attacks on each other were jumped on from the start that might make a difference but that then put more work on their shoulders and I dare say they are more than busy enough with other business .
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 930147

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 10:45

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 10:45
I have oft' likened this forum as being a group of buddies chatting around the campfire, a convention that I found very attractive. It motivated me to view the forum almost daily.
In recent times there seems to be some assertive responses that challenge a posting and result in something of a donnybrook nature. Maybe this is in keeping with the violence being displayed in our global society or the increasingly competitive nature of our national community. Whatever the cause it is most unattractive to me, and I'm sure, others.

Since swapping the Troopy for a Sprinter campervan I have also been following an American forum devoted to Sprinters where the rules are somewhat more liberal and permitting contributions off-topic. Subjects such as "What did you do to your Sprinter today?", "Do you have a better campsite than me?", "Tell me a joke", etc. even political observations, although many posts seek assistance with vehicle problems which maybe illustrates the difficulties of the complexity of the Sprinter vehicles. That forum is not without offerings of criticism but more in the manner of declaring an alternative view without denying the expressions of the other member or denigration. They are generally polite and I find this interesting for a nation that I view as being rather aggressive. So why do these brawls erupt on ExplorOz?

Can I suggest that we contribute more postings that simply offer short presentations of trips or places that could be of interest to others? And despite the ban on a regular "Fridays Funnies" post that hosted some offerings of bad taste that offended advertisers, and often me also for that matter, it should be permitted to post something humorous but not distasteful. Yes, I know that we have a "Blogs" section but it could be attractive to have a short, and I emphasise 'short' post within the forum of the experience of some attractive place or campsite or a trek posted on the "Daily Forum" page. Now that I cannot travel remotely I enjoy the offerings of those who do so. I do remember that David and Michelle loosened-up the moderation a while back so perhaps we can take advantage of that to more socialise the forum pages and so enhance its attractiveness.
What say you?

FollowupID: 930148

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 11:39

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 11:39
Allan , very well stated comments thanks Allan and also good for your mental health when the topics are good fun ;))
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 930150

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 12:45

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 12:45
Thanks Nick, On the. subject of "good fun" I'll test my proposition. This one may not be novel but it amuses me because I see some fundamental truth in it……………

A man and his blonde girlfriend were sitting in a pub watching the Tour-de France on TV.
The blonde shook her head and asked, "Why do they do that?"
"Do what?" asked the man.
"Go on them bikes for miles, up and down the hills, round the bends. Day after day, week after week. No matter what the weather? .. .. .. why would they torture themselves like that?"
"It's all for the prestige and the money," replied Mick, "You know the winner gets about a half a million Euros?
"Yeah, I understand that." said the blonde, "But why do all the others do it?"

FollowupID: 930152

Follow Up By: Member - nick boab - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 13:34

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 13:34
Hey Allan I hope for your sake that D & M aren't offended by your blonde joke
Haha ;)))
Cheers Nick

FollowupID: 930153

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 13:38

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 13:38
I'm not much afraid of D & M……..
What's even more chancy is that Roz is blonde!!!!!

FollowupID: 930154

Follow Up By: Garry L - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 18:33

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 18:33

Here's one for Roz :)

Two blondes having a coffee at an upmarket cafe in Darling Harbour Sydney
One of them starts looking up in the sky and asks her friend ........

What do you think is further away, Melbourne or the sun ?

Her friend replies

HELLO - can you see Melbourne from here ??

FollowupID: 930157

Reply By: Glenn M8 - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 16:46

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 16:46
In March this year I posted the following topic in the forum, Observations from a long term user of Exploroz.
That post was about how this forum has changed over the years from a highly regarded source of information for those wanting to explore our country to one where personal attack and denigration was common. The quick guide released by Michelle and David is certainly a welcome sign that topics of discussion remain just that, a discussion. It is interesting to note that since their post those that felt a need to target others have been silent. It will be interesting to see for how long and if the moderators step in.
AnswerID: 648682

Reply By: Garry L - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 21:09

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 21:09
G'day ALL

May I suggest something to bring back some peace and harmony along with a modicum of humour to this once great site ??

Since Friday Funnies was ousted how about replacing it with something like Tuesday's Travel Stories !
Each and everyone on here would have at least a dozen or more stories from their travels over the years in and around this big brown land ( I have heaps ).

For example.....
How and where did you get lost?
What is the longest time you have been stranded before help has arrived ?
Most embarrassing thing you have done while travelling, 4wdriving, camping etc ?
Your best bush mechanic trick/tip you did to keep going on your travels ?
How have you helped someone in need when you encountered them in trouble ?
The funny situations you have seen other travellers in ?
The good people who have helped you out when you needed it ?
The dumb decisions you have made under duress ?
Funny things that you have seen in the middle of nowhere ?
The good and bad people you have met along the way ?
The overseas tourists in predicaments ?

The list is endless !

Just a thought

Gazz

AnswerID: 648684

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 22:44

Tuesday, Nov 18, 2025 at 22:44
That could work Gazz.
Maybe it needs some constraints to keep it interesting. Like limiting the offering to say 30/40 lines, only one contribution per week with first in wins the spot etc..

FollowupID: 930160

Follow Up By: Garry L - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2025 at 18:55

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2025 at 18:55
G'day Allan

Here's a short one from me

Around the mid 90's I was heading south from Birdsville thru Cordillo Downs then Innamincka and on the Old Strzelecki Track in my GQ Nissan Patrol when a semi coming towards me flashed his lights for about 10 seconds so I figured he wanted me to stop. I pulled over and soon after he pulled up, it was a B-Double loaded with large black steel pipes approx 400 to 500mm diameter. He jumped down and without any sort of greetings asked me if I knew where this is and handed me a piece of paper. Well the paper had some sort of GPS co-ordinates or grid references on it which meant nothing to me. I could tell he was a bit stressed and unsure what to do so I got a map out and showed him where we were and suggested he turn around and head over to Moomba as the pipes might be for there or if not they might know or could find out who needs them.

Ok he replied then looked around a bit and said to me " I will turn around over there ( large flat bluebush area ) and you wait here in case I get bogged "

I said " Mate, you're not serious are you - you don't expect me to pull you out ? "

He said " No you idiot - you can take me to Moomba to get some help "

I still laugh at my reply all these years later

Gazz

FollowupID: 930162

Follow Up By: Kenell - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2025 at 19:57

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2025 at 19:57
Many years ago we were camped with a couple of other families on the Indi River beyond Corryong. It was Xmas and it was stinking hot. We were in a camper trailer.

Dearly beloved decided to don her swimming costume that was hanging on a hook attached to a tent pole. Fotunately she had left her t shirt on as she started to pull the togs up. The togs were about halfway up when she noticed a very large spider in the crotch. Well the dance and curdling screams that ensued were something to behold. One hand was devoted to holding the togs up while the other was gainfully employed holding the t shirt down.

The men folk commenced a chase in order to investigate the cause of the commotion. No. 1 son who was about 10 managed to catch the Funnel Web in a jar and released it into the bush.

The banter that ensued around the campfire that night (and many times since) had us all in stitches - well nearly all !!

Anyway the one question that remains unanswered - Who got the bigger fright - my wife when she looked down or the spider when he ........ well you get the gist.

Kenell
FollowupID: 930163