Woolworths fuel

Submitted: Friday, Jul 19, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 1519 Views:3740 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
Has anyone else had any problems with their car after buying "super" fuel from Woolworths Plus petrol?

Reply By: Dazmit - Friday, Jul 19, 2002 at 00:00

Friday, Jul 19, 2002 at 00:00
A friend from work filled up his Vectra & suffered a performance loss. Ended up having to drain the tank & clean the injectors - I won't touch woolies fuel.
AnswerID: 4954

Follow Up By: Cobra - Friday, Jul 19, 2002 at 00:00

I filled up at one over 12 months ago just after having a car service. Filter filled up with gunk, had to replace it and drain and clean the tank. Within two days of filling all the leaded pumps here at all the outlets had out of service signs on them, console operator said they were told to put them on but was'nt told why. Couple of others at work had the same problems. Never used Woolies fuel since
FollowupID: 2129

Follow Up By: Kezza - Friday, Jul 19, 2002 at 00:00

Where are you guys located??
FollowupID: 2130

Follow Up By: Dazmit - Saturday, Jul 20, 2002 at 00:00

Saturday, Jul 20, 2002 at 00:00
I live on the north side of Brisbane.
FollowupID: 2142

Reply By: cobra - Friday, Jul 19, 2002 at 00:00

Kezza, Canberra
AnswerID: 4957

Follow Up By: Nifty - Friday, Jul 19, 2002 at 00:00

Funny, I live in Queanbeyan and the only comments I've heard about Woolies petrol here is of the repairs to their cars too..
FollowupID: 2140

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Saturday, Jul 20, 2002 at 00:00

Not related to Super but to Woolies Petrol Plus - we almost exclusively buy our fuel from these outlets. With a combined tank capacity of 240L those 6c fuel vouchers are worthwhile! Never had a problem with diesel and have been fueling up at these outlets around the country since 1998... now when are they going to pay us something for promoting them???
AnswerID: 4978

Follow Up By: Cobra - Sunday, Jul 21, 2002 at 00:00

Sunday, Jul 21, 2002 at 00:00
Michelle, I used to get my diesel from Woolies, the local always gave me a 6c discount every time I put in over 80 litres even without a voucher. Stopped going there after the problems with the super. After your reply will go back for diesel
FollowupID: 2143

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Jul 20, 2002 at 00:00

Never bought super but have had nil problems with unleaded all over Aust. Price discounting is good 4 competition with oil coys.
Whilst I don't doubt people have had problems i think the oil coys have started a few rumours.
Bloke in caravan park at Broken Hill was rubbishing woolies fuel and said it was cheap fuel imported from Indonesia.
i thought to myself I can't imagine woolies damaging their good reputation by doing that. I went round to the Woolies servo at B Hill and lo and behold sign on pump stated " All fuel at this site supplied by BP Australia"
AnswerID: 4980

Follow Up By: Member - Tony - Sunday, Jul 21, 2002 at 00:00

I'll echo Ray's comments. I buy Woolies unleaded in Western Sydney at several outlets, and have noticed no problems. Cheers, Tony
FollowupID: 2147

Reply By: Member - Jim - Saturday, Jul 20, 2002 at 00:00

Must agree with Michelle and Ray here, have used Woolworths diesel for a couple of years now with no problem.
We must remember that in each state there is only 1 or 2 refineries but all the oil companies represented along the street.
Where does your favourite come from?, in a lot of cases I bet you haven't given it a thought.
Regards Jim
AnswerID: 4983

Reply By: graham - Sunday, Jul 21, 2002 at 00:00

Seems Woolies/plus petrol get supplies generally from independent suppliers....probably wherever they get the cheapest..(as do some of the other s/stns if they think they can get away with it)...appears that because of the problems with poor quality petrol sometimes being supplied they hired a 'specialist' living around Macedon area who flys to Sydney for a few days a week to test quality of samples to try and stop congtaminated fuel being supplied......So this should stop/reduce the problem of contaminated fuel supplies.

cya
AnswerID: 5005

Follow Up By: Ian - Sunday, Jul 21, 2002 at 00:00

Goodaye Graham about half of the fuel for wollies/safeway comes from the major oil companys with the rest supplied from the indipendent suppliers it all meets australian standards and you have as much chance of getting a bad batch of fuel from there as any other service station all safeways pumps have filters on them so anything thats in the fuel is filtered out anyway before it gets to your car . i drive a tanker that delivers fuel to them and believe me the amount of fuel that goes thru there outlets if it wasnt any good there would be 1000s of cars with problems not an isolated few ,,,,,,Ian
FollowupID: 2148

Reply By: ian - Sunday, Jul 21, 2002 at 00:00

sorry i replied to graham it was kathywho asked the question ,,,Ian
AnswerID: 5011

Reply By: Guy - Monday, Jul 22, 2002 at 00:00

Monday, Jul 22, 2002 at 00:00
On the 28 June I filled up with DIESEL to Woolworth ALICE SPRINGS (the BP just connected with Woolworths ALICE SPRING). Around Barrow Creek I started to notice a huge lost of performance.
On my GU I could not rev the engine underload over 2900 RPM, which was bad because I was not able to pass any traffic.
At Katherine I bought a fuel filter and waited to see if the situation was going to improved. I did NOT put the new fuel filter in but I had to wait an other 2000 kms before I could rev my diesel underload to 4000 RPM.
Even today after an other 6000 km from time to time the engine can not be accelrated underload above 4000 rpm. It usually only last for a few kilometer. It looks like some rubbish in the fuel tank is pasing throught the diesel fuel line.
AnswerID: 5031

Follow Up By: Kathy - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2002 at 00:00

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2002 at 00:00
Thanks to everyone who responded to my question. I did not have problems personally, but it helped to fix a friends car. Was also wondering if anyone can let me know of any problems with the Nissan GU 3ltr Turbo Diesel. My father purchased one (new) in March 2001 and would like to know what to look for. He has had to replace the front springs (under warranty).
FollowupID: 2171

Reply By: Colin- Monday, Jul 22, 2002 at 00:00

Monday, Jul 22, 2002 at 00:00
I have used Unleaded from most of the Canberra/Queanbeyan Wollies outlets and haven't had any trouble - I don't use them exclusivly though - driving a carby Subaru
AnswerID: 5033

Reply By: Savvas - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2002 at 00:00

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2002 at 00:00
Interesting to watch the news last night describing Australian petrol as equivalent to that of third world nations. They reckon to bring us upto European and US standards would lead to regular unleaded going up about 13c a litre and premium unleaded up about 3c a litre. Wouldn't that make them approximately the same price as each other? A couple of years ago we had a situation where a local budget fuel outlet was to be diluting their petrol stocks with toluene, a solvent that could do major damage to motors. It was also found that a number of major brand franchises through Sydney were doing the same. All these proprietors were charged with offences, with the local budget outlet having to be sold to new owners. I don't think we can isolate Woolies for poor fuel as we can end up getting poor fuel just about anywhere. In a lot of cases, you may never know it until it's too late.
AnswerID: 5050

Reply By: Wayne - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2002 at 00:00

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2002 at 00:00
To those of you out there with large fuel tanks. Do you get the discount, eg .6c per ltr, for your entire tank? The reason i ask is I've just noticed the offer is limited to a 150 ltr tank. I wonder if the dicount drops out above 150 ltr's??????????? has anyone noticed.
AnswerID: 5111