Bunnings - Does it get any better than this

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 08:07
ThreadID: 15441 Views:6383 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
Good day all

Just a quick one.

I called into Bunnings last night and staring me in the face as I walk is a mountain of GMC Gen Sets marked at $98.00 YES! $98.00 ea.

Sh$t! I think to myself, I recently bought one of these from the same place, same spot, same mountain for $198.00. (Have I been dudded again???)

Took me a little while to wake up that these ones on offer now are marked/rated as 750W whereas the one I purchased 4 months ago was marked/rated as 850W.

Whatever, I do believe that for $98.00 & 2yrs warranty, you just can't go wrong.

Plus if anything does go wrong , you just take it back and select another from the pile without question.

I've done this twice now with power appliances from Bunnings and just luv dealing with them.

Anyway, to each his own, if this suits any of you, go and relieve yourself of a 'green' one and walk out with a nice new gen set.

Ken Robinson

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 09:34

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 09:34
"I've done this twice now with power appliances from Bunnings and just luv dealing with them. "

so wouldnt you be better to pay more and get items that dont need to be taken back? Specially if your travelling, and it dies day 1 of 60 that would suck.

YMMV
AnswerID: 71986

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 10:06

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 10:06
Good point Truckster
its akin to buying CHEAP handkerchiefs...the material is so thin all the discharged rubbish from ones bugle goes through the handkerchief and ends up elsewhere...usually your hands
FollowupID: 332154

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 10:52

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 10:52
If people thought about it, others are twice the price, so for that cheap, you wouldnt really be gettin anything of quality..

if they were top quality, they would sell fast, but would sell for more..

;)
FollowupID: 332157

Follow Up By: Member - Ken - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 19:33

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 19:33
Damn I say

Get home from work, switch on the puter, open up the email and the very first one is one bagging my 'stupendous bunnings discovery'

Who is this coota I say to myself and on opening up OZ/EX its none other than 'Truckster'. What more can I say.

Anyway 'trucky' old mate I was just bringing to everyones attention that these items are there to be had if it suits your purpose.

I personally don't put them in my Troopy for óut there' trips under any circumstances.

They are all saved up for a flogging around the house , daughters houses and anywhere else I need to use them.

The bunnings I was talking about is about 1 kilometer from my house, if that, so its no trouble for me to take advantage of these offers.

I also noticed last night a 235mm GMC Circ Saw for $98.00 as well. It was lined up on display with all the other brand 235mm Circ Saws and just two away was a $345 Dewalt.

Guess what. The GMC was a dead set copy/ringer of that Dewalt and next pay day there will be one in my garage.

Have a good one

Ken Robinson

FollowupID: 332252

Follow Up By: Member- Rox - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 00:00

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 00:00
Looks like a "saw" spot!! pardon the pun
FollowupID: 332308

Follow Up By: V8troopie - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 00:33

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 00:33
With that cheap price you get cheap bearings too. Fine if the gadget is only used occasionally, but not advisable if one is dependent on it to keep on running. That circular saw mentioned above might only have bronze bushings, not proper roller bearings as there should be.

I bought a Chinese made lathe some time ago, it was noisy and vibrated and did not at all have a sound like I expected from a lathe. It was solidly built though, the carriages moved as they should and it was a price I could afford. Anyway, its not an easy matter to return something that weighs 400kg, arrived in a crate and had taken some time to set up.
So I decided to 'fix' it myself, took it apart and replaced every bearing in it, buying quality bearings was not all that expensive so I wonder why they did not fit them in the first place.
The lathe purrs like a kitten now :-0
Klaus
FollowupID: 332310

Reply By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 10:34

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 10:34
Magnet Mart have a 750w gen set for $199.00, not sure of the brand but Bunnings beat it hands down.
AnswerID: 71993

Reply By: Michael - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:21

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 11:21
A mate of mine told me those cheap generators land here for less than $50 if you buy a container of them. If materials are of similar price as here the labour content must be Zip.....
AnswerID: 72000

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 12:00

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 12:00
My son in law works for Mitre 10 and a customer bought back a gen set that was missing the fuel cap seive, they told him to pick another and the boss got his credit and gave the gen set to him for nothing, must throw them away instead of returning them.
AnswerID: 72005

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 12:26

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 12:26
When I worked for an importer that's what we did. We would look at the product, predict as well as we could what percentage would go wrong and build it into the price.
EG Land the Gen Set for $50. Work on say 10% max failure rate. New landed cost is $55.
When they go wrong, as long as you are sitting pretty under your 10% failure rate (which you monitor) you just giv'em a new one (customer happy as a pig in you know what) and you chuck the other one, or auction them off as spare parts.
Great buy if you are like me and very rarely go away for more than a few days. If it goes wrong, just rely on your bat's. It would be more of a luxury than a neccesity.
I don't really need one, but for $98 it's worth chucking in the back of the 4by just for the hell of it!
FollowupID: 332168

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 12:01

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 12:01
Have to agree mate that it is a pretty special deal - I if was running my ventilator off it I might want a top rate one but if it is only for camping lights and a fridge - well - I could live throught the next few days if it died. Can't complain really with a two year warranty.
AnswerID: 72006

Reply By: brett - Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 21:26

Tuesday, Aug 10, 2004 at 21:26
I'm sure the Honda eu10 is a much better unit but $1500 compared to $98.....
AnswerID: 72088

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 09:19

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 09:19
Checked em out and bought one on the way home last night. For 98 bucks and 2 years (which works) can't go wrong. Its a fathers day present than me daughters are going to give me.
AnswerID: 72118

Follow Up By: brett - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 18:35

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 18:35
Checked in a local Sydney store and couldn't find any, what area are you in?
FollowupID: 332368

Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:11

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:11
Brett, I'm in the greatest part of Australia... Perth WA LOL
FollowupID: 332454

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 19:45

Wednesday, Aug 11, 2004 at 19:45
Ken, thanks for the drum on that one - you're a champ. Just got back from Bunnings Melville and cranked the little bugger up. Couldn't be happier.

Angle grinder, hammer drill, 500W work lamp no worries at all and charges 12V batteries too. 30% cheaper than a spare N70Z and not much bigger. I'll be making a bracket for one to mount under the tray of the 75 on the weekend.

Has a 2 year warranty but at $98 it is a disposable item anyway. Lady from the tool section said they hadn't had any returns yet, but still early days I guess. Who cares, I blew nearly twice that on grog, food and taxi's last Friday and felt crook for the next two days.

Here's something to ponder, how can a set of 4 tyre deflators or a foam air filter realistically cost nearly the same amount?
AnswerID: 72175