Waving to oncoming traffic

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:06
ThreadID: 15488 Views:2627 Replies:27 FollowUps:43
Has anyone ever thought just how dangerous it is to wave to traffic coming in the opposite direction?

Up to a few years ago I would always wave, and wave back as I passed oncoming traffic. Now though, as I'm getting a bit older and place a bit more value on my life I no longer do this.

It's not because I'm mean and unfriendly, it's simply that the moment of the wave it the very time that you should have both hands on the wheel and be concentrating on the road.

I do feel a little bit guilty when I don't wave back, but I can't see any other way to say G'day other than give out a big smile, which will probably be missed anyway.

Roll on friday!!!

Equinox

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:11

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:11
I have one hand on the top of the wheel and raise a finger or to so do not commit this dangerous manoeuvre of taking my hand off the wheel - unless it is really important to do so like answering my mobile or changing maps on my laptop.

AnswerID: 72244

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:14

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:14
Or crackin' another can...
FollowupID: 332455

Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:16

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:16
So how do you pick your nose... lean right forward over the steering wheel... LOL
FollowupID: 332456

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:22

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:22
Good point Rob. The 'Baboon Bum' syndrome can get a bit itchy from time to time too.

What do you call a bloke who can pick his nose, wind down the window and turn a corner at the same time?

A clever dick.
FollowupID: 332457

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:54

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:54
Al does the one finger manoeuvre too, unless the occupants of the oncoming car are gesticulating wildly, then he gets me to respond in kind... :)
FollowupID: 332464

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:45

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:45
Oncoming traffic would not be quick enough to wave back, hey Lyn.

Only when Al's driving !!!
FollowupID: 332481

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:47

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:47
yes only when Al's driving...if I'm driving they'd just feel the whoooosh...hahahhaha
FollowupID: 332482

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:18

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:18
What is so dangerous about waving to anyone.
You have to remove one hand from the wheel to do many tasks required while driving. Are these also dangerous ?
Changing gear,
Winding down the window,
Changing the radio / CD
Changing the settings on heater / AC
Just to mention a few.
To wave to oncomming traffic need not require removing your hand from the wheel, but just lifting a few fingers to let others know that you have seen there greeting.
If you don't want to, then don't, the world will still turn, but some of us will continue to greet our fellow man. Some of us may even smile every now and again
IMHO
Vince
AnswerID: 72245

Follow Up By: Bros - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:48

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:48
Saw a sheila once driving toward me on my side of the road with her eyes on her rear vision mirror and her right index finger stuck up her right nostril to the second knucke. Very frightening but very true.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 332545

Reply By: snowman - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:21

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:21
how are you meant to change gears in a manual then?
AnswerID: 72246

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:31

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:31
Changing gears is part of normal driving - and yes, there are a number of things you generally do in the vehicle that require you to take a hand off the wheel (quite a few already mentioned). Waving to a driver though at the moment of passing?? How does an impact of 220 kmh sound to you?

Anyway, next time I'm out and about I'll see how I go with the raising of a finger or two.

Eq.
FollowupID: 332459

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 11:11

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 11:11
Sounds like a lack of self confidense issue from that follow up, as well as a lack of trust in fellow drivers, better stay home and watch travel video's..... ;-)
FollowupID: 332491

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 11:43

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 11:43
Hi GO_OFFROAD,

No, I have total confidence in my driving ability. I believe I am a very safe driver too!

Lack of trust in fellow drivers - you had better believe it - I don't trust anyone I don't know. Why would you?

It sounds like a few people in this forum are very "gung-ho" with thier driving with a "She'll be alright attitude". I don't buy that. You only have one life. Take care of it!

Eq.
FollowupID: 332497

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 14:13

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 14:13
if you trust yourself, and not others, why are you hanging onto the wheel with both hands, while they cruise along waving, and your not moving over, parking, and waiting for them to go past, if they are the problem ;-)
FollowupID: 332512

Follow Up By: Flash - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 11:18

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 11:18
Seriously now.
This whole thread HAS to be a joke.

If Mr (or Mrs) equinox can't raise a finger... or a hand.... without risking a crash, the he or she should not EVER have had a driving licence.

Surely this whole thread is a load of garbage- c'mon, you're taking the pi** out of us...... I hope.

PS. I've been waving at various people for many years. The ONLY ding I've had in forty years was with a 'roo at dusk about 15 years ago. Yes I had slowed way down- it was just bad luck.
FollowupID: 332756

Reply By: geoff - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:30

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:30
Go the wave I say, every little bit of good cheer we can spread to a like minded soul has got to be a good thing........
AnswerID: 72249

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:36

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:36
I dont believe this thread...

"How does an impact of 220 kmh sound to you?"
Waving is no different to changing gears. Split second on either.

How do you Open/Close a window?
How do you drop/raise the sunvisor?
How do you call or answer the UHF?
How do you change the radio station?
How do you turn the demister on/off?
and about 50 other things.
ESP?

Gawd...

AnswerID: 72250

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:59

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:59
FFS, 90% of the time, I drive one handed anyway... drove semis for 8 yrs would say more than 90% of time 1 handed there too..
FollowupID: 332468

Follow Up By: Michael - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:35

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:35
Look Ma, no hands
look Ma, no feet
LOOK Ma NO TEETH!!!
FollowupID: 332477

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:57

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:57
Youve met Diamond then?
FollowupID: 332487

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:43

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:43
thanks mate lol.
what about the more important things like leaning over to the back seat to get another beer?
turning around to yell at the kids probly spend more time that way than facing fowards lol.
FollowupID: 332541

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:41

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:41
Left yourself wide open there Truckster - what was the other hand 'doing' for 8 years!
Kidding.
FollowupID: 332593

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 08:58

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 08:58
I wondered if anyone would EVER get to that.. LMAO!

What was the other hand doing? PLayin with my g/stick (either spicer or ranger), and one of 3 radios, WAVING to other drivers, settin cruise control, throwin 600ml milks thru sunroof's on aholes that cut me off, turning on lights, finding the cancer sticks on the dash, pushin in the ciggy lighter, openin fridge to get coke bottle out, using old coke bottle to have a wee in to save stopping, Ummmm few others, but that will do for now.

LMAO
FollowupID: 332618

Reply By: Michael - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:37

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:37
yeah right!!!!
AnswerID: 72251

Reply By: Michael - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:42

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:42
Hey Fellas' I think Equinox means the whole family shouldn't do a mexican wave as cars go past, Yeah that could be a problem, But if he thinks just a movement of the hand is a problem, maybe he could find an old truck with one of those metal hand they used to use on trucks for indicating turns 40 years ago, bolt it to the door... hey that might be the go... Hhhmmm , how does he change the cd?????
AnswerID: 72253

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:26

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:26
Maybe Michelle could make an "Exploroz Wavey Hand" to stick on the bonnet??

Eq.
FollowupID: 332474

Reply By: Savvas - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:43

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:43
"Now though, as I'm getting a bit older and place a bit more value on my life..."

It's interesting that as people get older, they get a different perspective on a lot of things and thought patterns do change. I know that there's a lot of stuff I did when I was 21 that I wouldn't do now that I'm 41. I think it was about 1985 when I hired a V8 Calais in Melbourne and tore up the Hume Highway, at over 170km/h, to get to Sydney in record time. Lucky the cops stopped me when I was doing a leisurely 130km/h in a 110 zone. I think of that now and shudder at what could have been.

I know what you mean though. The issue you raise is taking a hand off the wheel when there is oncoming traffic, usually at a very high closing speed, is not an ideal situation.

Waving to oncoming traffic I don't see as a big problem. Just a little wave is fine IF the circumstances and road conditions are appropriate.

It's not as though you half jump out of the driver's window with both arms and greet the oncoming vehicle like it was a childhood sweetheart.

Savvas

AnswerID: 72254

Reply By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:51

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 09:51
I don't mind waving when traffic is very infrequent, but there are some roads where there are hundreds of oncoming vehicles extending the greeting (French Line, CSR etc). I was recently overwhelmed with oncoming cars waving at me and I realised I had the GPS stuck to the windscreen in a position where it looked a very enthusiastic wave from me to them (I fixed that pretty fast).
Just a few points of etiquette - don't bother waving to road trains (you are too busy steering around roadside obstacles for this nicety, and they don't wave back anyway), don't bother waving to conventional vehicles (I don't know why, but I just don't), don't wave at vehicles approaching on gravel roads at high speed (you need to have a hand on the glass to absorb the shock of stone impact), and finally, don't wave if you have lost control of the vehicle (the oncoming driver is usually too shocked to return the gesture).
We recently drove from near Marla to 80 mile Beach via GBH, SBJT and Desert Rd and Wapet Rd. We hadn't seen another vehicle for several thousand kms and when we finally passed another car I waved quite enthusiastically. He ignored us :-(
AnswerID: 72258

Follow Up By: Brian - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:35

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:35
Bob The reason Road Trains don't wave is that you are driving a TD5/Lexus not worth the effort!!! I drive 110 & Patrol and get waves more often than not from Road Trains!
Disco owners are very bad wavers only surpassed by Rangie owners, Series Rovers 110's & Defenders are excellent. With Patrol and Cruiser owners, waves are unpredictable however you will get a wave from like vehicles (ie if driving a Patrol, Patrols will wave, sort of saying "Heh I got one 2").
"don't bother waving to conventional vehicles"
You must be city folk??? country people wave more often than not irrelevant of the car they are driving!
As to the safety point, If a driver doesn't have the driving skill to raise one finger of the wheel ,then they should re-consider there ability to drive at all!

Remember that the wave is an Australian tradition akin to tipping the hat, it says I'm ok are you?
Maybe if it was more prevalent in the city's there would be less road rage (think how often do you see country folk pulling over a car to punch there lights out because they cut them off?)

These are just my observation and opinions.
FollowupID: 332476

Follow Up By: Member - Bob - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:45

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:45
Brian,
next time I pass you I'll wind down the window and give you a proper wave :-)
FollowupID: 332480

Follow Up By: Brian - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:49

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:49
You will feel better for it so will I and a happer place it will be!!!

FollowupID: 332483

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:21

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:21
"Maybe if it was more prevalent in the city's there would be less road rage"... ahahhahaha I can just see everyone driving down the freeway swerving all over the place coz I am trying to wave to everyone.....haahhaha ... not sure it will catch on in the city
FollowupID: 332498

Follow Up By: Member - Camper (SA) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 22:10

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 22:10
Brian, I thought itwas all geographic. The further away from the city the more waves you get. In SA North of Jamestown and all of KI you get waves from the locals no matter what they drive.
Camper
FollowupID: 332577

Follow Up By: Brian - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 22:14

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 22:14
Camper this is true
FollowupID: 332578

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:41

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:41
equinox! as has been asked above....How do you pick your nose while driving...or more politely...what about that itch ?
you dont really expect us to believe that you pull over and stop the car...
come now.....spill the beans
is it 1/4/2005?
AnswerID: 72267

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:49

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:49
And how are you supposed to talk on the phone or send text messages or watch a DVD, ya would have time too wave.
FollowupID: 332484

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:59

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 10:59
Hi Nudenut.

No, it's not an April Fools Day joke!!

Most things mentioned, ie picking nose, changing channels whatever, can be done whilst maintaining a certain level of concentration on driving. Even still, would you pick your nose or change channels when a vehicle was passing or would you wait until the vehicle had passed? I would wait myself!

My point is - When the road is clear, sure - It's pretty easy to drive one handed, no handed, whatever strikes you fancy.
But when a vehicle is approaching from the other way at 110 kph I personally am more inclined to increase my level of concentration, hence my reticence to wave, as that uses up to much concentration that I am willing to give up just for a wave, even though I would still like to let that other driver know that "All is OK mate".

Eq.
FollowupID: 332488

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 11:31

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 11:31
Baz doing all those other things i wouldnt have time to wave

Equinox...." a wave uses up too much concentration"? come now! tell us that you turn the radio off when another car is approaching...and as for SWMBO i'll bet you tell her to "SHUT UP! till they pass dearest"
when reading road signs how do you get on ...eyes off the road and other thoughts going thru the brain... i can not believe that you are really serious...if you are... your concentration would be stretched so far (if on a highway with a lot off other traffic coming head-on and or flowing in same direction) you wouldnt be able to drive

spare us please
FollowupID: 332496

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:23

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:23
If you think you lose that much concentration while waving to someone for what a total of 5 seconds TOPS your hand is off the wheel, then maybe time not to be drivin anymore.

YMMV
FollowupID: 332500

Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 11:15

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 11:15
what about the smokers of this world - don't tell me that doesn't take differing levels of effort whilst driving.
Anyone ever knocked the end off a ciggie and had it fall between their legs ?

I live in the NW of WA and often travel an extraordinary amount of km's before another vehicle approaches. Most people wave which is a wonderful thing, but I rarely reciprocate as by then I've found the most comfortable driving position that I can (which doesn't usually require 2 hands on the wheel either I'll admit) and it's just too much of an inconvenience (yeah I know) to move just for a wave. The cheese, if awake, usually slaps me and I end up moving anyway so it's probably a bit pointless. Of course I'll wave should I be in a proper driving position though and
I'll always try CH 40 just in case they're on that but otherwise they're forgotten until the next wagon comes along.
AnswerID: 72273

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:21

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:21
"what about the smokers of this world -"

damn beat me to it!
FollowupID: 332499

Reply By: Bros - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:51

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 12:51
Done the ciggy between the legs a few times. And what about getting the hot tip stuck between your fingers trying to pull the fag out of your cakehole when it has stuck to your lips. Now that takes serious concentration.
Bros.

AnswerID: 72282

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 13:31

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 13:31
What about those smokers who roll their own - you need to become quite adept at steering with your knees!

Not for a minute suggesting that I'd do such a thing...;-)

AnswerID: 72286

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 13:54

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 13:54
My next door neighbour has similar views to Equinox..We argue all the time about his padantic ways....
When he mows the front lawn he wears safty shoes, safety glasses, hard hat, ear muffs, overalls, gloves and a dust mask and his mower is a powerless push along style with a lawn the size of a standard loungeroom...

Sometimes people go way overboard with their ideas but i believe they actually think they are doing the right thing....

I dont think taking one hand of the wheel for a split second is going to cause the car to go out of control but everyone has to drive to their "ability"....
AnswerID: 72289

Follow Up By: Alex Callaghan - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 14:15

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 14:15
G'day Voxson,

Theres a bloke that lives down the road from me that mows his lawn with one of those black "Stack-Hats" from the 80s and knee pads, elbow pads etc. The first time I saw him I had to pull over on the H'way cause I just couldn't stop breaking out into hysterics. Very unususal sight to say the least. Some people are a few sandwitches short of a picnic mate.

FollowupID: 332513

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:02

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:02
Voxson,

Quote- "Sometimes people go way overboard with their ideas but i believe they actually think they are doing the right thing.... ".

Of course, you are perfect, and never do anything wrong and know absolutely everything, am I right?

Everyone has different levels of what they consider safe. Now I bet no one in this forum can honestly say that waving to a car driving past is safer or is as safe than not waving to a car driving past. It might be only a factor of 3-5% (guestimate) but it is a factor no matter how small.

Eq.

FollowupID: 332521

Follow Up By: Flash - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 11:26

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 11:26
I can.
I can honestly say it is no more dangerous to wave than not wave.
Absolutely, and positively.
Maybe I'm a genius (though I don't think so) but it does not take any measurable concentration.... at all.... to lift my finger or hand slightly.
Sorry!

However I would NOT be fiddling with the stereo, mobile phone etc whilst passing. That is a different situation entirely....
FollowupID: 332757

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 14:20

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 14:20
This practice of acknowledgement is a well established one in the bush and is basically a courtesy extended to fellow road users. Subject to you remaining inside the confines of the vehicle and not getting too excited by the prospect of an approaching vehicle you should not have any problems....if you do then that raises another issue regarding capacity and I'm not goin' there! That's my 2 bob's worth.
AnswerID: 72292

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C.- Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:05

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:05
Yep, couldn't have put it bettermyself!
The simple courtesy of 2 drivers acknowledging to each other that they are awake & aware of each others' presence has to be a good thing, I would have thought... I would hate to see the practice die out...
Agree with your remark on capacity also...
Regards, Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 332522

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 16:31

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 16:31
Well said. Ditto.
FollowupID: 332528

Reply By: floyd - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:29

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:29
Sorry Mate I can't reply as if I take my hands off the edge of my office chair I may have a head on with my desk. You never should take your hands off your office chair As it is extremely dangerous. I cannot answer the phone, scratch my ear, move the coffee cup or have a dig of the old haemmeroids. I just cannot let go of the chair. It is just too dangerous. May wipe out
AnswerID: 72299

Reply By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:33

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:33
I do one of two types of waves:

1. Polite way - one finger up from the steering wheel,

2. P*****d Off way - the full 'Bird' hand completely extended out through the drivers side window so that the on coming idiot can not miss it.
AnswerID: 72300

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:47

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 15:47
Hehe,

I've done the bird a few times, mostely to inconsiderate truck drivers, who never seem to notice anyone else on road bar other trucks (after the truck has passed of course).

Eq.
FollowupID: 332524

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:44

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:44
hahaha
i knew you were trying to pull the wool over our eyes equinox
FollowupID: 332543

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:53

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:53
Karl
That's have the reason I read this site.
A bl...dy good laugh!
JC
FollowupID: 332594

Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:56

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 23:56
whoops! sorry. 'half the reason'
Laughing too much.
FollowupID: 332595

Reply By: bigfella - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 16:48

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 16:48
Mate, If you can't wave to an oncoming driver out on the road as a gesture to another great Aussie then I strongly suggest you go to the nearest Traffic Authority Office of whichever State you live in and hand in your licence.
Really, get a life mate.
AnswerID: 72312

Reply By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:17

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:17
This post is crap and should be moderated! What has it got to do with 4wdriving?

: )
AnswerID: 72327

Follow Up By: Bros - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:44

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:44
Glenn,
Moderate it; perish the thought, I am getting the odd chuckle reading the replies and that can not be a bad thing. (i was going to put can't in there but unsure of the proper place for the apostrophy).
Bros.

FollowupID: 332542

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:46

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:46
is your name aandydontknow lmao
FollowupID: 332544

Follow Up By: Michelle from ExplorOz - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:49

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:49
HI Glenn,
Just to clarify, we don't actually have a problem with this post as it is indeed related to driving. Never said that posts had to relate to 4WDing so no stress here. Just thought after all the confusion over these issues that people would like me to confirm these sorts of things as I see them (I've been pretty busy the last 2 days and haven't caught up with posts yet either so apologies if I"ve missed something I should have).
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

FollowupID: 332546

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (SA) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:48

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:48
I have power steering on my 4WD, and it's not prone to sudden swerves onto the wrong side of the road, so I don't have a problem waving to other vehicles. But if you don't want to do it, that's OK - I'll still wave to you (and mutter "bl##dy city slicker" as you go past without waving back LOL)
Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 72336

Reply By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:53

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 18:53
Richard Butler must have found it dangerous to bank taxpayer's money and be Governor of Tasmania at the same time. He too thought that doing 2 things at once could put his life at risk so he hopped off his high horse and stuck with banking the money. I agree with you Equinox don't do two things simultaneously or fate will raise it's angry head.

Cheers Think Safety
AnswerID: 72338

Reply By: Jeff (Beddo) - Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 20:41

Thursday, Aug 12, 2004 at 20:41
Waving with one hand off the road and you look like an idiot and it is dangerous particularly on dirt roads, that is why everyone especially country people do the one raised finger wave from the steering wheel. But once you get too close to civilization the wave zone stops when you get too many people. I myself always do the finger wave and get annoyed by those un-Australian unfriendly travellers that don't. Also from living out in NW NSW if you do not wave you are a tourist (what an insult). Another reason for the wave is to acknowledge the other driver for doing the right thing like slowing down to stop rock damage etc.
AnswerID: 72373

Reply By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 09:21

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 09:21
How'd ya feel about an automatic exploroz waving hand? Should I patent it??

Safe Greetings

Carolyn

AnswerID: 72432

Reply By: Member - PatC - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 09:23

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 09:23
Anyone got any stats on how many accidents have been caused by waving...

I'll bet its a big fat 0

Just my 2c worth.
AnswerID: 72433

Reply By: Member - Foxer - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 09:29

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 09:29
Hi equinox
i don't think waving is an issue at all. We can tell the city folk out here as they are usually dont bother to respond to our wave. I generally wave to all the cars on our back roads and I havent had a safety issue or driving safety issue in nearly 30 years. Thank God its Friday
Foxer
AnswerID: 72435

Reply By: Wombat - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 13:23

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 13:23
I think I may have seen equinox walking down the road the other day. One step, two step, three step, four step, STOP, breath in, and now breath out. Then he repeated the process. One step, two step, three step, four step, STOP, breath in, and now breath out. Bl00dy hard concentrating on two things at once - like walking AND breathing. It's these stupid platitudes by the thought police that are ruining this great country.

YMMV. Getting down from my elevated equine now.
AnswerID: 72451

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:13

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:13
hahahahahahaha very funny
what would you prefer he done stop the walking or the breathing.
lol
FollowupID: 332680

Reply By: mr diamond - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:15

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:15
i can totally agree with what your saying.
its very hard to spend a day at the pub drinking and trying to drive home you cant even walk never mind taking one hand off the wheel to wave to the coppers.
yes ban the wave infact ban every thing
AnswerID: 72495