The Cape

Submitted: Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:02
ThreadID: 15534 Views:2620 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Greetings all.

Back from FNQ today. What a top trip.
Had the pleasure of meeting up with Eric "Cape York Connections" out in the scrub. A top bloke and most unlike the other tag along operators we had the misfortune to come across ... what a bunch of tossers.

Also spoke with "Slowbie" on the CB .. saw his sticker whilst in Yepoon. Unfortunately couldn't meet face to face as we were being escorted into Shoalwater Bay for a job.

Lotsa up to date info for anyone interested who's heading up that way.

Cheers for now ... got 3 cub.m. of dust to remove from the Fender.

Reply By: DARREN - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:07

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:07
Rosco, Have you any tales of adventure,i.e. how were the roads, rubbish, fishing, traffic?
AnswerID: 72478

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:32

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:32
G'Day Darren

Might have to answer in a few goes, as a tad short on time at the mo.

Roads were not bad. The OTL is certainly the way to go and was not too bad. Creek crossings were interesting but not too challenging, no more than 900mm of water encountered. Except GUN SHOT. It was fairly crook and verging on impassable, except for a few who had either no sense or respect for their vehicle or too much money, or a combination of any of the above. We had a look and decided no way with the CT. The few we heard of that had a crack mostly came to grief or did some damage. Decided to track around was the way to go.

Bypass road was OK .. cccorrruuggaaaatttions as expected. Track into Capt Billy Landing a super highway. Track to Virillya Point OK. Track to Cape Melville via Kalpowar OK but slow.

Rubbish not too bad on the whole.

Grog certainly an issue north of the Jardine. We weren't stopped but other couple we met on the track were .. "on the bag sir and show us your grog". Led them to the fridge ... most obvious spot, to find 4 bottles of wine (other stuff on board but not obvious)

Ok sir 3 bottles takes you over the 2 litre limit so this is the deal... we smash 2 now to put you under or you cop a $1000 fine ... take your pick.
2 bottles smashed on the kerb and on your way sir ... and have a good day.

Fishing was not too exciting, we didn't have a tinny. But went out with above bloke (grog couple) at Mapoon and grabbed a good bagful. Mapoon's a top spot and worth a visit.

Traffic not too heavy, locals involved in tourism (Bamage pub etc) bemoaning the fact the grog restrictions are hurting bad.

More later if required

FollowupID: 332670

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 22:45

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 22:45
Love to see gunshot pics

Leroy
FollowupID: 332853

Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 09:49

Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 09:49
did ya take a kite to Capt Billys landing? It was the windiest place i have ever camped at!
FollowupID: 332871

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:26

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 17:26
Onya Rosco,
Welcome back.
We're heading for the Cape on 18/9 (5 weeks to go!!!). An update of what the tracks and creek crossings were like would be much appreciated, mate.
Cya
AnswerID: 72486

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 09:03

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 09:03
Have a good trip mate. Responses here should answer your queries.

FollowupID: 332748

Reply By: Bros - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:46

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 18:46
Rosco,
Good to see you made it back ok.
Heading up to Bathurst Bay on Monday (again) from C.Q. and would like to know how much water was in Barramundi Ck. when you traversed. One of the four vehicles in our mob has not got a snorkle and was worried about the water depth there.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 72508

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 09:01

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 09:01
Bros

It was about 700 deep. May be a tad dodgy without a snorkel, but depends on the intake location.

We took a blind but I never felt we had a use for it. That was about the deepest crossing on the entire trip.

Have a good trip.

FollowupID: 332747

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 19:23

Friday, Aug 13, 2004 at 19:23
Gday Rosco,glad you had a good trip.You said that the Gun Shot was near on impossible,were vehicles getting through without trailers alright? what was the easy!! angled ramp like,have heard that a few vehicles have been tipping over here,up there last year and it was a breeze.was going to have a go at going down the middle "drop off" but to far from home to do any damage.
Cheers Nick
AnswerID: 72513

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 09:14

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 09:14
Nick

Heading north is possible but extreme. Heading south is worse.
Going north the far right is about 60 degrees down into deep mud with wheel ruts so you sit on your belly.

The far left is also very steep with a severe drop off on the right hand side so panel damage is a high probability.

The 2 in the middle are ridiculous, both virtually vertical for about 1500.

We met a group where a good samaritan in a 100 series tojo blew his front diff trying to help 2 patrols who burnt out their winches and copped some panel damage. They were trying to go south.

Couldn't see any sense in having a go myself.

FollowupID: 332749

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:03

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:03
Thanks Rosco,sounds like it has deteriated heaps since we were there last year. Cheers Nick
FollowupID: 332758

Reply By: Seto - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 01:42

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 01:42

Also returned from the Cape a month ago and also had the pleasure of meeting up with Eric at Archer River.

The bypass roads were very corrugated and the OTL is the way to go. We approached Gunshot from the north and 2 of us without trailers had a go at it but found even with lockers couldn't get sufficient traction to safely climb it. But there is a large tree at just the right spot so we winched one up & then winched up the others. We had quite an audience with 1 couple having waited there 3 days just to see someone have a shot at it.

An excellent trip - saw little rubbish but be aware to take a gas mask if you are using the toilets at Twin Falls camping ground

David.
AnswerID: 72573

Reply By: Flash - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:05

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 12:05
Glad your trip went well Rosco.
"two bottles of wine"... bloody hell!
Probably (hopefully) doing that trip next year.

I find it extremely offensive that other people can tell me how much alcohol I can take for my own use- none of their bloody business.
Talk about big brother, reminds me of prohibition in the old USofA last century.
Why do we put up with this crap!
What about that ridiculous storm in a teacup over one bottle in an aeroplane? What a load of garbage.
Meanwhile they turn a blind-eye to aeroplanes being chartered, by "elders" purely to get grog and flog it off at incredible prices. I know irt happens as I have personally spoken to the pilots who fly the planes!
AnswerID: 72590

Reply By: rolande- Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 22:14

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 22:14
Rosco,
Glad you had a great trip, aside from the 'Fender, (I already know it would be O.K.), how did the CT go. Any problems? How is you water system, all O.K. I hope.
Rolande
AnswerID: 72644

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 08:26

Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 08:26
G'day cobber

All went without a hitch, not a problem. No tyre probs and the CT went well with the water pump a godsend.

Came across a couple of broken trailers, usually springs. Interesting wreck just outside Musgrave when approaching from Lakefield. Remains of almost brand new Pajero and hard floor CT. High speed roll. No one injured but both wrecked. Most of engine and all of transmission still in place. Apparently a Victorian who proceeded on trip and expected vehicle to be retrieved on return. Doesn't happen that way up there.

FollowupID: 332861

Reply By: Member - Peter K (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 22:43

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 22:43
Hi all, got back from Cape a couple of weeks ago and can pass on some updates - if interested
Grog wasn't that much of a problem, heard in Weipa from some that got checked but we didn't. It really is only when you cross Jardine, just drink mid strength for a couple of days or 2 litres of wine (TI sells full strength but you cant bring it back.
Rubbish, other the toilet paper didn't see much at all. Except at Cockatoo Creek which was filthy. They have an open pit for garbage and it blows all over the place. Stayed at Seisia which wasn't that bad.
Bramwell Junction now has petrol pumps and eftpos (apparently that is new) Stayed at Bramwell station loved it.
Battlecamp was graded in first week of July and wasn't that bad.
Heard about a croc challenging a fisherman at Kalpowar in first week of July
Agree the comments above about Gunshot - why do it!
palm creek crossing is degrading, notable the southern side when travelling south.
Batavia Downs track was good. One crossing requires caution. We got through no probs but two others with trailers had a hard time
In Weipa the mine tour no longer lets people off the bus.
captain Billy's Shed is gone
New pub at Laura is open. Old one burnt down
Significant road works south of Laura.
Have some photos at
link text
and also under Mikes cape Trip file.
AnswerID: 72648

Follow Up By: Member - Peter K (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 22:50

Saturday, Aug 14, 2004 at 22:50
Sorry Second photo link for mike's pics should have been
link text

www.australia4wd.com
FollowupID: 332807

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 22:44

Sunday, Aug 15, 2004 at 22:44
Geez Peter our group came down where the person was looking in the photo but the little drop off at the bottom wasn't there. You hugged the side and came down easily. There was buggerall water there also. Oh how it can all change from year to year and I did it in a rodeo!

Leroy
FollowupID: 332852