Submitted: Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 07:42
Baz (NSW)
This just a short note on the weekend at
Bendethera i had computer probs last night so no pics they will come soon. It was a great time with 8 4Bs turning up, everyone enjoyed themselves Tony (Well55) and Paul (Paul J ACT) even had snow on the way out, the only one to have a problem was me basicly i stuff up, thank you Mick, Angelo and Mike & Ruth for helping me, I will give a full report tonight.
Reply By: Well 55 - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 08:48
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 08:48
Yep top weekend Baz, a loverly group of people at a very enjoyable
camping spot.
Reply By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 09:26
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 09:26
Baz, was a top weekend, was great to put faces to names, and thank's to Tony for all the information and history on the area, will definately be going back again..
P.S I dont think Santa was making airlocker's, sounded more like a camper trailer.........
Cheer's Paul....
Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 10:19
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 10:19
Gotta agree with the others. It was a great weekend, even if it is a bit of a hike from
Sydney for one night's stay.
Can't wait for Baz's full post tonight. Look for the thread entitled "Why don't the Tojos slip on that muddy
hill?" :-)
Reply By: fatz - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 10:23
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 10:23
Baz, great weekend. We had a ball. Thanks to tour guide Tony for a very informative look at the place. We'll definatly be going back. I wouldnt say you stuffed up, you just learned something new!!! Paul, Santa has had to put your difflocks on hold, he's flat out with my Turbo !
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 17:07
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 17:07
Mick, Kerry said your acsents not as thick when you type.
Follow Up By: fatz - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 17:18
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 17:18
Oh, to be sure, to be sure. Can you type a little slower, I cant read that fast, LOL
Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 14:06
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 14:06
Hello guys and gals,
YEP..had me a ball. Many thanks to you all. I got me some new ideas form you all in relation to how others set themselves up for
camping. Always better ways to do things and i found a few out on the weekend.
As for the "Forensics" Tape,
well looks like its gonna be harder to get than i thought. But i wont give up just yet.
Tony, your knowledge on the area was really great. I enjoyed the history lesson very much. Its just amazing what people can miss learning about an area when their minds are focused on river crossings and 4wd'ing. If you were not there i would not have known about the child that is burried there and the horse racing track. Probably wouldnt even have spotted that
swimming hole which looked very tempting if not for winter. So i thank you very much mate....not bad for a skip...just kidding !!!
Follow Up By: Well 55 - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 14:21
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 14:21
Any time mate. Still don't belive that story about the key fitting the wrong house, ha ha ah had to laugh. Bloke's like you make it a pleasure to travel with.
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 14:50
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 14:50
ROFLMAO !!!!!!!
Yes Tony i second what Angelo said mate excellent.
Next time we will have pick a place with more river crossings lol.
The perfect
river crossing would have Cokacola in it.
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 16:38
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 16:38
Oh god ,
dont even think about it Baz.
Forget driving through it. I would much rather drink it dry.
Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 16:42
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 16:42
I will say this guys.....
You blokes can down the liquid brew very
well....I was impressed. I wont mention to anyone who reads this how
well some females sculled it down too ay....will we Irish girl :-)...
Not a word !!!
Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 16:48
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 16:48
Not to mention a certain person who brought his own keg! Now that's a dedicated drinker.
Follow Up By: fatz - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 20:27
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 20:27
Eileen reckons that was a quiet night...............
Reply By: Member - Howard- Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 18:50
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 18:50
Hi Baz et al,
enjoyed the EO get together heaps. Thanks all that were there for your company.. Just a quick report on the trip out via Merrricumbene fire trail. Took us 2 hrs 45 minutes for the 44 km from
campsite to river at end of Dry
Creek Fire trail. No snow but lots of frozen hail arount
Bendethera Mountain.I think it would definitely be an easier trip going north as we did . there were some big hills. Lots of sticks and bark litter and a bit shrubby in
places. had to cut 3 trees off, last one only 150metres before end of track.Sure glad we had the chainsaw.
Unfortunately trip soured just outside Araluen when the hilux tried mating with a camry(must be a toyota affection)Fortunately no injuries but a very dented truck with no rear
suspension as all u bolts were busted and tail shaft dropped out when the rear wheel was hit.
2 1/2 hr wait for police then had to organise a trailer organise a trailer, didnt get home to about 7.30pm
Fortunately had today off so a couple of u bolts later vehicles up and running of a tad beaten up.
Insurance is sorted just got a to wait a few weeks to get to panel
shop.
Gee
the rock slider/foot steps saved the day.
Howard
Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 21:48
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 21:48
Bugger, sorry to hear about your sons mishap mate good to know nobody was injured, hope you can make the next one Howard was good too meet you.
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 23:37
Monday, Aug 16, 2004 at 23:37
Glad your son is ok mate, sorry to hear it had to end like that though. I take it the camry was feeling horny, mistook you sons ute for a female, yeh seen that happen many times.
As for the track,
well i would love to try that one out, sounds fantastic. To think I was originally going to do the Merrricumbene fire trail alone.
well I had no intention of taking the chain saw for that trip.
Just makes me even happier I posted my question when i did now. The result was a great weekend and some wonderful new piss pots...oops i mean friends...just kidding ok...just kidding
Angelo